ecom (Pepperl+Fuchs)
ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2
- Zone 2/22
- IIC T5
- ATEX + IECEx
- Class I Division 2
Compare · Zone 2 Android tablets
These two 8-inch Android tablets are intrinsically safe (Ex ic), certified for Zone 2/22 in gas group IIC, and neither allows USB in the hazardous area. The difference is in the certificates and the hardware. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 is rated T5, publishes ATEX and IECEx certificates, has a North American listing and comes with an S Pen. The Getac ZX80-EX is rated T4, with a replaceable battery, an optional built-in 1D/2D imager, a 1,000-nit screen and a weight of 780 g. Our data has an IECEx certificate only for the Getac ZX80-EX. Here is how they compare, and which we would choose for which team.
ecom (Pepperl+Fuchs)
Getac
Our verdict
Both tablets cover Zone 2/22, so pick by your gases, your paperwork and how your crews work. If your hazardous-area study includes gases that ignite between 100 °C and 135 °C, your site needs a published ATEX certificate or a North American listing, or your crews use an intrinsically safe headset in the zone, we would choose the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2. If your crews need a replaceable battery, a built-in scanner or a brighter screen, we would choose the Getac ZX80-EX. Neither is certified for Zone 1.
Key differences
T5 keeps the surface at or below 100 °C and T4 at or below 135 °C. T4 is fine for most gases but not those that ignite below 135 °C, so check the ignition temperatures of your substances against the class before anything else.
ecom publishes ATEX certificate EPS 24 ATEX 1 257 X for the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2. For the Getac ZX80-EX, Getac states ATEX certification but the certificate isn’t published, and our data holds an IECEx certificate only. If your site works under ATEX, ask Getac for the certificate before you buy.
The Getac ZX80-EX’s battery is user-replaceable, with an optional second battery, changed outside the hazardous area only. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2’s is not user-replaceable. ecom quotes up to 14 hours, and our data has no battery-life figure for Getac, so we do not compare runtime.
The Getac ZX80-EX offers an optional built-in 1D/2D imager. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 has no built-in engine: it scans with the Ex-rated Ident-Ex 02 wireless scanner or by camera through an app.
In the field
Edge: ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2
Both tablets are certified at protection level Gc/Dc for gas group IIC and dust group IIIC, and both are intrinsically safe (Ex ic). The temperature class separates them. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 is T5, with maximum surface temperatures of 100 °C for gas and 85 °C for dust. The Getac ZX80-EX is T4 and 130 °C for dust, and its marking adds “op is” for inherently safe optical radiation. T4 is fine for most gases, but not those that ignite below 135 °C. The ambient ranges are close: −20 °C to +55 °C for ecom and −21 °C to +55 °C for Getac. Neither is for Zone 1.
The paperwork differs too. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 has ATEX and IECEx certificates with published numbers and an SGS North American listing at T5, with an ambient limit of +50 °C and dust group IIIB under the NEC and CEC. The Getac ZX80-EX has IECEx EPS 25.0039X, issued in January 2026, which names the model “ZX80-Exc”, so the match to this tablet is ours and unconfirmed. Getac also states ATEX, but the certificate isn’t published, and our data has no North American listing for it.
Edge: Getac ZX80-EX
Neither tablet may be charged in the hazardous area. The Getac ZX80-EX has a user-replaceable internal battery of 4,060 mAh typical and an optional second 4,990 mAh battery, and the battery may never be changed, charged or removed in a hazardous area. Our data does not state hot swap for the Ex version. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2’s 5,050 mAh battery is not user-replaceable. ecom quotes up to 14 hours, and our data has no battery-life figure for Getac, so we cannot compare runtime.
