Compare · Zone 1 Android tablets

ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 vs i.safe MOBILE IS940.1

These two Android tablets are certified for Zone 1/21 under ATEX and IECEx, and both carry a Class I Division 1 listing for Groups A to D, so on where they may be used they start level. The difference is how they get there. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 is an 8-inch flameproof (Ex db) tablet with an intrinsically safe circuit, rated T6. The i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 is a 10.1-inch intrinsically safe (Ex ib) tablet rated T4, and i.safe allows it to be charged inside the hazardous area. Here is how they compare, and which we would choose for which team.

Our verdict

Which should you choose?

Both tablets cover Zone 1/21 and Division 1, so pick by your gases and by how your crews work. If your hazardous-area study includes gases that ignite below 135 °C, or your team scans with a certified wireless scanner and writes with a pen, we would choose the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1. If your crews work shifts longer than a battery, want a 10.1-inch screen or may also work underground, we would choose the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1.

Choose the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 if…

  • Your hazardous-area study includes gases that ignite below 135 °C: it is rated T6 (85 °C) and T80 °C for dust, against T4 and 135 °C for the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1.
  • Your team scans labels and tags in Zone 1/21: ecom’s Ident-Ex 02 wireless 1D/2D scanner has its own Ex approval, while our data lists only camera-based scanning by app for the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1.
  • You need a wired data connection in the hazardous area: its USB-C port may be used for data there within its entity parameters, while the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 keeps its USB-C cover closed in Ex areas.
  • Your crews write or mark up in the field: a pressure-sensitive S Pen is included and named in the certificate, while the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1’s stylus is an optional accessory, not in the box.
ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 in full

Choose the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 if…

  • Your crews work shifts longer than a battery: it may be charged inside the hazardous area within the certificate’s limits, for example on its IS-DS940.1 docking station, where the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 charges outside only.
  • You read drawings, checklists or forms on site: its screen is 10.1 inches against 8, and it weighs 1,059 g against 1,122 g.
  • You want to swap a battery instead of waiting for a charge: it has a user-replaceable 8,160 mAh battery, changed outside the hazardous area, while the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1’s battery is not user-replaceable.
  • Your teams photograph nameplates, gauges or damage: it has a 50 MP autofocus camera, against 13 MP for the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1.
  • Some of your crews work underground, or your sites are in China, Japan or India: the i.safe MOBILE IS940.M1 mining version adds Group I certification, and its approvals include PCEC (China), Japan-Ex and PESO (India).
i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 in full

Key differences

Where they differ

  • Temperature class

    ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1
    T6 (≤ 85 °C)
    i.safe MOBILE IS940.1
    T4 (≤ 135 °C)

    T6 keeps the surface at or below 85 °C and T4 at or below 135 °C. T4 is fine for most gases but not those that ignite below 135 °C, so check the ignition temperatures of your substances against the class before anything else.

  • Charging in the hazardous area

    ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1
    Outside the hazardous area only
    i.safe MOBILE IS940.1
    Yes

    i.safe allows the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 to be charged inside the hazardous area, within a charging range of 0 °C to +45 °C. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 must be charged outside it. For crews who cannot walk out to a charging point, this can decide the choice.

  • Screen size

    ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1
    8-inch TFT, capacitive multitouch, 60 Hz / adaptive up to 120 Hz; Corning Gorilla Glass 3 (DZ1/DZ2), Gorilla Glass 5 (D2)
    i.safe MOBILE IS940.1
    10.1-inch Corning Gorilla Glass V3 (3rd generation), usable with gloves

    The i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 has a 10.1-inch screen and the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 an 8-inch one. The larger screen suits drawings and forms, and the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 is also the lighter of the two at 1,059 g against 1,122 g.

  • User-replaceable battery

    ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1
    No
    i.safe MOBILE IS940.1
    Yes

    The i.safe MOBILE IS940.1’s battery is user-replaceable, changed outside the hazardous area only. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1’s is not. ecom quotes up to 14 hours of battery life and our data has no figure for i.safe, so we do not compare runtime.

In the field

Head to head, by kind of work

Gas coverage and temperature class

Edge: ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1

On many sites this point decides the purchase. Both tablets are certified for Zone 1/21, protection level Gb/Db, gas group IIC and dust group IIIC, and both are rated for −20 °C to +55 °C. The difference is the temperature class. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 is T6, with a maximum surface temperature of 85 °C for gas and 80 °C for dust. The i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 is T4, with 135 °C for both. T4 is fine for most gases, but not those that ignite below 135 °C. If your hazardous-area study lists none, the gap will not matter to you.

