Atexxo
Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7
- Zone 1/21
- IIC T4
- ATEX + IECEx
- Class I Division 2
Compare · Zone 1 iPads
These two iPads for Zone 1 differ in size and in certification. Both are flameproof (Ex db) and certified for Zone 1/21 at gas group IIC. The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 is an 8.3-inch iPad mini (A17 Pro) converted by Atexxo, with ATEX, IECEx and CSA certificates, a +50 °C ambient rating and a weight of 990 g, but it is T4 with dust group IIIA. The Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch is rated T6 with dust group IIIC, and has an 11-inch 1,000-nit screen and LiDAR that work through the cover, but it is ATEX only, rated to +45 °C and 360 g heavier. Here is how they compare, and which we would choose for which team.
Atexxo
Xshielder
Our verdict
Pick by your gases and dusts first, then by the approvals your sites ask for. If you need IECEx or a North American listing, a lighter iPad, or a blocked-camera version, and your gases and dusts fit T4 and IIIA, we would choose the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7. If your hazardous-area study lists gases that ignite below 135 °C or combustible dust, or your crews want an 11-inch screen, LiDAR scans and Face ID in Zone 1/21 under ATEX, we would choose the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch.
Key differences
The temperature class decides which gases a tablet may be used around. T6 (85 °C) is the stricter rating; T4 (135 °C) is fine for most gases, but not those that ignite below 135 °C. The Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch is the only one of the two that covers them.
The Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch is rated IIIC, which covers conductive dust. The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 is rated IIIA, which covers combustible flyings only, not dusts. If your site has dust, check this before anything else.
Atexxo publishes ATEX and IECEx certificate numbers for the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7, and adds CSA and INMETRO approvals. Xshielder confirms ATEX certification for the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch but has published no certificate number yet, and IECEx is planned. If your site or client needs IECEx or a North American listing, this decides the choice.
The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 is 360 g lighter than the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch, which weighs 1,350 g including the iPad. You notice the gap on a strap or in one hand through a shift.
The Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch has the iPad Pro’s LiDAR scanner, and Xshielder confirms it works through the cover. Our data says LiDAR is not possible on the iPad mini inside the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7.
In the field
Edge: Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch
Both tablets are flameproof (Ex db), certified for Zone 1/21 at protection level Gb/Db and gas group IIC. The difference is the class. The Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch is rated T6, with a maximum surface temperature of 85 °C for gas and 80 °C for dust. The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 is T4, with 135 °C for both. T4 is fine for most gases, but not those that ignite below 135 °C. If your hazardous-area study lists none, the gap will not matter to you.
Dust is the bigger gap. The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7’s dust group is IIIA, which covers combustible flyings only and not dusts, while the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch is rated IIIC, which includes conductive dust. A site with grain, metal or process dust needs to check its study against that line. Neither tablet is certified for Zone 0.
Edge: Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7
The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 has the broader approvals. It holds ATEX EPS 22 ATEX 1 162 X and IECEx EPS 22.0020X, a CSA certificate that adds Canada Ex db IIC T4 Gb and US Class I Zone 1 AEx db IIC T4 Gb, and an INMETRO certificate for Brazil. The CSA certificate also allows a Class I Division 2 marking for Groups A to D at T4, for gas only, with no Class II or III rating. Xshielder confirms ATEX certification, has published no certificate number yet, and plans IECEx.
Heat follows. The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 is certified from −20 °C to +50 °C, against −20 °C to +45 °C for the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch, a gap of 5 °C that matters only on the hottest sites. Our data lists no North American listing for the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch. The Atexxo listing is Division 2 and Zone 1, not Division 1, so check which your site requires.
Edge: Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch
This is where the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch pulls ahead. Its 11-inch Ultra Retina XDR screen is 2420 × 1668 at up to 1,000 nits (SDR maximum), against an 8.3-inch Liquid Retina screen at 2266 × 1488 and 500 nits. Both have a 12 MP f/1.8 rear camera that works through the housing. Xshielder confirms the 12 MP camera with 4K ProRes video, the LiDAR scanner, Face ID and stylus input all work through the cover; the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 has 4K video, no LiDAR and Touch ID removed.
