BARTEC
BARTEC ET60/65EX2 Android
- Zone 2/22
- IIC T4
- ATEX + IECEx
- Class I Division 2
Compare · Zone 2 Android tablets
These two Android tablets share the same Zone 2 certification class: intrinsically safe (Ex ic), IIC T4, Zone 2/22, with a 1,000-nit screen, a 16 MP rear camera and an optional built-in 1D/2D scanner. The difference is size. The BARTEC ET60/65EX2 Android is a 10.1-inch, 1,074 g tablet with a hot-swap battery and a UL listing for its North America types. The Getac ZX80-EX is an 8-inch tablet on Android 15 with 12 GB of memory, and at 780 g it shares the lightest confirmed weight of any current tablet in our data. Neither may be used in Zone 1. Here is how they compare, and which we would choose for which team.
BARTEC
Getac
Our verdict
For most Zone 2 fleets we would choose the BARTEC ET60/65EX2 Android: it has the larger screen, a hot-swap battery, a published ATEX certificate and a North American Class I Division 2 listing. We would choose the Getac ZX80-EX for crews who carry the tablet on foot all shift and want the 8-inch, 780 g format, for teams who want Android 15 with 12 GB of memory, and for sites where a 1.8 m drop rating matters.
Key differences
The BARTEC ET60/65EX2 Android has a UL listing for Class I, II and III Division 2, for the North America types only. Our data has no North American listing for the Getac ZX80-EX, so check with Getac before specifying it for a Division 2 site.
BARTEC publishes ATEX certificate EPS 25 ATEX 1 087 X for the BARTEC ET60/65EX2 Android. Getac states ATEX certification for the Getac ZX80-EX, but the certificate is not published; our data holds its IECEx certificate only. If your safety file needs the ATEX certificate, ask Getac for it.
The Getac ZX80-EX weighs 780 g and the BARTEC ET60/65EX2 Android 1,074 g, a gap of 294 g. That is the biggest difference you feel in daily use, on a strap or in one hand through a shift.
The BARTEC ET60/65EX2 Android has a 10.1-inch screen and the Getac ZX80-EX an 8-inch one, both at 1,000 nits. The larger screen suits drawings and forms, and the smaller one suits a tablet that is carried on rounds.
In the field
Even
The choice is format. The BARTEC ET60/65EX2 Android has a 10.1-inch, optically bonded Gorilla Glass display and weighs 1,074 g. The Getac ZX80-EX has an 8-inch, 1,920 × 1,200 display at 1,000 nits and weighs 780 g, the joint lightest confirmed weight of any current tablet in our data. The Getac tablet suits crews who walk, climb and hold the device in one hand.
The larger tablet suits crews who read drawings and fill in forms while standing at a panel or a skid. The BARTEC takes bare or gloved fingertip or stylus input; the Getac has dual-mode touch with a digitizer pen, and our data does not confirm glove touch for it. The BARTEC’s resolution is unconfirmed (a single source gives 1,920 × 1,200).
Edge: BARTEC ET60/65EX2 Android
Both are marked Ex ic op is (the BARTEC ET60/65EX2 Android only with its optional scan engine, otherwise Ex ic), IIC T4 Gc for gas and IIIC Dc for dust, for Zone 2/22, and both are certified up to +55 °C ambient. The BARTEC ET60/65EX2 Android holds ATEX (EPS 25 ATEX 1 087 X) and IECEx (EPS 25.0018X) certificates, with a dust surface temperature of 135 °C. The Getac ZX80-EX holds IECEx EPS 25.0039X, with a dust limit of 130 °C. The lower ambient limit is −21 °C for the Getac and −20 °C for the BARTEC.
