Atexxo
Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7
- Zone 1/21
- IIC T4
- ATEX + IECEx
- Class I Division 2
Compare · iPad or Android for Zone 1
These two tablets do different jobs, so this is a choice between iPadOS and Android for Zone 1 work. The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 is a standard 8.3-inch iPad mini (A17 Pro) in a flameproof (Ex db) housing. The i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 is a dedicated intrinsically safe (Ex ib) 10.1-inch Android tablet. Both are certified for Zone 1/21 under ATEX and IECEx at T4, but the Atexxo’s dust group is IIIA and it must be charged outside the hazardous area, while the i.safe tablet is IIIC and may be charged in the zone. Here is how they compare, and which we would choose for which team.
Atexxo
i.safe MOBILE
Our verdict
Pick by the platform your fleet runs and the hazards on your site. For teams standardized on iPads, a lighter tablet and a US or Canadian Zone 1 listing, we would choose the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7, as long as its dust group suits your site. For sites with combustible dust, Division 1 classification, charging in the hazardous area or underground work, we would choose the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1.
Key differences
IIIC covers all combustible dusts, conductive dust included, as well as flyings; IIIA covers combustible flyings only, not dusts. The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 is IIIA and the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 is IIIC, so in a Zone 21 area with powders or conductive dust only the i.safe tablet qualifies.
The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7’s CSA listing is gas only: Class I Zone 1 in the US and Canada, with the Division 2 marking allowed. The i.safe MOBILE IS940.1’s NEC 500 listing is Class I Division 1 Groups A to D at T4, plus Class II and Class III. Division 1 roughly matches Zones 0 and 1 together and Division 2 roughly matches Zone 2, so check how your site is classified.
The i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 may be charged inside the hazardous area within its certificate’s limits, and i.safe lists the IS-DS940.1 docking station for it. The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 must be charged outside, at +10 °C to +45 °C. For a crew that works a long shift in the zone, this changes how you plan the day.
i.safe states security updates for the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 until Q4 2032. For the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 our data shows at least October 2029, which is Apple’s minimum rather than an end date. For a fleet bought to last, the longer stated date favors the i.safe tablet.
In the field
Even
The platform is the first thing to settle. The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 runs iPadOS on an Apple A17 Pro, with 128, 256 or 512 GB of storage, and keeps the same apps and Apple device management as any iPad mini. The i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 runs Android 14 on a Qualcomm QCM6490 with 8 GB of RAM and 128 GB of storage plus a microSD slot. If your fleet is on iPad, moving to Android means new apps and a new management platform, and the reverse holds too.
On updates, i.safe states security updates for the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 until Q4 2032. For the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 our data shows at least October 2029, Apple’s minimum, since Apple does not publish an end date. Neither tablet has a push-to-talk key; both rely on apps, and i.safe lists an Ex-rated push-to-talk button for its tablet. NFC reading is built in on the i.safe tablet, while our data lists no NFC reader for the iPad mini, a value flagged unconfirmed.
Edge: i.safe MOBILE IS940.1
On gas the two are level: IIC and T4 in Zone 1/21, with a 135 °C dust surface limit. On dust they are not. The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 is marked Ex tb IIIA, which covers combustible flyings only, not dusts, so it does not suit Zone 21 areas that handle powders. The i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 is IIIC, which includes conductive dust. For a plant with a dust hazard, check this row before you look at anything else.
In North America, the Atexxo’s CSA certificate covers Class I Zone 1 AEx db IIC T4 Gb in the US and Ex db IIC T4 Gb in Canada, and allows the marking Class I Division 2 Groups A to D at T4, with no Class II or III rating. The i.safe tablet’s NEC 500 listing is Class I Division 1 Groups A to D at T4, Class II Division 1 Groups E, F and G, and Class III. i.safe also lists the i.safe MOBILE IS940.M1 for mining and approvals for South Africa, China, Brazil, Japan, India and Korea; Atexxo lists INMETRO for Brazil.
