Getac
Getac F110-EX G7
- Zone 2/22
- IIC T4
- ATEX + IECEx
Compare · Windows or Android for Zone 2
These two rugged tablets from Getac do different jobs. The Getac F110-EX G7 is an 11.6-inch Windows 11 Pro tablet with a 13th-generation Intel Core processor, a 1,200-nit screen and a weight of 1,680 g. The Getac ZX80-EX is an 8-inch Android 15 tablet on a Qualcomm QCS6490 with a 1,000-nit screen and a weight of 780 g. They share the same Ex marking: intrinsically safe (Ex ic op is), IIC T4, certified for Zone 2/22 only, with published IECEx certificates and ATEX stated by Getac but not published. The choice is the work, not the certificate. Here is how they compare, and which team should carry which.
Getac
Getac
Our verdict
Neither is the better tablet, because they suit different work. We would choose the Getac F110-EX G7 for engineers and supervisors who need Windows desktop software, a large screen for drawings and work packs, and a battery that can be hot-swapped outside the zone. We would choose the Getac ZX80-EX for crews who walk, climb and scan all shift and run Android apps: it weighs 900 g less, has the higher IP rating, and lists a 1.8 m drop against 1.2 m in use.
Key differences
The Getac F110-EX G7 runs Windows 11 Pro on an x86 Intel Core processor, so desktop software runs on it. The Getac ZX80-EX runs Android 15 on an Arm chip. Check which your software needs before anything else.
The Getac ZX80-EX weighs 780 g and the Getac F110-EX G7 1,680 g, a gap of 900 g. For a tablet held in one hand or carried on a strap through a shift, you notice it.
The Getac F110-EX G7 has an 11.6-inch, optically bonded screen at 1,200 nits, and the Getac ZX80-EX an 8-inch one at 1,000 nits. The larger screen suits drawings and forms; the smaller one suits a tablet used on the move.
Getac lists LifeSupport hot-swap batteries for the Getac F110-EX G7. For the Getac ZX80-EX it lists a swappable optional second battery, and our data does not state hot swap for the Ex version. Both are swapped outside the hazardous area only.
In the field
Even
This is the real divide. The Getac F110-EX G7 is a Windows 11 Pro machine on a 13th-generation Intel Core i5 or i7 (some with vPro) with 16 GB of DDR5 memory, or 32 GB as an option, and a 256 GB NVMe SSD with options up to 2 TB. Windows 11 is supported under Microsoft’s Modern Lifecycle while kept on a current version, and it runs desktop software natively. The Getac ZX80-EX runs Android 15 on a Qualcomm QCS6490 with 12 GB of memory and 256 GB of storage plus microSD, and our data notes at least three Android version upgrades per generation (device dependent), but from a secondary source: Getac doesn’t state it for this model.
On support, our data gives the Getac ZX80-EX security updates until February 2029, but that is Getac’s date for the standard ZX80 and Getac lists none for the Ex version, so treat it as unconfirmed. Both have Wi-Fi 6E, with Bluetooth 5.3 on the Getac F110-EX G7 and 5.2 on the Getac ZX80-EX, and both offer optional 4G LTE and 5G Sub-6 and a dual SIM with eSIM. The Getac F110-EX G7 also lists a fingerprint reader and a Windows Hello face camera as options, where biometrics for the Getac ZX80-EX are not in our data.
Even
The Getac F110-EX G7 has an 11.6-inch screen at 1920 × 1080 and 1,200 nits, optically bonded, and calls it sunlight-readable. The Getac ZX80-EX has an 8-inch screen at 1920 × 1200 and 1,000 nits, also described as sunlight-readable. Both are dual-mode touch (multi-touch and digitizer) with a digitizer pen. Our data does not confirm glove touch for either: Getac’s datasheet for the Getac F110-EX G7 does not state a glove or wet mode.
On cameras the Getac ZX80-EX is ahead, with a 16 MP autofocus rear camera and an 8 MP front camera, against 8 MP autofocus and 5 MP on the Getac F110-EX G7. Both can run video calls through an app. For scanning, both list an optional built-in 1D/2D imager, so order the version that has it. The Getac F110-EX G7 also lists an optional HF RFID reader, and the Getac ZX80-EX an optional NFC module.
Edge: Getac ZX80-EX
The Getac ZX80-EX weighs 780 g, which our data lists among the lightest Zone 2 tablets of its size. The Getac F110-EX G7 weighs 1,680 g, 900 g more. Both list MIL-STD-810H. The Getac ZX80-EX is IP67 with a 1.8 m drop rating, and the Getac F110-EX G7 is IP66 with a 1.2 m drop in use. For crews working up ladders, in plant corridors or along racking, the lighter tablet with the higher IP rating and the 1.8 m drop figure is the easier one to live with.