Getac also states ATEX certification, but the certificate is not published. Its IECEx certificate names the model “ZX80-Exc” without the generation, and our match to this tablet is unconfirmed, so confirm the exact model with Getac. For North America, the BARTEC is listed by UL for Class I Division 2 Groups A to D at T4, for the B7-T2E1 and B7-T2E3 types only, with a Zone 22 dust group of IIIB under the NEC and CEC. Our data has no North American listing for the Getac.
Edge: BARTEC ET60/65EX2 Android
Neither tablet may be charged in the hazardous area, and both batteries are changed outside it. The BARTEC ET60/65EX2 Android has an 8920 mAh battery, hot swap through an internal supercapacitor, and BARTEC’s figure of up to 10 hours indoors with WLAN on and a 50 % backlight. The Getac ZX80-EX lists a 4060 mAh typical battery and an optional second 4990 mAh battery. The certificate’s conditions name two battery types, and our data does not state hot swap for the Ex version. Our data has no runtime figure for the Getac, so we do not compare battery life.
Ports are restricted on both. On the BARTEC, the USB-A, USB-C, dock and keyboard connectors may be used only if the atmosphere is shown to be absent. On the Getac, the certificate bars every connection interface from hazardous areas, including USB-C, microSD and the SIM tray. Plan data transfers and charging at a safe-area point.
Even
Both run Qualcomm’s 6490 family (QCM6490 in the BARTEC, QCS6490 in the Getac). The Getac ZX80-EX comes with Android 15, 12 GB of RAM and 256 GB of storage. The BARTEC ET60/65EX2 Android runs Android 14 with 8 GB and 128 GB, upgradeable to Android 16 per BARTEC’s datasheet. Both take a microSD card. For security updates, both dates in our data are unconfirmed: December 2031 is Zebra’s date for the tablet the BARTEC is built on, and BARTEC says it needs a LifeGuard service contract; February 2029 is Getac’s date for the standard ZX80.
Cameras are close: 16 MP autofocus rear cameras on both, and 8 MP front cameras, with a mechanical privacy shade on the BARTEC. Both offer a built-in 1D/2D scanner as an option, NFC (built in on the BARTEC, optional on the Getac) and Wi-Fi 6E. The BARTEC comes as the Wi-Fi-only ET60 or the 5G ET65; the Getac offers optional 4G LTE and 5G Sub-6 with dual SIM and eSIM. Ruggedness: the Getac lists IP67 and a 1.8 m drop, and the BARTEC a 1.5 m drop to concrete; the BARTEC’s IP rating is unconfirmed (IP64 in its Ex marking), so we do not compare IP ratings.
Specifications
BARTEC ET60/65EX2 Android | Getac ZX80-EX | |
|---|---|---|
| Ex rating | ||
| Certified for | Zone 2/22 | Zone 2/22 |
| Protection | Intrinsic safety (Ex ic) with inherently safe optical radiation (op is) | Intrinsic safety (Ex ic) with inherently safe optical radiation (op is) |
| Gas group | IIC | IIC |
| Temperature class | T4 (≤ 135 °C) | T4 (≤ 135 °C) |
| Certification | ||
| ATEX marking | II 3G Ex ic op is IIC T4 Gc / II 3D Ex ic op is IIIC T135°C Dc IP64 | II 3G Ex ic op is IIC T4 Gc / II 3D Ex ic op is IIIC T130°C Dc |
| ATEX certificate | EPS 25 ATEX 1 087 X | Not published |
| IECEx marking | Ex ic op is IIC T4 Gc / Ex ic op is IIIC T135°C Dc IP64 | Ex ic op is IIC T4 Gc / Ex ic op is IIIC T130°C Dc |
| IECEx certificate | IECEx EPS 25.0018X (Issue 0, 2025-08-26) | IECEx EPS 25.0039X (Issue 0, 2026-01-28, model "ZX80-Exc")Unconfirmed, see note 1 |
| Other approvals | CE, FCC/IC | MIL-STD-810H; Android Enterprise Recommended |
