Atexxo
Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7
- Zone 1/21
- IIC T4
- ATEX + IECEx
- Class I Division 2
Compare · iPad or Android for Zone 1
This is a choice between iPadOS and Android for Zone 1 work. The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 is a standard 8.3-inch iPad mini (A17 Pro) converted by Atexxo into a flameproof (Ex db) tablet rated T4, and it weighs 132 g less than its rival. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 is an 8-inch flameproof Android tablet rated T6, with dust group IIIC and a Class I Division 1 listing. Both are certified for Zone 1/21 under ATEX and IECEx and for gas group IIC. Here is how they compare, and which we would choose for which team.
Atexxo
ecom (Pepperl+Fuchs)
Our verdict
Pick by the platform your fleet runs and the substances on your site. If you already manage iPads and your gases ignite at 135 °C or above, with flyings rather than dust, we would choose the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7. If you work with lower-ignition gases, combustible dust, North American Division 1 sites, or want a programmable key and a certified wireless scanner, we would choose the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1.
Key differences
T6 keeps the surface at or below 85 °C and T4 at or below 135 °C. T4 is fine for most gases, but not those that ignite below 135 °C, so check the ignition temperatures of your substances against the class.
The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 is rated IIIA, which covers combustible flyings only, not dusts. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 is rated IIIC, which includes conductive dust. If your area has dust, this rating decides whether the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 may be used at all.
The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 is listed for Class I Division 1 Groups A to D at T6, with Class II Division 1 and Class III. The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7’s CSA certificate covers gas only, as Class I Zone 1 AEx db IIC T4, and allows a Class I Division 2 marking. It gives no Class II or III rating.
The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 runs consumer iPadOS, with no enterprise edition. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 is Android Enterprise Recommended with Samsung Knox 3.10. Your existing apps and device management usually settle this one.
In the field
Edge: ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1
On gas group the two are level: both are rated IIC for Zone 1/21, protection level Gb/Db. The difference is in what else they cover. The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 is T4, with a maximum surface temperature of 135 °C, fine for most gases but not those that ignite below 135 °C. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 is T6, with 85 °C for gas and 80 °C for dust. The dust rating is the larger gap: the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 is IIIA, for combustible flyings only, and the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 is IIIC, which includes conductive dust.
North America follows the same split. The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7’s CSA certificate covers Canada Ex db IIC T4 Gb and US Class I Zone 1 AEx db IIC T4 Gb, and allows the Class I Division 2 Groups A to D marking at T4. It is gas only, with no Class II or III rating. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1’s SGS certificate covers Class I Division 1 Groups A to D at T6, Class II Division 1 Groups E, F and G, Class III and Class I Zone 1 AEx. Ambient ranges are −20 °C to +50 °C for the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 and −20 °C to +55 °C for the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1.
Edge: Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7
The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 is an iPad. Atexxo converts a standard iPad mini (A17 Pro), so fleets that run iPadOS keep the same apps and Apple device management, with 128, 256 or 512 GB of storage and a camera-free -BC version for sites that restrict cameras. The 8.3-inch screen is 2266 × 1488 at 326 ppi and 500 nits. It weighs 990 g including the tablet, 132 g less than the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1. The conversion removes Touch ID, and our data lists no NFC for it.
The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 is Android, on a Samsung Exynos 1380 with 6 GB of RAM and 128 GB of storage, plus a microSD slot up to 1 TB. Its 8-inch screen is 1920 × 1200 and brighter at 600 nits, and ecom lists glove touch and wet-hands operation. It includes a pressure-sensitive S Pen, and a camera-free version is also offered. For web tools and Android apps it does the job. For an iPad-based fleet it would mean a second platform to manage.
Even
Neither tablet may be charged in the hazardous area, and neither battery is user-replaceable. The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 charges by USB-C through its bottom cover, removed in a safe area, at +10 °C to +45 °C. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 charges at −5 °C to +55 °C, also outside the zone. Our data gives up to 10 hours of web or video use on Wi-Fi for the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 (9 on cellular) and up to 14 hours for the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1. The wording differs, so test your own workload before you rely on either.