Edge: i.safe MOBILE IS940.1
The i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 may be charged inside the hazardous area, within its certificate’s conditions, and i.safe lists the IS-DS940.1 docking station for it. Its battery can be replaced, outside the hazardous area only. The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 must be charged outside: its bottom cover is opened only there, and CSA sets charging at +10 °C to +45 °C. Our data lists its battery as not replaceable and without hot swap, so a team that needs the tablet back in the field has to plan around a charge in a safe area.
Our data lists up to 10 hours of web or video on Wi-Fi (9 hours on cellular) for the Atexxo and no battery-life figure for the i.safe tablet, so we do not compare runtime. Capacity is not runtime either: the Atexxo’s 5,034 mAh is flagged unconfirmed, since Apple states watt-hours (19.3 Wh), against 8,160 mAh for the i.safe tablet. Touch ID is removed in the conversion, which matters for fleets that rely on fingerprint unlock.
Even
The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 weighs 990 g including the tablet, 69 g less than the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 at 1,059 g, and has an 8.3-inch Liquid Retina screen at 2266 × 1488 and 500 nits. The i.safe tablet has a 10.1-inch Gorilla Glass screen at 1200 × 1920, usable with gloves according to i.safe; our data lists no brightness figure for it, and no glove-touch value for the Atexxo. i.safe lists IP68, and our data has no ingress rating for the Atexxo.
On cameras, the Atexxo has a 12 MP rear camera with 4K video that works through a glass opening, and its blocked-camera “-BC” version suits sites that restrict cameras. A 12 MP front camera is listed, but that it works through the housing is unconfirmed. The i.safe tablet has a 50 MP autofocus rear camera and a 5 MP front camera; ask i.safe whether a camera-free version is available.
Specifications
Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 | i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 | |
|---|---|---|
| Ex rating | ||
| Certified for | Zone 1/21 | Zone 1/21 |
| Protection | Flameproof enclosure (Ex db) | Intrinsic safety (Ex ib) |
| Gas group | IIC | IIC |
| Temperature class | T4 (≤ 135 °C) | T4 (≤ 135 °C) |
| Mining version | Not in our data | i.safe MOBILE IS940.M1: also certified for Group I (underground mining) |
| Certification | ||
| ATEX marking | II 2G Ex db IIC T4 Gb / II 2D Ex tb IIIA T135°C Db | II 2G Ex ib IIC T4 Gb / II 2D Ex ib IIIC T135°C Db |
| ATEX certificate | EPS 22 ATEX 1 162 X | EPS 24 ATEX 1 010 X |
| IECEx marking | Ex db IIC T4 Gb / Ex tb IIIA T135°C Db | Ex ib IIC T4 Gb / Ex ib IIIC T135°C Db |
| IECEx certificate | IECEx EPS 22.0020X | IECEx EPS 24.0001X (issue 1, 2025-02-06 |
| Other approvals | INMETRO (Brazil) DNV 25.0026 X/00, revision 01 (2025-04-17; certificate first issued 2025-03-07), valid until 2028-11-16 | IA South Africa (MTEx-S/24.0456 X), PCEC China (CE24.5940X), INMETRO (BRA 24.GE0015X), Japan-Ex, PESO, KCs |
| North America | CSA 80152658 (NA certificate CSA23CA80152658X; original 2023-06-07 for the mini 6, updated 2025-05-05 to add the mini 7): Canada Ex db IIC T4 Gb; US Class I, Zone 1, AEx db IIC T4 Gb; Ta −20 to +50°C, charging +10 to +45°C. The certificate also allows the marking 'Class I, Division 2, Groups A, B, C & D, T4'. Gas only; no Class II/III (dust) rating. | NEC 500 (QPS LR3081-7, 2025-08-13): Class I Div 1 Groups A, B, C, D T4; Class II Div 1 Groups E, F, G 155 °C; Class III; IP64; −20 °C to +55 °C |
| Protection level (EPL) | Gb / Db | Gb / Db |
| Dust group | IIIA | IIIC |
| Max surface temperature (dust) | 135 °C | 135 °C |
| Safe use | ||
| Ambient temperature (Ta) | −20 °C to +50 °C | −20 °C to +55 °C |
| Charging | Outside the hazardous area only | Yes |
| Battery swap | Outside the hazardous area only | Outside the hazardous area only |