Ports are closed in both. The Getac certificate bars all connection interfaces, and USB-C, the microSD slot and the SIM tray are barred from the hazardous area. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 allows no wired connection in the Ex area either, but its 3.5 mm audio port may be used with matching intrinsically safe audio equipment such as the ecom HS-Ex 01 J. Our data lists a hand strap, a shoulder strap and a digitizer pen with tether as named in the Getac certificate, though this is flagged unconfirmed for this exact model. ecom’s names the S Pen, a leather case, a chest harness, a hand strap, a belt clip, a carrying strap and a stylus tether.
Edge: Getac ZX80-EX
Both tablets have an 8-inch, 1920 × 1200 screen. Getac rates the Getac ZX80-EX at 1,000 nits against up to 600 nits for ecom, and its touch is dual-mode, with a digitizer pen. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 lists glove touch and wet-hands operation, and a pressure-sensitive S Pen is included. Our data does not say the Getac’s pen is in the box. Glove touch is not in our data for the Getac, which means unverified, not absent.
The Getac ZX80-EX has a 16 MP autofocus rear camera and an 8 MP front camera. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 has 13 MP with 8x digital zoom and a 5 MP front camera, and lists 4K video at 30 fps, where our data has no video figure for Getac. The Getac is 780 g with IP67 and a listed 1.8 m drop. ecom rates its tablet IP68 and MIL-STD-810H. The 595 g we list for the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 comes from a single source and ecom’s figures vary, so we make no weight comparison.
Even
On security updates, ecom states updates until 2032 for the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2, and our data lists Android 16 from a single source. The Getac ZX80-EX runs Android 15, and our data shows security updates until February 2029, which is Getac’s date for the standard ZX80, as Getac lists no separate date for the Ex version. Both dates are flagged unconfirmed, so ask each maker for the exact end date for the version you order. Our data also lists at least three Android version upgrades per generation for Getac, depending on the device, from a single source that is flagged unconfirmed.
The Getac ZX80-EX has a Qualcomm QCS6490 with 12 GB of RAM and 256 GB of storage. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 has an Exynos 1380 with 6 GB and 128 GB, with a microSD slot up to 1 TB. Both offer 5G Sub-6 and 4G LTE, though on the Getac they are options. ecom’s programmable function key is listed as built-in emergency call or alarm, and can be set to push-to-talk, per ecom. The Getac has three programmable buttons, and our data does not state a push-to-talk or SOS function for it.
Specifications
ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 | Getac ZX80-EX | |
|---|---|---|
| Ex rating | ||
| Certified for | Zone 2/22 | Zone 2/22 |
| Protection | Intrinsic safety (Ex ic) | Intrinsic safety (Ex ic) with inherently safe optical radiation (op is) |
| Gas group | IIC | IIC |
| Temperature class | T5 (≤ 100 °C) | T4 (≤ 135 °C) |
| Certification | ||
| ATEX marking | II 3G Ex ic IIC T5 Gc / II 3D Ex ic IIIC T85°C Dc | II 3G Ex ic op is IIC T4 Gc / II 3D Ex ic op is IIIC T130°C Dc |
| ATEX certificate | EPS 24 ATEX 1 257 X | Not published |
| IECEx marking | Ex ic IIC T5 Gc / Ex ic IIIC T85°C Dc | Ex ic op is IIC T4 Gc / Ex ic op is IIIC T130°C Dc |
| IECEx certificate | IECEx EPS 24.0090X (Issue 0, 2025-02-06) | IECEx EPS 25.0039X (Issue 0, 2026-01-28, model "ZX80-Exc")Unconfirmed, see note 1 |