The platform follows. The Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch has an M5 with 12 or 16 GB of memory and Wi-Fi 7, and the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 has an A17 Pro with Wi-Fi 6E. Both run iPadOS 27 with the same apps and Apple device management. Apple’s support for the iPad mini runs to at least October 2029, a minimum and not an end date, and Xshielder expects 7–8 years for the iPad Pro, based on previous iPad Pro support, an expectation and not a date. We would not choose on either.
Edge: Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7
For a tablet that moves around, the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 is the easier one to carry: 990 g against 1,350 g including the iPad. Both have 5G on cellular models and a battery that is not user-replaceable. Our data lists up to 10 hours of web or video on Wi-Fi for each, with 9 hours on cellular for the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7, from a 19.3 Wh battery against 31.29 Wh. These are makers’ figures, which may be measured in different ways, so test your own workload. Our data has no ingress rating for the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7, and the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch’s IP65 is pending testing.
Charging is the planning point. The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 is charged through its bottom cover, removed by the user in a safe area only, at +10 °C to +45 °C, and no cover may be opened in the hazardous area. Xshielder confirms the USB-C port of the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch is accessible for charging and data, but our data has no value for charging inside the zone, so confirm that before you plan around it.
Specifications
Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 | Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch | |
|---|---|---|
| Ex rating | ||
| Certified for | Zone 1/21 | Zone 1/21 |
| Protection | Flameproof enclosure (Ex db) | Flameproof enclosure (Ex db) |
| Gas group | IIC | IIC |
| Temperature class | T4 (≤ 135 °C) | T6 (≤ 85 °C) |
| Certification | ||
| ATEX marking | II 2G Ex db IIC T4 Gb / II 2D Ex tb IIIA T135°C Db | II 2G Ex db IIC T6 Gb / II 2D Ex tb IIIC T80°C Db |
| ATEX certificate | EPS 22 ATEX 1 162 X | ATEX certified |
| IECEx marking | Ex db IIC T4 Gb / Ex tb IIIA T135°C Db | Not in our data |
| IECEx certificate | IECEx EPS 22.0020X | Not in our data |
| Other approvals | INMETRO (Brazil) DNV 25.0026 X/00, revision 01 (2025-04-17; certificate first issued 2025-03-07), valid until 2028-11-16 | Lanyard hole to NS-9611 (pending testing) |
| North America | CSA 80152658 (NA certificate CSA23CA80152658X; original 2023-06-07 for the mini 6, updated 2025-05-05 to add the mini 7): Canada Ex db IIC T4 Gb; US Class I, Zone 1, AEx db IIC T4 Gb; Ta −20 to +50°C, charging +10 to +45°C. The certificate also allows the marking 'Class I, Division 2, Groups A, B, C & D, T4'. Gas only; no Class II/III (dust) rating. | Not in our data |
| Protection level (EPL) | Gb / Db | Gb / Db |
| Dust group | IIIA | IIIC |
| Max surface temperature (dust) | 135 °C | 80 °C |
| Safe use | ||
| Ambient temperature (Ta) | −20 °C to +50 °C | −20 °C to +45 °C |
| Charging | Outside the hazardous area only | Not in our data |
| Battery swap | Outside the hazardous area only | Outside the hazardous area only |
| Ports and accessories in the zone | SIM and charging covers must be closed and screwed in place; opened only outside the hazardous area; charging only +10 to +45°C | Not in our data |
| Certified accessories | Shoulder strap for Zone 1 and Zone 2 phones and tablets (Atexxo product). Ex rating not stated separately.Unconfirmed, see note 1 | Xshielder Stylus (capacitive, 22 g, aluminium, with lanyard). Ex rating of the stylus not stated. Apple Pencil not mentioned.Unconfirmed, see note 2 |
| Operating temperature | −20 °C to +50 °C | −20 °C to +45 °CUnconfirmed, see note 3 |
