Atexxo
Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5
- Zone 1/21
- IIC T6
- ATEX + IECEx
Compare · iPad or Android for Zone 1
These two tablets are close on paper: both are flameproof (Ex db), certified for Zone 1/21 at IIC T6, and both put a standard Samsung or Apple tablet inside a certified housing. The Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 is an 8-inch Android tablet converted by Atexxo, with ATEX and IECEx certificates, a +50 °C ambient rating and a weight of 940 g. The Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch is a flameproof cover around an iPad Pro 11-inch (M5), with an 11-inch 1,000-nit screen, LiDAR and cameras that work through the cover, but it is ATEX only, rated to +45 °C and 410 g heavier. Here is how they compare, and which we would choose for which team.
Atexxo
Xshielder
Our verdict
The gases and zones are the same, so pick by the work and the paperwork. If you need IECEx, a hot site up to +50 °C or a lighter tablet, we would choose the Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5. If your Zone 1 crews document their work with photos, LiDAR scans and marked-up drawings on a larger screen, or you already run iPads, and your sites fit an ATEX certificate and +45 °C, we would choose the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch.
Key differences
Atexxo publishes ATEX and IECEx certificate numbers for the Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5. Xshielder confirms ATEX certification for the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch but has published no certificate number yet, and IECEx is planned. If your site or client needs IECEx, this decides the choice.
The Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 is 410 g lighter than the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch, which weighs 1,350 g including the iPad. You notice the gap on a strap or in one hand through a shift.
The Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch has an 11-inch OLED screen at up to 1,000 nits (SDR maximum). The Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 has an 8-inch LCD at 600 nits. For reading drawings and data on site, the larger screen is the stronger tool.
The Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch has the iPad Pro’s LiDAR scanner, and Xshielder confirms it works through the cover. Our data lists no depth sensor for the Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5.
In the field
Edge: Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5
On the core rating they match. Both are flameproof (Ex db), certified for Zone 1/21 at protection level Gb/Db, gas group IIC and T6 (85 °C), and neither is certified for Zone 0. The dust marking differs slightly: T85 °C for the Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 and T80 °C for the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch. Where they part is the paperwork. Atexxo publishes ATEX EPS 26 ATEX 1 161 X and IECEx EPS 26.0044X, and Xshielder confirms ATEX certification but has published no certificate number yet.
Heat follows. The Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 is certified from −20 °C to +50 °C, against −20 °C to +45 °C for the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch, a gap of 5 °C that matters only on the hottest sites. Our data lists no North American listing for either tablet, so check with the makers before you plan for a Class I Division 1 site. Check the ambient range in the certificate, not the operating range on a datasheet.
Edge: Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch
This is where the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch pulls ahead, because the tablet inside is a standard iPad Pro 11-inch (M5). Its 11-inch Ultra Retina XDR screen is 2420 × 1668 at up to 1,000 nits (SDR maximum), against an 8-inch screen at 1920 × 1200 and 600 nits on the Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5. Xshielder confirms that the 12 MP rear camera with 4K video and ProRes, the LiDAR scanner, the 12 MP front camera with Face ID and stylus input all work through the cover.
The Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 has a 13 MP autofocus rear camera behind a toughened glass opening, a 5 MP front camera and 4K video at 30 fps. Our data lists no depth sensor for it, so 3D scanning is not possible on it. It supports Samsung’s S Pen, but no pen is listed in its certificate, and the Ex rating of Xshielder’s stylus is not stated. For inspection photos, room scans and video calls with an expert, the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch is the more capable single device.
Edge: Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5
For a tablet that moves around, the Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 is the easier one to carry: 940 g against 1,350 g including the iPad. Our data lists up to 14 hours of Wi-Fi internet from its 19.44 Wh battery, and up to 10 hours of web or video on Wi-Fi from the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch’s 31.29 Wh, which is not user-replaceable. These are makers’ figures measured in different ways, so test your own workload. Our data does not confirm whether the Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5’s battery is user-replaceable, and its certificate says the device shall not be opened in a hazardous location.
