
Eaton · Dedicated Ex tablet
Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC
- Zone 1/21
- ATEX
- IECEx
- IIC
- T4
- Class I Division 1
The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC is an intrinsically safe (Ex ia) 10.1-inch Windows tablet from Eaton, certified for Zone 1/21 under ATEX and IECEx. It runs Windows 11 IoT Enterprise.
- Certified for
- Zone 1/21
- Protection
- Intrinsic safety (Ex ia)
- Screen
- 10.1-inch
- Temperature class
- T4 (≤ 135 °C)
- Ambient temperature
- −20 °C to +55 °C
- Operating system
- Windows 11 IoT Enterprise
- Security updates
- Until October 2034Unconfirmed, see note 1
- Weight
- 1430 g
- Price
- On request
Overview
Strengths and limitations
Strengths
- Zone 0 rated when used in the supplied case
- ATEX and IECEx certified, with published certificate numbers
- Also certified for Class I Division 1 in North America
- Security updates until October 2034
- Camera-free version available for sites that restrict cameras
Limitations
- T4 temperature class: fine for most gases, but not those that ignite below 135 °C
- Battery isn't user-replaceable
Certification
Where you can use it
Gas
- Zone 0certified.Explosive gas present continuously or for long periods
- Zone 1certified.Explosive gas likely in normal operation
- Zone 2certified.Explosive gas unlikely, and only briefly
Dust
- Zone 20certified.Combustible dust present continuously or for long periods
- Zone 21certified.Combustible dust likely in normal operation
- Zone 22certified.Combustible dust unlikely, and only briefly
The Ex marking, decoded
Gas atmospheresZones 0, 1 and 2
II1GDExiaIICT4Ga
IIEquipment group- Group II: equipment for surface industries (not mining).
1GDATEX category- Category 1 for gas and dust: suitable down to Zone 0 and Zone 20.
ExExplosion protected- Certified to the IEC 60079 / EN 60079 series.
iaProtection type- Intrinsic safety, level "ia": stays safe with two faults. The highest level, required for Zone 0.
IICGas group- Gas group IIC, e.g. hydrogen and acetylene. The most demanding group; also covers IIA and IIB.
T4Temperature class- Surface stays below 135 °C. T6 is the strictest class.
GaProtection level- Equipment protection level Ga (very high): suitable for Zone 0, 1 and 2.
Dust atmospheresZones 20, 21 and 22
II1GDExiaIIICT135°CDa
IIICDust group- Dust group IIIC: conductive dust. The most demanding group; also covers IIIA and IIIB.
T135°CMax surface temperature- Surface stays below 135°C in dust.
DaProtection level- Equipment protection level Da (very high): suitable for Zone 20, 21 and 22.
II1GDExia as above.
Gas atmospheresZones 0, 1 and 2
ExiaIICT4Ga
ExExplosion protected- Certified to the IEC 60079 / EN 60079 series.
iaProtection type- Intrinsic safety, level "ia": stays safe with two faults. The highest level, required for Zone 0.
IICGas group- Gas group IIC, e.g. hydrogen and acetylene. The most demanding group; also covers IIA and IIB.
T4Temperature class- Surface stays below 135 °C. T6 is the strictest class.
GaProtection level- Equipment protection level Ga (very high): suitable for Zone 0, 1 and 2.
Dust atmospheresZones 20, 21 and 22
ExiaIIICT135°CDa
IIICDust group- Dust group IIIC: conductive dust. The most demanding group; also covers IIIA and IIIB.
T135°CMax surface temperature- Surface stays below 135°C in dust.
DaProtection level- Equipment protection level Da (very high): suitable for Zone 20, 21 and 22.
Exia as above.
Safe use
Rules for the hazardous area
- Ambient temperature (Ta)
- −20 °C to +55 °C
- Charging
- Outside the hazardous area only
- Battery swap
- Outside the hazardous area only
- Ports and accessories in the zone
- No accessories or extensions in the hazardous area; SIM/microSD slots not to be opened; docking connector and charging only in safe areas.