On updates, Atexxo’s tablet runs iPadOS, and our data lists security updates at least until October 2029, which is Apple’s minimum, so the real date may be later. ecom states security updates until 2032, a date our data flags as unconfirmed. We would not choose on either date: ask Atexxo and ecom for the support end date for the version you order.
Edge: ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1
For work in the zone, the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 has more built in. Its programmable function key can be set to push-to-talk, an emergency call or an alarm, its S Pen is named in the certificate, and its USB-C port may carry wired data in the hazardous area within its entity parameters. The Ident-Ex 02 wireless 1D/2D scanner has its own Ex approval, and the certificate names a chest harness, belt clip, leather case and carrying strap. It also has built-in NFC.
The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 has no programmable hardware key. Its rear camera works through a glass opening and its touchscreen through toughened glass, with three aluminum push buttons. Its USB-C port is reached through the bottom cover and only outside the Ex area. Push-to-talk, lone-worker and barcode scanning are possible through third-party apps, but Atexxo does not confirm them for this model. Only a shoulder strap is listed as an accessory, and Atexxo does not state its Ex rating separately.
Specifications
Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 | ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 | |
|---|---|---|
| Ex rating | ||
| Certified for | Zone 1/21 | Zone 1/21 |
| Protection | Flameproof enclosure (Ex db) | Flameproof enclosure (Ex db) with an intrinsically safe circuit (Ex ia) |
| Gas group | IIC | IIC |
| Temperature class | T4 (≤ 135 °C) | T6 (≤ 85 °C) |
| Certification | ||
| ATEX marking | II 2G Ex db IIC T4 Gb / II 2D Ex tb IIIA T135°C Db | II 2G Ex db ia IIC T6 Gb / II 2D Ex tb ia IIIC T80°C Db |
| ATEX certificate | EPS 22 ATEX 1 162 X | EPS 24 ATEX 1 228 X |
| IECEx marking | Ex db IIC T4 Gb / Ex tb IIIA T135°C Db | Ex db ia IIC T6 Gb / Ex tb ia IIIC T80°C Db |
| IECEx certificate | IECEx EPS 22.0020X | IECEx EPS 24.0082X (issue 1, 2025-08-05 |
| Other approvals | INMETRO (Brazil) DNV 25.0026 X/00, revision 01 (2025-04-17; certificate first issued 2025-03-07), valid until 2028-11-16 | KC Korea 25-KA4BO-0326X (gas) and 25-KA4BO-0327X (dust) (ecom files CERT-7928/7929); Inmetro Brazil TÜV 25.0140 X (CERT-7842; marking adds IP64); IA/MASC South Africa MASC S/25-8018X; Common Criteria portal listing for the Tab-Ex family |
| North America | CSA 80152658 (NA certificate CSA23CA80152658X; original 2023-06-07 for the mini 6, updated 2025-05-05 to add the mini 7): Canada Ex db IIC T4 Gb; US Class I, Zone 1, AEx db IIC T4 Gb; Ta −20 to +50°C, charging +10 to +45°C. The certificate also allows the marking 'Class I, Division 2, Groups A, B, C & D, T4'. Gas only; no Class II/III (dust) rating. | SGS certificate SGSNA/25/CA/00003X (ecom file CERT-7841): Class I Division 1, Group A, B, C, D, T6; Class II Division 1, Group E, F, G T80C; Class III T80C; Ex db ia IIC T6 Gb; Class I, Zone 1, AEx db ia IIC T6 Gb; Zone 21, Group IIIC T80C; Ta −20 °C to +55 °C |
| Protection level (EPL) | Gb / Db | Gb / Db |
| Dust group | IIIA | IIIC |
| Max surface temperature (dust) | 135 °C | 80 °C |
| Safe use | ||
| Ambient temperature (Ta) | −20 °C to +50 °C | −20 °C to +55 °C |
| Charging | Outside the hazardous area only | Outside the hazardous area only |
| Battery swap | Outside the hazardous area only | Outside the hazardous area only |
| Ports and accessories in the zone | SIM and charging covers must be closed and screwed in place; opened only outside the hazardous area; charging only +10 to +45°C | SIM and microSD are reachable only in non-hazardous areas (flameproof cover). The USB-C port is intrinsically safe and may be used for wired data connections in the hazardous area within its entity parameters (Uo 5.6 V, Io 500 mA, Po 600 mW, Co 1 µF, Lo 1 µH); charging via USB-C only in non-hazardous areas. The S Pen is intrinsically safe and may be used in the hazardous area. Wireless peripherals (Bluetooth, DeX) are not restricted by the certificate text. |
