Atexxo
Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5
- Zone 1/21
- IIC T6
- ATEX + IECEx
Compare · Windows or Android for Zone 1
These two tablets do different jobs, so this is a choice between Android and Windows for Zone 1 work. The Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 is a standard Samsung Galaxy Tab Active5 in a flameproof (Ex db) housing: an 8-inch Android tablet rated IIC T6 that weighs 940 g. The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC is a 10.1-inch intrinsically safe (Ex ia) tablet that runs x86 Windows 11 IoT Enterprise, is rated T4, and is Zone 0 rated inside its supplied case. Both are certified for Zone 1/21 under ATEX and IECEx. Here is how they compare, and which we would choose for which team.
Atexxo
Eaton
Our verdict
Pick by the software your team has to run and the gases on your site. If your Zone 1 work needs desktop Windows software, a 10.1-inch screen, Zone 0 access or a North American Class I Division 1 listing, we would choose the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC. If you run Android apps managed with Samsung Knox, need the T6 class, or want a tablet that weighs 490 g less, we would choose the Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5.
Key differences
T6 keeps the surface at or below 85 °C and T4 at or below 135 °C. T4 is fine for most gases but not those that ignite below 135 °C, so check the ignition temperatures of your substances against the class.
The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC is rated Ga/Da, and Eaton limits Zone 0 use to the case it supplies. The Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 is rated Gb/Db for Zone 1/21. If any of your work is in Zone 0, only the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC qualifies, and only inside that case.
The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC runs x86 Windows software natively. The Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 is an Android tablet, so Windows applications are not possible on it. If your software exists only for Windows, the choice is made.
The Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 weighs 940 g, including the tablet, against 1,430 g for the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC, a gap of 490 g. You notice it when a tablet is carried on a strap or held in one hand through a shift.
In the field
Edge: Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC
This is the real dividing line. The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC runs Windows 11 IoT Enterprise on an Intel quad-core Atom (Apollo Lake) at 1.6 GHz, with 8 GB of RAM and 256 GB of storage, plus a microSDXC slot for cards of up to 2 TB. Our data lists Windows desktop software as built in. For teams whose plant, maintenance or engineering software exists only as a Windows application, that is the whole case for it. It also has the larger screen, 10.1 inches at 2560 × 1600.
The Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 is Android with Samsung’s One UI and Knox, on an Exynos 1380 octa-core Arm chip with 6 GB of RAM and 128 GB of storage, or 8 GB and 256 GB. Its 8-inch 120 Hz screen is 1920 × 1200 and a little brighter, at 600 nits against 540. Our data lists Android 16 for it, a single-source figure, so confirm the version with Atexxo. For web tools and Android apps it does the job; for Windows applications it does not.
Even
On the core rating the two are close: Zone 1/21, gas group IIC, dust group IIIC. The difference is the temperature class. The Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 is T6 for gas and T85 °C for dust, so it also suits gases with lower ignition temperatures. The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC is T4 for gas and T135 °C for dust, fine for most gases but not those that ignite below 135 °C. The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC has 5 °C more ambient headroom, up to +55 °C against +50 °C.
Eaton’s answers are Zone 0 and North America. The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC is rated for Zone 0, but only inside the case Eaton supplies, and its certificate warns of a friction hazard. Its UL listing covers Class I Division 1 Groups C and D at T4, and in North America its gas group is IIB, so hydrogen and acetylene are outside it; it is also listed for Class I, II and III Division 1. Our data has no North American listing for the Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5, which means unverified, not absent.
Even
The Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 has a 5,050 mAh battery of 19.44 Wh, and our data lists up to 14 hours of Wi-Fi internet use. The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC has two 3,450 mAh cells at 7.2 V, 49.68 Wh, and Eaton quotes a typical 12 hours. Both are makers’ figures with different wording, so test your own workload before you rely on either. Neither tablet may be charged in the hazardous area: the Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 needs its bottom cover removed in a safe area, and the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC must use Eaton’s own charger, with its dock for safe areas only. The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC’s battery is not user-replaceable, and our data does not confirm whether the Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5’s is; its certificate says the device shall not be opened in a hazardous location, and the battery swap rule for both is outside the hazardous area only.
