Compare · Zone 1 Android tablets

Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 vs i.safe MOBILE IS940.1

Both of these Android tablets are certified for Zone 1/21 under ATEX and IECEx, but they get there in different ways. The Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 is a standard 8-inch Samsung tablet in a flameproof (Ex db) housing, rated T6, at 940 g including the tablet. The i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 is a dedicated intrinsically safe (Ex ib) 10.1-inch tablet, rated T4, with a Class I Division 1 listing for North America, and it is the only one of the two that may be charged in the hazardous area. Here is how they compare, and which we would choose for which team.

Our verdict

Which should you choose?

Both tablets cover Zone 1/21, so pick by your gases, your region and how your crews charge. For sites with gases that ignite below 135 °C, and for teams that want a lighter 8-inch tablet that is a standard Samsung inside, we would choose the Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5. For North American sites, charging in the hazardous area, a larger screen and a 50 MP camera, or work that also goes underground, we would choose the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1.

Choose the Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 if…

  • Your hazardous-area study includes gases that ignite below 135 °C: it is rated T6 (85 °C) and T85 °C for dust, against T4 and 135 °C for the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1.
  • Crews carry the tablet all shift and want a handheld: it weighs 940 g including the tablet, 119 g less than the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1, with an 8-inch screen.
  • Your teams already use Samsung Galaxy tablets: a standard Galaxy Tab Active5 sits inside, so the apps and standard device management carry over.
Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 in full

Choose the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 if…

  • Your crews need to charge in the hazardous area: it may be charged there within its certificate’s conditions, while the Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 must be charged outside.
  • You work in North America and classify by Division: it has a Class I Division 1 listing for Groups A to D, and our data lists none for the Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5.
  • Your sites run a little hotter: it is certified up to +55 °C ambient, against +50 °C for the Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5.
  • Photos and drawings are part of the job: it has a 10.1-inch screen and a 50 MP autofocus camera, against 8 inches and 13 MP.
  • Some of your crews work underground: the i.safe MOBILE IS940.M1 mining version adds Group I certification.
i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 in full

Key differences

Where they differ

  • Temperature class

    Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5
    T6 (≤ 85 °C)
    i.safe MOBILE IS940.1
    T4 (≤ 135 °C)

    The temperature class decides which gases a tablet may be used around. T6 (85 °C) is the stricter rating; T4 (135 °C) is fine for most gases, but not those that ignite below 135 °C. Check your site’s gases against it first.

  • North America

    Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5
    Not in our data
    i.safe MOBILE IS940.1
    NEC 500 (QPS LR3081-7, 2025-08-13): Class I Div 1 Groups A, B, C, D T4; Class II Div 1 Groups E, F, G 155 °C; Class III; IP64; −20 °C to +55 °C

    The i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 has an NEC 500 listing for Class I Division 1 Groups A, B, C and D at T4, plus Class II Division 1 and Class III. Our data lists no North American listing for the Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5, which means unverified, not absent. On a Division-classified site, this can decide the choice on its own.

  • Charging in the hazardous area

    Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5
    Outside the hazardous area only
    i.safe MOBILE IS940.1
    Yes

    The i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 may be charged inside the hazardous area within its certificate’s limits, and i.safe lists the IS-DS940.1 docking station for it. The Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 must be charged outside. For a crew that works a long shift in the zone, this changes how you plan the day.

  • Weight

    Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5
    940 g (including the tablet)
    i.safe MOBILE IS940.1
    1059 g

    The Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 is 119 g lighter, at 940 g including the tablet against 1,059 g, which you notice when a tablet is carried on a strap or held in one hand. The i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 gives you the larger 10.1-inch screen in return.

In the field

Head to head, by kind of work

Gas coverage and temperature class

Edge: Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5

This is where the Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 earns its place. Both tablets are certified for gas group IIC and dust group IIIC in Zone 1/21, but the Atexxo is rated T6, with a maximum surface temperature of 85 °C for gas and for dust. The i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 is rated T4, with 135 °C for both. T4 is fine for most gases, but not those that ignite below 135 °C. If your hazardous-area study lists such a gas, the Atexxo is the one of the two to consider.

The protection methods differ too. The Atexxo is flameproof (Ex db), a standard Samsung tablet inside a housing, and the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 is intrinsically safe (Ex ib). Neither is certified for Zone 0. On heat the i.safe tablet has more room: −20 °C to +55 °C against −20 °C to +50 °C for the Atexxo, so on a site that runs near +50 °C check the Atexxo’s limit before anything else.