| Other approvals | KC Korea 25-KA4BO-0563X and 25-KA4BO-0564X (ecom files CERT-8026/8027); Inmetro Brazil TÜV 25.0337 X (CERT-7867); IA/MASC South Africa MASC S/25-8053X | MIL-STD-810H; Android Enterprise Recommended |
| North America | SGS certificate SGSNA/25/SUW/00031X (ecom file CERT-B178A, effective 2025-05-24; covers DZ2 and D2): Class I and II, Division 2, Class III, Division 1 & 2, Groups A-D, F and G, T5; Zone 2 Group IIC T5; Zone 22 Group IIIB T100°C; −20 °C ≤ Ta ≤ 50 °C. Under NEC/CEC the limits are Ta +50 °C and dust group IIIB, not +55 °C / IIIC as under ATEX/IECEx. Charging under the SGS certificate only at −5 °C to +45 °C (ATEX/IECEx: −5 °C to +55 °C). | Not in our data |
| Protection level (EPL) | Gc / Dc | Gc / Dc |
| Dust group | IIIC | IIIC |
| Max surface temperature (dust) | 85 °C | 130 °C |
| Safe use | ||
| Ambient temperature (Ta) | −20 °C to +55 °C | −21 °C to +55 °C |
| Charging | Outside the hazardous area only | Outside the hazardous area only |
| Battery swap | Outside the hazardous area only | Outside the hazardous area only |
| Ports and accessories in the zone | No wired connections in the Ex area (USB-C, POGO keyboard port). The 3.5 mm audio port may be used with intrinsically safe audio equipment matching its entity parameters (e.g. ecom HS-Ex 01 J). | All connection interfaces (USB, Thunderbolt, DC-in, docking connector, LAN, serial) must never be used in hazardous areas (certificate condition). Optional internal modules named in the certificate are covered as part of the certified tablet. USB-C, microSD and SIM tray barred from hazardous areas. |
| Certified accessories | Named in the certificate: S Pen ST T05 X2, leather case LC T05 X2, chest harness CH T05 X2, hand strap HA T05 X2R, belt clip BC T01, carrying strap CS T05, stylus tether ST 01. The HS-Ex 01 J in-ear headset has its own IECEx certificate (EPS 25.0070X, Current) for the audio port. Lite Cradle, DC T01 X2 desktop charger, passive holder, screen protector and microSD card are not named in the certificate; chargers and cradles are for use outside the hazardous area only. | Named in the IECEx certificate: hand strap, shoulder strap, digitizer pen and tether. Anti-static screen film for hazardous use. Rotating hand strap with kickstand and vehicle cradle (datasheet) are not named in the certificate. NOT for hazardous areas: 65 W USB-C adapter, vehicle adapter, chargers, batteries (replace in non-hazardous areas only).Unconfirmed, see note 2 |
| Operating temperature | −20 °C to +55 °C | −21 °C to +55 °C (standard ZX80: −29 to +63) |
| Conditions of use | IECEx X conditions: use where the risk of mechanical hazards is low; not near processes generating high electrostatic charges; the Ex-protective case must be correctly fitted before entering hazardous areas; battery pack and SIM/SD replacement only in ordinary areas; wired connections via USB-C or POGO pins only in ordinary areas; charge only at −5 °C to +55 °C, only from non-shock-hazard supplies (SELV/PELV/ES1) with Um 16 V max, 3.2 A max; repairs by manufacturer or authorised centre. Audio port has intrinsic-safety entity parameters (Uo 3 V, Io 250 mA). | Ambient −21 to +55 °C. Protect from excessive UV light and mechanical impact (reduced-height impact test). Connection interfaces never used in hazardous areas. Battery never changed, charged or removed in hazardous areas. Not next to strong charge-generating processes. Use only battery BP1S1P4060B or BP1S1P4990B. |
| Device | ||
| Type | Dedicated Ex tablet | Rugged tablet, Ex version |
| Launched | 2025 | 2026Unconfirmed, see note 3 |
| Part numbers | TAB-EX05-DZ2-* (datasheet t221646; WiFi and WWAN types) | Not in our data |
