i.safe MOBILE
i.safe MOBILE IS940.1
- Zone 1/21
- IIC T4
- ATEX + IECEx
- Class I Division 1
Compare · iPad or Android for Zone 1
These two tablets are certified for Zone 1/21 and gas group IIC, but they take different routes to it and do different jobs. The i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 is an intrinsically safe (Ex ib) 10.1-inch Android tablet with ATEX, IECEx and North American certificates, a +55 °C ambient rating, a battery you can swap and permission to charge in the hazardous area within its certificate. The Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch is a flameproof (Ex db) cover around an iPad Pro 11-inch (M5), rated T6 instead of T4, with LiDAR and a 1,000-nit screen, but ATEX only, rated to +45 °C and 291 g heavier. Here is how they compare, and which we would choose for which team.
i.safe MOBILE
Xshielder
Our verdict
Pick by your gases, your sites and how the tablet is charged. For sites that need IECEx or a North American listing, ambient heat up to +55 °C, charging in the zone, underground work, or a lighter tablet with a red alarm key, we would choose the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1. For sites with gases that ignite below 135 °C, and for crews who want the iPad Pro’s screen, cameras and LiDAR in Zone 1/21 under ATEX, we would choose the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch.
Key differences
The temperature class decides which gases a tablet may be used around. T6 (85 °C) is the stricter rating; T4 (135 °C) is fine for most gases, but not those that ignite below 135 °C. The Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch is the only one of the two that covers them.
i.safe publishes ATEX and IECEx certificate numbers and a North American listing for the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1. Xshielder confirms ATEX certification for the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch but has published no certificate number yet, and IECEx is planned. If your site or client needs IECEx or a Division listing, this decides the choice.
The i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 has 10 °C more headroom than the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch, which matters for plants and yards in hot climates. Go by the ambient range in the certificate, not the operating range on a datasheet.
i.safe allows the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 to be charged in the hazardous area within the certificate’s limits. Our data has no value for the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch, so it is not confirmed either way. If crews cannot walk out to charge, ask Xshielder first.
The Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch has the iPad Pro’s LiDAR scanner, and Xshielder confirms it works through the cover. Our data lists no depth sensor for the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1.
In the field
Edge: Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch
Both tablets are certified for Zone 1/21 at protection level Gb/Db, with gas group IIC and dust group IIIC. The difference is the class. The Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch is rated T6, with a maximum surface temperature of 85 °C for gas and 80 °C for dust. The i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 is T4, with 135 °C for both. T4 is fine for most gases, but not those that ignite below 135 °C, so a site whose study lists one of them is the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch’s ground.
The protection methods differ too. The i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 is intrinsically safe (Ex ib), which limits the energy in the device and is what allows its accessories and its charging rules. The Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch is a flameproof (Ex db) cover that contains an explosion instead. Neither is certified for Zone 0. If your study lists no gas below 135 °C, the class will not matter to you.
Edge: i.safe MOBILE IS940.1
The i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 has the broader paperwork. It holds ATEX EPS 24 ATEX 1 010 X and IECEx EPS 24.0001X, and a North American listing for Class I Division 1 Groups A to D at T4, Class II Division 1 and Class III, where our data has no North American listing for the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch. It also lists approvals for South Africa, China, Brazil, Japan, India and Korea. Xshielder confirms ATEX certification, has published no certificate number yet, and plans IECEx.
Heat and mining follow. The i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 is certified from −20 °C to +55 °C, against −20 °C to +45 °C for the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch. For underground work, i.safe offers the i.safe MOBILE IS940.M1, certified for Group I, and our data lists no mining version of the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch. If you rely on the North American listing, note that it shows IP64, where i.safe lists IP68 for the standard tablet.
Even
The Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch has the bigger screen and the stronger platform: an 11-inch Ultra Retina XDR display at 2420 × 1668 and up to 1,000 nits, an M5 with 12 or 16 GB of memory, and Wi-Fi 7. Xshielder confirms that the 12 MP rear camera with 4K ProRes video, the LiDAR scanner, the 12 MP front camera with Face ID, stylus input and the speakers and microphones work through the cover. The i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 has a 10.1-inch screen at 1200 × 1920 with glove touch, a Qualcomm QCM6490 with 8 GB, 128 GB plus microSD, 5G and NFC.