The North American listings follow the same split. Both cover Class I Division 1 Groups A, B, C and D, Class II Division 1 Groups E, F and G, and Class III. ecom’s SGS certificate for the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 is at T6 and T80 °C, and the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1’s NEC 500 listing is at T4. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 is flameproof (Ex db) with an intrinsically safe circuit (Ex ia), and the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 is intrinsically safe (Ex ib). Neither is certified for Zone 0.

Charging, battery and accessories in the zone

Edge: i.safe MOBILE IS940.1

The i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 is one of only two current Zone 1 tablets in our data that may be charged where they are used. Its IECEx conditions allow charging at 0 °C to +45 °C, and i.safe lists the IS-DS940.1 docking station for charging in the Ex area. Its 8,160 mAh battery is user-replaceable, changed outside the hazardous area only. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 has a 5,050 mAh battery that is not user-replaceable, and it must be charged outside the hazardous area, at −5 °C to +55 °C. ecom quotes up to 14 hours of battery life. Our data has no figure for i.safe, so we cannot compare runtime.

In the zone, the two open different doors. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1’s USB-C port is intrinsically safe and may carry wired data in the hazardous area within its entity parameters, though charging through it is for non-hazardous areas only, and its S Pen may be used in the zone. The i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 keeps its USB-C cover closed in Ex areas, but its 16-pin ISM interface takes the Ex-rated IS-HS2A.1 headset, the IS-RSM3A.1 remote speaker microphone and the IS-PTTB1A.1 push-to-talk button, and microSD cards that meet its limits may be used in their slot.

Screen, camera and weight

Edge: i.safe MOBILE IS940.1

The i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 has the larger screen, 10.1 inches at 1200 × 1920 under Gorilla Glass V3, and it weighs 1,059 g against 1,122 g for the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1. Both tablets are IP68 and list MIL-STD-810H, and both work with gloves. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1’s 8-inch screen is 1920 × 1200 at up to 600 nits, with wet-hands operation and an S Pen included. Our data has no brightness figure for the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 and does not state wet touch, which means unverified, not absent.

The i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 has a 50 MP autofocus camera against 13 MP with 8x digital zoom for the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1, and both have a 5 MP front camera. ecom lists 4K video at 30 fps, and our data has no video figure for i.safe. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 is also offered in a camera-free version for sites that restrict cameras. Our data does not confirm one for the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1.

Updates, connectivity and field tools

Even

On security updates the two are close. i.safe states Q4 2032 for the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1, which runs Android 14. ecom states security updates until 2032 for the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1, a date our data flags as unconfirmed, so we would not choose on it. Ask each maker for the exact end date for the version you order. Both have 5G, Wi-Fi 6 and NFC. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 has an Exynos 1380 with 6 GB of RAM, and the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 a Qualcomm QCM6490 with 8 GB. Both have 128 GB of storage and a microSD slot.

On controls, the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 has a programmable function key that can be set to push-to-talk, an emergency call or an alarm. The i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 has a programmable red key for SOS or a lone-worker app, and push-to-talk comes through the Ex-rated IS-PTTB1A.1 button. For scanning, ecom’s Ident-Ex 02 wireless scanner has its own Ex approval, while the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 scans with its camera through an app. i.safe also offers the IS-MOP1A.1 operator panel for fixed positions, which needs a separate Ex enclosure for its connectivity module.

