Atexxo
Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7
- Zone 1/21
- IIC T4
- ATEX + IECEx
- Class I Division 2
Compare · iPad or Windows for Zone 1
These two tablets do different jobs, so this is a choice between an iPad and a Windows tablet for Zone 1 work. The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 is a standard iPad mini (A17 Pro) in a flameproof (Ex db) housing: 8.3 inches, 990 g, running iPadOS 27. The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC is a 10.1-inch intrinsically safe (Ex ia) tablet that runs x86 Windows 11 IoT Enterprise, weighs 1,430 g, and is Zone 0 rated inside its supplied case. Both are IIC T4 and certified for Zone 1/21 under ATEX and IECEx, but their dust groups differ. Here is how they compare, and which we would choose for which team.
Atexxo
Eaton
Our verdict
Pick by the software your team has to run and the areas you work in. If your Zone 1 work needs desktop Windows software, a 10.1-inch screen, Zone 0 access, dust group IIIC or a North American Class I Division 1 listing, we would choose the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC. If you run iPadOS apps with Apple device management, carry the tablet all shift, or want 5G, Wi-Fi 6E and a 12 MP camera with 4K video, we would choose the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7.
Key differences
The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC is rated Ga/Da, and Eaton limits Zone 0 use to the case it supplies. The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 is rated Gb/Db for Zone 1/21. If any of your work is in Zone 0, only the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC qualifies, and only inside that case.
Both tablets reach T135 °C for dust, but the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 is rated for dust group IIIA, which is combustible flyings only, not dusts. The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC is IIIC. If your area classification includes dust, check this first.
The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC’s UL listing covers Class I Division 1 Groups C and D at T4, so not acetylene or hydrogen, plus Class II and III Division 1. The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7’s CSA listing is Class I Zone 1 at IIC T4, with a Division 2 marking, for gas only. Which fits depends on how your site is classified.
The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC runs x86 Windows software natively. The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 runs iPadOS only, so Windows applications are not possible on it. If your software exists only for Windows, the choice is made.
In the field
Edge: Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC
This is the real dividing line. The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC runs Windows 11 IoT Enterprise on an Intel quad-core Atom (Apollo Lake) at 1.6 GHz, with 8 GB of RAM and 256 GB of storage, plus a microSDXC slot for cards of up to 2 TB. Our data lists Windows desktop software as built in. For teams whose plant, maintenance or engineering software exists only as a Windows application, that is the whole case for it. It also has the larger screen, 10.1 inches at 2560 × 1600 and 540 nits.
The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 runs iPadOS 27 on an Apple A17 Pro, with 8 GB of RAM (Apple does not publish RAM, so that figure comes from teardowns) and 128, 256 or 512 GB of storage. Its 8.3-inch screen is 2266 × 1488 at 500 nits. It suits teams that already standardize on iPads and Apple device management, and runs iPad apps and web tools well, but our data lists Windows software as not possible on it. Its Touch ID fingerprint scanner is removed in the conversion.
Edge: Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC
On gases the two start level: Zone 1/21 under ATEX and IECEx, gas group IIC, temperature class T4 (135 °C), and a dust surface limit of 135 °C. T4 is fine for most gases, but not those that ignite below 135 °C. The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC adds the dust group IIIC, against IIIA for the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7, which covers combustible flyings only. It is also rated for Zone 0, but only inside the case Eaton supplies, and the certificate warns of a friction hazard. It has 5 °C more ambient headroom, up to +55 °C against +50 °C.
North America splits the other way on gases. The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC’s UL listing is Class I Division 1 Groups C and D at T4, plus Class II and III Division 1, and its North American gas group is IIB, so hydrogen and acetylene are outside it. The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7’s CSA listing is Class I Zone 1 AEx db IIC T4 Gb in the US and Ex db IIC T4 Gb in Canada, and the certificate also allows a Class I Division 2 marking, for gas only, with no Class II or III rating. Match each listing to how your site is classified.
Edge: Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7
For a tablet that moves around, the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 has the advantage. It weighs 990 g including the iPad, against 1,430 g for the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC, 440 g less. Eaton rates the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC IP67, and the ATEX marking in its manual includes IP67, but its IECEx certificate states no IP code. Our data has no ingress figure for the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7, which means unverified, not absent.