On cameras each has a case. The i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 has a 50 MP rear camera, which suits detailed inspection photos, and the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch has 12 MP, 4K ProRes video and LiDAR. Resolution alone does not decide image quality, so we call it even. On software, the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 runs Android 14 with security updates until Q4 2032, a maker’s date. The Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch runs iPadOS 27 with updates expected for 7–8 years, based on previous iPad Pro support, an expectation and not a date.
Edge: i.safe MOBILE IS940.1
For a tablet that moves around, the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 is the easier one to live with. It weighs 1,059 g against 1,350 g, is rated IP68 and MIL-STD-810H, and has a battery that can be swapped outside the hazardous area, while the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch’s battery is not user-replaceable and its IP65 rating is pending testing. It has a freely programmable red key for SOS or a lone-worker app and an Ex-rated push-to-talk button accessory. The Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch has no programmable hardware key.
Charging is the planning point. i.safe allows the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 to be charged in the hazardous area within the certificate’s limits, with charging temperature limited to 0 °C to +45 °C, and lists its IS-DS940.1 docking station for it. Our data has no value for charging the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch inside the zone, and its USB-C port is accessible for charging and data. Confirm the charging rules with Xshielder before you plan around them. Our data has no battery-life figure for the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1, so runtime cannot be compared.
Specifications
i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 | Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch | |
|---|---|---|
| Ex rating | ||
| Certified for | Zone 1/21 | Zone 1/21 |
| Protection | Intrinsic safety (Ex ib) | Flameproof enclosure (Ex db) |
| Gas group | IIC | IIC |
| Temperature class | T4 (≤ 135 °C) | T6 (≤ 85 °C) |
| Mining version | i.safe MOBILE IS940.M1: also certified for Group I (underground mining) | Not in our data |
| Certification | ||
| ATEX marking | II 2G Ex ib IIC T4 Gb / II 2D Ex ib IIIC T135°C Db | II 2G Ex db IIC T6 Gb / II 2D Ex tb IIIC T80°C Db |
| ATEX certificate | EPS 24 ATEX 1 010 X | ATEX certified |
| IECEx marking | Ex ib IIC T4 Gb / Ex ib IIIC T135°C Db | Not in our data |
| IECEx certificate | IECEx EPS 24.0001X (issue 1, 2025-02-06 | Not in our data |
| Other approvals | IA South Africa (MTEx-S/24.0456 X), PCEC China (CE24.5940X), INMETRO (BRA 24.GE0015X), Japan-Ex, PESO, KCs | Lanyard hole to NS-9611 (pending testing) |
| North America | NEC 500 (QPS LR3081-7, 2025-08-13): Class I Div 1 Groups A, B, C, D T4; Class II Div 1 Groups E, F, G 155 °C; Class III; IP64; −20 °C to +55 °C | Not in our data |
| Protection level (EPL) | Gb / Db | Gb / Db |
| Dust group | IIIC | IIIC |
| Max surface temperature (dust) | 135 °C | 80 °C |
| Safe use | ||
| Ambient temperature (Ta) | −20 °C to +55 °C | −20 °C to +45 °C |
| Charging | Yes | Not in our data |
| Battery swap | Outside the hazardous area only | Outside the hazardous area only |
| Ports and accessories in the zone | USB-C and 16-pin ISM covers closed in Ex areas. In Ex areas only these may be connected to the 16-pin ISM: headset IS-HS2A.1, remote speaker microphone IS-RSM3A.1, PTT button IS-PTTB1A.1 (with or without headset IS-HDHS1x.1). The 12-pin dock interface may stay open. Nano-SIM and microSD (IS-SD164.1 / IS-SD1128.1 or cards meeting the entity parameters) allowed in their slots in the Ex area. | Not in our data |
