BARTEC
BARTEC ET60/65EX2 Android
- Zone 2/22
- IIC T4
- ATEX + IECEx
- Class I Division 2
Compare · Zone 2 Android tablets
These two Android tablets are both intrinsically safe (Ex ic) and certified for Zone 2/22 in gas group IIC under ATEX and IECEx. Both carry a Class I Division 2 listing for North America, and both are rated −20 °C to +55 °C under the ATEX and IECEx certificates. They differ in size and in how crews work with them. The BARTEC ET60/65EX2 Android is a 10.1-inch, 1,000-nit tablet rated T4, with an optional built-in scan engine and a user-replaceable battery. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 is an 8-inch, 600-nit tablet rated T5, with an S Pen included. Here is how they compare, and which we would choose for which team.
BARTEC
ecom (Pepperl+Fuchs)
Our verdict
Both tablets cover Zone 2/22 and Division 2, so pick by your gases and by how your crews work. If your hazardous-area study includes gases that ignite between 100 °C and 135 °C, or your team writes with a pen, scans with a certified wireless scanner or wants a smaller 8-inch tablet, we would choose the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2. If your crews scan all shift, need to swap a battery on the spot or want a 10.1-inch screen at 1,000 nits, we would choose the BARTEC ET60/65EX2 Android. Neither is certified for Zone 1.
Key differences
T5 keeps the surface at or below 100 °C and T4 at or below 135 °C. T4 is fine for most gases but not those that ignite below 135 °C, so check the ignition temperatures of your substances against the class before anything else.
The BARTEC ET60/65EX2 Android’s 8,920 mAh battery is user-replaceable and hot-swappable, changed outside the hazardous area only. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2’s is not user-replaceable. ecom quotes up to 14 hours and BARTEC up to 10 hours indoors under its own test conditions, so we do not rank them on runtime.
The BARTEC ET60/65EX2 Android has an optional built-in SE55 1D/2D scan engine, which changes its Ex marking to “op is”. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 has no built-in engine: it scans with the Ex-rated Ident-Ex 02 wireless scanner or by camera through an app.
The BARTEC ET60/65EX2 Android has a 10.1-inch, 1,000-nit screen and the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 an 8-inch, 600-nit one. The larger, brighter screen suits drawings and outdoor reading. The smaller one suits crews who prefer a smaller tablet.
In the field
Edge: ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2
Both tablets are intrinsically safe (Ex ic), certified at protection level Gc/Dc for gas group IIC and dust group IIIC, and both are rated for −20 °C to +55 °C. The difference is the temperature class. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 is T5, with a maximum surface temperature of 85 °C for dust. The BARTEC ET60/65EX2 Android is T4, with 135 °C for dust. T4 is fine for most gases, but not those that ignite below 135 °C. If your hazardous-area study lists none, the gap will not matter to you. Neither tablet may be used in Zone 1.
The North American listings both cover Class I Division 2 Groups A to D and Class II Division 2 Groups F and G, with Class III. BARTEC’s UL listing is at T4 and covers the North America types B7-T2E1 and B7-T2E3 only. ecom’s SGS listing is at T5 and also lists Class III Division 1. Under the NEC and CEC both put Zone 22 dust in group IIIB, not IIIC, and ecom’s SGS certificate limits the ambient range to +50 °C. Our data does not state a separate North American ambient for BARTEC.
Edge: BARTEC ET60/65EX2 Android
The BARTEC ET60/65EX2 Android is the scanning tablet of the pair. Its optional SE55 1D/2D Advanced Range scan engine is built in, which changes its Ex marking to “op is”, and without the engine the marking is plain Ex ic. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 has no built-in engine: it scans with ecom’s Ident-Ex 02 wireless 1D/2D scanner, which is Ex-rated, or by camera through an app. A team that scans all shift carries one device with BARTEC, and a tablet plus a scanner with ecom.
BARTEC’s 8,920 mAh battery is user-replaceable, and an internal supercapacitor keeps the tablet powered during a swap, though swapping and charging are for outside the hazardous area only. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2’s 5,050 mAh battery is not user-replaceable and is also charged outside the hazardous area only. ecom quotes up to 14 hours. BARTEC quotes up to 10 hours indoors with the standard battery, WLAN on and 50 % backlight, so the figures are not like for like. Our data does not state hot swap for ecom.