Charging is the planning point. The Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 must be charged in a safe area only, with its aluminium bottom cover removed, and charging in the hazardous location is forbidden. Xshielder confirms the USB-C port of the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch is accessible for charging and data, but our data has no value for charging inside the zone, so confirm that before you plan around it. The Samsung tablet inside the Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 lists a programmable Active Key and a fingerprint sensor, though our data does not confirm either through the housing; the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch has Face ID, confirmed through the cover.
Even
These are different ecosystems. The Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 runs Android with Samsung One UI and Knox, on an Exynos 1380 with 6 or 8 GB of RAM and 128 or 256 GB of storage plus microSD up to 1 TB; our data flags its exact Android version as unconfirmed. The Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch runs iPadOS 27 on an M5 with 12 or 16 GB, depending on storage, with the same apps and Apple device management as any iPad. Neither runs Windows desktop software.
On updates we would not choose on either date. Our data gives January 2029 for the Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5, which is Samsung’s date for the standard model; the Enterprise Edition gets longer support, and Atexxo does not say which it uses. Xshielder expects 7–8 years for the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch, based on previous iPad Pro support, an expectation and not a date. Ask each maker for the exact support period of the version you order.
Specifications
Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 | Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch | |
|---|---|---|
| Ex rating | ||
| Certified for | Zone 1/21 | Zone 1/21 |
| Protection | Flameproof enclosure (Ex db) | Flameproof enclosure (Ex db) |
| Gas group | IIC | IIC |
| Temperature class | T6 (≤ 85 °C) | T6 (≤ 85 °C) |
| Certification | ||
| ATEX marking | II 2G Ex db IIC T6 Gb / II 2D Ex tb IIIC T85°C Db | II 2G Ex db IIC T6 Gb / II 2D Ex tb IIIC T80°C Db |
| ATEX certificate | EPS 26 ATEX 1 161 X | ATEX certified |
| IECEx marking | Ex db IIC T6 Gb / Ex tb IIIC T85°C Db | Not in our data |
| IECEx certificate | IECEx EPS 26.0044X (Issue 0, 2026-09-09, Bureau Veritas CPS Germany) | Not in our data |
| Other approvals | Not in our data | Lanyard hole to NS-9611 (pending testing) |
| Protection level (EPL) | Gb / Db | Gb / Db |
| Dust group | IIIC | IIIC |
| Max surface temperature (dust) | 85 °C | 80 °C |
| Safe use | ||
| Ambient temperature (Ta) | −20 °C to +50 °C | −20 °C to +45 °C |
| Charging | Outside the hazardous area only | Not in our data |
| Battery swap | Outside the hazardous area only | Outside the hazardous area only |
| Ports and accessories in the zone | SIM card installation only in a safe area, by removing the aluminium SIM cover. Bottom cover may be removed by the user only to charge in a safe area. No Ex-rated cable, dock or keyboard is listed, so none should be connected in the Ex area. Atexxo's page says storage can be extended to 1 TB with microSD; the certificate does not address microSD.Unconfirmed, see note 1 | Not in our data |
| Certified accessories | EX-ATEXXO-STRAP (named in the certificate; original part from Atexxo only). No Ex-rated keyboard, dock, pen or harness listed. Charger is not Ex-rated (charging only outside the hazardous area). | Xshielder Stylus (capacitive, 22 g, aluminium, with lanyard). Ex rating of the stylus not stated. Apple Pencil not mentioned.Unconfirmed, see note 2 |
| Operating temperature | −20 °C to +50 °C (certificate TaUnconfirmed, see note 3 | −20 °C to +45 °CUnconfirmed, see note 4 |