The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 has the faster radios and the higher camera specification. Its cellular version has 5G sub-6 GHz, Wi-Fi 6E and Bluetooth 5.3, against optional LTE-A Cat 12 or UMTS, 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac and Bluetooth 5.2, and it is eSIM only. Its 12 MP rear camera works through a glass opening and records 4K video; the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC has an 8 MP autofocus camera and 1080p video. Both scan through a camera app, and both have a camera-free version: the Atexxo -BC version has blocked cameras. The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC lists built-in NFC, and our data records no NFC reader on any iPad, which it flags as unconfirmed.
Even
The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 has a 19.3 Wh battery, and Apple quotes up to 10 hours of web or video use on Wi-Fi (9 hours on cellular). The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC has two 3,450 mAh cells at 7.2 V, 49.68 Wh, and Eaton quotes a typical 12 hours. Both are makers’ figures with different wording, so test your own workload before you rely on either. Neither battery is user-replaceable, and neither tablet may be charged in the hazardous area. Atexxo specifies charging at +10 °C to +45 °C, and Eaton’s charger and dock are for safe areas only.
On updates, Apple’s minimum for the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 runs to at least October 2029, a floor rather than an end date. Our data gives October 2034 for the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC, Microsoft’s end date for the Windows 11 IoT Enterprise LTSC 2024 edition, but Eaton does not state which edition it ships. We would not choose on the longer date: ask Eaton for the exact support end date for the version you order.
Specifications
Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 | Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC | |
|---|---|---|
| Ex rating | ||
| Certified for | Zone 1/21 | Zone 1/21 |
| Protection | Flameproof enclosure (Ex db) | Intrinsic safety (Ex ia) |
| Gas group | IIC | IIC |
| Temperature class | T4 (≤ 135 °C) | T4 (≤ 135 °C) |
| Certification | ||
| ATEX marking | II 2G Ex db IIC T4 Gb / II 2D Ex tb IIIA T135°C Db | II 1GD Ex ia IIC T4 Ga / II 1GD Ex ia IIIC T135°C Da |
| ATEX certificate | EPS 22 ATEX 1 162 X | Nemko 25ATEX1018X |
| IECEx marking | Ex db IIC T4 Gb / Ex tb IIIA T135°C Db | Ex ia IIC T4 Ga / Ex ia IIIC T135°C Da |
| IECEx certificate | IECEx EPS 22.0020X | IECEx NMK 25.0029X (Issue 0, 2026-05-26) |
| Other approvals | INMETRO (Brazil) DNV 25.0026 X/00, revision 01 (2025-04-17; certificate first issued 2025-03-07), valid until 2028-11-16 | UL 913 / CSA C22.2 No. 60079-0 and -11 |
| North America | CSA 80152658 (NA certificate CSA23CA80152658X; original 2023-06-07 for the mini 6, updated 2025-05-05 to add the mini 7): Canada Ex db IIC T4 Gb; US Class I, Zone 1, AEx db IIC T4 Gb; Ta −20 to +50°C, charging +10 to +45°C. The certificate also allows the marking 'Class I, Division 2, Groups A, B, C & D, T4'. Gas only; no Class II/III (dust) rating. | UL certificate CER230869: Class I Div 1 Groups C, D T4; Class I Zone 0 AEx ia IIB T4 Ga (US) / Ex ia IIB T4 Ga (CAN); UL 913 8th ed. Class I, II, III Div 1. Gas group is IIB in North America, IIC in Europe/IECEx. |
| Zone 0 | Not in our data | Zone 0 rated only inside the case supplied by the maker. |
| Protection level (EPL) | Gb / Db | Ga / Da |
| Dust group | IIIA | IIIC |
| Max surface temperature (dust) | 135 °C | 135 °C |
| Safe use | ||
| Ambient temperature (Ta) | −20 °C to +50 °C | −20 °C to +55 °C |
| Charging | Outside the hazardous area only | Outside the hazardous area only |
| Battery swap | Outside the hazardous area only | Outside the hazardous area only |
| Ports and accessories in the zone | SIM and charging covers must be closed and screwed in place; opened only outside the hazardous area; charging only +10 to +45°C | No accessories or extensions in the hazardous area; SIM/microSD slots not to be opened; docking connector and charging only in safe areas. |