| Conditions of use | ATEX EPS 22 ATEX 1 162 X rev. 3 and IECEx EPS 22.0020X issue 3: Ta −20°C to +50°C. Repair of flameproof joints not allowed (EN/IEC 60079-1 values). Minimum property class of screws A4-70; only original parts from the manufacturer. Glass window to be protected from impact energy above 2 J. Device shall not be opened in a hazardous location; battery charging only outside the hazardous location. Added by CSA 80152658 and INMETRO DNV 25.0026 X (not in the ATEX/IECEx text): SIM card cover and bottom cover opened only outside the hazardous location and kept screwed in place; charging only at +10°C to +45°C (CSA); check the enclosure and corner bumpers for damage before use in a hazardous area (INMETRO). | Not in our data |
| Device | ||
| Type | Converted tablet | Certified Ex case |
| Tablet inside | iPad mini (A17 Pro) | iPad Pro 11-inch (M5) |
| Also fits | iPad mini (6th generation) | iPad Pro 11-inch (M4) |
| Fitting | Supplied as a complete unit | Fitted by the makerUnconfirmed, see note 4 |
| Tablet can be removed | No (permanently converted: flameproof enclosure around the iPad, not to be opened in a hazardous location; bottom cover opened outside the Ex area only for charging and SIM)Unconfirmed, see note 5 | Yes, but only by Xshielder authorised personnel (lid glued on the ATEX version)Unconfirmed, see note 4 |
| Launched | 2025 | 2026 |
| Part numbers | EXd-TABLET-M7-128, -128-CEL, -256, -256-CEL, -512, -512-CEL (incl. iPad mini 7); EXd-TABLET-M7-128-CEL-BC (blocked cameras); EXd-TABLET-M7-* (customer iPad conversion) | XS1-TB-G01-C01-S01; datasheet ref. iPad11P-000033-1 |
| Operating system | iPadOS 27 | iPadOS 27 |
| Edition | iPadOS (consumer; no LTSC or enterprise edition) | iPadOS (consumer; no LTSC or enterprise edition) |
| OS at launch | iPadOS 18.1 | iPadOS 26 |
| OS upgrades | Still supported by iPadOS 27 (current) | Still supported by iPadOS 27 (current) |
| Security updates | At least until October 2029 (Apple's minimum) | 7–8 years (based on previous iPad Pro support) |
| Processor | Apple A17 Pro (6-core CPU, 5-core GPU) | Apple M5 (up to 10-core CPU) |
| Processor architecture | Arm | Arm |
| Memory (RAM) | 8 GBUnconfirmed, see note 6 | 12 (256/512 GB) / 16 (1/2 TB) |
| Storage | 128 GB, 256 GB, 512 GB | 256 GB, 512 GB, 1024 GB, 2048 GB |
| What works through the housing or case | ||
| Face ID / Touch ID | Touch ID (top-button fingerprint scanner) REMOVED | Yes: Face ID works through the cover (confirmed by Xshielder) |
| Apple Pencil / stylus | Not in our data | Yes: stylus input works through the cover (confirmed by Xshielder); Xshielder capacitive stylus (22 g, interchangeable tips, lanyard) offered |
| Side and volume buttons | Aluminium push buttons held by stainless retaining washers (3 buttons) | Yes: usable through the cover (Xshielder: all iPad Pro functions available) |
| Rear cameras | Rear camera works (glass opening); '-BC' variants have blocked cameras | Yes: 12 MP Wide camera with 4K video and ProRes works through the cover (confirmed by Xshielder) |
| LiDAR | Not in our data | Yes: LiDAR works through the cover (confirmed by Xshielder) |
| Front camera | Works (all original features preserved except as listed)Unconfirmed, see note 7 | Yes: landscape 12 MP Center Stage camera with Face ID works through the cover (confirmed by Xshielder) |
| Touchscreen | Works through toughened glass front window | Yes: works through the cover (Xshielder: all iPad Pro functions available) |
| Screen cover | Toughened specialty glass front window (flameproof joint) | Not in our data |
| Charging | USB-C through the bottom cover (removed by the user to charge in a safe area; charging only outside the Ex area, +10 to +45°C) | USB-C charging as on a standard iPad Pro (confirmed by Xshielder); 50% in 30 min with a 60 W adapter (M5); no wireless |
| Speakers and microphones | Preserved ('all features of the original product are preserved')Unconfirmed, see note 7 | Yes: all 4 microphones and 4 speakers usable (confirmed by Xshielder) |
