Eaton
Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC
- Zone 1/21
- IIC T4
- ATEX + IECEx
- Class I Division 1
Compare · iPad or Windows for Zone 1
These two tablets do different jobs, so this is a choice between Windows and iPadOS for Zone 1 work. The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC is a 10.1-inch intrinsically safe (Ex ia) tablet that runs x86 Windows 11 IoT Enterprise and is Zone 0 rated inside its supplied case. The Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch is a flameproof (Ex db) cover around an iPad Pro 11-inch (M5), rated T6 for Zone 1/21 under ATEX, with LiDAR and a 1,000-nit screen. The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC is T4 but holds IECEx, a North American listing and a +55 °C rating, where the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch is ATEX only and rated to +45 °C. Here is how they compare, and which we would choose for which team.
Eaton
Xshielder
Our verdict
Pick by the software your team has to run and the gases on your site. If your Zone 1 work needs desktop Windows software, Zone 0 access or a North American listing, we would choose the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC. If you run iPad apps, work with gases that ignite below 135 °C, or want photos, LiDAR scans and a brighter screen in Zone 1/21 under ATEX, we would choose the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch.
Key differences
The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC runs x86 Windows software natively. The Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch runs iPadOS only, so Windows applications do not run on it. If your software exists only for Windows, the choice is made.
The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC is rated Ga/Da, and Eaton limits Zone 0 use to the case it supplies. The Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch is rated Gb/Db for Zone 1/21. If any of your work is in Zone 0, only the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC qualifies, and only inside that case.
T6 keeps the surface at or below 85 °C and T4 at or below 135 °C. T4 is fine for most gases but not those that ignite below 135 °C, so check the ignition temperatures of your substances against the class.
The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC has 10 °C more headroom than the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch, which matters for plants and yards in hot climates. Go by the ambient range in the certificate, not the operating range on a datasheet.
The Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch has the iPad Pro’s LiDAR scanner, and Xshielder confirms it works through the cover. Our data lists no depth sensor for the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC.
In the field
Edge: Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC
This is the real dividing line. The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC runs Windows 11 IoT Enterprise on an Intel quad-core Atom (Apollo Lake) at 1.6 GHz, with 8 GB of RAM, 256 GB of storage and a microSDXC slot up to 2 TB, and our data lists Windows desktop software as built in. For teams whose plant, maintenance or engineering software exists only as a Windows application, that is the whole case for it.
The Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch runs iPadOS 27 on an Apple M5 with 12 or 16 GB of memory and 256 GB to 2 TB of storage, with the same apps and Apple device management as any iPad. On updates, our data gives October 2034 for the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC, but that is Microsoft’s date for the Windows 11 IoT Enterprise LTSC 2024 edition and Eaton does not state which edition it ships. Xshielder expects 7–8 years, based on previous iPad Pro support. We would not choose on either date.
Edge: Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch
Both tablets are certified for gas group IIC and dust group IIIC under ATEX, but the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch is rated T6, with a maximum surface temperature of 85 °C for gas and 80 °C for dust. The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC is T4, with 135 °C for both. T4 is fine for most gases, but not those that ignite below 135 °C. If your hazardous-area study lists none, the gap will not matter to you.
The protection methods differ too. The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC is intrinsically safe (Ex ia), which limits the energy in the device. The Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch is a flameproof (Ex db) cover that contains an explosion instead. Under the North American listing the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC’s gas group is IIB, covering Class I Division 1 Groups C and D, so hydrogen and acetylene (Groups B and A) are outside that listing.
Edge: Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC
The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC has the wider range of places it may be used. It is rated Ga/Da, with the ATEX marking II 1GD, and Eaton limits Zone 0 use to the case it supplies, with a friction hazard noted in the conditions of use. Outside Zone 0 it holds ATEX (Nemko 25ATEX1018X) and IECEx (NMK 25.0029X) certificates and a UL listing, which also lists it for Class I Zone 0 AEx ia IIB T4. Xshielder confirms ATEX certification for the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch, has published no certificate number yet, and plans IECEx. Our data has no North American listing for it.