| Conditions of use | Ambient temperature range −20 °C ≤ Ta ≤ +50 °C. A repair of flameproof joints is not allowed according to EN/IEC 60079-1 values. Minimum property class of screws must be A4-70; only original parts from the manufacturer shall be used. The glass window must be protected from high impact energy > 2 J. Device shall not be opened in hazardous location. Battery charging is only allowed outside hazardous location. Additional accessory EX-ATEXXO-STRAP can be used only as original part from manufacturer. | Not in our data |
| Device | ||
| Type | Converted tablet | Certified Ex case |
| Tablet inside | Samsung Galaxy Tab Active5 | iPad Pro 11-inch (M5) |
| Also fits | Not in our data | iPad Pro 11-inch (M4) |
| Fitting | Supplied as a complete unit | Fitted by the makerUnconfirmed, see note 5 |
| Tablet can be removed | Not in our data | Yes, but only by Xshielder authorised personnel (lid glued on the ATEX version)Unconfirmed, see note 5 |
| Launched | 2026Unconfirmed, see note 6 | 2026 |
| Part numbers | EXd-TABLET-GTA5-128 (Wi-Fi, 128 GB); EXd-TABLET-GTA5-128-CEL (Wi-Fi + 5G, 128 GB); EXd-TABLET-GTA5-256; EXd-TABLET-GTA5-256-CEL; EXd-TABLET-GTA5-* (conversion service for a customer's new Samsung tablet) | XS1-TB-G01-C01-S01; datasheet ref. iPad11P-000033-1 |
| Operating system | Android 16Unconfirmed, see note 7 | iPadOS 27 |
| Edition | Android with One UI; Knox; Enterprise Edition and standard SKUs exist | iPadOS (consumer; no LTSC or enterprise edition) |
| OS at launch | Android 14 | iPadOS 26 |
| OS upgrades | Standard: up to 4 generations of OS upgrades (Samsung UK/AU). Enterprise Edition: up to 8 generations per Samsung DE pageUnconfirmed, see note 7 | Still supported by iPadOS 27 (current) |
| Security updates | Until January 2029Unconfirmed, see note 8 | 7–8 years (based on previous iPad Pro support) |
| Processor | Samsung Exynos 1380 (octa-core, 2.4 GHz + 2 GHz) | Apple M5 (up to 10-core CPU) |
| Processor architecture | Arm | Arm |
| Memory (RAM) | 6 (128 GB model); 8 (256 GB model) | 12 (256/512 GB) / 16 (1/2 TB) |
| Storage | 128 GB or 256 GB, microSD up to 1 TB | 256 GB, 512 GB, 1024 GB, 2048 GB |
| What works through the housing or case | ||
| Face ID / Touch ID | Not in our data | Yes: Face ID works through the cover (confirmed by Xshielder) |
| Apple Pencil / stylus | Not in our data | Yes: stylus input works through the cover (confirmed by Xshielder); Xshielder capacitive stylus (22 g, interchangeable tips, lanyard) offered |
| Side and volume buttons | Yes: push buttons are mounted in the housing and in the front cover (aluminium) | Yes: usable through the cover (Xshielder: all iPad Pro functions available) |
| Rear cameras | Yes, behind a toughened glass opening in the housing | Yes: 12 MP Wide camera with 4K video and ProRes works through the cover (confirmed by Xshielder) |
| LiDAR | Not in our data | Yes: LiDAR works through the cover (confirmed by Xshielder) |
| Front camera | Not in our data | Yes: landscape 12 MP Center Stage camera with Face ID works through the cover (confirmed by Xshielder) |
| Touchscreen | Yes: front touch display under toughened specialty glass | Yes: works through the cover (Xshielder: all iPad Pro functions available) |
| Screen cover | Toughened specialty glass front window. Must be protected from impact energy above 2 J | Not in our data |
| Charging | Remove the aluminium bottom cover and charge in a safe area only. Charging in the hazardous location is forbidden | USB-C charging as on a standard iPad Pro (confirmed by Xshielder); 50% in 30 min with a 60 W adapter (M5); no wireless |
| Speakers and microphones | Not in our data | Yes: all 4 microphones and 4 speakers usable (confirmed by Xshielder) |
| Headset audio | Not in our data | Yes: audio in and out works (confirmed by Xshielder); headsets via USB-C or Bluetooth, as the iPad Pro has no 3.5 mm jack |
| USB-C port | Only with the bottom cover removed in a safe area (charging) | Yes: accessible for charging and data, as on a standard iPad Pro (confirmed by Xshielder) |