Even
The BARTEC ET60/65EX2 Android has a 10.1-inch optically bonded screen at 1,000 nits and weighs 1,074 g. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 has an 8-inch, 1920 × 1200 screen at up to 600 nits, with glove touch, wet-hands operation and a pressure-sensitive S Pen included. The 595 g we list for the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 comes from a single source and ecom’s own figures vary, so we make no weight comparison. BARTEC’s resolution is flagged unconfirmed in our data, which means unverified, not absent.
BARTEC has a 16 MP autofocus rear camera with LED flash and an 8 MP front camera with a mechanical privacy shade. ecom has 13 MP autofocus with 8x digital zoom and a 5 MP front camera, and lists 4K video at 30 fps, where our data has no video figure for BARTEC. ecom rates the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 IP68 and BARTEC’s IP64 is the figure in its Ex marking, though its datasheet gives IP66, so check the rating with BARTEC. Our data has no IP code in the ecom Ex certificate, so IP68 is ecom’s own rating.
Even
On security updates the two are close, and both dates are flagged unconfirmed in our data. BARTEC’s December 2031 is Zebra’s date for the ET60/ET65 it is built on, and BARTEC says it needs a LifeGuard service contract. ecom states security updates until 2032. The BARTEC ET60/65EX2 Android runs Android 14, upgradeable to Android 16 per BARTEC’s datasheet. Our data lists Android 16 for the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 from a single source. Ask each maker for the exact end date for the version you order.
The ET60 is Wi-Fi only, with Wi-Fi 6E, and the ET65 adds 5G and eSIM. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 has 5G Sub-6 and 4G LTE, with a Wi-Fi-only version also available. BARTEC uses a Qualcomm 6490 with 8 GB of RAM and ecom an Exynos 1380 with 6 GB. Both have 128 GB of storage and NFC. BARTEC has three programmable keys and no dedicated SOS key, so emergency calls run through an app. ecom’s programmable function key can be set to an emergency call, an alarm or push-to-talk.
Specifications
BARTEC ET60/65EX2 Android | ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 | |
|---|---|---|
| Ex rating | ||
| Certified for | Zone 2/22 | Zone 2/22 |
| Protection | Intrinsic safety (Ex ic) with inherently safe optical radiation (op is) | Intrinsic safety (Ex ic) |
| Gas group | IIC | IIC |
| Temperature class | T4 (≤ 135 °C) | T5 (≤ 100 °C) |
| Certification | ||
| ATEX marking | II 3G Ex ic op is IIC T4 Gc / II 3D Ex ic op is IIIC T135°C Dc IP64 | II 3G Ex ic IIC T5 Gc / II 3D Ex ic IIIC T85°C Dc |
| ATEX certificate | EPS 25 ATEX 1 087 X | EPS 24 ATEX 1 257 X |
| IECEx marking | Ex ic op is IIC T4 Gc / Ex ic op is IIIC T135°C Dc IP64 | Ex ic IIC T5 Gc / Ex ic IIIC T85°C Dc |
| IECEx certificate | IECEx EPS 25.0018X (Issue 0, 2025-08-26) | IECEx EPS 24.0090X (Issue 0, 2025-02-06) |
| Other approvals | CE, FCC/IC | KC Korea 25-KA4BO-0563X and 25-KA4BO-0564X (ecom files CERT-8026/8027); Inmetro Brazil TÜV 25.0337 X (CERT-7867); IA/MASC South Africa MASC S/25-8053X |
| North America | UL (report E321557-20260130; certificates UL-US-26103088-0, UL-US-26103089-0, UL-CA-2675759-0, UL-CA-2675760-0, issued 2026-02-09), North America types B7-T2E1 / B7-T2E3 only: Class I Div 2 Groups A, B, C, D; Class II Div 2 Groups F, G; Class III Div 2; T4. Zone 2 AEx ic [op is] IIC T4 Gc; Zone 22 AEx ic [op is] IIIB T135 °C Dc (CEC: Ex ic [op is] IIC T4 Gc X / IIIB T135 °C Dc X). Zone 22 is group IIIB under NEC/CEC, not IIIC. | SGS certificate SGSNA/25/SUW/00031X (ecom file CERT-B178A, effective 2025-05-24; covers DZ2 and D2): Class I and II, Division 2, Class III, Division 1 & 2, Groups A-D, F and G, T5; Zone 2 Group IIC T5; Zone 22 Group IIIB T100°C; −20 °C ≤ Ta ≤ 50 °C. Under NEC/CEC the limits are Ta +50 °C and dust group IIIB, not +55 °C / IIIC as under ATEX/IECEx. Charging under the SGS certificate only at −5 °C to +45 °C (ATEX/IECEx: −5 °C to +55 °C). |
