Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch, front view

Xshielder · Certified Ex case

Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch

  • Zone 1/21
  • ATEX
  • IIC
  • T6

The Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch is a flameproof (Ex d) case for the iPad Pro 11-inch (M5), certified for Zone 1/21 under ATEX. The tablet inside is a standard iPad Pro 11-inch (M5) running iPadOS 27, so it works with the same apps and device management.

Certified for
Zone 1/21
Protection
Flameproof enclosure (Ex db)
Screen
11-inch
Temperature class
T6 (≤ 85 °C)
Ambient temperature
−20 °C to +45 °C
Operating system
iPadOS 27
Security updates
7–8 years (based on previous iPad Pro support)
Weight
1350 g
Price
On request
Request a price
See how it compares to alternatives

Overview

Strengths and limitations

Strengths

  • T6 temperature class, the strictest rating
  • 5G on cellular versions
  • Security updates for 7–8 years (based on previous iPad Pro support)
  • LiDAR scanner usable through the case
  • A standard iPad Pro 11-inch (M5) inside, with the same apps and Apple device management

Limitations

  • ATEX only: no IECEx certificate
  • Ambient rating tops out at +45 °C
  • Not certified for Zone 0

Certification

Where you can use it

Gas

  • Zone 0not certified.Explosive gas present continuously or for long periods
  • Zone 1certified.Explosive gas likely in normal operation
  • Zone 2certified.Explosive gas unlikely, and only briefly

Dust

  • Zone 20not certified.Combustible dust present continuously or for long periods
  • Zone 21certified.Combustible dust likely in normal operation
  • Zone 22certified.Combustible dust unlikely, and only briefly

The Ex marking, decoded

ATEX

Gas atmospheresZones 1 and 2

II2GExdbIICT6Gb

II Equipment group
Group II: equipment for surface industries (not mining).
2G ATEX category
Category 2 for gas: suitable down to Zone 1.
Ex Explosion protected
Certified to the IEC 60079 / EN 60079 series.
db Protection type
Flameproof enclosure: the housing is built to contain an ignition inside it and stop the flame reaching the atmosphere outside.
IIC Gas group
Gas group IIC, e.g. hydrogen and acetylene. The most demanding group; also covers IIA and IIB.
T6 Temperature class
Surface stays below 85 °C. T6 is the strictest class.
Gb Protection level
Equipment protection level Gb (high): suitable for Zone 1 and 2.

Dust atmospheresZones 21 and 22

II2DExtbIIICT80°CDb

2D ATEX category
Category 2 for dust: suitable down to Zone 21.
tb Protection type
Protection by enclosure for dust: the enclosure keeps dust out and its surface stays below the stated temperature.
IIIC Dust group
Dust group IIIC: conductive dust. The most demanding group; also covers IIIA and IIIB.
T80°C Max surface temperature
Surface stays below 80°C in dust.
Db Protection level
Equipment protection level Db (high): suitable for Zone 21 and 22.

IIEx as above.

Safe use

Rules for the hazardous area

Ambient temperature (Ta)
−20 °C to +45 °C
Battery swap
Outside the hazardous area only
Certified accessories
Xshielder Stylus (capacitive, 22 g, aluminium, with lanyard). Ex rating of the stylus not stated. Apple Pencil not mentioned.Unconfirmed, see note 1
Operating temperature
−20 °C to +45 °CUnconfirmed, see note 2

Specifications

Full specifications

Device specifications are for the iPad Pro 11-inch (M5) inside. “What works through the case” shows which of its features you can use in the case.

Certification

ATEX marking
II 2G Ex db IIC T6 Gb / II 2D Ex tb IIIC T80°C Db
ATEX certificate
ATEX certified
Other approvals
Lanyard hole to NS-9611 (pending testing)
Protection level (EPL)
Gb / Db
Dust group
IIIC
Max surface temperature (dust)
80 °C

Device

Type
Certified Ex case
Tablet inside
iPad Pro 11-inch (M5)
Also fits
iPad Pro 11-inch (M4)
Fitting
Fitted by the makerUnconfirmed, see note 3
Tablet can be removed
Yes, but only by Xshielder authorised personnel (lid glued on the ATEX version)Unconfirmed, see note 3
Launched
2026
Part numbers
XS1-TB-G01-C01-S01; datasheet ref. iPad11P-000033-1
Operating system
iPadOS 27
Edition
iPadOS (consumer; no LTSC or enterprise edition)
OS at launch
iPadOS 26
OS upgrades
Still supported by iPadOS 27 (current)
Security updates
7–8 years (based on previous iPad Pro support)
Processor
Apple M5 (up to 10-core CPU)
Processor architecture
Arm
Memory (RAM)
12 (256/512 GB) / 16 (1/2 TB)
Storage
256 GB, 512 GB, 1024 GB, 2048 GB