Specifications

Full specifications side by side

ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 vs i.safe MOBILE IS940.1: full specifications
ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1i.safe MOBILE IS940.1
Ex rating
Certified forZone 1/21Zone 1/21
ProtectionFlameproof enclosure (Ex db) with an intrinsically safe circuit (Ex ia)Intrinsic safety (Ex ib)
Gas groupIICIIC
Temperature classT6 (≤ 85 °C)T4 (≤ 135 °C)
Mining versionNot in our datai.safe MOBILE IS940.M1: also certified for Group I (underground mining)
Certification
ATEX markingII 2G Ex db ia IIC T6 Gb / II 2D Ex tb ia IIIC T80°C DbII 2G Ex ib IIC T4 Gb / II 2D Ex ib IIIC T135°C Db
ATEX certificateEPS 24 ATEX 1 228 XEPS 24 ATEX 1 010 X
IECEx markingEx db ia IIC T6 Gb / Ex tb ia IIIC T80°C DbEx ib IIC T4 Gb / Ex ib IIIC T135°C Db
IECEx certificateIECEx EPS 24.0082X (issue 1, 2025-08-05IECEx EPS 24.0001X (issue 1, 2025-02-06
Other approvalsKC Korea 25-KA4BO-0326X (gas) and 25-KA4BO-0327X (dust) (ecom files CERT-7928/7929); Inmetro Brazil TÜV 25.0140 X (CERT-7842; marking adds IP64); IA/MASC South Africa MASC S/25-8018X; Common Criteria portal listing for the Tab-Ex familyIA South Africa (MTEx-S/24.0456 X), PCEC China (CE24.5940X), INMETRO (BRA 24.GE0015X), Japan-Ex, PESO, KCs
North AmericaSGS certificate SGSNA/25/CA/00003X (ecom file CERT-7841): Class I Division 1, Group A, B, C, D, T6; Class II Division 1, Group E, F, G T80C; Class III T80C; Ex db ia IIC T6 Gb; Class I, Zone 1, AEx db ia IIC T6 Gb; Zone 21, Group IIIC T80C; Ta −20 °C to +55 °CNEC 500 (QPS LR3081-7, 2025-08-13): Class I Div 1 Groups A, B, C, D T4; Class II Div 1 Groups E, F, G 155 °C; Class III; IP64; −20 °C to +55 °C
Protection level (EPL)Gb / DbGb / Db
Dust groupIIICIIIC
Max surface temperature (dust)80 °C135 °C
Safe use
Ambient temperature (Ta)−20 °C to +55 °C−20 °C to +55 °C
ChargingOutside the hazardous area onlyYes
Battery swapOutside the hazardous area onlyOutside the hazardous area only
Ports and accessories in the zoneSIM and microSD are reachable only in non-hazardous areas (flameproof cover). The USB-C port is intrinsically safe and may be used for wired data connections in the hazardous area within its entity parameters (Uo 5.6 V, Io 500 mA, Po 600 mW, Co 1 µF, Lo 1 µH); charging via USB-C only in non-hazardous areas. The S Pen is intrinsically safe and may be used in the hazardous area. Wireless peripherals (Bluetooth, DeX) are not restricted by the certificate text.USB-C and 16-pin ISM covers closed in Ex areas. In Ex areas only these may be connected to the 16-pin ISM: headset IS-HS2A.1, remote speaker microphone IS-RSM3A.1, PTT button IS-PTTB1A.1 (with or without headset IS-HDHS1x.1). The 12-pin dock interface may stay open. Nano-SIM and microSD (IS-SD164.1 / IS-SD1128.1 or cards meeting the entity parameters) allowed in their slots in the Ex area.
Certified accessoriesNamed in the certificate: S Pen ST T05 X2, leather case LC T05 X1, chest harness CH T05 X1, belt clip BC T01, carrying strap CS T05, stylus tether ST 01. The Ident-Ex 02 wireless 1D/2D scanner carries its own Ex approval (Zone 1/21, Div 1). Chargers, docks and holders on the ecom page are for use outside the hazardous area only.Ex-rated for use in Ex area: IS-HS2A.1 headset, IS-RSM3A.1 speaker microphone, IS-PTTB1A.1 PTT button, IS-HDHS1A/B/C.1 headsets (headband, neckband, helmet), IS-DS940.1 docking station, microSD IS-SD164.1/IS-SD1128.1. Charging via IS-DS940.1 or MC930.1 multi charger; PROTECTOR 2.0 USB-C cable only outside Ex areas. Leather cases, vehicle mount, carry straps also listed.
Operating temperature−20 °C to +55 °C−20 °C to +55 °C
Conditions of useIECEx X conditions: flameproof joints shall not be repaired; protect against high-energy impacts; do not use near processes producing high electrostatic charges; charging and SIM/SD-card replacement only in ordinary (non-hazardous) locations; charge only at −5 °C to +55 °C; charging and wired data via USB-C limited to Um 30 V (and the certificate's current limit) and from a SELV/PELV/ES1 supply; user may replace only the USB-C cover; repairs by the manufacturer or an authorised service centre.Battery may be replaced outside explosion hazardous areas only; protect against excessive UV light and high electrostatic charge; USB-C interface under IP cover may only be opened outside hazardous areas; 16-pin ISM interface must be closed with its cover when not in use in hazardous areas; ambient −20 °C to +55 °C; charging temperature limited to 0 °C to +45 °C (IECEx EPS 24.0001X issue 1). Safety instructions: protect from high-energy impacts; zones 1, 2, 21, 22 only.