| North America | UL (report E321557-20260130; certificates UL-US-26103088-0, UL-US-26103089-0, UL-CA-2675759-0, UL-CA-2675760-0, issued 2026-02-09), North America types B7-T2E1 / B7-T2E3 only: Class I Div 2 Groups A, B, C, D; Class II Div 2 Groups F, G; Class III Div 2; T4. Zone 2 AEx ic [op is] IIC T4 Gc; Zone 22 AEx ic [op is] IIIB T135 °C Dc (CEC: Ex ic [op is] IIC T4 Gc X / IIIB T135 °C Dc X). Zone 22 is group IIIB under NEC/CEC, not IIIC. | Not in our data |
| Protection level (EPL) | Gc / Dc | Gc / Dc |
| Dust group | IIIC | IIIC |
| Max surface temperature (dust) | 135 °C | 130 °C |
| Safe use | ||
| Ambient temperature (Ta) | −20 °C to +55 °C | −21 °C to +55 °C |
| Charging | Outside the hazardous area only | Outside the hazardous area only |
| Battery swap | Outside the hazardous area only | Outside the hazardous area only |
| Ports and accessories in the zone | Ports (USB-A, USB-C, dock, keyboard connector) only if the atmosphere is shown to be absent; charging accessories are required but not included. | All connection interfaces (USB, Thunderbolt, DC-in, docking connector, LAN, serial) must never be used in hazardous areas (certificate condition). Optional internal modules named in the certificate are covered as part of the certified tablet. USB-C, microSD and SIM tray barred from hazardous areas. |
| Certified accessories | Named in IECEx EPS 25.0018X as 'accessories for use in hazardous areas': battery B7-T2Z0-0001 (3.8 V / 8920 mAh), kickstand with hand strap B7-T2Z0-0003, hand strap B7-T2Z0-0004, shoulder strap B7-T2Z0-0006, screen protector B7-T2Z0-0008, stylus holder B7-T2Z0-0009, leather holster B7-T2Z0-0010, stylus 17-S1Z0-0008. Battery changing and charging only outside hazardous areas; charging accessories are for use outside hazardous areas. | Named in the IECEx certificate: hand strap, shoulder strap, digitizer pen and tether. Anti-static screen film for hazardous use. Rotating hand strap with kickstand and vehicle cradle (datasheet) are not named in the certificate. NOT for hazardous areas: 65 W USB-C adapter, vehicle adapter, chargers, batteries (replace in non-hazardous areas only).Unconfirmed, see note 2 |
| IP code in the Ex certificate | IP64 (marking) | Not in our data |
| Operating temperature | −20 °C to +55 °C | −21 °C to +55 °C (standard ZX80: −29 to +63) |
| Conditions of use | IECEx X conditions: battery pack changed or charged only outside hazardous areas; only battery pack type B7-T2Z0-0001/**** shall be used; connection or disconnection of external ports, opening the enclosure or replacing the battery while live only if the atmosphere is shown to be absent; protect from high-energy impacts and high electrostatic charge; follow the manufacturer's safety instructions strictly. Ambient −20 °C to +55 °C. | Ambient −21 to +55 °C. Protect from excessive UV light and mechanical impact (reduced-height impact test). Connection interfaces never used in hazardous areas. Battery never changed, charged or removed in hazardous areas. Not next to strong charge-generating processes. Use only battery BP1S1P4060B or BP1S1P4990B. |
| Device | ||
| Type | Rugged tablet, Ex version | Rugged tablet, Ex version |
| Launched | 2025Unconfirmed, see note 3 | 2026Unconfirmed, see note 4 |
| Part numbers | B7-T2E*-************ (B7-T2E2 rest of world; B7-T2E1 North America) | Not in our data |
| Operating system | Android 14 | Android 15 |