Heat is the other gap. The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC is certified from −20 °C to +55 °C, against −20 °C to +45 °C for the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch. In the zone, Eaton allows no accessories or extensions on its tablet, and its SIM and microSD slots must stay closed. Eaton’s conditions say to charge it only with its own charger, outside the hazardous area.
Even
The Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch has the brighter screen and the better cameras. Its 11-inch Ultra Retina XDR display reaches 1,000 nits (SDR maximum) at 2420 × 1668, against 540 nits at 2560 × 1600 on the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC’s 10.1-inch panel. Xshielder confirms that the 12 MP rear camera with 4K video and ProRes, the LiDAR scanner and the Face ID front camera work through the cover. The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC has an 8 MP autofocus camera with 1080p video, and a camera-free version for sites that ban cameras.
The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC has the bigger battery, 49.68 Wh against 31.29 Wh, and Eaton quotes a typical 12 hours; our data lists up to 10 hours of web or video on Wi-Fi for the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch. These are makers’ figures measured in different ways, so test your own workload. Neither battery is user-replaceable. The Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch weighs 1,350 g including the iPad, 80 g less than the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC at 1,430 g. Eaton’s IP67 comes from the ATEX marking in its manual, not the IECEx certificate, and the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch’s IP65 is pending testing. We call this section even.
Specifications
Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC | Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch | |
|---|---|---|
| Ex rating | ||
| Certified for | Zone 1/21 | Zone 1/21 |
| Protection | Intrinsic safety (Ex ia) | Flameproof enclosure (Ex db) |
| Gas group | IIC | IIC |
| Temperature class | T4 (≤ 135 °C) | T6 (≤ 85 °C) |
| Certification | ||
| ATEX marking | II 1GD Ex ia IIC T4 Ga / II 1GD Ex ia IIIC T135°C Da | II 2G Ex db IIC T6 Gb / II 2D Ex tb IIIC T80°C Db |
| ATEX certificate | Nemko 25ATEX1018X | ATEX certified |
| IECEx marking | Ex ia IIC T4 Ga / Ex ia IIIC T135°C Da | Not in our data |
| IECEx certificate | IECEx NMK 25.0029X (Issue 0, 2026-05-26) | Not in our data |
| Other approvals | UL 913 / CSA C22.2 No. 60079-0 and -11 | Lanyard hole to NS-9611 (pending testing) |
| North America | UL certificate CER230869: Class I Div 1 Groups C, D T4; Class I Zone 0 AEx ia IIB T4 Ga (US) / Ex ia IIB T4 Ga (CAN); UL 913 8th ed. Class I, II, III Div 1. Gas group is IIB in North America, IIC in Europe/IECEx. | Not in our data |
| Zone 0 | Zone 0 rated only inside the case supplied by the maker. | Not in our data |
| Protection level (EPL) | Ga / Da | Gb / Db |
| Dust group | IIIC | IIIC |
| Max surface temperature (dust) | 135 °C | 80 °C |
| Safe use | ||
| Ambient temperature (Ta) | −20 °C to +55 °C | −20 °C to +45 °C |
| Charging | Outside the hazardous area only | Not in our data |
| Battery swap | Outside the hazardous area only | Outside the hazardous area only |
| Ports and accessories in the zone | No accessories or extensions in the hazardous area; SIM/microSD slots not to be opened; docking connector and charging only in safe areas. | Not in our data |