Device
TypeDedicated Ex tabletDedicated Ex tablet
Launched20252024Unconfirmed, see note 1
Part numbersTAB-EX05-DZ1-* (datasheet 480996; WiFi and WWAN types)Model M940A01; battery BPIS940A.1A (MBP940AA01) per DoC; R. STAHL Art. No. 329056 (Tablet Set), 329467 (Tablet Set no Camera)Unconfirmed, see note 2
Operating systemAndroid 16Unconfirmed, see note 3Android 14
EditionAndroid (Samsung One UI); Android Enterprise Recommended, Samsung Knox 3.10Android 14
OS at launchAndroid 14Not in our data
OS upgradesAndroid 22 (ecom claim)Unconfirmed, see note 3Not in our data
Security updatesUntil Q1 2032Unconfirmed, see note 4Until Q4 2032
ProcessorSamsung Exynos 1380 (S5E8835) octa-core, 4 x 2.4 GHz + 4 x 2.0 GHz, 5 nmQualcomm QCM6490 octa-core (long-term support chipset)
Processor architectureArmArm
Memory (RAM)6 GB8 GB
Storage128 GB, microSD up to 1 TB128 GB, microSD supported
Field capabilities
Push-to-talkVia app (programmable function key assignable to PTT, per ecom)Via accessory (IS-PTTB1A.1 PTT button on the 16-pin ISM interface; Ex-rated? yes) and PTT app
Emergency / SOSBuilt in (freely programmable function key, e.g. emergency call or alarm)Built in (freely programmable red key, e.g. SOS / lone worker)
Lone workerVia app (key assigned to alarm/emergency; third-party or ecom lone-worker solution)Via app (red key assigned to a lone-worker application; third-party app)
Barcode scanningVia accessory (ecom Ident-Ex 02 wireless 1D/2D scanner; Ex-rated? yes) or camera-based via appVia app (50 MP camera-based; no dedicated scan engine listed)
NFC readingBuilt in (NFC)Built in (NFC)
3D scanning / LiDARNot possible (no depth sensor listed)Not possible (no depth sensor listed)
Remote expert / video callsVia app (front and rear cameras, Google ARCore ready; ecom promotes remote-support use)Via app (front and rear cameras, Wi-Fi 6 / 5G; third-party app)
Windows desktop softwareNot possible (Android; Samsung DeX gives a desktop-style Android UI)Not possible (Android)
Display and camera
Display8-inch TFT, capacitive multitouch, 60 Hz / adaptive up to 120 Hz; Corning Gorilla Glass 3 (DZ1/DZ2), Gorilla Glass 5 (D2)10.1-inch Corning Gorilla Glass V3 (3rd generation), usable with gloves
Resolution1920 × 1200 (WUXGA), 283 ppi, 16:101200 × 1920
Brightness600 nitsNot in our data
Outdoor readabilityMaker claims optimum readability in direct sunlight (600 nits max)Not in our data
TouchYes: glove touch and wet-hands operation (maker)Usable with gloves (maker); wet-touch not stated
Pen / stylusSamsung S Pen included (pressure sensitive), with Tab-Ex S Pen holderPassive stylus available as accessory (IS-Stylus Set, 'stylus for operating touch screens'); not in the box
Rear camera13 MP autofocus, 8x digital zoom (camera-free version available)50 MP autofocus
Front camera5 MP5 MP fixed focus
VideoUHD 4K (3840 x 2160) at 30 fpsNot in our data
Connectivity
Network5G Sub-6 and 4G LTE; Wi-Fi-only version also available5G NR and 4G LTE
Wi-FiWi-Fi 6 (802.11 a/b/g, Wi-Fi 4/5/6 2.4 + 5 GHz)Wi-Fi 6 (802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/e/k/r/ax/v) with hotspot
BluetoothBluetooth 5.3Bluetooth 5.2
NFCYesYes
Satellite positioningGPS, Glonass, Beidou, GalileoGPS, A-GPS, Glonass, A-Glonass, Beidou, Galileo
SIMNano-SIM and eSIM (optional)Nano-SIM + eSIM (dual SIM)
Physical and power
Weight1122 g1059 g
Dimensions161.5 × 262.75 × 25.75 (W × H × D) mm266.17 × 168.46 × 19.82 mm
Ingress protectionIP68IP68
RuggednessMIL-STD-810HMIL-STD-810H
Battery5050 (typical)8160
Battery energy18.87 (typical)30.2Unconfirmed, see note 5
Battery lifeUp to 14 hNot in our data
Replaceable batteryNoYes
Ports and expansionUSB 2.0 Type-C; 3.5 mm audio jack and POGO pins on DZ2; microSD; nano-SIM / eSIMUSB-C; 12-pin docking interface; 16-pin ISM interface (audio/PTT accessories; the page text also calls it '13-pin'); nano-SIM + eSIM; microSD
DockingDZ2: Lite Cradle, DC T01 X2 desktop charger, passive holder with tilt/swivel (ordinary areas)IS-DS940.1 docking station (VESA 100; charging in Ex area); IS-MC930.1 six-bay multi charger; vehicle mount
KeyboardNo keyboard; wireless DeX with Bluetooth keyboard/mouse; POGO keyboard-dock port on DZ2 (ordinary areas only)No (slate)
Controls & Accessibility
KeysFunction key (programmable: PTT, emergency call, alarm) and Active buttonFreely programmable red key (e.g. lone worker / SOS); additional programmable side buttons
Push-to-talk keyYesNo
Glove touchYesYes
BiometricsFace recognition; fingerprint only on the D2 modelNot in our data
Fleet and support
Manufacturerecom instruments (Pepperl+Fuchs), Germanyi.safe MOBILE GmbH, Germany

