Getac
Getac ZX80-EX
- Zone 2/22
- IIC T4
- ATEX + IECEx
Compare · Zone 2 Android tablets
These two Android tablets share their gas rating: intrinsically safe (Ex ic), IIC T4, certified for Zone 2/22 only, with +55 °C at the top of the ambient range. The choice is size, weight and paperwork. The Getac ZX80-EX is an 8-inch tablet at 780 g with Android 15, a 1,000-nit screen and an optional built-in 1D/2D imager. The i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 is a 10.1-inch tablet at 1,059 g with Android 14, a published ATEX certificate, a North American Class I Division 2 listing, and permission to be charged inside the hazardous area. Here is how they compare, and which team should carry which.
Getac
i.safe MOBILE
Our verdict
For crews who carry the tablet all shift and scan with a built-in imager, we would choose the Getac ZX80-EX: it is 279 g lighter, with a 1,000-nit screen and a stated 1.8 m drop rating. For sites that need a published ATEX certificate or a North American Division 2 listing, for crews who must charge in the zone, and for anyone who wants a stated support date to Q4 2032, we would choose the i.safe MOBILE IS940.2.
Key differences
The i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 has a published ATEX certificate, EPS 25 ATEX 1 002 X. Getac states ATEX certification for the Getac ZX80-EX, but the certificate is not published, so we cannot verify it. Both have published IECEx certificates.
The i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 is listed for NEC 500 Class I Division 2 Groups A, B, C and D at T4, plus Class II Division 2 and Class III. Our data lists no North American listing for the Getac ZX80-EX. For a US or Canadian site, that can decide the choice.
i.safe allows the i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 to be charged inside the hazardous area, within the certificate’s limits, at 0 °C to +45 °C. The Getac ZX80-EX must be charged outside it, and its battery is swapped outside too.
The Getac ZX80-EX weighs 780 g and the i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 1,059 g, a gap of 279 g. You notice it when a tablet is held in one hand or carried on a strap through a shift.
In the field
Edge: i.safe MOBILE IS940.2
Both tablets are intrinsically safe (Ex ic), IIC T4, with protection levels Gc and Dc, certified for Zone 2/22 only. Both have a published IECEx certificate: IECEx EPS 25.0039X for the Getac ZX80-EX and IECEx EPS 25.0002X for the i.safe MOBILE IS940.2. The Getac ZX80-EX adds the “op is” marking for inherently safe optical radiation and a dust surface temperature of 130 °C, against 135 °C for the i.safe MOBILE IS940.2. The Getac certificate names the model “ZX80-Exc” without the generation, which we matched to this tablet by its batteries, dust group and ambient range, so confirm the model with Getac.
The difference is in what else is published. i.safe lists ATEX certificate EPS 25 ATEX 1 002 X and a North American listing for the i.safe MOBILE IS940.2, plus IA (South Africa) and KCs (Korea) approvals. Getac states ATEX for the Getac ZX80-EX, but the certificate is not published, and our data lists no North American listing. The ambient range is −21 °C to +55 °C for the Getac ZX80-EX and −20 °C to +55 °C for the i.safe MOBILE IS940.2.
Edge: i.safe MOBILE IS940.2
The Getac ZX80-EX runs Android 15 on a Qualcomm QCS6490 with 12 GB of memory and 256 GB of storage plus microSD, and our data notes at least three Android version upgrades per generation (device dependent), but from a secondary source: Getac doesn’t state it for this model. The i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 runs Android 14 on a Qualcomm QCM6490, a long-term support chipset, with 8 GB and 128 GB, microSD supported. Both are Arm tablets, and neither runs Windows desktop software.
On support, i.safe states security updates until Q4 2032 for the i.safe MOBILE IS940.2. Our data gives the Getac ZX80-EX security updates until February 2029, but that is Getac’s date for the standard ZX80 and Getac lists none for the Ex version, so treat it as unconfirmed and ask Getac. For connectivity, the i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 lists 5G NR and 4G LTE with Wi-Fi 6, and the Getac ZX80-EX has Wi-Fi 6E with optional 4G LTE, 5G Sub-6 and a dual SIM with eSIM. Both have Bluetooth 5.2.
Even
The Getac ZX80-EX has an 8-inch screen at 1920 × 1200 and 1,000 nits, which Getac calls sunlight-readable, with dual-mode touch and a digitizer pen. The i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 has a 10.1-inch Gorilla Glass V3 screen at 1200 × 1920, usable with gloves, and a passive stylus as an accessory that is not in the box. Our data has no brightness figure for it, so its brightness is unverified, and it does not confirm glove touch for the Getac ZX80-EX.