| Certified accessories | Ex-rated for use in Ex area: IS-HS2A.1 headset, IS-RSM3A.1 speaker microphone, IS-PTTB1A.1 PTT button, IS-HDHS1A/B/C.1 headsets (headband, neckband, helmet), IS-DS940.1 docking station, microSD IS-SD164.1/IS-SD1128.1. Charging via IS-DS940.1 or MC930.1 multi charger; PROTECTOR 2.0 USB-C cable only outside Ex areas. Leather cases, vehicle mount, carry straps also listed. | Xshielder Stylus (capacitive, 22 g, aluminium, with lanyard). Ex rating of the stylus not stated. Apple Pencil not mentioned.Unconfirmed, see note 1 |
| Operating temperature | −20 °C to +55 °C | −20 °C to +45 °CUnconfirmed, see note 2 |
| Conditions of use | Battery may be replaced outside explosion hazardous areas only; protect against excessive UV light and high electrostatic charge; USB-C interface under IP cover may only be opened outside hazardous areas; 16-pin ISM interface must be closed with its cover when not in use in hazardous areas; ambient −20 °C to +55 °C; charging temperature limited to 0 °C to +45 °C (IECEx EPS 24.0001X issue 1). Safety instructions: protect from high-energy impacts; zones 1, 2, 21, 22 only. | Not in our data |
| Device | ||
| Type | Dedicated Ex tablet | Certified Ex case |
| Tablet inside | Not in our data | iPad Pro 11-inch (M5) |
| Also fits | Not in our data | iPad Pro 11-inch (M4) |
| Fitting | Not in our data | Fitted by the makerUnconfirmed, see note 3 |
| Tablet can be removed | Not in our data | Yes, but only by Xshielder authorised personnel (lid glued on the ATEX version)Unconfirmed, see note 3 |
| Launched | 2024Unconfirmed, see note 4 | 2026 |
| Part numbers | Model M940A01; battery BPIS940A.1A (MBP940AA01) per DoC; R. STAHL Art. No. 329056 (Tablet Set), 329467 (Tablet Set no Camera)Unconfirmed, see note 5 | XS1-TB-G01-C01-S01; datasheet ref. iPad11P-000033-1 |
| Operating system | Android 14 | iPadOS 27 |
| Edition | Android 14 | iPadOS (consumer; no LTSC or enterprise edition) |
| OS at launch | Not in our data | iPadOS 26 |
| OS upgrades | Not in our data | Still supported by iPadOS 27 (current) |
| Security updates | Until Q4 2032 | 7–8 years (based on previous iPad Pro support) |
| Processor | Qualcomm QCM6490 octa-core (long-term support chipset) | Apple M5 (up to 10-core CPU) |
| Processor architecture | Arm | Arm |
| Memory (RAM) | 8 GB | 12 (256/512 GB) / 16 (1/2 TB) |
| Storage | 128 GB, microSD supported | 256 GB, 512 GB, 1024 GB, 2048 GB |
| What works through the housing or case | ||
| Face ID / Touch ID | Not in our data | Yes: Face ID works through the cover (confirmed by Xshielder) |
| Apple Pencil / stylus | Not in our data | Yes: stylus input works through the cover (confirmed by Xshielder); Xshielder capacitive stylus (22 g, interchangeable tips, lanyard) offered |
| Side and volume buttons | Not in our data | Yes: usable through the cover (Xshielder: all iPad Pro functions available) |
| Rear cameras | Not in our data | Yes: 12 MP Wide camera with 4K video and ProRes works through the cover (confirmed by Xshielder) |
| LiDAR | Not in our data | Yes: LiDAR works through the cover (confirmed by Xshielder) |
| Front camera | Not in our data | Yes: landscape 12 MP Center Stage camera with Face ID works through the cover (confirmed by Xshielder) |
| Touchscreen | Not in our data | Yes: works through the cover (Xshielder: all iPad Pro functions available) |
| Charging | Not in our data | USB-C charging as on a standard iPad Pro (confirmed by Xshielder); 50% in 30 min with a 60 W adapter (M5); no wireless |
| Speakers and microphones | Not in our data | Yes: all 4 microphones and 4 speakers usable (confirmed by Xshielder) |
| Headset audio | Not in our data | Yes: audio in and out works (confirmed by Xshielder); headsets via USB-C or Bluetooth, as the iPad Pro has no 3.5 mm jack |