| Protection level (EPL) | Gc / Dc | Gc / Dc |
| Dust group | IIIC | IIIC |
| Max surface temperature (dust) | 135 °C | 85 °C |
| Safe use | ||
| Ambient temperature (Ta) | −20 °C to +55 °C | −20 °C to +55 °C |
| Charging | Outside the hazardous area only | Outside the hazardous area only |
| Battery swap | Outside the hazardous area only | Outside the hazardous area only |
| Ports and accessories in the zone | Ports (USB-A, USB-C, dock, keyboard connector) only if the atmosphere is shown to be absent; charging accessories are required but not included. | No wired connections in the Ex area (USB-C, POGO keyboard port). The 3.5 mm audio port may be used with intrinsically safe audio equipment matching its entity parameters (e.g. ecom HS-Ex 01 J). |
| Certified accessories | Named in IECEx EPS 25.0018X as 'accessories for use in hazardous areas': battery B7-T2Z0-0001 (3.8 V / 8920 mAh), kickstand with hand strap B7-T2Z0-0003, hand strap B7-T2Z0-0004, shoulder strap B7-T2Z0-0006, screen protector B7-T2Z0-0008, stylus holder B7-T2Z0-0009, leather holster B7-T2Z0-0010, stylus 17-S1Z0-0008. Battery changing and charging only outside hazardous areas; charging accessories are for use outside hazardous areas. | Named in the certificate: S Pen ST T05 X2, leather case LC T05 X2, chest harness CH T05 X2, hand strap HA T05 X2R, belt clip BC T01, carrying strap CS T05, stylus tether ST 01. The HS-Ex 01 J in-ear headset has its own IECEx certificate (EPS 25.0070X, Current) for the audio port. Lite Cradle, DC T01 X2 desktop charger, passive holder, screen protector and microSD card are not named in the certificate; chargers and cradles are for use outside the hazardous area only. |
| IP code in the Ex certificate | IP64 (marking) | Not in our data |
| Operating temperature | −20 °C to +55 °C | −20 °C to +55 °C |
| Conditions of use | IECEx X conditions: battery pack changed or charged only outside hazardous areas; only battery pack type B7-T2Z0-0001/**** shall be used; connection or disconnection of external ports, opening the enclosure or replacing the battery while live only if the atmosphere is shown to be absent; protect from high-energy impacts and high electrostatic charge; follow the manufacturer's safety instructions strictly. Ambient −20 °C to +55 °C. | IECEx X conditions: use where the risk of mechanical hazards is low; not near processes generating high electrostatic charges; the Ex-protective case must be correctly fitted before entering hazardous areas; battery pack and SIM/SD replacement only in ordinary areas; wired connections via USB-C or POGO pins only in ordinary areas; charge only at −5 °C to +55 °C, only from non-shock-hazard supplies (SELV/PELV/ES1) with Um 16 V max, 3.2 A max; repairs by manufacturer or authorised centre. Audio port has intrinsic-safety entity parameters (Uo 3 V, Io 250 mA). |
| Device | ||
| Type | Rugged tablet, Ex version | Dedicated Ex tablet |
| Launched | 2025Unconfirmed, see note 1 | 2025 |
| Part numbers | B7-T2E*-************ (B7-T2E2 rest of world; B7-T2E1 North America) | TAB-EX05-DZ2-* (datasheet t221646; WiFi and WWAN types) |
| Operating system | Android 14 | Android 16Unconfirmed, see note 2 |
| Edition | Android 14 with Zebra Mobility DNA / LifeGuard | Android (Samsung One UI); Android Enterprise Recommended, Samsung Knox 3.10 |
| OS at launch | Not in our data | Android 14 |
| OS upgrades | Android 16 (BARTEC datasheet: 'upgradeable to Android 16') | Android 22 (ecom claim)Unconfirmed, see note 2 |