| Edition | Android 14 with Zebra Mobility DNA / LifeGuard | Android 15.0 |
| OS upgrades | Android 16 (BARTEC datasheet: 'upgradeable to Android 16') | At least three Android versions per generation (Getac, device dependent)Unconfirmed, see note 5 |
| Security updates | Until December 2031Unconfirmed, see note 6 | Until February 2029Unconfirmed, see note 7 |
| Processor | Qualcomm 6490 (QCM6490) octa-core 2.7 GHz | Qualcomm QCS6490 octa-core 1.9 GHz (max 2.7 GHz), Adreno 643, Hexagon NPU 13 TOPS |
| Processor architecture | Arm | Arm |
| Memory (RAM) | 8 GB | 12 GB |
| Storage | 128 GB, microSD (up to 2 TB) | 256 GB, microSD |
| Field capabilities | ||
| Push-to-talk | Via app (programmable keys; PTT app) | Not in our data |
| Emergency / SOS | Via app (three programmable keys, no dedicated SOS key) | Not in our data |
| Lone worker | Via app (third-party application) | Not in our data |
| Barcode scanning | Built in (optional SE55 1D/2D Advanced Range scan engine; changes the Ex marking to 'op is') | Built in (optional 1D/2D imager) |
| NFC reading | Built in (NFC) | Built in (optional NFC) |
| 3D scanning / LiDAR | Not possible (no depth sensor listed) | Not in our data |
| High-accuracy GNSS | Built in (ET65 only: dual-band L1 + L5 GNSS) | Not in our data |
| Remote expert / video calls | Via app (rear and front cameras, privacy shade; third-party app) | Via app (16 MP rear, 8 MP front) |
| Windows desktop software | Not possible (Android) | Not possible (Android) |
| Display and camera | ||
| Display | 10.1-inch Optically bonded, multi-mode capacitive touch, Corning Gorilla Glass | 8-inch TFT LCD wide viewing angle; Ex model has 0.6 mm thicker glass per ZX80W-EX press release |
| Resolution | 1920 × 1200 (WUXGA; page prints '1900 × 1200')Unconfirmed, see note 8 | 1920 × 1200 (WUXGA) |
| Brightness | 1000 nits | 1000 nits |
| Outdoor readability | Optically bonded 1000 nit display (maker: easy to view in sunlight) | Getac sunlight-readable |
| Touch | Bare or gloved fingertip or stylus input | Dual-mode touch (multi-touch and digitizer) |
| Pen / stylus | Stylus supported | Digitizer pen |
| Rear camera | 16 MP autofocus with LED flash | 16 MP autofocus |
| Front camera | 8 MP with mechanical privacy shade | 8 MP |
| Connectivity | ||
| Network | ET60 Wi-Fi 6E; ET65 adds 5G FR1 / 4G / 3G, private 5G/CBRS | Wi-Fi 6E; optional 4G LTE, 5G Sub-6, dual SIM with eSIM |
| Wi-Fi | Wi-Fi 6E (802.11ax) 2x2 MU-MIMO | Wi-Fi 6E 802.11ax |
| Bluetooth | Bluetooth 5.2 Class 1 + LE | Bluetooth 5.2 |
| NFC | Yes (ISO 14443 A/B, FeliCa, ISO 15693) | Optional (13.56 MHz) |
| Satellite positioning | ET65: GPS, GLONASS, Galileo, BeiDou, QZSS dual-band L1+L5 | Optional dedicated GPS (GPS, GLONASS, Galileo, BeiDou; US, UK, EU, AU, NZ only) |
| SIM | ET65: eSIM + nano-SIM | Nano-SIM 4FF, eSIM optional |
| Physical and power | ||
| Weight | 1074 g | 780 g |
| Dimensions | 275 × 199 × 18.3 mm | 243.2 × 165.1 × 23.1 mm |
| Ingress protection | IP64Unconfirmed, see note 9 | IP67 |
| Ruggedness | 1.5 m drop to concrete, exceeds MIL-STD-810H | MIL-STD-810H; 1.8 m (6 ft) drop |
| Battery | 8920 mAh | Internal typical 4060 (min 3950), 3.86 V; optional second battery 4990 typical |
| Battery energy | 36Unconfirmed, see note 10 | Not in our data |
| Battery life | Up to 10 h indoor with standard battery (WLAN on, 50 % backlight) | Not in our data |