- Certified accessories
- Eaton accessory list: carry case GEC-ATP-CC-01 (required in Zone 0), anti-glare screen protector GEC-ATP-AGSP-01, USB cables GEC-ATP-STUSBS-01, IS USB adapter GEC-ATP-ISUSB-01, shoulder strap GEC-ATP-SHST-01, stylus with tether GEC-ATP-STYT-01, docking station GEC-ATP-DOST-01 (safe area), hands-free harness GEC-ATP-HFHA-01, power adapter GEC-ATP-POAD-XX-01. Ex-area use of each accessory is not stated beyond the case, strap and stylus.
- IP code in the Ex certificate
- IP67 in the ATEX marking printed in Eaton's manual (Nemko 25ATEX1018X ... Um = 20V IP67); not in the IECEx database marking for NMK 25.0029XUnconfirmed, see note 2
- Operating temperature
- −20 °C to +55 °C
Conditions of use
Do not remove or replace the battery pack in hazardous areas; use only battery AAEB-100-XX and charge it only on the tablet; charge only with Eaton charger GEC-ATP-POAD-x-01; do not open the SIM/SD port in a hazardous location; in Zone 0 use only inside Eaton case GEC-ATP-CC-01 (friction hazard); avoid friction on the enclosure; inspect for damage; service only by Eaton; do not charge, connect or disconnect in hazardous areas; no accessories or extensions in hazardous areas (IECEx NMK 25.0029X conditions a-j). Um = 20 V appears in the ATEX/UL marking printed in the instruction manual, not in the IECEx text.
Specifications
Full specifications
Certification
- ATEX marking
- II 1GD Ex ia IIC T4 Ga / II 1GD Ex ia IIIC T135°C Da
- ATEX certificate
- Nemko 25ATEX1018X
- IECEx marking
- Ex ia IIC T4 Ga / Ex ia IIIC T135°C Da
- IECEx certificate
- IECEx NMK 25.0029X (Issue 0, 2026-05-26)
- Other approvals
- UL 913 / CSA C22.2 No. 60079-0 and -11
- North America
- UL certificate CER230869: Class I Div 1 Groups C, D T4; Class I Zone 0 AEx ia IIB T4 Ga (US) / Ex ia IIB T4 Ga (CAN); UL 913 8th ed. Class I, II, III Div 1. Gas group is IIB in North America, IIC in Europe/IECEx.
- Zone 0
- Zone 0 rated only inside the case supplied by the maker.
- Protection level (EPL)
- Ga / Da
- Dust group
- IIIC
- Max surface temperature (dust)
- 135 °C
Device
- Type
- Dedicated Ex tablet
- Launched
- 2026Unconfirmed, see note 3
- Part numbers
- GZ1A1W51A1A1 (WiFi); GZ1A1G51A1A1 (LTE); carry case GEC-ATP-CC-01; dock GEC-ATP-DOST-01
- Operating system
- Windows 11 IoT Enterprise
- Edition
- Windows 11 IoT Enterprise (channel/LTSC year not stated; Eaton: 'Windows 11 IoT')Unconfirmed, see note 4
- Security updates
- Until October 2034Unconfirmed, see note 1
- Processor
- Intel quad-core Atom (Apollo Lake) 1.6 GHz base, 1.8 GHz burst
- Processor architecture
- x86
- Memory (RAM)
- 8 GB
- Storage
- 256 GB, MicroSDXC up to 2 TB
Field capabilities
- Barcode scanning
- Via app (camera-based; Eaton lists no scan engine)
- NFC reading
- Built in (NFC)
- 3D scanning / LiDAR
- Not possible (no depth sensor)
- Remote expert / video calls
- Via app (front and rear cameras; a camera-free version is also offered)
- Windows desktop software
- Built in (Windows 11 IoT, x86)
Display and camera
- Display
- 10.1-inch AHVA (IPS-type), 1000:1 contrast, 170 degree viewing angle
- Resolution
- 2560 × 1600 (WQXGA)
- Brightness
- 540 nits
- Pen / stylus
- Stylus supplied (type not stated)
- Rear camera
- 8 MP autofocus with flash (Eaton: camera-free version available)
- Front camera
- Front camera 1920 x 1080 stills (megapixels not stated; 2 MP in Eaton manual)
- Video
- 1080p at 30 fps
Connectivity
- Network
- Wi-Fi; optional LTE-A Cat 12 / UMTS
- Wi-Fi
- 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac
- Bluetooth
- Bluetooth 5.2
- NFC
- Yes
- Satellite positioning
- GPS, GLONASS, Galileo