Charging, battery and shift planning

Edge: i.safe MOBILE IS940.1

This can decide the purchase for crews who work long shifts in the zone. The i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 may be charged inside the hazardous area within its certificate’s conditions, and i.safe lists the IS-DS940.1 docking station for that use. Its USB-C cover may be opened outside the hazardous area only. The Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 must be charged outside: the bottom cover is removed in a safe area only, and the certificate forbids charging in the hazardous location.

The i.safe MOBILE IS940.1’s battery is replaceable, outside the hazardous area only. For the Atexxo, our data does not confirm a user-replaceable battery, and its certificate says the device shall not be opened in a hazardous location. Capacity favors the i.safe tablet on paper, at 8,160 mAh against 5,050 mAh, but capacity is not runtime. Our data gives battery-life figures for the Atexxo (up to 14 hours of Wi-Fi internet) and none for the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1, so we do not compare runtime. Test your own workload before you rely on either.

Screen, camera and field tools

Even

The two are built for different hands. The Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 has an 8-inch, 1920 × 1200 screen at 600 nits, a 13 MP camera with flash and 4K recording at 30 fps, and weighs 940 g including the tablet. The i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 has a 10.1-inch Gorilla Glass screen at 1200 × 1920 and a 50 MP autofocus camera, which suits inspection photos and reading drawings. Our data lists no brightness figure for it, which means unverified, not absent.

For alarms and accessories the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 has more listed. Its freely programmable red key can be assigned to SOS or a lone-worker app, and the push-to-talk button, headsets and speaker microphone i.safe lists are Ex-rated for use in the hazardous area. The Atexxo has a programmable Active Key, but our data lists no SOS or lone-worker entry and no Ex-rated accessory beyond its strap, so confirm any radio or headset workflow with Atexxo. i.safe lists IP68; for the Atexxo, our data has only IP64 from Atexxo’s own page, flagged unconfirmed.

Certification, North America and updates

Edge: i.safe MOBILE IS940.1

Both tablets carry ATEX and IECEx certificates with published numbers: EPS 26 ATEX 1 161 X and IECEx EPS 26.0044X for the Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5, and EPS 24 ATEX 1 010 X and IECEx EPS 24.0001X for the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1. Beyond those, the i.safe tablet lists much more: the North American listing, and approvals for South Africa, China, Brazil, Japan, India and Korea. Our data lists no other approvals for the Atexxo. The i.safe MOBILE IS940.M1 adds Group I for underground work.

On software the picture is less clear. i.safe states security updates for the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 until Q4 2032, on Android 14. The Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 runs Android 16 in our data, but that is flagged unconfirmed, as is its update date of January 2029, which is Samsung’s for the standard model; Samsung’s Enterprise Edition gets longer support and Atexxo does not say which it uses. Hardware is closer: an Exynos 1380 with 6 or 8 GB and Wi-Fi 6 on the Atexxo, a Qualcomm QCM6490 with 8 GB and Wi-Fi 6 on the i.safe tablet, and 5G on both (on the Atexxo, in the cellular versions).