The Getac F110-EX G7 repays its weight with the large screen and the full Windows machine, and it suits work where the tablet is carried on a strap or set down on a bench and used at length. Both are tablets only in the Ex configuration, with no keyboard, and both come with a hand strap and a shoulder strap listed as usable in the zone, though we have not checked those lists against each exact model’s certificate.
Edge: Getac F110-EX G7
The two share the same marking, Ex ic op is IIC T4 Gc and IIIC T130 °C Dc, with IECEx EPS 21.0079X for the Getac F110-EX G7 and IECEx EPS 25.0039X for the Getac ZX80-EX. Getac states ATEX certification for both but the certificates are not published, and our data lists no North American listing for either. Both certificates name the model with a “c” suffix and no generation; we matched them to these tablets by batteries, dust group and ambient range, so confirm the exact model with Getac. The Getac F110-EX G7 is certified to +60 °C ambient and the Getac ZX80-EX to +55 °C, with −21 °C at the cold end for both.
Neither may be charged or have its battery changed in the hazardous area, and no connection interface may be used there. The Getac F110-EX G7 takes two swappable batteries, with an optional larger pair, and Getac lists hot swap. The Getac ZX80-EX has an internal battery and an optional second 4,990 mAh battery, and our data does not state hot swap for the Ex version. We do not compare runtime, because our data has none for either.
Specifications
Getac F110-EX G7 | Getac ZX80-EX | |
|---|---|---|
| Ex rating | ||
| Certified for | Zone 2/22 | Zone 2/22 |
| Protection | Intrinsic safety (Ex ic) with inherently safe optical radiation (op is) | Intrinsic safety (Ex ic) with inherently safe optical radiation (op is) |
| Gas group | IIC | IIC |
| Temperature class | T4 (≤ 135 °C) | T4 (≤ 135 °C) |
| Certification | ||
| ATEX marking | II 3G Ex ic op is IIC T4 Gc / II 3D Ex ic op is IIIC T130°C Dc | II 3G Ex ic op is IIC T4 Gc / II 3D Ex ic op is IIIC T130°C Dc |
| ATEX certificate | Not published | Not published |
| IECEx marking | Ex ic op is IIC T4 Gc / Ex ic op is IIIC T130°C Dc | Ex ic op is IIC T4 Gc / Ex ic op is IIIC T130°C Dc |
| IECEx certificate | IECEx EPS 21.0079X (Issue 2, 2025-01-31, model "F110-Exc")Unconfirmed, see note 1 | IECEx EPS 25.0039X (Issue 0, 2026-01-28, model "ZX80-Exc")Unconfirmed, see note 2 |
| Other approvals | MIL-STD-810H (third-party lab per datasheet) | MIL-STD-810H; Android Enterprise Recommended |
| Protection level (EPL) | Gc / Dc | Gc / Dc |
| Dust group | IIIC | IIIC |
| Max surface temperature (dust) | 130 °C | 130 °C |
| Safe use | ||
| Ambient temperature (Ta) | −21 °C to +60 °C | −21 °C to +55 °C |
| Charging | Outside the hazardous area only | Outside the hazardous area only |
| Battery swap | Outside the hazardous area only | Outside the hazardous area only |
| Ports and accessories in the zone | All connection interfaces (USB, Thunderbolt, DC-in, docking connector, LAN, serial) must never be used in hazardous areas (certificate condition). Optional internal modules named in the certificate are covered as part of the certified tablet. SIM and spare main storage (SSD canister) are replaceable in non-hazardous areas only. | All connection interfaces (USB, Thunderbolt, DC-in, docking connector, LAN, serial) must never be used in hazardous areas (certificate condition). Optional internal modules named in the certificate are covered as part of the certified tablet. USB-C, microSD and SIM tray barred from hazardous areas. |