| Hot-swap battery | Yes (internal supercapacitor keeps power during battery swaps) | Internal battery plus optional swappable 4990 mAh battery; hot-swap not stated for the Ex datasheet |
| Replaceable battery | Yes | Yes |
| Ports and expansion | 2 x USB 3.1 Type A; 1 x USB 3.1 Type C (DisplayPort 1.2); docking connector; keyboard connector; 1 x USB 2.0 (rear); optional SE55 scan engine | USB 3.2 Gen1 Type-C (DP, PD), microSD (or hybrid nano-SIM tray + microSD), audio combo; optional 1D/2D barcode imager, NFC; all barred from hazardous areas |
| Docking | Docking connector (charge and data); vehicle and desk accessories in BARTEC accessory sheet | Vehicle cradle (accessory) |
| Keyboard | Keyboard connector for accessories (not 2-in-1) | Tablet only |
| Controls & Accessibility | ||
| Keys | Power, scan, up/down (volume or brightness), three programmable keys | Power + 3 programmable buttons |
| Push-to-talk key | No | No |
| Glove touch | Yes | Not in our data |
| Fleet and support | ||
| Manufacturer | BARTEC GmbH, Germany | Getac Technology Corporation, Taiwan |
Only values we could check are listed; “Not in our data” means we have not verified it, not that the tablet lacks it. A numbered marker means a value is unconfirmed, and the matching note at the foot of the page explains why. Prices are on request for both.
Keep researching
Impartial advice
Both tablets are certified for Zone 2/22 on Android, so the choice comes down to screen size, weight, region and battery routine. Tell us about your sites and we will help you choose impartially, or check whether a Zone 1 tablet would suit better.
FAQ
Neither is better across the board. The BARTEC ET60/65EX2 Android suits teams who want the larger 10.1-inch screen, a hot-swap battery, a published ATEX certificate and a North American listing. The Getac ZX80-EX suits crews who want an 8-inch, 780 g tablet on Android 15 with 12 GB of memory. Both are certified for Zone 2/22.
No. Both are intrinsically safe (Ex ic) and certified to protection level Gc, which covers Zone 2 only, so neither is for Zone 1 or Zone 0. For Zone 1 you need a tablet certified for it, which also works in Zone 2.
Our data shows a UL listing for the BARTEC ET60/65EX2 Android: Class I Division 2 Groups A to D at T4, for the B7-T2E1 and B7-T2E3 types only. We have found no North American listing for the Getac ZX80-EX, which is not the same as saying it has none, so ask Getac.
The Getac ZX80-EX, at 780 g against 1,074 g for the BARTEC ET60/65EX2 Android, a gap of 294 g. It has an 8-inch screen, where the BARTEC has a 10.1-inch one.
No. Both must be charged and have their batteries changed outside the hazardous area. The BARTEC ET60/65EX2 Android has hot swap through an internal supercapacitor, and Getac’s Ex datasheet does not state hot swap for the Getac ZX80-EX, which offers an optional second 4990 mAh battery.
Both offer one as an option. The BARTEC ET60/65EX2 Android takes an SE55 1D/2D scan engine, which changes its Ex marking to “op is”. The Getac ZX80-EX offers an optional built-in 1D/2D imager. Specify the scanner when you order.
Prices depend on volume, configuration and region, so both are on request. Contact us for a price.
Facts last verified on against certificates, declarations of conformity and manufacturer data. The sources for each tablet are listed on its page: BARTEC ET60/65EX2 Android and Getac ZX80-EX. Always check the certificate for your exact model before use. Spotted an error? Tell us.