Eaton
Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC
- Zone 1/21
- IIC T4
- ATEX + IECEx
- Class I Division 1
Compare · Windows or Android for Zone 1
These two tablets do different jobs, so this is a choice between Windows and Android for Zone 1 work. The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC is a 10.1-inch intrinsically safe (Ex ia) tablet that runs x86 Windows 11 IoT Enterprise and is Zone 0 rated inside its supplied case. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 is an 8-inch flameproof (Ex db) Android tablet rated T6, with a North American Division 1 listing for Groups A to D. Both are certified for Zone 1/21 under ATEX and IECEx. Here is how they compare, and which we would choose for which team.
Eaton
ecom (Pepperl+Fuchs)
Our verdict
Pick by the software your team has to run and the gases on your site. If your Zone 1 work needs desktop Windows software, a 10.1-inch screen or Zone 0 access, we would choose the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC. If you run Android apps, work in North America with gases in Groups A or B, need the T6 class, or want a lighter tablet with a function key for push-to-talk or alarms, we would choose the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1.
Key differences
The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC’s UL listing covers Class I Division 1 Groups C and D at T4, so not acetylene (Group A) or hydrogen (Group B). The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1’s SGS listing covers Groups A to D at T6. On a site classified by Division, this can decide the choice on its own.
The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC is rated Ga/Da, and Eaton limits Zone 0 use to the case it supplies. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 is rated Gb/Db for Zone 1/21. If any of your work is in Zone 0, only the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC qualifies, and only inside that case.
T6 keeps the surface at or below 85 °C and T4 at or below 135 °C. T4 is fine for most gases but not those that ignite below 135 °C, so check the ignition temperatures of your substances against the class.
The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC runs x86 Windows software natively. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 is Android: Samsung DeX gives a desktop-style Android interface, but not Windows applications. If your software exists only for Windows, the choice is made.
In the field
Edge: Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC
This is the real dividing line. The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC runs Windows 11 IoT Enterprise on an Intel quad-core Atom (Apollo Lake) at 1.6 GHz, with 8 GB of RAM and 256 GB of storage, and our data lists Windows desktop software as built in. For teams whose plant, maintenance or engineering software exists only as a Windows application, that is the whole case for it. It also has the larger screen, 10.1 inches at 2560 × 1600.
The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 is Android, on a Samsung Exynos 1380 octa-core Arm chip with 6 GB of RAM and 128 GB of storage, plus a microSD slot up to 1 TB. Its 8-inch screen is 1920 × 1200 and a little brighter, at 600 nits against 540. It is Android Enterprise Recommended with Samsung Knox 3.10, so it fits teams that already manage Android devices. For web tools and Android apps it does the job; for Windows applications it does not.
Edge: ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1
On the European and IECEx ratings the two are close: Zone 1/21, gas group IIC, dust group IIIC, and the same ambient range of −20 °C to +55 °C. The difference is the temperature class. The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC is T4 for gas and T135 °C for dust, fine for most gases but not those that ignite below 135 °C. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 is T6 for gas and T80 °C for dust, so it also suits gases with lower ignition temperatures.
North America widens the gap. The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC’s UL listing is Class I Division 1 Groups C and D at T4, and in North America its gas group is IIB, so hydrogen and acetylene are outside it. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1’s SGS listing covers Class I Division 1 Groups A to D at T6, plus Class II Division 1 and Class III. The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC’s answer is Zone 0: it is rated for it, but only inside the case Eaton supplies, and the certificate warns of a friction hazard. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 is certified for Zone 1/21.
Even
The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC has two 3,450 mAh cells at 7.2 V, 49.68 Wh, and Eaton quotes a typical 12 hours. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 has a 5,050 mAh battery of 18.87 Wh, and ecom quotes up to 14 hours. Both are makers’ figures with different wording, so test your own workload before you rely on either. Neither battery is user-replaceable, and both tablets must be charged outside the hazardous area, the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC with its own charger and its dock for safe areas only.