| Certified accessories | Shoulder strap for Zone 1 and Zone 2 phones and tablets (Atexxo product). Ex rating not stated separately.Unconfirmed, see note 1 | Named in the certificate: S Pen ST T05 X2, leather case LC T05 X1, chest harness CH T05 X1, belt clip BC T01, carrying strap CS T05, stylus tether ST 01. The Ident-Ex 02 wireless 1D/2D scanner carries its own Ex approval (Zone 1/21, Div 1). Chargers, docks and holders on the ecom page are for use outside the hazardous area only. |
| Operating temperature | −20 °C to +50 °C | −20 °C to +55 °C |
| Conditions of use | ATEX EPS 22 ATEX 1 162 X rev. 3 and IECEx EPS 22.0020X issue 3: Ta −20°C to +50°C. Repair of flameproof joints not allowed (EN/IEC 60079-1 values). Minimum property class of screws A4-70; only original parts from the manufacturer. Glass window to be protected from impact energy above 2 J. Device shall not be opened in a hazardous location; battery charging only outside the hazardous location. Added by CSA 80152658 and INMETRO DNV 25.0026 X (not in the ATEX/IECEx text): SIM card cover and bottom cover opened only outside the hazardous location and kept screwed in place; charging only at +10°C to +45°C (CSA); check the enclosure and corner bumpers for damage before use in a hazardous area (INMETRO). | IECEx X conditions: flameproof joints shall not be repaired; protect against high-energy impacts; do not use near processes producing high electrostatic charges; charging and SIM/SD-card replacement only in ordinary (non-hazardous) locations; charge only at −5 °C to +55 °C; charging and wired data via USB-C limited to Um 30 V (and the certificate's current limit) and from a SELV/PELV/ES1 supply; user may replace only the USB-C cover; repairs by the manufacturer or an authorised service centre. |
| Device | ||
| Type | Converted tablet | Dedicated Ex tablet |
| Tablet inside | iPad mini (A17 Pro) | Not in our data |
| Also fits | iPad mini (6th generation) | Not in our data |
| Fitting | Supplied as a complete unit | Not in our data |
| Tablet can be removed | No (permanently converted: flameproof enclosure around the iPad, not to be opened in a hazardous location; bottom cover opened outside the Ex area only for charging and SIM)Unconfirmed, see note 2 | Not in our data |
| Launched | 2025 | 2025 |
| Part numbers | EXd-TABLET-M7-128, -128-CEL, -256, -256-CEL, -512, -512-CEL (incl. iPad mini 7); EXd-TABLET-M7-128-CEL-BC (blocked cameras); EXd-TABLET-M7-* (customer iPad conversion) | TAB-EX05-DZ1-* (datasheet 480996; WiFi and WWAN types) |
| Operating system | iPadOS 27 | Android 16Unconfirmed, see note 3 |
| Edition | iPadOS (consumer; no LTSC or enterprise edition) | Android (Samsung One UI); Android Enterprise Recommended, Samsung Knox 3.10 |
| OS at launch | iPadOS 18.1 | Android 14 |
| OS upgrades | Still supported by iPadOS 27 (current) | Android 22 (ecom claim)Unconfirmed, see note 3 |
| Security updates | At least until October 2029 (Apple's minimum) | Until Q1 2032Unconfirmed, see note 4 |
| Processor | Apple A17 Pro (6-core CPU, 5-core GPU) | Samsung Exynos 1380 (S5E8835) octa-core, 4 x 2.4 GHz + 4 x 2.0 GHz, 5 nm |
| Processor architecture | Arm | Arm |
| Memory (RAM) | 8 GBUnconfirmed, see note 5 | 6 GB |
| Storage | 128 GB, 256 GB, 512 GB | 128 GB, microSD up to 1 TB |
| What works through the housing | ||
| Face ID / Touch ID | Touch ID (top-button fingerprint scanner) REMOVED | Not in our data |
| Side and volume buttons | Aluminium push buttons held by stainless retaining washers (3 buttons) | Not in our data |
| Rear cameras | Rear camera works (glass opening); '-BC' variants have blocked cameras | Not in our data |
| Front camera | Works (all original features preserved except as listed)Unconfirmed, see note 6 | Not in our data |