Only values we could check are listed; “Not in our data” means we have not verified it, not that the tablet lacks it. A numbered marker means a value is unconfirmed, and the matching note at the foot of the page explains why. Prices are on request for both.

Impartial advice

Still deciding between the two?

Both tablets are certified for Zone 1/21 with a Class I Division 1 listing, so the choice comes down to your gases, how your crews charge and the screen size they need. Tell us about your sites and we will help you choose impartially.

FAQ

Common questions

Is the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 better than the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1?

Neither is better across the board. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 suits sites with gases that need T6 and teams that scan with a certified accessory or work with a pen. The i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 suits crews who must charge inside the zone, want a 10.1-inch screen or work underground. Both are certified for Zone 1/21 and Class I Division 1.

Can either tablet be used in Zone 0?

No. Both are certified to protection level Gb, which covers Zone 1 and Zone 2, and neither is certified for Zone 0. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 is flameproof (Ex db) with an intrinsically safe circuit (Ex ia), and the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 is intrinsically safe (Ex ib).

Can you charge either tablet in the hazardous area?

Only the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1, within its certificate’s limits and a charging range of 0 °C to +45 °C, for example on its IS-DS940.1 docking station. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 must be charged outside the hazardous area, and its battery is not user-replaceable.

Are both tablets approved for North America?

Yes. Both are listed for Class I Division 1 Groups A, B, C and D, and for Class II Division 1 Groups E, F and G. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 is listed at T6 on an SGS certificate, and the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 at T4 under NEC 500.

Which gets security updates for longer?

Neither is clearly ahead on the dates we have. i.safe states Q4 2032 for the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1, and ecom states updates until 2032 for the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1, a date our data flags as unconfirmed. Ask each maker for the exact end date for the version you order.

Is there a mining version of either tablet?

For the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1, yes: the i.safe MOBILE IS940.M1 is also certified for Group I (underground mining). Our data lists no mining version of the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1, so treat it as a surface tablet unless ecom confirms otherwise.

How much do the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 and i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 cost?

Prices depend on volume, configuration and region, so both are on request. Contact us for a price.

Notes on unconfirmed values

  1. i.safe MOBILE IS940.1: Approximate: the maker doesn't publish a launch date. Based on the certificate date or the maker's announcement.
  2. i.safe MOBILE IS940.1: Order codes from a certificate or distributor; confirm them with the maker when ordering.
  3. ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1: From a single or secondary source; the maker doesn't state it for this model.
  4. ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1: ecom states security updates until 2032, which matches Samsung's Enterprise Edition commitment.
  5. i.safe MOBILE IS940.1: Calculated from the maker's battery capacity and voltage; the maker doesn't state watt-hours.

Facts last verified on against certificates, declarations of conformity and manufacturer data. The sources for each tablet are listed on its page: ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1 and i.safe MOBILE IS940.1. Always check the certificate for your exact model before use. Spotted an error? Tell us.