| Headset audio | Not in our data | Yes: audio in and out works (confirmed by Xshielder); headsets via USB-C or Bluetooth, as the iPad Pro has no 3.5 mm jack |
| USB-C port | Via the removable bottom cover, outside the Ex area only | Yes: accessible for charging and data, as on a standard iPad Pro (confirmed by Xshielder) |
| SIM card | No SIM tray (eSIM only); SIM cover on the housing is opened outside the Ex area only | eSIM only (1 x eSIM, cellular models); no SIM tray |
| Removed or disabled | Fingerprint scanner (Touch ID) removed; blocked-camera '-BC' variant available | Nothing removed or disabled: all iPad Pro features available (confirmed by Xshielder) |
| Mounting points | Not in our data | 1/4-inch tripod mount; lanyard hole to NS-9611 (pending testing) |
| Field capabilities | ||
| Push-to-talk | Via app (third-party PTT apps over Wi-Fi/cellular; no PTT key; Ex-rated? n/a)Unconfirmed, see note 8 | Via app (third-party PTT apps over Wi-Fi/cellular; no PTT key; Ex-rated? n/a) |
| Lone worker | Via app (third-party lone-worker apps)Unconfirmed, see note 8 | Via app (third-party lone-worker apps) |
| Barcode scanning | Via app (camera-based scanning; no scan engine); not possible on the blocked-camera '-BC' variantUnconfirmed, see note 8 | Via app (camera-based scanning; no scan engine) |
| NFC reading | Not possible (no NFC reader on any iPad)Unconfirmed, see note 8 | Not possible (no NFC reader on any iPad)Unconfirmed, see note 9 |
| 3D scanning / LiDAR | Not possible (no LiDAR on this iPad) | Built in (iPad Pro LiDAR); Xshielder lists 'Pro camera with LiDAR' |
| Remote expert / video calls | Via app (FaceTime, Teams or remote-assist apps; needs camera and audio access through the case)Unconfirmed, see note 8 | Via app (FaceTime, Teams or remote-assist apps; cameras and audio work through the cover) |
| Windows desktop software | Not possible (iPadOS only) | Not possible (iPadOS only) |
| Bluetooth gas detectors | Via app (Bluetooth 5.3; vendor app; no maker-certified integration listed)Unconfirmed, see note 8 | Via app (Bluetooth 6 (M5) / 5.3 (M4); vendor app; no maker-certified integration listed) |
| Display and camera | ||
| Display | 8.3-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, P3, True Tone, fully laminated, antireflective coating | 11-inch Ultra Retina XDR tandem OLED, ProMotion 10-120 Hz, P3, True Tone, antireflective coating; nano-texture glass option on 1 and 2 TB |
| Resolution | 2266 × 1488 (326 ppi) | 2420 × 1668 (264 ppi) |
| Brightness | 500 nits | 1000 (SDR max) |
| Pen / stylus | Apple Pencil Pro, Apple Pencil (USB-C); hover | Apple Pencil Pro, Apple Pencil (USB-C); magnetic attach and charge, hover |
| Rear camera | 12 MP Wide, f/1.8, True Tone flash | 12 MP Wide, f/1.8, True Tone flash |
| Front camera | 12 MP Center Stage | 12 MP Center Stage, landscape, TrueDepth (Face ID) |
| Video | 4K video | 4K video, ProRes |
| Depth sensing | Not in our data | LiDAR scanner |
| Connectivity | ||
| Network | Wi-Fi only or Wi-Fi + Cellular (5G sub-6 GHz) | Wi-Fi only or Wi-Fi + Cellular (5G sub-6 GHz) |
| Wi-Fi | Wi-Fi 6E (802.11ax), 2x2 MIMO | Wi-Fi 7 (802.11be), 2x2 MIMO |
| Bluetooth | Bluetooth 5.3 | Bluetooth 6 |
| Satellite positioning | GPS/GNSS on Wi-Fi + Cellular models; digital compass and Wi-Fi location on all | GPS/GNSS on Wi-Fi + Cellular models; digital compass and Wi-Fi location on all |
| SIM | eSIM only (no SIM tray) | eSIM only (cellular models) |
| Physical and power | ||
| Weight | 990 g (including the tablet) | 1350 g (including the tablet) |
| Dimensions | 240 × 170 × 22 mm | 289 × 217 × 16 mm |
| Ingress protection | Not in our data | IP65 (pending testing)Unconfirmed, see note 10 |
| Battery | 5034Unconfirmed, see note 11 | 8160Unconfirmed, see note 12 |
| Battery energy | 19.3 | 31.29 |
| Battery life | Up to 10 hours web or video on Wi-Fi (9 hours cellular) | Up to 10 hours web or video on Wi-Fi |
| Hot-swap battery | No | No |
| Replaceable battery | No | No |