- SIM
- Nano-SIM (LTE version)
Physical and power
- Weight
- 1430 g
- Dimensions
- 278 × 207 × 13.8 (28.3 at battery section) mm
- Ingress protection
- IP67
- Battery
- 2 x 3450 (7.2 V)
- Battery energy
- 49.68
- Battery life
- Typical 12 h (Eaton datasheet)
- Replaceable battery
- No
- Ports and expansion
- 5-pin magnetic charging connector; docking connector (LAN, USB 2.0/3.0, USB-C, HDMI, SD, audio jack); microSDXC and nano-SIM under port cover; VESA 75 x 35 mm mount (Eaton)
- Docking
- Dock DS100M (Aegex) / GEC-ATP-DOST-01 (Eaton), safe area only; shoulder strap; VESA mount
- Keyboard
- No (slate)
Fleet and support
- Preinstalled apps
- AegexScan barcode-scanning application (optional, Aegex)
- Manufacturer
- Eaton Electric Limited (MTL), United Kingdom
Only specifications we could check are listed. A numbered marker next to a value means it is unconfirmed: it comes from a single or secondary source, or sources disagree. The matching note at the foot of the page explains each one. See the Eaton Electric Limited (MTL) website for the full data sheet.
Compare
How it compares
Best in this comparison
EatonEaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PCThis tablet | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Type | Dedicated Ex tablet | Dedicated Ex tablet | Dedicated Ex tablet | Certified Ex case |
| Screen size | 10.1-inch | 10.1-inch | 8-inch | 11-inch |
| Availability | Current | Current | Current | Current |
| Gas zones | Zone 0, Zone 1, Zone 2 (best in this comparison) | Zone 1, Zone 2 | Zone 1, Zone 2 | Zone 1, Zone 2 |
| Dust zones | Zone 20, Zone 21, Zone 22 | Zone 21, Zone 22 | Zone 21, Zone 22 | Zone 21, Zone 22 |
| Protection | Intrinsic safety (Ex ia) | Intrinsic safety (Ex ib) | Flameproof enclosure (Ex db) with an intrinsically safe circuit (Ex ia) | Flameproof enclosure (Ex db) |
| Gas group | IIC | IIC | IIC | IIC |
| Temperature class | T4 | T4 | T6 (best in this comparison) | T6 (best in this comparison) |
| Certification | ATEX + IECEx | ATEX + IECEx | ATEX + IECEx | ATEX |
| North America | Class I Division 1 | Class I Division 1 | Class I Division 1 | — |
| Ambient temperature | −20 °C to +55 °C | −20 °C to +55 °C | −20 °C to +55 °C | −20 °C to +45 °C |
| Charging in the Ex area | Not allowed | Allowed (see conditions) | Not allowed | — |
| Operating system | Windows 11 IoT Enterprise | Windows 11 IoT Enterprise LTSC for Arm64 | Android 16 | iPadOS 27 |
| Security updates | Until October 2034 (best in this comparison) | Until October 2034 (best in this comparison) | Until Q1 2032 | 7–8 years (based on previous iPad Pro support) |
| Weight | 1430 g | 1059 g (best in this comparison) | 1122 g | 1350 g |
| Display | 10.1-inch AHVA (IPS-type), 1000:1 contrast, 170 degree viewing angle | 10.1-inch Corning Gorilla Glass V3, usable with gloves | 8-inch TFT, capacitive multitouch, 60 Hz / adaptive up to 120 Hz; Corning Gorilla Glass 3 (DZ1/DZ2), Gorilla Glass 5 (D2) | 11-inch Ultra Retina XDR tandem OLED, ProMotion 10-120 Hz, P3, True Tone, antireflective coating; nano-texture glass option on 1 and 2 TB |
| 5G | No | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Pen / stylus | Stylus supplied (type not stated) | — | Samsung S Pen included (pressure sensitive), with Tab-Ex S Pen holder | Apple Pencil Pro, Apple Pencil (USB-C); magnetic attach and charge, hover |
| Replaceable battery | No | Yes | No | No |
| Hot-swap battery | — | — | — | No |
| Price | On request | On request | On request | On request |
FAQ
Common questions
Is the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC certified for Zone 1?