| Certified accessories | Named in the IECEx certificate as usable with the tablet: shoulder strap, hand strap, 4-point shoulder harness, capacitive hard-tip stylus and tether, digitizer pen and tether. Anti-static screen protection film (Getac accessory made for hazardous use). Hard handle (factory option, datasheet) is NOT named in the certificate accessory list. Keyboard: none offered for F110-EX. NOT for hazardous areas (Getac accessory brochure): AC adapters, multi-bay and external chargers, spare batteries (replace in non-hazardous areas only). DS100 USB-C docking station (datasheet option) is not an Ex-listed accessory.Unconfirmed, see note 3 | Named in the IECEx certificate: hand strap, shoulder strap, digitizer pen and tether. Anti-static screen film for hazardous use. Rotating hand strap with kickstand and vehicle cradle (datasheet) are not named in the certificate. NOT for hazardous areas: 65 W USB-C adapter, vehicle adapter, chargers, batteries (replace in non-hazardous areas only).Unconfirmed, see note 4 |
| Operating temperature | −21 °C to +60 °C (standard F110: −29 to +63) | −21 °C to +55 °C (standard ZX80: −29 to +63) |
| Conditions of use | Use only in a controlled environment with suitably reduced pollution. Protect from impacts with high impact energy, high electrostatic charge generating processes and excessive UV light. Connection interfaces never used in hazardous areas. Battery never changed, charged or removed in hazardous areas. Use only Li-ion battery BP3S1P2680B or BP3S2P2100S-02. | Ambient −21 to +55 °C. Protect from excessive UV light and mechanical impact (reduced-height impact test). Connection interfaces never used in hazardous areas. Battery never changed, charged or removed in hazardous areas. Not next to strong charge-generating processes. Use only battery BP1S1P4060B or BP1S1P4990B. |
| Device | ||
| Type | Rugged tablet, Ex version | Rugged tablet, Ex version |
| Launched | Not in our data | 2026Unconfirmed, see note 5 |
| Operating system | Windows 11 Pro | Android 15 |
| Edition | Windows 11 ProUnconfirmed, see note 6 | Android 15.0 |
| OS upgrades | Not in our data | At least three Android versions per generation (Getac, device dependent)Unconfirmed, see note 7 |
| Security updates | Supported while kept on a current Windows 11 version | Until February 2029Unconfirmed, see note 8 |
| Processor | Intel Core i5-1335U / i5-1345U vPro / i7-1355U / i7-1365U vPro (13th gen) | Qualcomm QCS6490 octa-core 1.9 GHz (max 2.7 GHz), Adreno 643, Hexagon NPU 13 TOPS |
| Processor architecture | x86 | Arm |
| Memory (RAM) | 16 (option 32), DDR5 | 12 GB |
| Storage | 256 GB PCIe NVMe SSD (options 512 GB, 1000 GB, 2000 GB) | 256 GB, microSD |
| Field capabilities | ||
| Barcode scanning | Built in (optional integrated 1D/2D imager, factory option) | Built in (optional 1D/2D imager) |
| RFID | Built in (optional HF RFID reader, 13.56 MHz) | Not in our data |
| NFC reading | Built in (via optional HF RFID reader: ISO 14443, Mifare, FeliCa) | Built in (optional NFC) |
| Remote expert / video calls | Via app (5 MP front and 8 MP rear camera; Windows) | Via app (16 MP rear, 8 MP front) |
| Windows desktop software | Built in (Windows 11 Pro, x86) | Not possible (Android) |
| Display and camera | ||
| Display | 11.6-inch TFT LCD, wide viewing angle, LumiBond optically bonded | 8-inch TFT LCD wide viewing angle; Ex model has 0.6 mm thicker glass per ZX80W-EX press release |
| Resolution | 1920 × 1080 (FHD) | 1920 × 1200 (WUXGA) |
| Brightness | 1200 nits | 1000 nits |
| Outdoor readability | Getac sunlight-readable display, 1,200 nits | Getac sunlight-readable |
| Touch | Dual-mode touchscreen (multi-touch and digitizer); glove/wet mode not stated in datasheet | Dual-mode touch (multi-touch and digitizer) |
| Pen / stylus | Yes, digitizer pen with tether (dual-mode touch) | Digitizer pen |
| Rear camera | 8 MP autofocus | 16 MP autofocus |
| Front camera | 5 MP webcam, or optional 5 MP Windows Hello camera | 8 MP |
| Connectivity | ||
| Network | Wi-Fi; optional 4G LTE, 5G Sub-6 | Wi-Fi 6E; optional 4G LTE, 5G Sub-6, dual SIM with eSIM |
| Wi-Fi | Intel Wi-Fi 6E AX211 | Wi-Fi 6E 802.11ax |
| Bluetooth | Bluetooth 5.3 | Bluetooth 5.2 |
| NFC | Optional HF RFID reader (13.56 MHz, ISO 15693, 14443 A/B, Mifare, FeliCa) | Optional (13.56 MHz) |
| Satellite positioning | Optional dedicated GPS with L1/L5, or via 4G/5G module | Optional dedicated GPS (GPS, GLONASS, Galileo, BeiDou; US, UK, EU, AU, NZ only) |