| Certified accessories | Eaton accessory list: carry case GEC-ATP-CC-01 (required in Zone 0), anti-glare screen protector GEC-ATP-AGSP-01, USB cables GEC-ATP-STUSBS-01, IS USB adapter GEC-ATP-ISUSB-01, shoulder strap GEC-ATP-SHST-01, stylus with tether GEC-ATP-STYT-01, docking station GEC-ATP-DOST-01 (safe area), hands-free harness GEC-ATP-HFHA-01, power adapter GEC-ATP-POAD-XX-01. Ex-area use of each accessory is not stated beyond the case, strap and stylus. | Xshielder Stylus (capacitive, 22 g, aluminium, with lanyard). Ex rating of the stylus not stated. Apple Pencil not mentioned.Unconfirmed, see note 1 |
| IP code in the Ex certificate | IP67 in the ATEX marking printed in Eaton's manual (Nemko 25ATEX1018X ... Um = 20V IP67); not in the IECEx database marking for NMK 25.0029XUnconfirmed, see note 2 | Not in our data |
| Operating temperature | −20 °C to +55 °C | −20 °C to +45 °CUnconfirmed, see note 3 |
| Conditions of use | Do not remove or replace the battery pack in hazardous areas; use only battery AAEB-100-XX and charge it only on the tablet; charge only with Eaton charger GEC-ATP-POAD-x-01; do not open the SIM/SD port in a hazardous location; in Zone 0 use only inside Eaton case GEC-ATP-CC-01 (friction hazard); avoid friction on the enclosure; inspect for damage; service only by Eaton; do not charge, connect or disconnect in hazardous areas; no accessories or extensions in hazardous areas (IECEx NMK 25.0029X conditions a-j). Um = 20 V appears in the ATEX/UL marking printed in the instruction manual, not in the IECEx text. | Not in our data |
| Device | ||
| Type | Dedicated Ex tablet | Certified Ex case |
| Tablet inside | Not in our data | iPad Pro 11-inch (M5) |
| Also fits | Not in our data | iPad Pro 11-inch (M4) |
| Fitting | Not in our data | Fitted by the makerUnconfirmed, see note 4 |
| Tablet can be removed | Not in our data | Yes, but only by Xshielder authorised personnel (lid glued on the ATEX version)Unconfirmed, see note 4 |
| Launched | 2026Unconfirmed, see note 5 | 2026 |
| Part numbers | GZ1A1W51A1A1 (WiFi); GZ1A1G51A1A1 (LTE); carry case GEC-ATP-CC-01; dock GEC-ATP-DOST-01 | XS1-TB-G01-C01-S01; datasheet ref. iPad11P-000033-1 |
| Operating system | Windows 11 IoT Enterprise | iPadOS 27 |
| Edition | Windows 11 IoT Enterprise (channel/LTSC year not stated; Eaton: 'Windows 11 IoT')Unconfirmed, see note 6 | iPadOS (consumer; no LTSC or enterprise edition) |
| OS at launch | Not in our data | iPadOS 26 |
| OS upgrades | Not in our data | Still supported by iPadOS 27 (current) |
| Security updates | Until October 2034Unconfirmed, see note 7 | 7–8 years (based on previous iPad Pro support) |
| Processor | Intel quad-core Atom (Apollo Lake) 1.6 GHz base, 1.8 GHz burst | Apple M5 (up to 10-core CPU) |
| Processor architecture | x86 | Arm |
| Memory (RAM) | 8 GB | 12 (256/512 GB) / 16 (1/2 TB) |
| Storage | 256 GB, MicroSDXC up to 2 TB | 256 GB, 512 GB, 1024 GB, 2048 GB |
| What works through the housing or case | ||
| Face ID / Touch ID | Not in our data | Yes: Face ID works through the cover (confirmed by Xshielder) |
| Apple Pencil / stylus | Not in our data | Yes: stylus input works through the cover (confirmed by Xshielder); Xshielder capacitive stylus (22 g, interchangeable tips, lanyard) offered |
| Side and volume buttons | Not in our data | Yes: usable through the cover (Xshielder: all iPad Pro functions available) |
| Rear cameras | Not in our data | Yes: 12 MP Wide camera with 4K video and ProRes works through the cover (confirmed by Xshielder) |
| LiDAR | Not in our data | Yes: LiDAR works through the cover (confirmed by Xshielder) |
| Front camera | Not in our data | Yes: landscape 12 MP Center Stage camera with Face ID works through the cover (confirmed by Xshielder) |
| Touchscreen | Not in our data | Yes: works through the cover (Xshielder: all iPad Pro functions available) |
| Charging | Not in our data | USB-C charging as on a standard iPad Pro (confirmed by Xshielder); 50% in 30 min with a 60 W adapter (M5); no wireless |
| Speakers and microphones | Not in our data | Yes: all 4 microphones and 4 speakers usable (confirmed by Xshielder) |