What works through the case

Face ID / Touch ID
Yes: Face ID works through the cover (confirmed by Xshielder)
Apple Pencil / stylus
Yes: stylus input works through the cover (confirmed by Xshielder); Xshielder capacitive stylus (22 g, interchangeable tips, lanyard) offered
Side and volume buttons
Yes: usable through the cover (Xshielder: all iPad Pro functions available)
Rear cameras
Yes: 12 MP Wide camera with 4K video and ProRes works through the cover (confirmed by Xshielder)
LiDAR
Yes: LiDAR works through the cover (confirmed by Xshielder)
Front camera
Yes: landscape 12 MP Center Stage camera with Face ID works through the cover (confirmed by Xshielder)
Touchscreen
Yes: works through the cover (Xshielder: all iPad Pro functions available)
Charging
USB-C charging as on a standard iPad Pro (confirmed by Xshielder); 50% in 30 min with a 60 W adapter (M5); no wireless
Speakers and microphones
Yes: all 4 microphones and 4 speakers usable (confirmed by Xshielder)
Headset audio
Yes: audio in and out works (confirmed by Xshielder); headsets via USB-C or Bluetooth, as the iPad Pro has no 3.5 mm jack
USB-C port
Yes: accessible for charging and data, as on a standard iPad Pro (confirmed by Xshielder)
SIM card
eSIM only (1 x eSIM, cellular models); no SIM tray
Removed or disabled
Nothing removed or disabled: all iPad Pro features available (confirmed by Xshielder)
Mounting points
1/4-inch tripod mount; lanyard hole to NS-9611 (pending testing)

Field capabilities

Push-to-talk
Via app (third-party PTT apps over Wi-Fi/cellular; no PTT key; Ex-rated? n/a)
Lone worker
Via app (third-party lone-worker apps)
Barcode scanning
Via app (camera-based scanning; no scan engine)
NFC reading
Not possible (no NFC reader on any iPad)Unconfirmed, see note 4
3D scanning / LiDAR
Built in (iPad Pro LiDAR); Xshielder lists 'Pro camera with LiDAR'
Remote expert / video calls
Via app (FaceTime, Teams or remote-assist apps; cameras and audio work through the cover)
Windows desktop software
Not possible (iPadOS only)
Bluetooth gas detectors
Via app (Bluetooth 6 (M5) / 5.3 (M4); vendor app; no maker-certified integration listed)

Display and camera

Display
11-inch Ultra Retina XDR tandem OLED, ProMotion 10-120 Hz, P3, True Tone, antireflective coating; nano-texture glass option on 1 and 2 TB
Resolution
2420 × 1668 (264 ppi)
Brightness
1000 (SDR max)
Pen / stylus
Apple Pencil Pro, Apple Pencil (USB-C); magnetic attach and charge, hover
Rear camera
12 MP Wide, f/1.8, True Tone flash
Front camera
12 MP Center Stage, landscape, TrueDepth (Face ID)
Video
4K video, ProRes
Depth sensing
LiDAR scanner

Connectivity

Network
Wi-Fi only or Wi-Fi + Cellular (5G sub-6 GHz)
Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi 7 (802.11be), 2x2 MIMO
Bluetooth
Bluetooth 6
Satellite positioning
GPS/GNSS on Wi-Fi + Cellular models; digital compass and Wi-Fi location on all
SIM
eSIM only (cellular models)

Physical and power

Weight
1350 g (including the tablet)
Dimensions
289 × 217 × 16 mm
Ingress protection
IP65 (pending testing)Unconfirmed, see note 5
Battery energy
31.29
Battery life
Up to 10 hours web or video on Wi-Fi
Hot-swap battery
No
Replaceable battery
No
Ports and expansion
Thunderbolt / USB 4 (USB-C, up to 40 Gb/s); Smart Connector; magnetic Apple Pencil connector
Docking
USB-C hubs and docks; Smart Connector or magnetic keyboard accessories where the iPad has them. Not usable through sealed Ex cases except the USB-C or Lightning charging port where the case exposes it.
Keyboard
Smart Connector (Magic Keyboard for iPad Pro)

Controls & Accessibility

Keys
Top button (no Touch ID; Face ID model), volume buttons; no programmable hardware key
Push-to-talk key
No
Biometrics
Face ID

Fleet and support

Manufacturer
Xshielder AS, Norway

Only specifications we could check are listed. A numbered marker next to a value means it is unconfirmed: it comes from a single or secondary source, or sources disagree. The matching note at the foot of the page explains each one. See the Xshielder AS website for the full data sheet.