On updates, both dates carry a caveat. Our data gives January 2029 for the Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5, Samsung’s date for the standard model; the Enterprise Edition gets longer support, and Atexxo does not say which it uses. For the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC it gives October 2034, Microsoft’s end date for the Windows 11 IoT Enterprise LTSC 2024 edition, but Eaton does not state which edition it ships. We would not choose on either date: ask each maker for the exact support end date for the version you order.
Edge: Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5
For a tablet that moves around, the Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 has the advantage. It weighs 940 g against 1,430 g for the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC, 490 g less. Atexxo’s page gives IP64 and MIL-STD-810H, both from a single source, and the Samsung base tablet itself is IP68. Eaton rates the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC IP67, and the ATEX marking in its manual includes IP67, but its IECEx certificate states no IP code; our data lists no ruggedness standard for it, which means unverified, not absent.
Our data lists more field controls for the Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5: S Pen support and a programmable Active Key that Samsung lets you map to barcode scanning, apps or push-to-talk through Knox. Atexxo does not list push-to-talk, and our data confirms only the side and volume buttons working through the housing, so ask Atexxo about the Active Key and the S Pen. Both scan through a camera app with no dedicated scan engine, and both list NFC, although NFC reading through the Atexxo housing is not in our data. The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC comes with a stylus and lists AegexScan as an optional scanning app. Its conditions of use allow no accessories or extensions in the hazardous area.
Specifications
Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 | Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC | |
|---|---|---|
| Ex rating | ||
| Certified for | Zone 1/21 | Zone 1/21 |
| Protection | Flameproof enclosure (Ex db) | Intrinsic safety (Ex ia) |
| Gas group | IIC | IIC |
| Temperature class | T6 (≤ 85 °C) | T4 (≤ 135 °C) |
| Certification | ||
| ATEX marking | II 2G Ex db IIC T6 Gb / II 2D Ex tb IIIC T85°C Db | II 1GD Ex ia IIC T4 Ga / II 1GD Ex ia IIIC T135°C Da |
| ATEX certificate | EPS 26 ATEX 1 161 X | Nemko 25ATEX1018X |
| IECEx marking | Ex db IIC T6 Gb / Ex tb IIIC T85°C Db | Ex ia IIC T4 Ga / Ex ia IIIC T135°C Da |
| IECEx certificate | IECEx EPS 26.0044X (Issue 0, 2026-09-09, Bureau Veritas CPS Germany) | IECEx NMK 25.0029X (Issue 0, 2026-05-26) |
| Other approvals | Not in our data | UL 913 / CSA C22.2 No. 60079-0 and -11 |
| North America | Not in our data | UL certificate CER230869: Class I Div 1 Groups C, D T4; Class I Zone 0 AEx ia IIB T4 Ga (US) / Ex ia IIB T4 Ga (CAN); UL 913 8th ed. Class I, II, III Div 1. Gas group is IIB in North America, IIC in Europe/IECEx. |
| Zone 0 | Not in our data | Zone 0 rated only inside the case supplied by the maker. |
| Protection level (EPL) | Gb / Db | Ga / Da |
| Dust group | IIIC | IIIC |
| Max surface temperature (dust) | 85 °C | 135 °C |
| Safe use | ||
| Ambient temperature (Ta) | −20 °C to +50 °C | −20 °C to +55 °C |
| Charging | Outside the hazardous area only | Outside the hazardous area only |
| Battery swap | Outside the hazardous area only | Outside the hazardous area only |
| Ports and accessories in the zone | SIM card installation only in a safe area, by removing the aluminium SIM cover. Bottom cover may be removed by the user only to charge in a safe area. No Ex-rated cable, dock or keyboard is listed, so none should be connected in the Ex area. Atexxo's page says storage can be extended to 1 TB with microSD; the certificate does not address microSD.Unconfirmed, see note 1 | No accessories or extensions in the hazardous area; SIM/microSD slots not to be opened; docking connector and charging only in safe areas. |