Yes. The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC is certified for Zone 1/21 with the marking II 1GD Ex ia IIC T4 Ga. Equipment certified for Zone 1 can also be used in Zone 2.
Can the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC be used in Zone 0?
Only inside the case the maker supplies. It carries protection level Ga, which Zone 0 requires, under that condition.
What type of explosion protection does the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC use?
It is intrinsically safe: intrinsic safety (Ex ia). Intrinsic safety limits the electrical and thermal energy in the device below the level that could ignite the surrounding atmosphere.
What does T4 mean for the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC?
Its surface stays below 135 °C, so it is suitable for gases that only ignite above that temperature. Check the ignition temperature of the substances on your site.
Can you charge the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC in a hazardous area?
No. The certificate only allows charging outside the hazardous area.
Which ports and accessories can be used with the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC in the hazardous area?
No accessories or extensions in the hazardous area; SIM/microSD slots not to be opened; docking connector and charging only in safe areas.
What operating system does the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC run?
Windows 11 IoT Enterprise. Security updates are expected until at least October 2034.
How much does the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC cost?
Prices for certified hazardous-area tablets depend on volume, configuration and region, so they are on request. Contact us for a price.
Notes on unconfirmed values
- Microsoft's end date for Windows 11 IoT Enterprise LTSC 2024. The maker doesn't state the edition year. Return to note 1
- From Eaton's manual; the IECEx certificate doesn't state an IP code. Return to note 2
- Approximate: the maker doesn't publish a launch date. Based on the certificate date or the maker's announcement. Return to note 3
- The maker doesn't state the edition year. Return to note 4
Sources and verification
Facts last verified on against:
- IECEx online certificate database: IECEx NMK 25.0029X issue 0 (2026-05-26), Eaton GECMA IS Tablet PC
- IECEx online certificate database: IECEx NMK 25.0015X issue 1 (2026-02-20), Aegex 100M
- IECEx online certificate database: IECEx SNA 24.0004X (2024-07-15), Aegex 100M, CANCELLED 2025-10-22
- Microsoft: Lifecycle: Windows 11 IoT Enterprise LTSC 2024 (extended end listed 10/11/2034)
- Eaton: Datasheet EPS GECMA IS Tablet PC Rev 2 (April 2026): ATEX 'II 1 GD Ex ia IIC T4 Ga', Windows 11 IoT
- Aegex Technologies LLC: Aegex100M datasheet ADDH-015-02-02 (2024), hosted by ATEXshop (shows older IIB markings)
- Eaton: Instruction manual INM MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC Rev 1 (May 2026): certificates Nemko 25ATEX1018X, IECEx NMK 25.0029X, UL CER230869
- Eaton: MTL GECMA IS 10.1 inch Tablet PC product page (prints ATEX 'II 2G ... Ga')
- ABLE Instruments (UK reseller): Aegex 100M product page: 'In Stock', GBP 2,580 (undated)
Always check the certificate for your exact model before use. Spotted an error? Tell us.