On updates, both dates carry a caveat. Our data gives October 2034 for the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC, Microsoft’s end date for the Windows 11 IoT Enterprise LTSC 2024 edition, but Eaton does not state which edition it ships. ecom states security updates until 2032, in line with Samsung’s Enterprise Edition commitment. We would not choose on either date: ask each maker for the exact support end date for the version you order.
Edge: ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1
For a tablet that moves around, the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 has the advantage. It weighs 1,122 g against 1,430 g for the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC, 308 g less. ecom rates it IP68 (its Brazilian Inmetro marking adds IP64) and lists MIL-STD-810H, and quotes glove touch and wet-hands operation. Eaton rates the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC IP67, and the ATEX marking in its manual includes IP67, but its IECEx certificate states no IP code; our data lists no ruggedness standard or glove-touch figure for it.
Our data also lists more field tools for the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1. Its programmable function key can be assigned to push-to-talk, an emergency call or an alarm, the S Pen is named in its certificate and may be used in the zone, and the Ident-Ex 02 wireless 1D/2D scanner has its own Ex approval. The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC scans through a camera app, with Aegex’s AegexScan as an option, and Eaton lists no scan engine. Its conditions of use allow no accessories or extensions in the hazardous area, and its dock is for safe areas only. Both have NFC and camera-free versions.
Specifications
Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC | ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 | |
|---|---|---|
| Ex rating | ||
| Certified for | Zone 1/21 | Zone 1/21 |
| Protection | Intrinsic safety (Ex ia) | Flameproof enclosure (Ex db) with an intrinsically safe circuit (Ex ia) |
| Gas group | IIC | IIC |
| Temperature class | T4 (≤ 135 °C) | T6 (≤ 85 °C) |
| Certification | ||
| ATEX marking | II 1GD Ex ia IIC T4 Ga / II 1GD Ex ia IIIC T135°C Da | II 2G Ex db ia IIC T6 Gb / II 2D Ex tb ia IIIC T80°C Db |
| ATEX certificate | Nemko 25ATEX1018X | EPS 24 ATEX 1 228 X |
| IECEx marking | Ex ia IIC T4 Ga / Ex ia IIIC T135°C Da | Ex db ia IIC T6 Gb / Ex tb ia IIIC T80°C Db |
| IECEx certificate | IECEx NMK 25.0029X (Issue 0, 2026-05-26) | IECEx EPS 24.0082X (issue 1, 2025-08-05 |
| Other approvals | UL 913 / CSA C22.2 No. 60079-0 and -11 | KC Korea 25-KA4BO-0326X (gas) and 25-KA4BO-0327X (dust) (ecom files CERT-7928/7929); Inmetro Brazil TÜV 25.0140 X (CERT-7842; marking adds IP64); IA/MASC South Africa MASC S/25-8018X; Common Criteria portal listing for the Tab-Ex family |
| North America | UL certificate CER230869: Class I Div 1 Groups C, D T4; Class I Zone 0 AEx ia IIB T4 Ga (US) / Ex ia IIB T4 Ga (CAN); UL 913 8th ed. Class I, II, III Div 1. Gas group is IIB in North America, IIC in Europe/IECEx. | SGS certificate SGSNA/25/CA/00003X (ecom file CERT-7841): Class I Division 1, Group A, B, C, D, T6; Class II Division 1, Group E, F, G T80C; Class III T80C; Ex db ia IIC T6 Gb; Class I, Zone 1, AEx db ia IIC T6 Gb; Zone 21, Group IIIC T80C; Ta −20 °C to +55 °C |
| Zone 0 | Zone 0 rated only inside the case supplied by the maker. | Not in our data |
| Protection level (EPL) | Ga / Da | Gb / Db |
| Dust group | IIIC | IIIC |
| Max surface temperature (dust) | 135 °C | 80 °C |
| Safe use | ||
| Ambient temperature (Ta) | −20 °C to +55 °C | −20 °C to +55 °C |