| SIM card | Self-installation in a safe area by removing the aluminium SIM cover; eSIM also supported | eSIM only (1 x eSIM, cellular models); no SIM tray |
| Removed or disabled | Not in our data | Nothing removed or disabled: all iPad Pro features available (confirmed by Xshielder) |
| Mounting points | Integrated lug for fall prevention; optional EX-ATEXXO-STRAP (original part only) | 1/4-inch tripod mount; lanyard hole to NS-9611 (pending testing) |
| Field capabilities | ||
| Push-to-talk | Via app (Samsung says the Active5 can act as a walkie-talkie; Atexxo does not list PTT; Active Key is programmable)Unconfirmed, see note 9 | Via app (third-party PTT apps over Wi-Fi/cellular; no PTT key; Ex-rated? n/a) |
| Lone worker | Not in our data | Via app (third-party lone-worker apps) |
| Barcode scanning | Via app (camera-based; no dedicated scan engine)Unconfirmed, see note 9 | Via app (camera-based scanning; no scan engine) |
| NFC reading | Not in our data | Not possible (no NFC reader on any iPad)Unconfirmed, see note 10 |
| 3D scanning / LiDAR | Not possible (base tablet has no depth sensor) | Built in (iPad Pro LiDAR); Xshielder lists 'Pro camera with LiDAR' |
| Remote expert / video calls | Via app (front and rear cameras retained; camera marketed as an intrinsically safe video camera)Unconfirmed, see note 9 | Via app (FaceTime, Teams or remote-assist apps; cameras and audio work through the cover) |
| Windows desktop software | Not possible (Android tablet) | Not possible (iPadOS only) |
| Bluetooth gas detectors | Not in our data | Via app (Bluetooth 6 (M5) / 5.3 (M4); vendor app; no maker-certified integration listed) |
| Display and camera | ||
| Display | 8-inch TFT LCD, 120 Hz adaptive; Corning Gorilla Glass 5 | 11-inch Ultra Retina XDR tandem OLED, ProMotion 10-120 Hz, P3, True Tone, antireflective coating; nano-texture glass option on 1 and 2 TB |
| Resolution | 1920 × 1200 (WUXGA) | 2420 × 1668 (264 ppi) |
| Brightness | 600 nits | 1000 (SDR max) |
| Touch | Glove and outdoor touch claimed by SamsungUnconfirmed, see note 7 | Not in our data |
| Pen / stylus | S Pen supported (IP68 S Pen in the box on the UK page) | Apple Pencil Pro, Apple Pencil (USB-C); magnetic attach and charge, hover |
| Rear camera | 13 MP, autofocus, flash | 12 MP Wide, f/1.8, True Tone flash |
| Front camera | 5 MP | 12 MP Center Stage, landscape, TrueDepth (Face ID) |
| Video | 4K UHD at 30 fps recording | 4K video, ProRes |
| Depth sensing | Not in our data | LiDAR scanner |
| Connectivity | ||
| Network | Wi-Fi only (SM-X300) or 5G (SM-X306B) | Wi-Fi only or Wi-Fi + Cellular (5G sub-6 GHz) |
| Wi-Fi | Wi-Fi 6 (802.11ax), 2.4 + 5 GHz, Wi-Fi Direct | Wi-Fi 7 (802.11be), 2x2 MIMO |
| Bluetooth | Bluetooth 5.3 | Bluetooth 6 |
| NFC | Yes | Not in our data |
| Satellite positioning | GPS, GLONASS, BeiDou, Galileo, QZSS | GPS/GNSS on Wi-Fi + Cellular models; digital compass and Wi-Fi location on all |
| SIM | 5G model: SIM plus eSIM ('dual SIM capability' in Samsung text; Atexxo: 'physical SIM and/or eSIM'); none on Wi-Fi modelUnconfirmed, see note 7 | eSIM only (cellular models) |
| Physical and power | ||
| Weight | 940 g (including the tablet) | 1350 g (including the tablet) |
| Dimensions | 240 × 150 × 20 (Atexxo: 24 × 15 × 2 cm) mm | 289 × 217 × 16 mm |
| Ingress protection | IP64 (Atexxo page; the Samsung base tablet itself is IP68)Unconfirmed, see note 11 | IP65 (pending testing)Unconfirmed, see note 12 |
| Ruggedness | MIL-STD-810H compliant (Atexxo flyer and page; base-tablet rating)Unconfirmed, see note 3 | Not in our data |
| Battery | 5050 mAh | 8160Unconfirmed, see note 13 |
| Battery energy | 19.44 Wh | 31.29 |
| Battery life | Video playback up to 16 h; Wi-Fi internet up to 14 h; LTE internet up to 15 h | Up to 10 hours web or video on Wi-Fi |
| Hot-swap battery | Not in our data | No |
| Replaceable battery | Not in our data | No |