| Headset audio | Not in our data | Yes: audio in and out works (confirmed by Xshielder); headsets via USB-C or Bluetooth, as the iPad Pro has no 3.5 mm jack |
| USB-C port | Not in our data | Yes: accessible for charging and data, as on a standard iPad Pro (confirmed by Xshielder) |
| SIM card | Not in our data | eSIM only (1 x eSIM, cellular models); no SIM tray |
| Removed or disabled | Not in our data | Nothing removed or disabled: all iPad Pro features available (confirmed by Xshielder) |
| Mounting points | Not in our data | 1/4-inch tripod mount; lanyard hole to NS-9611 (pending testing) |
| Field capabilities | ||
| Push-to-talk | Not in our data | Via app (third-party PTT apps over Wi-Fi/cellular; no PTT key; Ex-rated? n/a) |
| Lone worker | Not in our data | Via app (third-party lone-worker apps) |
| Barcode scanning | Via app (camera-based; Eaton lists no scan engine) | Via app (camera-based scanning; no scan engine) |
| NFC reading | Built in (NFC) | Not possible (no NFC reader on any iPad)Unconfirmed, see note 8 |
| 3D scanning / LiDAR | Not possible (no depth sensor) | Built in (iPad Pro LiDAR); Xshielder lists 'Pro camera with LiDAR' |
| Remote expert / video calls | Via app (front and rear cameras; a camera-free version is also offered) | Via app (FaceTime, Teams or remote-assist apps; cameras and audio work through the cover) |
| Windows desktop software | Built in (Windows 11 IoT, x86) | Not possible (iPadOS only) |
| Bluetooth gas detectors | Not in our data | Via app (Bluetooth 6 (M5) / 5.3 (M4); vendor app; no maker-certified integration listed) |
| Display and camera | ||
| Display | 10.1-inch AHVA (IPS-type), 1000:1 contrast, 170 degree viewing angle | 11-inch Ultra Retina XDR tandem OLED, ProMotion 10-120 Hz, P3, True Tone, antireflective coating; nano-texture glass option on 1 and 2 TB |
| Resolution | 2560 × 1600 (WQXGA) | 2420 × 1668 (264 ppi) |
| Brightness | 540 nits | 1000 (SDR max) |
| Pen / stylus | Stylus supplied (type not stated) | Apple Pencil Pro, Apple Pencil (USB-C); magnetic attach and charge, hover |
| Rear camera | 8 MP autofocus with flash (Eaton: camera-free version available) | 12 MP Wide, f/1.8, True Tone flash |
| Front camera | Front camera 1920 x 1080 stills (megapixels not stated; 2 MP in Eaton manual) | 12 MP Center Stage, landscape, TrueDepth (Face ID) |
| Video | 1080p at 30 fps | 4K video, ProRes |
| Depth sensing | Not in our data | LiDAR scanner |
| Connectivity | ||
| Network | Wi-Fi; optional LTE-A Cat 12 / UMTS | Wi-Fi only or Wi-Fi + Cellular (5G sub-6 GHz) |
| Wi-Fi | 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac | Wi-Fi 7 (802.11be), 2x2 MIMO |
| Bluetooth | Bluetooth 5.2 | Bluetooth 6 |
| NFC | Yes | Not in our data |
| Satellite positioning | GPS, GLONASS, Galileo | GPS/GNSS on Wi-Fi + Cellular models; digital compass and Wi-Fi location on all |
| SIM | Nano-SIM (LTE version) | eSIM only (cellular models) |
| Physical and power | ||
| Weight | 1430 g | 1350 g (including the tablet) |
| Dimensions | 278 × 207 × 13.8 (28.3 at battery section) mm | 289 × 217 × 16 mm |
| Ingress protection | IP67 | IP65 (pending testing)Unconfirmed, see note 9 |
| Battery | 2 x 3450 (7.2 V) | 8160Unconfirmed, see note 10 |
| Battery energy | 49.68 | 31.29 |
| Battery life | Typical 12 h (Eaton datasheet) | Up to 10 hours web or video on Wi-Fi |
| Hot-swap battery | Not in our data | No |
| Replaceable battery | No | No |
| Ports and expansion | 5-pin magnetic charging connector; docking connector (LAN, USB 2.0/3.0, USB-C, HDMI, SD, audio jack); microSDXC and nano-SIM under port cover; VESA 75 x 35 mm mount (Eaton) | Thunderbolt / USB 4 (USB-C, up to 40 Gb/s); Smart Connector; magnetic Apple Pencil connector |