| SIM | Micro-SIM (3FF), optional dual SIM with eSIM | Nano-SIM 4FF, eSIM optional |
| Physical and power | ||
| Weight | 1680 g | 780 g |
| Dimensions | 314 × 224 × 25.3 mm | 243.2 × 165.1 × 23.1 mm |
| Ingress protection | IP66 | IP67 |
| Ruggedness | MIL-STD-810H; 1.2 m (4 ft) drop in use | MIL-STD-810H; 1.8 m (6 ft) drop |
| Battery | 2 x 2680 typical (2 x 2640 min), 11.4 V; optional 2 x 4200 typical (4080 min), 11.1 V | Internal typical 4060 (min 3950), 3.86 V; optional second battery 4990 typical |
| Hot-swap battery | Yes, "LifeSupport battery swappable technology" (non-hazardous areas only) | Internal battery plus optional swappable 4990 mAh battery; hot-swap not stated for the Ex datasheet |
| Replaceable battery | Yes | Yes |
| Ports and expansion | Thunderbolt 4 Type-C x1, USB 3.2 Gen2 Type-A x1, DC-in, audio combo; top slot: 1D/2D barcode or serial + LAN; right slot: HF RFID or fingerprint reader; smart card reader (back); micro-SIM; all ports barred from hazardous areas | USB 3.2 Gen1 Type-C (DP, PD), microSD (or hybrid nano-SIM tray + microSD), audio combo; optional 1D/2D barcode imager, NFC; all barred from hazardous areas |
| Docking | Getac DS100 USB-C docking station (non-hazardous areas) | Vehicle cradle (accessory) |
| Keyboard | Tablet only in Ex configuration | Tablet only |
| Controls & Accessibility | ||
| Keys | Power + 4 programmable buttons | Power + 3 programmable buttons |
| Push-to-talk key | No | No |
| Biometrics | Optional fingerprint reader, optional Windows Hello face camera | Not in our data |
| Fleet and support | ||
| Preinstalled apps | Getac Utility, Camera, Geolocation, Barcode Manager, KeyWedge Barcode Reader Utility (trial) | Not in our data |
| Manufacturer | Getac Technology Corporation, Taiwan | Getac Technology Corporation, Taiwan |
Only values we could check are listed; “Not in our data” means we have not verified it, not that the tablet lacks it. A numbered marker means a value is unconfirmed, and the matching note at the foot of the page explains why. Prices are on request for both.
Keep researching
Impartial advice
Both tablets are certified for Zone 2/22 with the same marking, so the choice comes down to Windows or Android, screen size and how far crews carry the tablet. Tell us about your sites and we will help you choose impartially.
FAQ
Neither is better across the board: they do different jobs. The Getac F110-EX G7 is the one for Windows software, an 11.6-inch screen and hot-swap batteries, and it is certified to +60 °C. The Getac ZX80-EX is the one for Android apps and carrying all shift, at 780 g against 1,680 g. Both are certified for Zone 2/22 only.
No. Both are intrinsically safe (Ex ic) and certified to protection level Gc, which covers Zone 2 only. Zone 1 needs a tablet certified to Gb or higher.
The Getac F110-EX G7 runs Windows 11 Pro on an x86 Intel Core processor. The Getac ZX80-EX runs Android 15 on an Arm chip, and our data lists Windows desktop software as not possible on it.
The Getac ZX80-EX, at 780 g against 1,680 g for the Getac F110-EX G7, a gap of 900 g.
No, for both. Getac’s certificate conditions say the battery is never changed, charged or removed in hazardous areas, and no connection interface may be used there. The Getac F110-EX G7 lists hot-swap batteries, and the Getac ZX80-EX an optional second battery, all swapped outside.
Getac states ATEX certification for both, but the certificates are not published, so we cannot verify them. Both hold IECEx certificates that we can read: IECEx EPS 21.0079X for the Getac F110-EX G7 and IECEx EPS 25.0039X for the Getac ZX80-EX. Ask Getac for the ATEX documents if your site needs them.
Prices depend on volume, configuration and region, so both are on request. Contact us for a price.
Facts last verified on against certificates, declarations of conformity and manufacturer data. The sources for each tablet are listed on its page: Getac F110-EX G7 and Getac ZX80-EX. Always check the certificate for your exact model before use. Spotted an error? Tell us.