| Certified accessories | Shoulder strap for Zone 1 and Zone 2 phones and tablets (Atexxo product). Ex rating not stated separately.Unconfirmed, see note 1 | Eaton accessory list: carry case GEC-ATP-CC-01 (required in Zone 0), anti-glare screen protector GEC-ATP-AGSP-01, USB cables GEC-ATP-STUSBS-01, IS USB adapter GEC-ATP-ISUSB-01, shoulder strap GEC-ATP-SHST-01, stylus with tether GEC-ATP-STYT-01, docking station GEC-ATP-DOST-01 (safe area), hands-free harness GEC-ATP-HFHA-01, power adapter GEC-ATP-POAD-XX-01. Ex-area use of each accessory is not stated beyond the case, strap and stylus. |
| IP code in the Ex certificate | Not in our data | IP67 in the ATEX marking printed in Eaton's manual (Nemko 25ATEX1018X ... Um = 20V IP67); not in the IECEx database marking for NMK 25.0029XUnconfirmed, see note 2 |
| Operating temperature | −20 °C to +50 °C | −20 °C to +55 °C |
| Conditions of use | ATEX EPS 22 ATEX 1 162 X rev. 3 and IECEx EPS 22.0020X issue 3: Ta −20°C to +50°C. Repair of flameproof joints not allowed (EN/IEC 60079-1 values). Minimum property class of screws A4-70; only original parts from the manufacturer. Glass window to be protected from impact energy above 2 J. Device shall not be opened in a hazardous location; battery charging only outside the hazardous location. Added by CSA 80152658 and INMETRO DNV 25.0026 X (not in the ATEX/IECEx text): SIM card cover and bottom cover opened only outside the hazardous location and kept screwed in place; charging only at +10°C to +45°C (CSA); check the enclosure and corner bumpers for damage before use in a hazardous area (INMETRO). | Do not remove or replace the battery pack in hazardous areas; use only battery AAEB-100-XX and charge it only on the tablet; charge only with Eaton charger GEC-ATP-POAD-x-01; do not open the SIM/SD port in a hazardous location; in Zone 0 use only inside Eaton case GEC-ATP-CC-01 (friction hazard); avoid friction on the enclosure; inspect for damage; service only by Eaton; do not charge, connect or disconnect in hazardous areas; no accessories or extensions in hazardous areas (IECEx NMK 25.0029X conditions a-j). Um = 20 V appears in the ATEX/UL marking printed in the instruction manual, not in the IECEx text. |
| Device | ||
| Type | Converted tablet | Dedicated Ex tablet |
| Tablet inside | iPad mini (A17 Pro) | Not in our data |
| Also fits | iPad mini (6th generation) | Not in our data |
| Fitting | Supplied as a complete unit | Not in our data |
| Tablet can be removed | No (permanently converted: flameproof enclosure around the iPad, not to be opened in a hazardous location; bottom cover opened outside the Ex area only for charging and SIM)Unconfirmed, see note 3 | Not in our data |
| Launched | 2025 | 2026Unconfirmed, see note 4 |
| Part numbers | EXd-TABLET-M7-128, -128-CEL, -256, -256-CEL, -512, -512-CEL (incl. iPad mini 7); EXd-TABLET-M7-128-CEL-BC (blocked cameras); EXd-TABLET-M7-* (customer iPad conversion) | GZ1A1W51A1A1 (WiFi); GZ1A1G51A1A1 (LTE); carry case GEC-ATP-CC-01; dock GEC-ATP-DOST-01 |
| Operating system | iPadOS 27 | Windows 11 IoT Enterprise |
| Edition | iPadOS (consumer; no LTSC or enterprise edition) | Windows 11 IoT Enterprise (channel/LTSC year not stated; Eaton: 'Windows 11 IoT')Unconfirmed, see note 5 |
| OS at launch | iPadOS 18.1 | Not in our data |
| OS upgrades | Still supported by iPadOS 27 (current) | Not in our data |
| Security updates | At least until October 2029 (Apple's minimum) | Until October 2034Unconfirmed, see note 6 |
| Processor | Apple A17 Pro (6-core CPU, 5-core GPU) | Intel quad-core Atom (Apollo Lake) 1.6 GHz base, 1.8 GHz burst |
| Processor architecture | Arm | x86 |
| Memory (RAM) | 8 GBUnconfirmed, see note 7 | 8 GB |
| Storage | 128 GB, 256 GB, 512 GB | 256 GB, MicroSDXC up to 2 TB |
| What works through the housing | ||