| Charging | Outside the hazardous area only | Outside the hazardous area only |
| Battery swap | Outside the hazardous area only | Outside the hazardous area only |
| Ports and accessories in the zone | No accessories or extensions in the hazardous area; SIM/microSD slots not to be opened; docking connector and charging only in safe areas. | SIM and microSD are reachable only in non-hazardous areas (flameproof cover). The USB-C port is intrinsically safe and may be used for wired data connections in the hazardous area within its entity parameters (Uo 5.6 V, Io 500 mA, Po 600 mW, Co 1 µF, Lo 1 µH); charging via USB-C only in non-hazardous areas. The S Pen is intrinsically safe and may be used in the hazardous area. Wireless peripherals (Bluetooth, DeX) are not restricted by the certificate text. |
| Certified accessories | Eaton accessory list: carry case GEC-ATP-CC-01 (required in Zone 0), anti-glare screen protector GEC-ATP-AGSP-01, USB cables GEC-ATP-STUSBS-01, IS USB adapter GEC-ATP-ISUSB-01, shoulder strap GEC-ATP-SHST-01, stylus with tether GEC-ATP-STYT-01, docking station GEC-ATP-DOST-01 (safe area), hands-free harness GEC-ATP-HFHA-01, power adapter GEC-ATP-POAD-XX-01. Ex-area use of each accessory is not stated beyond the case, strap and stylus. | Named in the certificate: S Pen ST T05 X2, leather case LC T05 X1, chest harness CH T05 X1, belt clip BC T01, carrying strap CS T05, stylus tether ST 01. The Ident-Ex 02 wireless 1D/2D scanner carries its own Ex approval (Zone 1/21, Div 1). Chargers, docks and holders on the ecom page are for use outside the hazardous area only. |
| IP code in the Ex certificate | IP67 in the ATEX marking printed in Eaton's manual (Nemko 25ATEX1018X ... Um = 20V IP67); not in the IECEx database marking for NMK 25.0029XUnconfirmed, see note 1 | Not in our data |
| Operating temperature | −20 °C to +55 °C | −20 °C to +55 °C |
| Conditions of use | Do not remove or replace the battery pack in hazardous areas; use only battery AAEB-100-XX and charge it only on the tablet; charge only with Eaton charger GEC-ATP-POAD-x-01; do not open the SIM/SD port in a hazardous location; in Zone 0 use only inside Eaton case GEC-ATP-CC-01 (friction hazard); avoid friction on the enclosure; inspect for damage; service only by Eaton; do not charge, connect or disconnect in hazardous areas; no accessories or extensions in hazardous areas (IECEx NMK 25.0029X conditions a-j). Um = 20 V appears in the ATEX/UL marking printed in the instruction manual, not in the IECEx text. | IECEx X conditions: flameproof joints shall not be repaired; protect against high-energy impacts; do not use near processes producing high electrostatic charges; charging and SIM/SD-card replacement only in ordinary (non-hazardous) locations; charge only at −5 °C to +55 °C; charging and wired data via USB-C limited to Um 30 V (and the certificate's current limit) and from a SELV/PELV/ES1 supply; user may replace only the USB-C cover; repairs by the manufacturer or an authorised service centre. |
| Device | ||
| Type | Dedicated Ex tablet | Dedicated Ex tablet |
| Launched | 2026Unconfirmed, see note 2 | 2025 |
| Part numbers | GZ1A1W51A1A1 (WiFi); GZ1A1G51A1A1 (LTE); carry case GEC-ATP-CC-01; dock GEC-ATP-DOST-01 | TAB-EX05-DZ1-* (datasheet 480996; WiFi and WWAN types) |
| Operating system | Windows 11 IoT Enterprise | Android 16Unconfirmed, see note 3 |
| Edition | Windows 11 IoT Enterprise (channel/LTSC year not stated; Eaton: 'Windows 11 IoT')Unconfirmed, see note 4 | Android (Samsung One UI); Android Enterprise Recommended, Samsung Knox 3.10 |
| OS at launch | Not in our data | Android 14 |
| OS upgrades | Not in our data | Android 22 (ecom claim)Unconfirmed, see note 3 |