| Certified accessories | EX-ATEXXO-STRAP (named in the certificate; original part from Atexxo only). No Ex-rated keyboard, dock, pen or harness listed. Charger is not Ex-rated (charging only outside the hazardous area). | Eaton accessory list: carry case GEC-ATP-CC-01 (required in Zone 0), anti-glare screen protector GEC-ATP-AGSP-01, USB cables GEC-ATP-STUSBS-01, IS USB adapter GEC-ATP-ISUSB-01, shoulder strap GEC-ATP-SHST-01, stylus with tether GEC-ATP-STYT-01, docking station GEC-ATP-DOST-01 (safe area), hands-free harness GEC-ATP-HFHA-01, power adapter GEC-ATP-POAD-XX-01. Ex-area use of each accessory is not stated beyond the case, strap and stylus. |
| IP code in the Ex certificate | Not in our data | IP67 in the ATEX marking printed in Eaton's manual (Nemko 25ATEX1018X ... Um = 20V IP67); not in the IECEx database marking for NMK 25.0029XUnconfirmed, see note 2 |
| Operating temperature | −20 °C to +50 °C (certificate TaUnconfirmed, see note 3 | −20 °C to +55 °C |
| Conditions of use | Ambient temperature range −20 °C ≤ Ta ≤ +50 °C. A repair of flameproof joints is not allowed according to EN/IEC 60079-1 values. Minimum property class of screws must be A4-70; only original parts from the manufacturer shall be used. The glass window must be protected from high impact energy > 2 J. Device shall not be opened in hazardous location. Battery charging is only allowed outside hazardous location. Additional accessory EX-ATEXXO-STRAP can be used only as original part from manufacturer. | Do not remove or replace the battery pack in hazardous areas; use only battery AAEB-100-XX and charge it only on the tablet; charge only with Eaton charger GEC-ATP-POAD-x-01; do not open the SIM/SD port in a hazardous location; in Zone 0 use only inside Eaton case GEC-ATP-CC-01 (friction hazard); avoid friction on the enclosure; inspect for damage; service only by Eaton; do not charge, connect or disconnect in hazardous areas; no accessories or extensions in hazardous areas (IECEx NMK 25.0029X conditions a-j). Um = 20 V appears in the ATEX/UL marking printed in the instruction manual, not in the IECEx text. |
| Device | ||
| Type | Converted tablet | Dedicated Ex tablet |
| Tablet inside | Samsung Galaxy Tab Active5 | Not in our data |
| Fitting | Supplied as a complete unit | Not in our data |
| Launched | 2026Unconfirmed, see note 4 | 2026Unconfirmed, see note 5 |
| Part numbers | EXd-TABLET-GTA5-128 (Wi-Fi, 128 GB); EXd-TABLET-GTA5-128-CEL (Wi-Fi + 5G, 128 GB); EXd-TABLET-GTA5-256; EXd-TABLET-GTA5-256-CEL; EXd-TABLET-GTA5-* (conversion service for a customer's new Samsung tablet) | GZ1A1W51A1A1 (WiFi); GZ1A1G51A1A1 (LTE); carry case GEC-ATP-CC-01; dock GEC-ATP-DOST-01 |
| Operating system | Android 16Unconfirmed, see note 6 | Windows 11 IoT Enterprise |
| Edition | Android with One UI; Knox; Enterprise Edition and standard SKUs exist | Windows 11 IoT Enterprise (channel/LTSC year not stated; Eaton: 'Windows 11 IoT')Unconfirmed, see note 7 |
| OS at launch | Android 14 | Not in our data |
| OS upgrades | Standard: up to 4 generations of OS upgrades (Samsung UK/AU). Enterprise Edition: up to 8 generations per Samsung DE pageUnconfirmed, see note 6 | Not in our data |
| Security updates | Until January 2029Unconfirmed, see note 8 | Until October 2034Unconfirmed, see note 9 |
| Processor | Samsung Exynos 1380 (octa-core, 2.4 GHz + 2 GHz) | Intel quad-core Atom (Apollo Lake) 1.6 GHz base, 1.8 GHz burst |
| Processor architecture | Arm | x86 |
| Memory (RAM) | 6 (128 GB model); 8 (256 GB model) | 8 GB |
| Storage | 128 GB or 256 GB, microSD up to 1 TB | 256 GB, MicroSDXC up to 2 TB |
| What works through the housing | ||