Specifications

Full specifications side by side

Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 vs i.safe MOBILE IS940.1: full specifications
Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5i.safe MOBILE IS940.1
Ex rating
Certified forZone 1/21Zone 1/21
ProtectionFlameproof enclosure (Ex db)Intrinsic safety (Ex ib)
Gas groupIICIIC
Temperature classT6 (≤ 85 °C)T4 (≤ 135 °C)
Mining versionNot in our datai.safe MOBILE IS940.M1: also certified for Group I (underground mining)
Certification
ATEX markingII 2G Ex db IIC T6 Gb / II 2D Ex tb IIIC T85°C DbII 2G Ex ib IIC T4 Gb / II 2D Ex ib IIIC T135°C Db
ATEX certificateEPS 26 ATEX 1 161 XEPS 24 ATEX 1 010 X
IECEx markingEx db IIC T6 Gb / Ex tb IIIC T85°C DbEx ib IIC T4 Gb / Ex ib IIIC T135°C Db
IECEx certificateIECEx EPS 26.0044X (Issue 0, 2026-09-09, Bureau Veritas CPS Germany)IECEx EPS 24.0001X (issue 1, 2025-02-06
Other approvalsNot in our dataIA South Africa (MTEx-S/24.0456 X), PCEC China (CE24.5940X), INMETRO (BRA 24.GE0015X), Japan-Ex, PESO, KCs
North AmericaNot in our dataNEC 500 (QPS LR3081-7, 2025-08-13): Class I Div 1 Groups A, B, C, D T4; Class II Div 1 Groups E, F, G 155 °C; Class III; IP64; −20 °C to +55 °C
Protection level (EPL)Gb / DbGb / Db
Dust groupIIICIIIC
Max surface temperature (dust)85 °C135 °C
Safe use
Ambient temperature (Ta)−20 °C to +50 °C−20 °C to +55 °C
ChargingOutside the hazardous area onlyYes
Battery swapOutside the hazardous area onlyOutside the hazardous area only
Ports and accessories in the zoneSIM card installation only in a safe area, by removing the aluminium SIM cover. Bottom cover may be removed by the user only to charge in a safe area. No Ex-rated cable, dock or keyboard is listed, so none should be connected in the Ex area. Atexxo's page says storage can be extended to 1 TB with microSD; the certificate does not address microSD.Unconfirmed, see note 1USB-C and 16-pin ISM covers closed in Ex areas. In Ex areas only these may be connected to the 16-pin ISM: headset IS-HS2A.1, remote speaker microphone IS-RSM3A.1, PTT button IS-PTTB1A.1 (with or without headset IS-HDHS1x.1). The 12-pin dock interface may stay open. Nano-SIM and microSD (IS-SD164.1 / IS-SD1128.1 or cards meeting the entity parameters) allowed in their slots in the Ex area.
Certified accessoriesEX-ATEXXO-STRAP (named in the certificate; original part from Atexxo only). No Ex-rated keyboard, dock, pen or harness listed. Charger is not Ex-rated (charging only outside the hazardous area).Ex-rated for use in Ex area: IS-HS2A.1 headset, IS-RSM3A.1 speaker microphone, IS-PTTB1A.1 PTT button, IS-HDHS1A/B/C.1 headsets (headband, neckband, helmet), IS-DS940.1 docking station, microSD IS-SD164.1/IS-SD1128.1. Charging via IS-DS940.1 or MC930.1 multi charger; PROTECTOR 2.0 USB-C cable only outside Ex areas. Leather cases, vehicle mount, carry straps also listed.
Operating temperature−20 °C to +50 °C (certificate TaUnconfirmed, see note 2−20 °C to +55 °C
Conditions of useAmbient temperature range −20 °C ≤ Ta ≤ +50 °C. A repair of flameproof joints is not allowed according to EN/IEC 60079-1 values. Minimum property class of screws must be A4-70; only original parts from the manufacturer shall be used. The glass window must be protected from high impact energy > 2 J. Device shall not be opened in hazardous location. Battery charging is only allowed outside hazardous location. Additional accessory EX-ATEXXO-STRAP can be used only as original part from manufacturer.Battery may be replaced outside explosion hazardous areas only; protect against excessive UV light and high electrostatic charge; USB-C interface under IP cover may only be opened outside hazardous areas; 16-pin ISM interface must be closed with its cover when not in use in hazardous areas; ambient −20 °C to +55 °C; charging temperature limited to 0 °C to +45 °C (IECEx EPS 24.0001X issue 1). Safety instructions: protect from high-energy impacts; zones 1, 2, 21, 22 only.
Device
TypeConverted tabletDedicated Ex tablet
Tablet insideSamsung Galaxy Tab Active5Not in our data
FittingSupplied as a complete unitNot in our data
Launched2026Unconfirmed, see note 32024Unconfirmed, see note 4
Part numbersEXd-TABLET-GTA5-128 (Wi-Fi, 128 GB); EXd-TABLET-GTA5-128-CEL (Wi-Fi + 5G, 128 GB); EXd-TABLET-GTA5-256; EXd-TABLET-GTA5-256-CEL; EXd-TABLET-GTA5-* (conversion service for a customer's new Samsung tablet)Model M940A01; battery BPIS940A.1A (MBP940AA01) per DoC; R. STAHL Art. No. 329056 (Tablet Set), 329467 (Tablet Set no Camera)Unconfirmed, see note 5
Operating systemAndroid 16Unconfirmed, see note 6Android 14
EditionAndroid with One UI; Knox; Enterprise Edition and standard SKUs existAndroid 14
OS at launchAndroid 14Not in our data
OS upgradesStandard: up to 4 generations of OS upgrades (Samsung UK/AU). Enterprise Edition: up to 8 generations per Samsung DE pageUnconfirmed, see note 6Not in our data
Security updatesUntil January 2029Unconfirmed, see note 7Until Q4 2032