| USB-C port | Not in our data | Yes: accessible for charging and data, as on a standard iPad Pro (confirmed by Xshielder) |
| SIM card | Not in our data | eSIM only (1 x eSIM, cellular models); no SIM tray |
| Removed or disabled | Not in our data | Nothing removed or disabled: all iPad Pro features available (confirmed by Xshielder) |
| Mounting points | Not in our data | 1/4-inch tripod mount; lanyard hole to NS-9611 (pending testing) |
| Field capabilities | ||
| Push-to-talk | Via accessory (IS-PTTB1A.1 PTT button on the 16-pin ISM interface; Ex-rated? yes) and PTT app | Via app (third-party PTT apps over Wi-Fi/cellular; no PTT key; Ex-rated? n/a) |
| Emergency / SOS | Built in (freely programmable red key, e.g. SOS / lone worker) | Not in our data |
| Lone worker | Via app (red key assigned to a lone-worker application; third-party app) | Via app (third-party lone-worker apps) |
| Barcode scanning | Via app (50 MP camera-based; no dedicated scan engine listed) | Via app (camera-based scanning; no scan engine) |
| NFC reading | Built in (NFC) | Not possible (no NFC reader on any iPad)Unconfirmed, see note 6 |
| 3D scanning / LiDAR | Not possible (no depth sensor listed) | Built in (iPad Pro LiDAR); Xshielder lists 'Pro camera with LiDAR' |
| Remote expert / video calls | Via app (front and rear cameras, Wi-Fi 6 / 5G; third-party app) | Via app (FaceTime, Teams or remote-assist apps; cameras and audio work through the cover) |
| Windows desktop software | Not possible (Android) | Not possible (iPadOS only) |
| Bluetooth gas detectors | Not in our data | Via app (Bluetooth 6 (M5) / 5.3 (M4); vendor app; no maker-certified integration listed) |
| Display and camera | ||
| Display | 10.1-inch Corning Gorilla Glass V3 (3rd generation), usable with gloves | 11-inch Ultra Retina XDR tandem OLED, ProMotion 10-120 Hz, P3, True Tone, antireflective coating; nano-texture glass option on 1 and 2 TB |
| Resolution | 1200 × 1920 | 2420 × 1668 (264 ppi) |
| Brightness | Not in our data | 1000 (SDR max) |
| Touch | Usable with gloves (maker); wet-touch not stated | Not in our data |
| Pen / stylus | Passive stylus available as accessory (IS-Stylus Set, 'stylus for operating touch screens'); not in the box | Apple Pencil Pro, Apple Pencil (USB-C); magnetic attach and charge, hover |
| Rear camera | 50 MP autofocus | 12 MP Wide, f/1.8, True Tone flash |
| Front camera | 5 MP fixed focus | 12 MP Center Stage, landscape, TrueDepth (Face ID) |
| Video | Not in our data | 4K video, ProRes |
| Depth sensing | Not in our data | LiDAR scanner |
| Connectivity | ||
| Network | 5G NR and 4G LTE | Wi-Fi only or Wi-Fi + Cellular (5G sub-6 GHz) |
| Wi-Fi | Wi-Fi 6 (802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/e/k/r/ax/v) with hotspot | Wi-Fi 7 (802.11be), 2x2 MIMO |
| Bluetooth | Bluetooth 5.2 | Bluetooth 6 |
| NFC | Yes | Not in our data |
| Satellite positioning | GPS, A-GPS, Glonass, A-Glonass, Beidou, Galileo | GPS/GNSS on Wi-Fi + Cellular models; digital compass and Wi-Fi location on all |
| SIM | Nano-SIM + eSIM (dual SIM) | eSIM only (cellular models) |
| Physical and power | ||
| Weight | 1059 g | 1350 g (including the tablet) |
| Dimensions | 266.17 × 168.46 × 19.82 mm | 289 × 217 × 16 mm |
| Ingress protection | IP68 | IP65 (pending testing)Unconfirmed, see note 7 |
| Ruggedness | MIL-STD-810H | Not in our data |
| Battery | 8160 | 8160Unconfirmed, see note 8 |
| Battery energy | 30.2Unconfirmed, see note 9 | 31.29 |
| Battery life | Not in our data | Up to 10 hours web or video on Wi-Fi |
| Hot-swap battery | Not in our data | No |
| Replaceable battery | Yes | No |
| Ports and expansion | USB-C; 12-pin docking interface; 16-pin ISM interface (audio/PTT accessories; the page text also calls it '13-pin'); nano-SIM + eSIM; microSD | Thunderbolt / USB 4 (USB-C, up to 40 Gb/s); Smart Connector; magnetic Apple Pencil connector |