| Touchscreen | Works through toughened glass front window | Not in our data |
| Screen cover | Toughened specialty glass front window (flameproof joint) | Not in our data |
| Charging | USB-C through the bottom cover (removed by the user to charge in a safe area; charging only outside the Ex area, +10 to +45°C) | Not in our data |
| Speakers and microphones | Preserved ('all features of the original product are preserved')Unconfirmed, see note 6 | Not in our data |
| USB-C port | Via the removable bottom cover, outside the Ex area only | Not in our data |
| SIM card | No SIM tray (eSIM only); SIM cover on the housing is opened outside the Ex area only | Not in our data |
| Removed or disabled | Fingerprint scanner (Touch ID) removed; blocked-camera '-BC' variant available | Not in our data |
| Field capabilities | ||
| Push-to-talk | Via app (third-party PTT apps over Wi-Fi/cellular; no PTT key; Ex-rated? n/a)Unconfirmed, see note 7 | Via app (programmable function key assignable to PTT, per ecom) |
| Emergency / SOS | Not in our data | Built in (freely programmable function key, e.g. emergency call or alarm) |
| Lone worker | Via app (third-party lone-worker apps)Unconfirmed, see note 7 | Via app (key assigned to alarm/emergency; third-party or ecom lone-worker solution) |
| Barcode scanning | Via app (camera-based scanning; no scan engine); not possible on the blocked-camera '-BC' variantUnconfirmed, see note 7 | Via accessory (ecom Ident-Ex 02 wireless 1D/2D scanner; Ex-rated? yes) or camera-based via app |
| NFC reading | Not possible (no NFC reader on any iPad)Unconfirmed, see note 7 | Built in (NFC) |
| 3D scanning / LiDAR | Not possible (no LiDAR on this iPad) | Not possible (no depth sensor listed) |
| Remote expert / video calls | Via app (FaceTime, Teams or remote-assist apps; needs camera and audio access through the case)Unconfirmed, see note 7 | Via app (front and rear cameras, Google ARCore ready; ecom promotes remote-support use) |
| Windows desktop software | Not possible (iPadOS only) | Not possible (Android; Samsung DeX gives a desktop-style Android UI) |
| Bluetooth gas detectors | Via app (Bluetooth 5.3; vendor app; no maker-certified integration listed)Unconfirmed, see note 7 | Not in our data |
| Display and camera | ||
| Display | 8.3-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, P3, True Tone, fully laminated, antireflective coating | 8-inch TFT, capacitive multitouch, 60 Hz / adaptive up to 120 Hz; Corning Gorilla Glass 3 (DZ1/DZ2), Gorilla Glass 5 (D2) |
| Resolution | 2266 × 1488 (326 ppi) | 1920 × 1200 (WUXGA), 283 ppi, 16:10 |
| Brightness | 500 nits | 600 nits |
| Outdoor readability | Not in our data | Maker claims optimum readability in direct sunlight (600 nits max) |
| Touch | Not in our data | Yes: glove touch and wet-hands operation (maker) |
| Pen / stylus | Apple Pencil Pro, Apple Pencil (USB-C); hover | Samsung S Pen included (pressure sensitive), with Tab-Ex S Pen holder |
| Rear camera | 12 MP Wide, f/1.8, True Tone flash | 13 MP autofocus, 8x digital zoom (camera-free version available) |
| Front camera | 12 MP Center Stage | 5 MP |
| Video | 4K video | UHD 4K (3840 x 2160) at 30 fps |
| Connectivity | ||
| Network | Wi-Fi only or Wi-Fi + Cellular (5G sub-6 GHz) | 5G Sub-6 and 4G LTE; Wi-Fi-only version also available |
| Wi-Fi | Wi-Fi 6E (802.11ax), 2x2 MIMO | Wi-Fi 6 (802.11 a/b/g, Wi-Fi 4/5/6 2.4 + 5 GHz) |
| Bluetooth | Bluetooth 5.3 | Bluetooth 5.3 |
| NFC | Not in our data | Yes |
| Satellite positioning | GPS/GNSS on Wi-Fi + Cellular models; digital compass and Wi-Fi location on all | GPS, Glonass, Beidou, Galileo |
| SIM | eSIM only (no SIM tray) | Nano-SIM and eSIM (optional) |
| Physical and power | ||
| Weight | 990 g (including the tablet) | 1122 g |
| Dimensions | 240 × 170 × 22 mm | 161.5 × 262.75 × 25.75 (W × H × D) mm |
| Ingress protection | Not in our data | IP68 |
| Ruggedness | Not in our data | MIL-STD-810H |
| Battery | 5034Unconfirmed, see note 8 | 5050 (typical) |
| Battery energy | 19.3 | 18.87 (typical) |