| Side and volume buttons | Yes: push buttons are mounted in the housing and in the front cover (aluminium) | Not in our data |
| Rear cameras | Yes, behind a toughened glass opening in the housing | Not in our data |
| Touchscreen | Yes: front touch display under toughened specialty glass | Not in our data |
| Screen cover | Toughened specialty glass front window. Must be protected from impact energy above 2 J | Not in our data |
| Charging | Remove the aluminium bottom cover and charge in a safe area only. Charging in the hazardous location is forbidden | Not in our data |
| USB-C port | Only with the bottom cover removed in a safe area (charging) | Not in our data |
| SIM card | Self-installation in a safe area by removing the aluminium SIM cover; eSIM also supported | Not in our data |
| Mounting points | Integrated lug for fall prevention; optional EX-ATEXXO-STRAP (original part only) | Not in our data |
| Field capabilities | ||
| Push-to-talk | Via app (Samsung says the Active5 can act as a walkie-talkie; Atexxo does not list PTT; Active Key is programmable)Unconfirmed, see note 10 | Not in our data |
| Barcode scanning | Via app (camera-based; no dedicated scan engine)Unconfirmed, see note 10 | Via app (camera-based; Eaton lists no scan engine) |
| NFC reading | Not in our data | Built in (NFC) |
| 3D scanning / LiDAR | Not possible (base tablet has no depth sensor) | Not possible (no depth sensor) |
| Remote expert / video calls | Via app (front and rear cameras retained; camera marketed as an intrinsically safe video camera)Unconfirmed, see note 10 | Via app (front and rear cameras; a camera-free version is also offered) |
| Windows desktop software | Not possible (Android tablet) | Built in (Windows 11 IoT, x86) |
| Display and camera | ||
| Display | 8-inch TFT LCD, 120 Hz adaptive; Corning Gorilla Glass 5 | 10.1-inch AHVA (IPS-type), 1000:1 contrast, 170 degree viewing angle |
| Resolution | 1920 × 1200 (WUXGA) | 2560 × 1600 (WQXGA) |
| Brightness | 600 nits | 540 nits |
| Touch | Glove and outdoor touch claimed by SamsungUnconfirmed, see note 6 | Not in our data |
| Pen / stylus | S Pen supported (IP68 S Pen in the box on the UK page) | Stylus supplied (type not stated) |
| Rear camera | 13 MP, autofocus, flash | 8 MP autofocus with flash (Eaton: camera-free version available) |
| Front camera | 5 MP | Front camera 1920 x 1080 stills (megapixels not stated; 2 MP in Eaton manual) |
| Video | 4K UHD at 30 fps recording | 1080p at 30 fps |
| Connectivity | ||
| Network | Wi-Fi only (SM-X300) or 5G (SM-X306B) | Wi-Fi; optional LTE-A Cat 12 / UMTS |
| Wi-Fi | Wi-Fi 6 (802.11ax), 2.4 + 5 GHz, Wi-Fi Direct | 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac |
| Bluetooth | Bluetooth 5.3 | Bluetooth 5.2 |
| NFC | Yes | Yes |
| Satellite positioning | GPS, GLONASS, BeiDou, Galileo, QZSS | GPS, GLONASS, Galileo |
| SIM | 5G model: SIM plus eSIM ('dual SIM capability' in Samsung text; Atexxo: 'physical SIM and/or eSIM'); none on Wi-Fi modelUnconfirmed, see note 6 | Nano-SIM (LTE version) |
| Physical and power | ||
| Weight | 940 g (including the tablet) | 1430 g |
| Dimensions | 240 × 150 × 20 (Atexxo: 24 × 15 × 2 cm) mm | 278 × 207 × 13.8 (28.3 at battery section) mm |
| Ingress protection | IP64 (Atexxo page; the Samsung base tablet itself is IP68)Unconfirmed, see note 11 | IP67 |
| Ruggedness | MIL-STD-810H compliant (Atexxo flyer and page; base-tablet rating)Unconfirmed, see note 3 | Not in our data |
| Battery | 5050 mAh | 2 x 3450 (7.2 V) |
| Battery energy | 19.44 Wh | 49.68 |
| Battery life | Video playback up to 16 h; Wi-Fi internet up to 14 h; LTE internet up to 15 h | Typical 12 h (Eaton datasheet) |
| Replaceable battery | Not in our data | No |
| Ports and expansion | USB-C (USB 2.0), 3.5 mm headset jack, POGO pins, microSD slot | 5-pin magnetic charging connector; docking connector (LAN, USB 2.0/3.0, USB-C, HDMI, SD, audio jack); microSDXC and nano-SIM under port cover; VESA 75 x 35 mm mount (Eaton) |