| Docking | Dock DS100M (Aegex) / GEC-ATP-DOST-01 (Eaton), safe area only; shoulder strap; VESA mount | USB-C hubs and docks; Smart Connector or magnetic keyboard accessories where the iPad has them. Not usable through sealed Ex cases except the USB-C or Lightning charging port where the case exposes it. |
| Keyboard | No (slate) | Smart Connector (Magic Keyboard for iPad Pro) |
| Controls & Accessibility | ||
| Keys | Not in our data | Top button (no Touch ID; Face ID model), volume buttons; no programmable hardware key |
| Push-to-talk key | Not in our data | No |
| Biometrics | Not in our data | Face ID |
| Fleet and support | ||
| Preinstalled apps | AegexScan barcode-scanning application (optional, Aegex) | Not in our data |
| Manufacturer | Eaton Electric Limited (MTL), United Kingdom | Xshielder AS, Norway |
Only values we could check are listed; “Not in our data” means we have not verified it, not that the tablet lacks it. A numbered marker means a value is unconfirmed, and the matching note at the foot of the page explains why. Prices are on request for both.
Keep researching
Xshielder
A flameproof cover for the iPad Pro 11-inch (M5), certified IIC T6 for Zone 1/21 under ATEX, with the cameras, LiDAR and stylus input working through the cover. Tell us about your site and fleet size to get a quote. See the iPad Pro 11-inch cover.
FAQ
Neither is better across the board, and they do different jobs. The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC suits teams that need x86 Windows software, Zone 0 access, a North American listing or +55 °C. The Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch suits teams that run iPad apps, handle gases that need T6, or want its screen, cameras and LiDAR. Both are certified for Zone 1/21.
Only the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC, and only inside the case supplied by Eaton. The Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch is certified for Zone 1/21 (protection level Gb/Db) and is not certified for Zone 0.
The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC is both: it holds IECEx NMK 25.0029X and a UL listing for Class I Division 1 Groups C and D at T4, so not Groups A or B. The Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch is ATEX only. IECEx is planned, and our data has no North American listing for it.
We cannot call it. Our data gives October 2034 for the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC, but that is Microsoft’s date for the Windows 11 IoT Enterprise LTSC 2024 edition, and Eaton does not state its edition. Xshielder expects 7–8 years for the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch, based on previous iPad Pro support. Ask each maker for the exact date for the version you order.
Not the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC: Eaton says it must be charged outside the hazardous area, and its battery is not user-replaceable. For the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch our data has no value for charging inside the zone, so it is not confirmed either way. Its battery swap is outside the hazardous area only.
Only the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC, which runs x86 Windows 11 IoT Enterprise. The Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch runs iPadOS, so Windows applications do not run on it, though it runs iPad apps and works with Apple device management.
Prices depend on volume, configuration and region, so both are on request. Contact us for a price.
Facts last verified on against certificates, declarations of conformity and manufacturer data. The sources for each tablet are listed on its page: Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC and Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch. Always check the certificate for your exact model before use. Spotted an error? Tell us.