| Battery life | Up to 10 hours web or video on Wi-Fi (9 hours cellular) | Up to 14 h |
| Hot-swap battery | No | Not in our data |
| Replaceable battery | No | No |
| Ports and expansion | USB-C (USB 3, 10 Gb/s); magnetic Apple Pencil connector | USB 2.0 Type-C; 3.5 mm audio jack and POGO pins on DZ2; microSD; nano-SIM / eSIM |
| Docking | USB-C hubs and docks; Smart Connector or magnetic keyboard accessories where the iPad has them. Not usable through sealed Ex cases except the USB-C or Lightning charging port where the case exposes it. | DZ2: Lite Cradle, DC T01 X2 desktop charger, passive holder with tilt/swivel (ordinary areas) |
| Keyboard | Not in our data | No keyboard; wireless DeX with Bluetooth keyboard/mouse; POGO keyboard-dock port on DZ2 (ordinary areas only) |
| Controls & Accessibility | ||
| Keys | Top button with Touch ID sensor, volume buttons; no programmable hardware key | Function key (programmable: PTT, emergency call, alarm) and Active button |
| Push-to-talk key | No | Yes |
| Glove touch | Not in our data | Yes |
| Biometrics | Touch ID (top button) | Face recognition; fingerprint only on the D2 model |
| Fleet and support | ||
| Manufacturer | Atexxo B.V., Netherlands | ecom instruments (Pepperl+Fuchs), Germany |
Only values we could check are listed; “Not in our data” means we have not verified it, not that the tablet lacks it. A numbered marker means a value is unconfirmed, and the matching note at the foot of the page explains why. Prices are on request for both.
Keep researching
Impartial advice
Both tablets are certified for Zone 1/21 and gas group IIC, so the choice comes down to your platform, your gases and your dust: iPad or Android, T4 or T6, flyings or dust. Tell us about your sites and we will help you choose impartially.
FAQ
Neither is better across the board. The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 suits iPad fleets, teams that want a sharper screen, more storage and a lighter tablet, and sites with T4 gases and flyings. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 suits Android fleets, T6 gases, combustible dust and Division 1 sites. Both are certified for Zone 1/21 under ATEX and IECEx.
No. Both are certified to protection level Gb/Db, which covers Zone 1/21 and Zone 2/22, and neither is certified for Zone 0.
IIIA covers combustible flyings only, not dusts. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 is rated IIIC, which includes conductive dust. If your area has dust rather than flyings, check the dust group before you consider the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7.
Both have a North American certificate, but they differ. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 is listed for Class I Division 1 Groups A to D at T6, with Class II and III. The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 is listed as Class I Zone 1 AEx db IIC T4 and may carry a Class I Division 2 marking, for gas only.
No. Both must be charged outside the hazardous area, and neither battery is user-replaceable. Charging is limited to +10 °C to +45 °C for the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 and −5 °C to +55 °C for the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1.
We cannot say. Our data lists at least October 2029 for the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7, which is Apple’s minimum, and ecom states updates until 2032 for the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1, a date our data flags as unconfirmed. Ask each maker for the exact date for the version you order.
Prices depend on volume, configuration and region, so both are on request. Contact us for a price.
Facts last verified on against certificates, declarations of conformity and manufacturer data. The sources for each tablet are listed on its page: Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 and ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1. Always check the certificate for your exact model before use. Spotted an error? Tell us.