| Docking | POGO connector (Samsung POGO dock accessories not verified for this model)Unconfirmed, see note 6 | Dock DS100M (Aegex) / GEC-ATP-DOST-01 (Eaton), safe area only; shoulder strap; VESA mount |
| Keyboard | POGO pins on the tablet; Samsung keyboard cover not confirmed for this modelUnconfirmed, see note 6 | No (slate) |
| Controls & Accessibility | ||
| Keys | Programmable Active Key (barcode, apps, PTT mapping via Knox); power and volume keys | Not in our data |
| Push-to-talk key | YesUnconfirmed, see note 10 | Not in our data |
| Glove touch | YesUnconfirmed, see note 6 | Not in our data |
| Biometrics | Fingerprint sensor | Not in our data |
| Fleet and support | ||
| Preinstalled apps | Not in our data | AegexScan barcode-scanning application (optional, Aegex) |
| Manufacturer | Atexxo B.V., Netherlands | Eaton Electric Limited (MTL), United Kingdom |
Only values we could check are listed; “Not in our data” means we have not verified it, not that the tablet lacks it. A numbered marker means a value is unconfirmed, and the matching note at the foot of the page explains why. Prices are on request for both.
Keep researching
Impartial advice
Both tablets are certified for Zone 1/21, so the choice comes down to your software and your site: Android or Windows, T6 or T4, Zone 0 or not. Tell us about your sites and we will help you choose impartially.
FAQ
Neither is better across the board. The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC suits teams that need x86 Windows software, a 10.1-inch screen, Zone 0 access or a North American Division 1 listing. The Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 suits Android teams, T6 requirements and crews who want a lighter tablet. Both are certified for Zone 1/21.
Only the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC, and only inside the case supplied by Eaton. The Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 is certified for Zone 1/21 (protection level Gb/Db) and is not certified for Zone 0.
Our data lists a North American approval only for the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC: a UL listing for Class I Division 1 Groups C and D at T4 and for Class I, II and III Division 1, which does not cover hydrogen or acetylene in Class I. Our data has no North American listing for the Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5, so check with Atexxo if you need one.
No. Both must be charged outside the hazardous area. The Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5’s bottom cover may be removed only in a safe area, and the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC may be charged only with Eaton’s own charger. Eaton’s dock is for safe areas only.
On the dates we have, the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC, to October 2034, but that is Microsoft’s date for the LTSC 2024 edition and Eaton does not state its edition. For the Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 we have January 2029, Samsung’s date for the standard model, and Atexxo does not say which edition it uses. Treat both as unconfirmed until the makers confirm them.
No. It is an Android tablet, so Windows applications are not possible on it. The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC runs Windows 11 IoT Enterprise on an x86 processor, and our data lists Windows desktop software as built in.
Prices depend on volume, configuration and region, so both are on request. Contact us for a price.
Facts last verified on against certificates, declarations of conformity and manufacturer data. The sources for each tablet are listed on its page: Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 and Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC. Always check the certificate for your exact model before use. Spotted an error? Tell us.