| Ports and expansion | USB-C (USB 2.0), 3.5 mm headset jack, POGO pins, microSD slot | Thunderbolt / USB 4 (USB-C, up to 40 Gb/s); Smart Connector; magnetic Apple Pencil connector |
| Docking | POGO connector (Samsung POGO dock accessories not verified for this model)Unconfirmed, see note 7 | USB-C hubs and docks; Smart Connector or magnetic keyboard accessories where the iPad has them. Not usable through sealed Ex cases except the USB-C or Lightning charging port where the case exposes it. |
| Keyboard | POGO pins on the tablet; Samsung keyboard cover not confirmed for this modelUnconfirmed, see note 7 | Smart Connector (Magic Keyboard for iPad Pro) |
| Controls & Accessibility | ||
| Keys | Programmable Active Key (barcode, apps, PTT mapping via Knox); power and volume keys | Top button (no Touch ID; Face ID model), volume buttons; no programmable hardware key |
| Push-to-talk key | YesUnconfirmed, see note 9 | No |
| Glove touch | YesUnconfirmed, see note 7 | Not in our data |
| Biometrics | Fingerprint sensor | Face ID |
| Fleet and support | ||
| Manufacturer | Atexxo B.V., Netherlands | Xshielder AS, Norway |
Only values we could check are listed; “Not in our data” means we have not verified it, not that the tablet lacks it. A numbered marker means a value is unconfirmed, and the matching note at the foot of the page explains why. Prices are on request for both.
Keep researching
Xshielder
A flameproof cover for the iPad Pro 11-inch (M5), certified IIC T6 for Zone 1/21 under ATEX, with the cameras, LiDAR and stylus input working through the cover. Tell us about your site and fleet size to get a quote. See the iPad Pro 11-inch cover.
FAQ
Neither is better across the board. The Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 suits teams that need IECEx, a lighter tablet or a hot site up to +50 °C. The Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch suits teams that want the iPad Pro’s larger screen, cameras and LiDAR in Zone 1/21 on an ATEX certificate. Both are IIC T6.
No. Both are certified to protection level Gb/Db, which covers Zone 1/21 and Zone 2/22, and neither is certified for Zone 0.
The Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 holds IECEx EPS 26.0044X. The Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch is ATEX only, and IECEx is planned. Our data lists no North American listing for either tablet.
We cannot call it. Our data gives January 2029 for the Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5, which is Samsung’s date for the standard model, and Atexxo does not say whether it uses the Enterprise Edition, which gets longer support. Xshielder expects 7–8 years for the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch, based on previous iPad Pro support.
Not the Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5: charging in the hazardous location is forbidden, and it is done with the bottom cover removed in a safe area. For the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch our data has no value for charging inside the zone, so it is not confirmed either way. Both batteries are swapped outside the hazardous area only.
Yes. The Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 is a standard Samsung Galaxy Tab Active5 converted by Atexxo and supplied as a complete unit. The Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch is a standard iPad Pro 11-inch (M5) in a flameproof cover, and Xshielder confirms nothing is removed or disabled on the iPad.
Prices depend on volume, configuration and region, so both are on request. Contact us for a price.
Facts last verified on against certificates, declarations of conformity and manufacturer data. The sources for each tablet are listed on its page: Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 and Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch. Always check the certificate for your exact model before use. Spotted an error? Tell us.