Compare

How it compares

Best in this comparison

Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch compared with its closest alternatives
XshielderXshielder iPad Pro 11-inchThis tablet
The Joy FactoryThe Joy Factory aXtion Extreme iPad mini
XcielXciel XCZ1 iPad mini 6
AtexxoAtexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 6
TypeCertified Ex caseCertified Ex caseCertified Ex caseConverted tablet
Screen size11-inch8.3-inch8.3-inch8.3-inch
AvailabilityCurrentCurrentCurrentCurrent
Gas zonesZone 1, Zone 2Zone 1, Zone 2Zone 1, Zone 2Zone 1, Zone 2
Dust zonesZone 21, Zone 22Zone 21, Zone 22—Zone 21, Zone 22
ProtectionFlameproof enclosure (Ex db)Flameproof enclosure (Ex db)Flameproof enclosure (Ex db)Flameproof enclosure (Ex db)
Gas groupIICIICIIBIIC
Temperature classT6 (best in this comparison)T6 (best in this comparison)T6 (best in this comparison)T4
CertificationATEXATEX + IECExATEX + IECExATEX + IECEx
North America———Class I Division 2
Ambient temperature−20 °C to +45 °C−20 °C to +40 °C (standard range: no Ta is marked on IECEx TPS 25.0016X, so IEC 60079-0 applies)−20 °C to +50 °C−20 °C to +50 °C
Charging in the Ex area—Not allowedNot allowedNot allowed
Operating systemiPadOS 27iPadOS 27iPadOS 27iPadOS 27
Security updates7–8 years (based on previous iPad Pro support) (best in this comparison)At least until October 2029 (Apple's minimum)Ended September 2026Ended September 2026
Weight1350 g1396 g1350 g990 g (best in this comparison)
Display11-inch Ultra Retina XDR tandem OLED, ProMotion 10-120 Hz, P3, True Tone, antireflective coating; nano-texture glass option on 1 and 2 TB8.3-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, P3, True Tone, fully laminated, antireflective coating8.3-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, P3, True Tone, antireflective coating8.3-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, P3, True Tone, antireflective coating
5GYesYesYesYes
Pen / stylusApple Pencil Pro, Apple Pencil (USB-C); magnetic attach and charge, hoverApple Pencil Pro, Apple Pencil (USB-C); hoverApple Pencil (2nd generation), Apple Pencil (USB-C); magnetic attach and charge (2nd gen)Apple Pencil (2nd generation), Apple Pencil (USB-C); magnetic attach and charge (2nd gen)
Replaceable batteryNoNoNoNo
Hot-swap batteryNoNoNoNo
PriceOn requestOn requestOn requestOn request

FAQ

Common questions

Is the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch certified for Zone 1?

Yes. The Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch is certified for Zone 1/21 with the marking II 2G Ex db IIC T6 Gb. Equipment certified for Zone 1 can also be used in Zone 2.

Can the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch be used in Zone 0?

No. It is not certified for Zone 0. Zone 0 needs equipment with protection level Ga, such as Ex ia intrinsic safety.

What type of explosion protection does the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch use?

It uses a flameproof enclosure (Ex db), a form of explosion-proof protection. The housing is built to contain an ignition inside it and stop the flame reaching the surrounding atmosphere.

What does T6 mean for the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch?

Its surface stays below 85 °C, so it is suitable for gases that only ignite above that temperature. Check the ignition temperature of the substances on your site.

Which tablet is inside the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch?

A standard iPad Pro 11-inch (M5). It is also certified for the iPad Pro 11-inch (M4). A certified enclosure that lets a standard consumer tablet be used in hazardous areas.

What operating system does the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch run?

iPadOS 27. Security updates are expected for 7 to 8 years from launch, based on previous iPad Pro support.

How much does the Xshielder iPad Pro 11-inch cost?

Prices for certified hazardous-area tablets depend on volume, configuration and region, so they are on request. Contact us for a price.

Notes on unconfirmed values

  1. Not checked against the certificate for this exact model.
  2. From a single source.
  3. Not stated by the maker for this exact model.
  4. Not confirmed by the maker for this exact model.
  5. From a single source; not stated in the Ex certificate.
  6. Apple states battery capacity in watt-hours only; this figure is from the case maker's documents.

Sources and verification

Facts last verified on against:

Always check the certificate for your exact model before use. Spotted an error? Tell us.