ProcessorSamsung Exynos 1380 (octa-core, 2.4 GHz + 2 GHz)Qualcomm QCM6490 octa-core (long-term support chipset)
Processor architectureArmArm
Memory (RAM)6 (128 GB model); 8 (256 GB model)8 GB
Storage128 GB or 256 GB, microSD up to 1 TB128 GB, microSD supported
What works through the housing
Side and volume buttonsYes: push buttons are mounted in the housing and in the front cover (aluminium)Not in our data
Rear camerasYes, behind a toughened glass opening in the housingNot in our data
TouchscreenYes: front touch display under toughened specialty glassNot in our data
Screen coverToughened specialty glass front window. Must be protected from impact energy above 2 JNot in our data
ChargingRemove the aluminium bottom cover and charge in a safe area only. Charging in the hazardous location is forbiddenNot in our data
USB-C portOnly with the bottom cover removed in a safe area (charging)Not in our data
SIM cardSelf-installation in a safe area by removing the aluminium SIM cover; eSIM also supportedNot in our data
Mounting pointsIntegrated lug for fall prevention; optional EX-ATEXXO-STRAP (original part only)Not in our data
Field capabilities
Push-to-talkVia app (Samsung says the Active5 can act as a walkie-talkie; Atexxo does not list PTT; Active Key is programmable)Unconfirmed, see note 8Via accessory (IS-PTTB1A.1 PTT button on the 16-pin ISM interface; Ex-rated? yes) and PTT app
Emergency / SOSNot in our dataBuilt in (freely programmable red key, e.g. SOS / lone worker)
Lone workerNot in our dataVia app (red key assigned to a lone-worker application; third-party app)
Barcode scanningVia app (camera-based; no dedicated scan engine)Unconfirmed, see note 8Via app (50 MP camera-based; no dedicated scan engine listed)
NFC readingNot in our dataBuilt in (NFC)
3D scanning / LiDARNot possible (base tablet has no depth sensor)Not possible (no depth sensor listed)
Remote expert / video callsVia app (front and rear cameras retained; camera marketed as an intrinsically safe video camera)Unconfirmed, see note 8Via app (front and rear cameras, Wi-Fi 6 / 5G; third-party app)
Windows desktop softwareNot possible (Android tablet)Not possible (Android)
Display and camera
Display8-inch TFT LCD, 120 Hz adaptive; Corning Gorilla Glass 510.1-inch Corning Gorilla Glass V3 (3rd generation), usable with gloves
Resolution1920 × 1200 (WUXGA)1200 × 1920
Brightness600 nitsNot in our data
TouchGlove and outdoor touch claimed by SamsungUnconfirmed, see note 6Usable with gloves (maker); wet-touch not stated
Pen / stylusS Pen supported (IP68 S Pen in the box on the UK page)Passive stylus available as accessory (IS-Stylus Set, 'stylus for operating touch screens'); not in the box
Rear camera13 MP, autofocus, flash50 MP autofocus
Front camera5 MP5 MP fixed focus
Video4K UHD at 30 fps recordingNot in our data
Connectivity
NetworkWi-Fi only (SM-X300) or 5G (SM-X306B)5G NR and 4G LTE
Wi-FiWi-Fi 6 (802.11ax), 2.4 + 5 GHz, Wi-Fi DirectWi-Fi 6 (802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/e/k/r/ax/v) with hotspot
BluetoothBluetooth 5.3Bluetooth 5.2
NFCYesYes
Satellite positioningGPS, GLONASS, BeiDou, Galileo, QZSSGPS, A-GPS, Glonass, A-Glonass, Beidou, Galileo
SIM5G model: SIM plus eSIM ('dual SIM capability' in Samsung text; Atexxo: 'physical SIM and/or eSIM'); none on Wi-Fi modelUnconfirmed, see note 6Nano-SIM + eSIM (dual SIM)
Physical and power
Weight940 g (including the tablet)1059 g
Dimensions240 × 150 × 20 (Atexxo: 24 × 15 × 2 cm) mm266.17 × 168.46 × 19.82 mm
Ingress protectionIP64 (Atexxo page; the Samsung base tablet itself is IP68)Unconfirmed, see note 9IP68
RuggednessMIL-STD-810H compliant (Atexxo flyer and page; base-tablet rating)Unconfirmed, see note 2MIL-STD-810H
Battery5050 mAh8160
Battery energy19.44 Wh30.2Unconfirmed, see note 10
Battery lifeVideo playback up to 16 h; Wi-Fi internet up to 14 h; LTE internet up to 15 hNot in our data
Replaceable batteryNot in our dataYes
Ports and expansionUSB-C (USB 2.0), 3.5 mm headset jack, POGO pins, microSD slotUSB-C; 12-pin docking interface; 16-pin ISM interface (audio/PTT accessories; the page text also calls it '13-pin'); nano-SIM + eSIM; microSD
DockingPOGO connector (Samsung POGO dock accessories not verified for this model)Unconfirmed, see note 6IS-DS940.1 docking station (VESA 100; charging in Ex area); IS-MC930.1 six-bay multi charger; vehicle mount
KeyboardPOGO pins on the tablet; Samsung keyboard cover not confirmed for this modelUnconfirmed, see note 6No (slate)
Controls & Accessibility
KeysProgrammable Active Key (barcode, apps, PTT mapping via Knox); power and volume keysFreely programmable red key (e.g. lone worker / SOS); additional programmable side buttons
Push-to-talk keyYesUnconfirmed, see note 8No
Glove touchYesUnconfirmed, see note 6Yes
BiometricsFingerprint sensorNot in our data
Fleet and support
ManufacturerAtexxo B.V., Netherlandsi.safe MOBILE GmbH, Germany