| Face ID / Touch ID | Touch ID (top-button fingerprint scanner) REMOVED | Not in our data |
| Side and volume buttons | Aluminium push buttons held by stainless retaining washers (3 buttons) | Not in our data |
| Rear cameras | Rear camera works (glass opening); '-BC' variants have blocked cameras | Not in our data |
| Front camera | Works (all original features preserved except as listed)Unconfirmed, see note 8 | Not in our data |
| Touchscreen | Works through toughened glass front window | Not in our data |
| Screen cover | Toughened specialty glass front window (flameproof joint) | Not in our data |
| Charging | USB-C through the bottom cover (removed by the user to charge in a safe area; charging only outside the Ex area, +10 to +45°C) | Not in our data |
| Speakers and microphones | Preserved ('all features of the original product are preserved')Unconfirmed, see note 8 | Not in our data |
| USB-C port | Via the removable bottom cover, outside the Ex area only | Not in our data |
| SIM card | No SIM tray (eSIM only); SIM cover on the housing is opened outside the Ex area only | Not in our data |
| Removed or disabled | Fingerprint scanner (Touch ID) removed; blocked-camera '-BC' variant available | Not in our data |
| Field capabilities | ||
| Push-to-talk | Via app (third-party PTT apps over Wi-Fi/cellular; no PTT key; Ex-rated? n/a)Unconfirmed, see note 9 | Not in our data |
| Lone worker | Via app (third-party lone-worker apps)Unconfirmed, see note 9 | Not in our data |
| Barcode scanning | Via app (camera-based scanning; no scan engine); not possible on the blocked-camera '-BC' variantUnconfirmed, see note 9 | Via app (camera-based; Eaton lists no scan engine) |
| NFC reading | Not possible (no NFC reader on any iPad)Unconfirmed, see note 9 | Built in (NFC) |
| 3D scanning / LiDAR | Not possible (no LiDAR on this iPad) | Not possible (no depth sensor) |
| Remote expert / video calls | Via app (FaceTime, Teams or remote-assist apps; needs camera and audio access through the case)Unconfirmed, see note 9 | Via app (front and rear cameras; a camera-free version is also offered) |
| Windows desktop software | Not possible (iPadOS only) | Built in (Windows 11 IoT, x86) |
| Bluetooth gas detectors | Via app (Bluetooth 5.3; vendor app; no maker-certified integration listed)Unconfirmed, see note 9 | Not in our data |
| Display and camera | ||
| Display | 8.3-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, P3, True Tone, fully laminated, antireflective coating | 10.1-inch AHVA (IPS-type), 1000:1 contrast, 170 degree viewing angle |
| Resolution | 2266 × 1488 (326 ppi) | 2560 × 1600 (WQXGA) |
| Brightness | 500 nits | 540 nits |
| Pen / stylus | Apple Pencil Pro, Apple Pencil (USB-C); hover | Stylus supplied (type not stated) |
| Rear camera | 12 MP Wide, f/1.8, True Tone flash | 8 MP autofocus with flash (Eaton: camera-free version available) |
| Front camera | 12 MP Center Stage | Front camera 1920 x 1080 stills (megapixels not stated; 2 MP in Eaton manual) |
| Video | 4K video | 1080p at 30 fps |
| Connectivity | ||
| Network | Wi-Fi only or Wi-Fi + Cellular (5G sub-6 GHz) | Wi-Fi; optional LTE-A Cat 12 / UMTS |
| Wi-Fi | Wi-Fi 6E (802.11ax), 2x2 MIMO | 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac |
| Bluetooth | Bluetooth 5.3 | Bluetooth 5.2 |
| NFC | Not in our data | Yes |
| Satellite positioning | GPS/GNSS on Wi-Fi + Cellular models; digital compass and Wi-Fi location on all | GPS, GLONASS, Galileo |
| SIM | eSIM only (no SIM tray) | Nano-SIM (LTE version) |
| Physical and power | ||
| Weight | 990 g (including the tablet) | 1430 g |
| Dimensions | 240 × 170 × 22 mm | 278 × 207 × 13.8 (28.3 at battery section) mm |
| Ingress protection | Not in our data | IP67 |
| Battery | 5034Unconfirmed, see note 10 | 2 x 3450 (7.2 V) |
| Battery energy | 19.3 | 49.68 |
| Battery life | Up to 10 hours web or video on Wi-Fi (9 hours cellular) | Typical 12 h (Eaton datasheet) |
| Hot-swap battery | No | Not in our data |
| Replaceable battery | No | No |