| Ports and accessories in the zone | SIM and charging covers must be closed and screwed in place; opened only outside the hazardous area; charging only +10 to +45°C | USB-C and 16-pin ISM covers closed in Ex areas. In Ex areas only these may be connected to the 16-pin ISM: headset IS-HS2A.1, remote speaker microphone IS-RSM3A.1, PTT button IS-PTTB1A.1 (with or without headset IS-HDHS1x.1). The 12-pin dock interface may stay open. Nano-SIM and microSD (IS-SD164.1 / IS-SD1128.1 or cards meeting the entity parameters) allowed in their slots in the Ex area. |
| Certified accessories | Shoulder strap for Zone 1 and Zone 2 phones and tablets (Atexxo product). Ex rating not stated separately.Unconfirmed, see note 1 | Ex-rated for use in Ex area: IS-HS2A.1 headset, IS-RSM3A.1 speaker microphone, IS-PTTB1A.1 PTT button, IS-HDHS1A/B/C.1 headsets (headband, neckband, helmet), IS-DS940.1 docking station, microSD IS-SD164.1/IS-SD1128.1. Charging via IS-DS940.1 or MC930.1 multi charger; PROTECTOR 2.0 USB-C cable only outside Ex areas. Leather cases, vehicle mount, carry straps also listed. |
| Operating temperature | −20 °C to +50 °C | −20 °C to +55 °C |
| Conditions of use | ATEX EPS 22 ATEX 1 162 X rev. 3 and IECEx EPS 22.0020X issue 3: Ta −20°C to +50°C. Repair of flameproof joints not allowed (EN/IEC 60079-1 values). Minimum property class of screws A4-70; only original parts from the manufacturer. Glass window to be protected from impact energy above 2 J. Device shall not be opened in a hazardous location; battery charging only outside the hazardous location. Added by CSA 80152658 and INMETRO DNV 25.0026 X (not in the ATEX/IECEx text): SIM card cover and bottom cover opened only outside the hazardous location and kept screwed in place; charging only at +10°C to +45°C (CSA); check the enclosure and corner bumpers for damage before use in a hazardous area (INMETRO). | Battery may be replaced outside explosion hazardous areas only; protect against excessive UV light and high electrostatic charge; USB-C interface under IP cover may only be opened outside hazardous areas; 16-pin ISM interface must be closed with its cover when not in use in hazardous areas; ambient −20 °C to +55 °C; charging temperature limited to 0 °C to +45 °C (IECEx EPS 24.0001X issue 1). Safety instructions: protect from high-energy impacts; zones 1, 2, 21, 22 only. |
| Device | ||
| Type | Converted tablet | Dedicated Ex tablet |
| Tablet inside | iPad mini (A17 Pro) | Not in our data |
| Also fits | iPad mini (6th generation) | Not in our data |
| Fitting | Supplied as a complete unit | Not in our data |
| Tablet can be removed | No (permanently converted: flameproof enclosure around the iPad, not to be opened in a hazardous location; bottom cover opened outside the Ex area only for charging and SIM)Unconfirmed, see note 2 | Not in our data |
| Launched | 2025 | 2024Unconfirmed, see note 3 |
| Part numbers | EXd-TABLET-M7-128, -128-CEL, -256, -256-CEL, -512, -512-CEL (incl. iPad mini 7); EXd-TABLET-M7-128-CEL-BC (blocked cameras); EXd-TABLET-M7-* (customer iPad conversion) | Model M940A01; battery BPIS940A.1A (MBP940AA01) per DoC; R. STAHL Art. No. 329056 (Tablet Set), 329467 (Tablet Set no Camera)Unconfirmed, see note 4 |
| Operating system | iPadOS 27 | Android 14 |
| Edition | iPadOS (consumer; no LTSC or enterprise edition) | Android 14 |
| OS at launch | iPadOS 18.1 | Not in our data |
| OS upgrades | Still supported by iPadOS 27 (current) | Not in our data |
| Security updates | At least until October 2029 (Apple's minimum) | Until Q4 2032 |
| Processor | Apple A17 Pro (6-core CPU, 5-core GPU) | Qualcomm QCM6490 octa-core (long-term support chipset) |
| Processor architecture | Arm | Arm |
| Memory (RAM) | 8 GBUnconfirmed, see note 5 | 8 GB |
| Storage | 128 GB, 256 GB, 512 GB | 128 GB, microSD supported |
| What works through the housing | ||
| Face ID / Touch ID | Touch ID (top-button fingerprint scanner) REMOVED | Not in our data |
| Side and volume buttons | Aluminium push buttons held by stainless retaining washers (3 buttons) | Not in our data |