| Security updates | Until December 2031Unconfirmed, see note 3 | Until Q1 2032Unconfirmed, see note 4 |
| Processor | Qualcomm 6490 (QCM6490) octa-core 2.7 GHz | Samsung Exynos 1380 (S5E8835) octa-core, 4 x 2.4 GHz + 4 x 2.0 GHz, 5 nm |
| Processor architecture | Arm | Arm |
| Memory (RAM) | 8 GB | 6 GB |
| Storage | 128 GB, microSD (up to 2 TB) | 128 GB, microSD up to 1 TB |
| Field capabilities | ||
| Push-to-talk | Via app (programmable keys; PTT app) | Via app (programmable function key assignable to PTT, per ecom) |
| Emergency / SOS | Via app (three programmable keys, no dedicated SOS key) | Built in (freely programmable function key, e.g. emergency call or alarm) |
| Lone worker | Via app (third-party application) | Via app (key assigned to alarm/emergency; third-party or ecom lone-worker solution) |
| Barcode scanning | Built in (optional SE55 1D/2D Advanced Range scan engine; changes the Ex marking to 'op is') | Via accessory (ecom Ident-Ex 02 wireless 1D/2D scanner; Ex-rated? yes) or camera-based via app |
| NFC reading | Built in (NFC) | Built in (NFC) |
| 3D scanning / LiDAR | Not possible (no depth sensor listed) | Not possible (no depth sensor listed) |
| High-accuracy GNSS | Built in (ET65 only: dual-band L1 + L5 GNSS) | Not in our data |
| Remote expert / video calls | Via app (rear and front cameras, privacy shade; third-party app) | Via app (front and rear cameras, Google ARCore ready; ecom promotes remote-support use) |
| Windows desktop software | Not possible (Android) | Not possible (Android; Samsung DeX gives a desktop-style Android UI) |
| Display and camera | ||
| Display | 10.1-inch Optically bonded, multi-mode capacitive touch, Corning Gorilla Glass | 8-inch TFT, capacitive multitouch, 60 Hz / adaptive up to 120 Hz; Corning Gorilla Glass 3 (DZ1/DZ2), Gorilla Glass 5 (D2) |
| Resolution | 1920 × 1200 (WUXGA; page prints '1900 × 1200')Unconfirmed, see note 5 | 1920 × 1200 (WUXGA), 283 ppi, 16:10 |
| Brightness | 1000 nits | 600 nits |
| Outdoor readability | Optically bonded 1000 nit display (maker: easy to view in sunlight) | Maker claims optimum readability in direct sunlight (600 nits max) |
| Touch | Bare or gloved fingertip or stylus input | Yes: glove touch and wet-hands operation (maker) |
| Pen / stylus | Stylus supported | Samsung S Pen included (pressure sensitive), with Tab-Ex S Pen holder |
| Rear camera | 16 MP autofocus with LED flash | 13 MP autofocus, 8x digital zoom (camera-free version available) |
| Front camera | 8 MP with mechanical privacy shade | 5 MP |
| Video | Not in our data | UHD 4K (3840 x 2160) at 30 fps |
| Connectivity | ||
| Network | ET60 Wi-Fi 6E; ET65 adds 5G FR1 / 4G / 3G, private 5G/CBRS | 5G Sub-6 and 4G LTE; Wi-Fi-only version also available |
| Wi-Fi | Wi-Fi 6E (802.11ax) 2x2 MU-MIMO | Wi-Fi 6 (802.11 a/b/g, Wi-Fi 4/5/6 2.4 + 5 GHz) |
| Bluetooth | Bluetooth 5.2 Class 1 + LE | Bluetooth 5.3 |
| NFC | Yes (ISO 14443 A/B, FeliCa, ISO 15693) | Yes |
| Satellite positioning | ET65: GPS, GLONASS, Galileo, BeiDou, QZSS dual-band L1+L5 | GPS, Glonass, Beidou, Galileo |
| SIM | ET65: eSIM + nano-SIM | Nano-SIM and eSIM (optional) |
| Physical and power | ||
| Weight | 1074 g | 595 gUnconfirmed, see note 6 |
| Dimensions | 275 × 199 × 18.3 mm | 131.8 × 228.4 × 14.5 (W × H × D) mmUnconfirmed, see note 7 |
| Ingress protection | IP64Unconfirmed, see note 8 | IP68 (EN/IEC 60529) |
| Ruggedness | 1.5 m drop to concrete, exceeds MIL-STD-810H | MIL-STD-810H |
| Battery | 8920 mAh | 5050 (typical) |
| Battery energy | 36Unconfirmed, see note 9 | 18.87 (typical) |
| Battery life | Up to 10 h indoor with standard battery (WLAN on, 50 % backlight) | Up to 14 h |
| Hot-swap battery | Yes (internal supercapacitor keeps power during battery swaps) | Not in our data |
| Replaceable battery | Yes | No |