| Security updates | Until October 2034Unconfirmed, see note 5 | Until Q1 2032Unconfirmed, see note 6 |
| Processor | Intel quad-core Atom (Apollo Lake) 1.6 GHz base, 1.8 GHz burst | Samsung Exynos 1380 (S5E8835) octa-core, 4 x 2.4 GHz + 4 x 2.0 GHz, 5 nm |
| Processor architecture | x86 | Arm |
| Memory (RAM) | 8 GB | 6 GB |
| Storage | 256 GB, MicroSDXC up to 2 TB | 128 GB, microSD up to 1 TB |
| Field capabilities | ||
| Push-to-talk | Not in our data | Via app (programmable function key assignable to PTT, per ecom) |
| Emergency / SOS | Not in our data | Built in (freely programmable function key, e.g. emergency call or alarm) |
| Lone worker | Not in our data | Via app (key assigned to alarm/emergency; third-party or ecom lone-worker solution) |
| Barcode scanning | Via app (camera-based; Eaton lists no scan engine) | Via accessory (ecom Ident-Ex 02 wireless 1D/2D scanner; Ex-rated? yes) or camera-based via app |
| NFC reading | Built in (NFC) | Built in (NFC) |
| 3D scanning / LiDAR | Not possible (no depth sensor) | Not possible (no depth sensor listed) |
| Remote expert / video calls | Via app (front and rear cameras; a camera-free version is also offered) | Via app (front and rear cameras, Google ARCore ready; ecom promotes remote-support use) |
| Windows desktop software | Built in (Windows 11 IoT, x86) | Not possible (Android; Samsung DeX gives a desktop-style Android UI) |
| Display and camera | ||
| Display | 10.1-inch AHVA (IPS-type), 1000:1 contrast, 170 degree viewing angle | 8-inch TFT, capacitive multitouch, 60 Hz / adaptive up to 120 Hz; Corning Gorilla Glass 3 (DZ1/DZ2), Gorilla Glass 5 (D2) |
| Resolution | 2560 × 1600 (WQXGA) | 1920 × 1200 (WUXGA), 283 ppi, 16:10 |
| Brightness | 540 nits | 600 nits |
| Outdoor readability | Not in our data | Maker claims optimum readability in direct sunlight (600 nits max) |
| Touch | Not in our data | Yes: glove touch and wet-hands operation (maker) |
| Pen / stylus | Stylus supplied (type not stated) | Samsung S Pen included (pressure sensitive), with Tab-Ex S Pen holder |
| Rear camera | 8 MP autofocus with flash (Eaton: camera-free version available) | 13 MP autofocus, 8x digital zoom (camera-free version available) |
| Front camera | Front camera 1920 x 1080 stills (megapixels not stated; 2 MP in Eaton manual) | 5 MP |
| Video | 1080p at 30 fps | UHD 4K (3840 x 2160) at 30 fps |
| Connectivity | ||
| Network | Wi-Fi; optional LTE-A Cat 12 / UMTS | 5G Sub-6 and 4G LTE; Wi-Fi-only version also available |
| Wi-Fi | 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac | Wi-Fi 6 (802.11 a/b/g, Wi-Fi 4/5/6 2.4 + 5 GHz) |
| Bluetooth | Bluetooth 5.2 | Bluetooth 5.3 |
| NFC | Yes | Yes |
| Satellite positioning | GPS, GLONASS, Galileo | GPS, Glonass, Beidou, Galileo |
| SIM | Nano-SIM (LTE version) | Nano-SIM and eSIM (optional) |
| Physical and power | ||
| Weight | 1430 g | 1122 g |
| Dimensions | 278 × 207 × 13.8 (28.3 at battery section) mm | 161.5 × 262.75 × 25.75 (W × H × D) mm |
| Ingress protection | IP67 | IP68 |
| Ruggedness | Not in our data | MIL-STD-810H |
| Battery | 2 x 3450 (7.2 V) | 5050 (typical) |
| Battery energy | 49.68 | 18.87 (typical) |
| Battery life | Typical 12 h (Eaton datasheet) | Up to 14 h |
| Replaceable battery | No | No |
| Ports and expansion | 5-pin magnetic charging connector; docking connector (LAN, USB 2.0/3.0, USB-C, HDMI, SD, audio jack); microSDXC and nano-SIM under port cover; VESA 75 x 35 mm mount (Eaton) | USB 2.0 Type-C; 3.5 mm audio jack and POGO pins on DZ2; microSD; nano-SIM / eSIM |