| Rear cameras | Rear camera works (glass opening); '-BC' variants have blocked cameras | Not in our data |
| Front camera | Works (all original features preserved except as listed)Unconfirmed, see note 6 | Not in our data |
| Touchscreen | Works through toughened glass front window | Not in our data |
| Screen cover | Toughened specialty glass front window (flameproof joint) | Not in our data |
| Charging | USB-C through the bottom cover (removed by the user to charge in a safe area; charging only outside the Ex area, +10 to +45°C) | Not in our data |
| Speakers and microphones | Preserved ('all features of the original product are preserved')Unconfirmed, see note 6 | Not in our data |
| USB-C port | Via the removable bottom cover, outside the Ex area only | Not in our data |
| SIM card | No SIM tray (eSIM only); SIM cover on the housing is opened outside the Ex area only | Not in our data |
| Removed or disabled | Fingerprint scanner (Touch ID) removed; blocked-camera '-BC' variant available | Not in our data |
| Field capabilities | ||
| Push-to-talk | Via app (third-party PTT apps over Wi-Fi/cellular; no PTT key; Ex-rated? n/a)Unconfirmed, see note 7 | Via accessory (IS-PTTB1A.1 PTT button on the 16-pin ISM interface; Ex-rated? yes) and PTT app |
| Emergency / SOS | Not in our data | Built in (freely programmable red key, e.g. SOS / lone worker) |
| Lone worker | Via app (third-party lone-worker apps)Unconfirmed, see note 7 | Via app (red key assigned to a lone-worker application; third-party app) |
| Barcode scanning | Via app (camera-based scanning; no scan engine); not possible on the blocked-camera '-BC' variantUnconfirmed, see note 7 | Via app (50 MP camera-based; no dedicated scan engine listed) |
| NFC reading | Not possible (no NFC reader on any iPad)Unconfirmed, see note 7 | Built in (NFC) |
| 3D scanning / LiDAR | Not possible (no LiDAR on this iPad) | Not possible (no depth sensor listed) |
| Remote expert / video calls | Via app (FaceTime, Teams or remote-assist apps; needs camera and audio access through the case)Unconfirmed, see note 7 | Via app (front and rear cameras, Wi-Fi 6 / 5G; third-party app) |
| Windows desktop software | Not possible (iPadOS only) | Not possible (Android) |
| Bluetooth gas detectors | Via app (Bluetooth 5.3; vendor app; no maker-certified integration listed)Unconfirmed, see note 7 | Not in our data |
| Display and camera | ||
| Display | 8.3-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, P3, True Tone, fully laminated, antireflective coating | 10.1-inch Corning Gorilla Glass V3 (3rd generation), usable with gloves |
| Resolution | 2266 × 1488 (326 ppi) | 1200 × 1920 |
| Brightness | 500 nits | Not in our data |
| Touch | Not in our data | Usable with gloves (maker); wet-touch not stated |
| Pen / stylus | Apple Pencil Pro, Apple Pencil (USB-C); hover | Passive stylus available as accessory (IS-Stylus Set, 'stylus for operating touch screens'); not in the box |
| Rear camera | 12 MP Wide, f/1.8, True Tone flash | 50 MP autofocus |
| Front camera | 12 MP Center Stage | 5 MP fixed focus |
| Video | 4K video | Not in our data |
| Connectivity | ||
| Network | Wi-Fi only or Wi-Fi + Cellular (5G sub-6 GHz) | 5G NR and 4G LTE |
| Wi-Fi | Wi-Fi 6E (802.11ax), 2x2 MIMO | Wi-Fi 6 (802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/e/k/r/ax/v) with hotspot |
| Bluetooth | Bluetooth 5.3 | Bluetooth 5.2 |
| NFC | Not in our data | Yes |
| Satellite positioning | GPS/GNSS on Wi-Fi + Cellular models; digital compass and Wi-Fi location on all | GPS, A-GPS, Glonass, A-Glonass, Beidou, Galileo |
| SIM | eSIM only (no SIM tray) | Nano-SIM + eSIM (dual SIM) |
| Physical and power | ||
| Weight | 990 g (including the tablet) | 1059 g |
| Dimensions | 240 × 170 × 22 mm | 266.17 × 168.46 × 19.82 mm |
| Ingress protection | Not in our data | IP68 |
| Ruggedness | Not in our data | MIL-STD-810H |
| Battery | 5034Unconfirmed, see note 8 | 8160 |
| Battery energy | 19.3 | 30.2Unconfirmed, see note 9 |
| Battery life | Up to 10 hours web or video on Wi-Fi (9 hours cellular) | Not in our data |