| Ports and expansion | USB-C (USB 3, 10 Gb/s); magnetic Apple Pencil connector | 5-pin magnetic charging connector; docking connector (LAN, USB 2.0/3.0, USB-C, HDMI, SD, audio jack); microSDXC and nano-SIM under port cover; VESA 75 x 35 mm mount (Eaton) |
| Docking | USB-C hubs and docks; Smart Connector or magnetic keyboard accessories where the iPad has them. Not usable through sealed Ex cases except the USB-C or Lightning charging port where the case exposes it. | Dock DS100M (Aegex) / GEC-ATP-DOST-01 (Eaton), safe area only; shoulder strap; VESA mount |
| Keyboard | Not in our data | No (slate) |
| Controls & Accessibility | ||
| Keys | Top button with Touch ID sensor, volume buttons; no programmable hardware key | Not in our data |
| Push-to-talk key | No | Not in our data |
| Biometrics | Touch ID (top button) | Not in our data |
| Fleet and support | ||
| Preinstalled apps | Not in our data | AegexScan barcode-scanning application (optional, Aegex) |
| Manufacturer | Atexxo B.V., Netherlands | Eaton Electric Limited (MTL), United Kingdom |
Only values we could check are listed; “Not in our data” means we have not verified it, not that the tablet lacks it. A numbered marker means a value is unconfirmed, and the matching note at the foot of the page explains why. Prices are on request for both.
Keep researching
Impartial advice
Both tablets are certified for Zone 1/21 at IIC T4, so the choice comes down to your software and your area classification: iPad or Windows, dust group IIIA or IIIC, Zone 0 or not. Tell us about your sites and we will help you choose impartially.
FAQ
Neither is better across the board. The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC suits teams that need x86 Windows software, a 10.1-inch screen, Zone 0 access, dust group IIIC or a Division 1 listing. The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 suits iPadOS teams and crews who want a lighter tablet. Both are certified for Zone 1/21 at IIC T4.
Only the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC, and only inside the case supplied by Eaton. The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 is certified for Zone 1/21 (protection level Gb/Db) and is not certified for Zone 0.
Yes, in different ways. The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC is listed by UL for Class I Division 1 Groups C and D at T4 and for Class I, II and III Division 1, so not acetylene or hydrogen. The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 has a CSA listing for Class I Zone 1 (IIC T4) and allows a Class I Division 2 marking, for gas only.
No. Both must be charged outside the hazardous area, and neither battery is user-replaceable. The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 is charged through its USB-C port behind a bottom cover opened only outside the hazardous area, and Eaton’s dock and charger for the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC are for safe areas only.
On the dates we have, the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC, to October 2034, but that is Microsoft’s date for the LTSC 2024 edition and Eaton does not state its edition. For the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7, Apple’s minimum runs to at least October 2029. Treat Eaton’s date as unconfirmed until Eaton confirms it.
No. It runs iPadOS, so Windows applications are not possible on it. The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC runs Windows 11 IoT Enterprise on an x86 processor, and our data lists Windows desktop software as built in.
Prices depend on volume, configuration and region, so both are on request. Contact us for a price.
Facts last verified on against certificates, declarations of conformity and manufacturer data. The sources for each tablet are listed on its page: Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 and Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC. Always check the certificate for your exact model before use. Spotted an error? Tell us.