Only values we could check are listed; “Not in our data” means we have not verified it, not that the tablet lacks it. A numbered marker means a value is unconfirmed, and the matching note at the foot of the page explains why. Prices are on request for both.

Impartial advice

Still deciding between the two?

Both tablets are certified for Zone 1/21, so the choice comes down to your gases, your region and how your crews charge. Tell us about your sites and we will help you choose impartially.

FAQ

Common questions

Is the Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 better than the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1?

Neither is better across the board. The Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 suits sites with gases that need T6 and teams that want a lighter 8-inch tablet. The i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 suits North American Division 1 sites, crews that charge in the hazardous area, photo-heavy work and operators who also work underground. Both are certified for Zone 1/21.

Can either tablet be used in Zone 0?

No. Both are certified to protection levels Gb and Db, which cover Zone 1/21, and neither is certified for Zone 0. The Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 is flameproof (Ex db), and the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 is intrinsically safe (Ex ib).

Can you charge either tablet in the hazardous area?

Only the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1, within its certificate’s conditions: i.safe lists the IS-DS940.1 docking station for charging there. The Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 must be charged outside the hazardous area. The i.safe tablet’s battery may be swapped outside it only, and our data does not confirm a user-replaceable battery for the Atexxo.

Are both tablets approved for North America?

Our data lists a North American listing only for the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1: NEC 500, Class I Division 1 Groups A, B, C and D at T4, plus Class II Division 1 and Class III. It lists none for the Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5, which means unverified, not absent, so ask Atexxo if you need one.

Which gets security updates for longer?

On the dates we have, the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1, which i.safe states until Q4 2032. Our data gives January 2029 for the Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5, but that is Samsung’s date for the standard model and flagged unconfirmed; the Enterprise Edition gets longer support and Atexxo does not say which it uses. Confirm the date with Atexxo before you order.

Is there a mining version of either tablet?

For the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1, yes: the i.safe MOBILE IS940.M1 is also certified for Group I (underground mining). Our data lists no mining version of the Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5, so treat it as a surface tablet unless Atexxo confirms otherwise.

How much do the Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 and i.safe MOBILE IS940.1 cost?

Prices depend on volume, configuration and region, so both are on request. Contact us for a price.

Notes on unconfirmed values

  1. Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5: The SIM and cover rules are from the certificate. Atexxo's page adds a microSD rule that isn't in the certificate.
  2. Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5: From a single source.
  3. Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5: Approximate: the maker doesn't publish a launch date. Based on the certificate date or the maker's announcement.
  4. i.safe MOBILE IS940.1: Approximate: the maker doesn't publish a launch date. Based on the certificate date or the maker's announcement.
  5. i.safe MOBILE IS940.1: Order codes from a certificate or distributor; confirm them with the maker when ordering.
  6. Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5: From a single or secondary source; the maker doesn't state it for this model.
  7. Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5: Samsung's date for the standard model. The Enterprise Edition gets longer support; the converter doesn't say which it uses.
  8. Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5: Not confirmed by the maker for this exact model.
  9. Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5: From a single source; not stated in the Ex certificate.
  10. i.safe MOBILE IS940.1: Calculated from the maker's battery capacity and voltage; the maker doesn't state watt-hours.

Facts last verified on against certificates, declarations of conformity and manufacturer data. The sources for each tablet are listed on its page: Atexxo Zone 1 Galaxy Tab Active5 and i.safe MOBILE IS940.1. Always check the certificate for your exact model before use. Spotted an error? Tell us.