| Docking | IS-DS940.1 docking station (VESA 100; charging in Ex area); IS-MC930.1 six-bay multi charger; vehicle mount | USB-C hubs and docks; Smart Connector or magnetic keyboard accessories where the iPad has them. Not usable through sealed Ex cases except the USB-C or Lightning charging port where the case exposes it. |
| Keyboard | No (slate) | Smart Connector (Magic Keyboard for iPad Pro) |
| Controls & Accessibility | ||
| Keys | Freely programmable red key (e.g. lone worker / SOS); additional programmable side buttons | Top button (no Touch ID; Face ID model), volume buttons; no programmable hardware key |
| Push-to-talk key | No | No |
| Glove touch | Yes | Not in our data |
| Biometrics | Not in our data | Face ID |
| Fleet and support | ||
| Manufacturer | i.safe MOBILE GmbH, Germany | Xshielder AS, Norway |
Only values we could check are listed; “Not in our data” means we have not verified it, not that the tablet lacks it. A numbered marker means a value is unconfirmed, and the matching note at the foot of the page explains why. Prices are on request for both.
Keep researching
Xshielder
A flameproof cover for the iPad Pro 11-inch (M5), certified IIC T6 for Zone 1/21 under ATEX, with the cameras, LiDAR and stylus input working through the cover. Tell us about your site and fleet size to get a quote. See the iPad Pro 11-inch cover.
FAQ
Neither is better across the board. The i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 suits sites that need IECEx or a North American listing, ambient heat up to +55 °C, charging in the zone or a lighter tablet. The Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch suits sites with gases that need T6 and teams that want the iPad Pro’s screen, cameras and LiDAR. Both are certified for Zone 1/21.
No. Both are certified to protection level Gb/Db, which covers Zone 1/21 and Zone 2/22, and neither is certified for Zone 0.
The i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 is both: it holds IECEx EPS 24.0001X and a Class I Division 1 Groups A to D listing at T4. The Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch is ATEX only. IECEx is planned, and our data has no North American listing for it.
On the makers’ own statements they are close. i.safe states security updates until Q4 2032 for the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1, and Xshielder expects 7–8 years for the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch, based on previous iPad Pro support. The i.safe date is a stated end date, and the Xshielder figure is an expectation.
The i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 may be, within the certificate’s limits, and i.safe lists its IS-DS940.1 docking station for it. For the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch our data has no value for charging inside the zone, so it is not confirmed either way. Both batteries can be swapped outside the hazardous area only, but only the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1’s is user-replaceable.
For the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1, yes: the i.safe MOBILE IS940.M1 is also certified for Group I (underground mining). Our data lists no mining version of the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch, and its marking covers equipment group II only, so do not take it underground.
Prices depend on volume, configuration and region, so both are on request. Contact us for a price.
Facts last verified on against certificates, declarations of conformity and manufacturer data. The sources for each tablet are listed on its page: i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 and Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch. Always check the certificate for your exact model before use. Spotted an error? Tell us.