| Operating system | Android 16Unconfirmed, see note 4 | Android 15 |
| Edition | Android (Samsung One UI); Android Enterprise Recommended, Samsung Knox 3.10 | Android 15.0 |
| OS at launch | Android 14 | Not in our data |
| OS upgrades | Android 22 (ecom claim)Unconfirmed, see note 4 | At least three Android versions per generation (Getac, device dependent)Unconfirmed, see note 5 |
| Security updates | Until Q1 2032Unconfirmed, see note 6 | Until February 2029Unconfirmed, see note 7 |
| Processor | Samsung Exynos 1380 (S5E8835) octa-core, 4 x 2.4 GHz + 4 x 2.0 GHz, 5 nm | Qualcomm QCS6490 octa-core 1.9 GHz (max 2.7 GHz), Adreno 643, Hexagon NPU 13 TOPS |
| Processor architecture | Arm | Arm |
| Memory (RAM) | 6 GB | 12 GB |
| Storage | 128 GB, microSD up to 1 TB | 256 GB, microSD |
| Field capabilities | ||
| Push-to-talk | Via app (programmable function key assignable to PTT, per ecom) | Not in our data |
| Emergency / SOS | Built in (freely programmable function key, e.g. emergency call or alarm) | Not in our data |
| Lone worker | Via app (key assigned to alarm/emergency; third-party or ecom lone-worker solution) | Not in our data |
| Barcode scanning | Via accessory (ecom Ident-Ex 02 wireless 1D/2D scanner; Ex-rated? yes) or camera-based via app | Built in (optional 1D/2D imager) |
| NFC reading | Built in (NFC) | Built in (optional NFC) |
| 3D scanning / LiDAR | Not possible (no depth sensor listed) | Not in our data |
| Remote expert / video calls | Via app (front and rear cameras, Google ARCore ready; ecom promotes remote-support use) | Via app (16 MP rear, 8 MP front) |
| Windows desktop software | Not possible (Android; Samsung DeX gives a desktop-style Android UI) | Not possible (Android) |
| Display and camera | ||
| Display | 8-inch TFT, capacitive multitouch, 60 Hz / adaptive up to 120 Hz; Corning Gorilla Glass 3 (DZ1/DZ2), Gorilla Glass 5 (D2) | 8-inch TFT LCD wide viewing angle; Ex model has 0.6 mm thicker glass per ZX80W-EX press release |
| Resolution | 1920 × 1200 (WUXGA), 283 ppi, 16:10 | 1920 × 1200 (WUXGA) |
| Brightness | 600 nits | 1000 nits |
| Outdoor readability | Maker claims optimum readability in direct sunlight (600 nits max) | Getac sunlight-readable |
| Touch | Yes: glove touch and wet-hands operation (maker) | Dual-mode touch (multi-touch and digitizer) |
| Pen / stylus | Samsung S Pen included (pressure sensitive), with Tab-Ex S Pen holder | Digitizer pen |
| Rear camera | 13 MP autofocus, 8x digital zoom (camera-free version available) | 16 MP autofocus |
| Front camera | 5 MP | 8 MP |
| Video | UHD 4K (3840 x 2160) at 30 fps | Not in our data |
| Connectivity | ||
| Network | 5G Sub-6 and 4G LTE; Wi-Fi-only version also available | Wi-Fi 6E; optional 4G LTE, 5G Sub-6, dual SIM with eSIM |
| Wi-Fi | Wi-Fi 6 (802.11 a/b/g, Wi-Fi 4/5/6 2.4 + 5 GHz) | Wi-Fi 6E 802.11ax |
| Bluetooth | Bluetooth 5.3 | Bluetooth 5.2 |
| NFC | Yes | Optional (13.56 MHz) |
| Satellite positioning | GPS, Glonass, Beidou, Galileo | Optional dedicated GPS (GPS, GLONASS, Galileo, BeiDou; US, UK, EU, AU, NZ only) |
| SIM | Nano-SIM and eSIM (optional) | Nano-SIM 4FF, eSIM optional |
| Physical and power | ||
| Weight | 595 gUnconfirmed, see note 8 | 780 g |
| Dimensions | 131.8 × 228.4 × 14.5 (W × H × D) mmUnconfirmed, see note 9 | 243.2 × 165.1 × 23.1 mm |
| Ingress protection | IP68 (EN/IEC 60529) | IP67 |
| Ruggedness | MIL-STD-810H | MIL-STD-810H; 1.8 m (6 ft) drop |
| Battery | 5050 (typical) | Internal typical 4060 (min 3950), 3.86 V; optional second battery 4990 typical |
| Battery energy | 18.87 (typical) | Not in our data |
| Battery life | Up to 14 h | Not in our data |