| Hot-swap battery | No | Not in our data |
| Replaceable battery | No | Yes |
| Ports and expansion | USB-C (USB 3, 10 Gb/s); magnetic Apple Pencil connector | USB-C; 12-pin docking interface; 16-pin ISM interface (audio/PTT accessories; the page text also calls it '13-pin'); nano-SIM + eSIM; microSD |
| Docking | USB-C hubs and docks; Smart Connector or magnetic keyboard accessories where the iPad has them. Not usable through sealed Ex cases except the USB-C or Lightning charging port where the case exposes it. | IS-DS940.1 docking station (VESA 100; charging in Ex area); IS-MC930.1 six-bay multi charger; vehicle mount |
| Keyboard | Not in our data | No (slate) |
| Controls & Accessibility | ||
| Keys | Top button with Touch ID sensor, volume buttons; no programmable hardware key | Freely programmable red key (e.g. lone worker / SOS); additional programmable side buttons |
| Push-to-talk key | No | No |
| Glove touch | Not in our data | Yes |
| Biometrics | Touch ID (top button) | Not in our data |
| Fleet and support | ||
| Manufacturer | Atexxo B.V., Netherlands | i.safe MOBILE GmbH, Germany |
Only values we could check are listed; “Not in our data” means we have not verified it, not that the tablet lacks it. A numbered marker means a value is unconfirmed, and the matching note at the foot of the page explains why. Prices are on request for both.
Keep researching
Impartial advice
Both tablets are certified for Zone 1/21, so the choice comes down to your platform, your dust and gas hazards and your region. Tell us about your sites and we will help you choose impartially.
FAQ
Neither is better across the board. The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 suits iPad fleets, teams that want a lighter tablet and zone-classified sites in the US and Canada. The i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 suits sites with combustible dust, Division 1 classification, charging in the hazardous area and underground work. Both are certified for Zone 1/21 at IIC T4.
No. Both are certified to protection levels Gb and Db, which cover Zone 1/21, and neither is certified for Zone 0. The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 is flameproof (Ex db), and the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 is intrinsically safe (Ex ib).
Not equally. The i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 is certified for dust group IIIC. The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 is IIIA, which covers combustible flyings only, not dusts, so it is the wrong choice for Zone 21 areas that handle powders. Its certificate also covers a Zone 22 version marked Ex tc IIIB, for non-conductive dust.
Yes, in different ways. The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 has a CSA certificate for Class I Zone 1 (gas only) with the Division 2 marking allowed. The i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 is listed under NEC 500 for Class I Division 1 Groups A to D at T4, plus Class II and Class III.
Only the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1, within its certificate’s conditions: i.safe lists the IS-DS940.1 docking station for charging there. The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 must be charged outside the hazardous area, at +10 °C to +45 °C.
On the dates we have, the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1, which i.safe states until Q4 2032. For the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 our data shows at least October 2029, which is Apple’s minimum, not an end date, as Apple does not publish one.
Prices depend on volume, configuration and region, so both are on request. Contact us for a price.
Facts last verified on against certificates, declarations of conformity and manufacturer data. The sources for each tablet are listed on its page: Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 7 and i.safe MOBILE IS940.1. Always check the certificate for your exact model before use. Spotted an error? Tell us.