| Ports and expansion | 2 x USB 3.1 Type A; 1 x USB 3.1 Type C (DisplayPort 1.2); docking connector; keyboard connector; 1 x USB 2.0 (rear); optional SE55 scan engine | USB 2.0 Type-C; 3.5 mm audio jack and POGO pins on DZ2; microSD; nano-SIM / eSIM |
| Docking | Docking connector (charge and data); vehicle and desk accessories in BARTEC accessory sheet | DZ2: Lite Cradle, DC T01 X2 desktop charger, passive holder with tilt/swivel (ordinary areas) |
| Keyboard | Keyboard connector for accessories (not 2-in-1) | No keyboard; wireless DeX with Bluetooth keyboard/mouse; POGO keyboard-dock port on DZ2 (ordinary areas only) |
| Controls & Accessibility | ||
| Keys | Power, scan, up/down (volume or brightness), three programmable keys | Function key (programmable: PTT, emergency call, alarm) and Active button |
| Push-to-talk key | No | Yes |
| Glove touch | Yes | Yes |
| Biometrics | Not in our data | Face recognition; fingerprint only on the D2 model |
| Fleet and support | ||
| Manufacturer | BARTEC GmbH, Germany | ecom instruments (Pepperl+Fuchs), Germany |
Only values we could check are listed; “Not in our data” means we have not verified it, not that the tablet lacks it. A numbered marker means a value is unconfirmed, and the matching note at the foot of the page explains why. Prices are on request for both.
Keep researching
Impartial advice
Both tablets are certified for Zone 2/22 with a Class I Division 2 listing, so the choice comes down to your gases, how your crews scan and swap batteries, and the screen size they need. Tell us about your sites and we will help you choose impartially.
FAQ
Neither is better across the board. The BARTEC ET60/65EX2 Android suits teams that scan all shift, swap batteries and want a 10.1-inch screen at 1,000 nits. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 suits sites with gases that need T5 and crews who work with a pen or a certified wireless scanner. Both are certified for Zone 2/22 and Class I Division 2.
No. Both are certified to protection level Gc, which covers Zone 2 only. The Zone 1 step up in ecom’s range is the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1.
No. Both must be charged outside the hazardous area, and both batteries are swapped or changed there too. The BARTEC ET60/65EX2 Android’s battery is user-replaceable and hot-swappable, and the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2’s is not. If charging in the zone matters, the i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 may be charged inside it within its certificate’s limits.
Yes. Both are listed for Class I Division 2 Groups A to D and Class II Division 2 Groups F and G, with Class III. BARTEC’s UL listing is at T4 for the B7-T2E1 and B7-T2E3 types only, and ecom’s SGS listing is at T5 with the ambient limited to +50 °C. Under the NEC and CEC both put Zone 22 dust in group IIIB.
Neither is clearly ahead on the dates we have, and both are flagged unconfirmed. BARTEC’s December 2031 is Zebra’s date for the tablet it is built on, and ecom states updates until 2032. Ask each maker for the exact end date for the version you order.
The BARTEC ET60/65EX2 Android has an optional built-in SE55 1D/2D scan engine. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 has none built in: it scans with the Ex-rated Ident-Ex 02 wireless scanner or by camera through an app.
Prices depend on volume, configuration and region, so both are on request. Contact us for a price.
Facts last verified on against certificates, declarations of conformity and manufacturer data. The sources for each tablet are listed on its page: BARTEC ET60/65EX2 Android and ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2. Always check the certificate for your exact model before use. Spotted an error? Tell us.