| Ports and expansion | USB-C (USB 3, 10 Gb/s); magnetic Apple Pencil connector | Thunderbolt / USB 4 (USB-C, up to 40 Gb/s); Smart Connector; magnetic Apple Pencil connector |
| Docking | USB-C hubs and docks; Smart Connector or magnetic keyboard accessories where the iPad has them. Not usable through sealed Ex cases except the USB-C or Lightning charging port where the case exposes it. | USB-C hubs and docks; Smart Connector or magnetic keyboard accessories where the iPad has them. Not usable through sealed Ex cases except the USB-C or Lightning charging port where the case exposes it. |
| Keyboard | Not in our data | Smart Connector (Magic Keyboard for iPad Pro) |
| Controls & Accessibility | ||
| Keys | Top button with Touch ID sensor, volume buttons; no programmable hardware key | Top button (no Touch ID; Face ID model), volume buttons; no programmable hardware key |
| Push-to-talk key | No | No |
| Biometrics | Touch ID (top button) | Face ID |
| Fleet and support | ||
| Manufacturer | Atexxo B.V., Netherlands | Xshielder AS, Norway |
Only values we could check are listed; “Not in our data” means we have not verified it, not that the tablet lacks it. A numbered marker means a value is unconfirmed, and the matching note at the foot of the page explains why. Prices are on request for both.
Keep researching
Xshielder
A flameproof cover for the iPad Pro 11-inch (M5), certified IIC T6 for Zone 1/21 under ATEX, with the cameras, LiDAR and stylus input working through the cover. Tell us about your site and fleet size to get a quote. See the iPad Pro 11-inch cover.
FAQ
Neither is better across the board. The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 suits teams that need IECEx or a CSA listing, a lighter iPad or a blocked-camera version, on sites that fit T4 and dust group IIIA. The Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch suits sites with gases that need T6 or with combustible dust, and teams that want an 11-inch screen, LiDAR and Face ID. Both are certified for Zone 1/21.
No. Both are certified to protection level Gb/Db, which covers Zone 1/21 and Zone 2/22, and neither is certified for Zone 0.
The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 holds IECEx EPS 22.0020X and a CSA certificate for Class I Zone 1 AEx db IIC T4 Gb, which also allows a Class I Division 2 marking, for gas only. The Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch is ATEX only. IECEx is planned, and our data has no North American listing for it.
IIIA covers combustible flyings only, not dusts. The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 is rated IIIA, and the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch is rated IIIC, which also covers conductive dust. Check the dust in your hazardous-area study against the group before you choose.
We cannot call it. Apple guarantees iPadOS security updates for the iPad mini inside the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 until at least October 2029, a minimum and not an end date. Xshielder expects 7–8 years for the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch, based on previous iPad Pro support, an expectation and not a date.
Not the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7: it is charged outside the hazardous area only, at +10 °C to +45 °C, with its bottom cover removed in a safe area. For the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch our data has no value for charging inside the zone, so it is not confirmed either way. Both batteries are swapped outside the hazardous area only.
Prices depend on volume, configuration and region, so both are on request. Contact us for a price.
Facts last verified on against certificates, declarations of conformity and manufacturer data. The sources for each tablet are listed on its page: Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 and Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch. Always check the certificate for your exact model before use. Spotted an error? Tell us.