| Docking | Dock DS100M (Aegex) / GEC-ATP-DOST-01 (Eaton), safe area only; shoulder strap; VESA mount | DZ2: Lite Cradle, DC T01 X2 desktop charger, passive holder with tilt/swivel (ordinary areas) |
| Keyboard | No (slate) | No keyboard; wireless DeX with Bluetooth keyboard/mouse; POGO keyboard-dock port on DZ2 (ordinary areas only) |
| Controls & Accessibility | ||
| Keys | Not in our data | Function key (programmable: PTT, emergency call, alarm) and Active button |
| Push-to-talk key | Not in our data | Yes |
| Glove touch | Not in our data | Yes |
| Biometrics | Not in our data | Face recognition; fingerprint only on the D2 model |
| Fleet and support | ||
| Preinstalled apps | AegexScan barcode-scanning application (optional, Aegex) | Not in our data |
| Manufacturer | Eaton Electric Limited (MTL), United Kingdom | ecom instruments (Pepperl+Fuchs), Germany |
Only values we could check are listed; “Not in our data” means we have not verified it, not that the tablet lacks it. A numbered marker means a value is unconfirmed, and the matching note at the foot of the page explains why. Prices are on request for both.
Keep researching
Impartial advice
Both tablets are certified for Zone 1/21, so the choice comes down to your software and your gases: Windows or Android, Groups C and D or A to D, Zone 0 or not. Tell us about your sites and we will help you choose impartially.
FAQ
Neither is better across the board. The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC suits teams that need x86 Windows software, a 10.1-inch screen or Zone 0 access. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 suits Android teams, Division 1 sites with Group A or B gases, T6 requirements and crews who want a lighter tablet. Both are certified for Zone 1/21.
Only the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC, and only inside the case supplied by Eaton. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 is certified for Zone 1/21 (protection level Gb/Db) and is not certified for Zone 0.
No. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 is listed for Class I Division 1 Groups A to D, which include acetylene and hydrogen. The Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC is listed for Groups C and D only. Under ATEX and IECEx both are rated for gas group IIC.
No. Both must be charged outside the hazardous area, and neither battery is user-replaceable. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1’s USB-C port may carry wired data in the zone within its limits, but not charging. Eaton’s dock and charger for the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC are for safe areas only.
On the dates we have, the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC, to October 2034, but that is Microsoft’s date for the LTSC 2024 edition and Eaton does not state its edition. ecom states updates until 2032 for the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1. Treat both as unconfirmed until the makers confirm them.
Our data lists the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC as the successor to the Aegex 100M, which replaced the Aegex 10 IS, and the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 as the successor to the ecom Tab-Ex 03 DZ1. The BARTEC Agile X IS, also discontinued, names no Zone 1 successor.
Prices depend on volume, configuration and region, so both are on request. Contact us for a price.
Facts last verified on against certificates, declarations of conformity and manufacturer data. The sources for each tablet are listed on its page: Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC and ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1. Always check the certificate for your exact model before use. Spotted an error? Tell us.