| Hot-swap battery | Not in our data | Internal battery plus optional swappable 4990 mAh battery; hot-swap not stated for the Ex datasheet |
| Replaceable battery | No | Yes |
| Ports and expansion | USB 2.0 Type-C; 3.5 mm audio jack and POGO pins on DZ2; microSD; nano-SIM / eSIM | USB 3.2 Gen1 Type-C (DP, PD), microSD (or hybrid nano-SIM tray + microSD), audio combo; optional 1D/2D barcode imager, NFC; all barred from hazardous areas |
| Docking | DZ2: Lite Cradle, DC T01 X2 desktop charger, passive holder with tilt/swivel (ordinary areas) | Vehicle cradle (accessory) |
| Keyboard | No keyboard; wireless DeX with Bluetooth keyboard/mouse; POGO keyboard-dock port on DZ2 (ordinary areas only) | Tablet only |
| Controls & Accessibility | ||
| Keys | Function key (programmable: PTT, emergency call, alarm) and Active button | Power + 3 programmable buttons |
| Push-to-talk key | Yes | No |
| Glove touch | Yes | Not in our data |
| Biometrics | Face recognition; fingerprint only on the D2 model | Not in our data |
| Fleet and support | ||
| Manufacturer | ecom instruments (Pepperl+Fuchs), Germany | Getac Technology Corporation, Taiwan |
Only values we could check are listed; “Not in our data” means we have not verified it, not that the tablet lacks it. A numbered marker means a value is unconfirmed, and the matching note at the foot of the page explains why. Prices are on request for both.
Keep researching
Impartial advice
Both tablets are certified for Zone 2/22 in gas group IIC, so the choice comes down to your gases, the certificates your site requires and how your crews scan and swap batteries. Tell us about your sites and we will help you choose impartially.
FAQ
Neither is better across the board. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 suits sites with gases that need T5, sites that need a published ATEX certificate or a North American listing, and crews who use a headset in the zone. The Getac ZX80-EX suits crews who want a replaceable battery, a built-in imager and a brighter screen. Both are certified for Zone 2/22.
Getac states ATEX certification, but the certificate isn’t published. Our data holds IECEx EPS 25.0039X, which names the model “ZX80-Exc”, and the match to this tablet is ours. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 has published ATEX and IECEx certificates.
No. Both are certified to protection level Gc, which covers Zone 2 only. The Zone 1 step up in ecom’s range is the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1.
No. Both must be charged outside it, and the batteries are changed outside it too. The Getac ZX80-EX’s battery is user-replaceable, with an optional second battery, and the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2’s is not.
We cannot say, because both dates are flagged unconfirmed. ecom states updates until 2032, and Getac’s February 2029 is its date for the standard ZX80, with no separate date for the Ex version. Ask each maker for the exact end date for the version you order.
The Getac ZX80-EX offers an optional built-in 1D/2D imager. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 has none built in: it scans with the Ex-rated Ident-Ex 02 wireless scanner or by camera through an app.
Prices depend on volume, configuration and region, so both are on request. Contact us for a price.
Facts last verified on against certificates, declarations of conformity and manufacturer data. The sources for each tablet are listed on its page: ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 and Getac ZX80-EX. Always check the certificate for your exact model before use. Spotted an error? Tell us.