The i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 has the higher-resolution rear camera, 50 MP autofocus, against 16 MP on the Getac ZX80-EX, which has the better front camera at 8 MP against 5 MP. For scanning, the Getac ZX80-EX offers a factory 1D/2D imager, so order the version that has it, while the i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 scans through its camera with an app. Both list NFC, optional on the Getac ZX80-EX. For push-to-talk and lone working, the i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 has a red programmable key and an Ex-rated IS-PTTB1A.1 button accessory, and the Getac ZX80-EX has three programmable buttons.
Even
The Getac ZX80-EX weighs 780 g, which our data lists among the lightest Zone 2 tablets of its size, and the i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 weighs 1,059 g. Both list MIL-STD-810H. The Getac ZX80-EX adds IP67 and a 1.8 m drop, and the i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 is IP68, with no drop height in our data. Pick on how crews carry the tablet and what they do with it, since both are well protected.
The i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 may be charged inside the hazardous area, at 0 °C to +45 °C, through its 12-pin dock interface with the IS-DS940.1 dock. Its battery is replaceable, outside the hazardous area only. The Getac ZX80-EX is charged outside only, and has an internal battery with an optional second 4,990 mAh battery that is swapped outside too; our data does not state hot swap for the Ex version. No connection interface may be used in the zone on the Getac ZX80-EX, and its USB-C, microSD and SIM tray are barred. We do not compare runtime, since our data has no figure for either.
Specifications
Getac ZX80-EX | i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 | |
|---|---|---|
| Ex rating | ||
| Certified for | Zone 2/22 | Zone 2/22 |
| Protection | Intrinsic safety (Ex ic) with inherently safe optical radiation (op is) | Intrinsic safety (Ex ic) |
| Gas group | IIC | IIC |
| Temperature class | T4 (≤ 135 °C) | T4 (≤ 135 °C) |
| Certification | ||
| ATEX marking | II 3G Ex ic op is IIC T4 Gc / II 3D Ex ic op is IIIC T130°C Dc | II 3G Ex ic IIC T4 Gc / II 3D Ex ic IIIC T135°C Dc |
| ATEX certificate | Not published | EPS 25 ATEX 1 002 X |
| IECEx marking | Ex ic op is IIC T4 Gc / Ex ic op is IIIC T130°C Dc | Ex ic IIC T4 Gc / Ex ic IIIC T135°C Dc |
| IECEx certificate | IECEx EPS 25.0039X (Issue 0, 2026-01-28, model "ZX80-Exc")Unconfirmed, see note 1 | IECEx EPS 25.0002X (issue 0, 2025-03-31 |
| Other approvals | MIL-STD-810H; Android Enterprise Recommended | IA South Africa, KCs |
| North America | Not in our data | NEC 500: Class I Div 2 Groups A, B, C, D T4; Class II Div 2 Groups F, G 155 °C; Class III |
| Protection level (EPL) | Gc / Dc | Gc / Dc |
| Dust group | IIIC | IIIC |
| Max surface temperature (dust) | 130 °C | 135 °C |
| Safe use | ||
| Ambient temperature (Ta) | −21 °C to +55 °C | −20 °C to +55 °C |
| Charging | Outside the hazardous area only | Yes |
| Battery swap | Outside the hazardous area only | Outside the hazardous area only |
| Ports and accessories in the zone | All connection interfaces (USB, Thunderbolt, DC-in, docking connector, LAN, serial) must never be used in hazardous areas (certificate condition). Optional internal modules named in the certificate are covered as part of the certified tablet. USB-C, microSD and SIM tray barred from hazardous areas. | USB-C and 16-pin ISM covers closed in Ex areas; the 12-pin dock interface may stay open and the IS-DS940.1 dock or approved accessories may be connected there. 16-pin ISM accessories only outside Ex areas unless listed as approved for Ex-area use (headset, PTT button). |
| Certified accessories | Named in the IECEx certificate: hand strap, shoulder strap, digitizer pen and tether. Anti-static screen film for hazardous use. Rotating hand strap with kickstand and vehicle cradle (datasheet) are not named in the certificate. NOT for hazardous areas: 65 W USB-C adapter, vehicle adapter, chargers, batteries (replace in non-hazardous areas only).Unconfirmed, see note 2 | As IS-940.1: IS-HS2A.1, IS-PTTB1A.1, IS-HDHS1x.1 headsets, IS-DS940.1 dock, multi charger, leather cases, vehicle mount. |
| Operating temperature | −21 °C to +55 °C (standard ZX80: −29 to +63) | −20 °C to +55 °C |
| Conditions of use | Ambient −21 to +55 °C. Protect from excessive UV light and mechanical impact (reduced-height impact test). Connection interfaces never used in hazardous areas. Battery never changed, charged or removed in hazardous areas. Not next to strong charge-generating processes. Use only battery BP1S1P4060B or BP1S1P4990B. | Battery may be replaced outside explosion hazardous areas only; protect against excessive UV light and high electrostatic charge; USB-C interface under IP cover opened only outside hazardous areas; 16-pin ISM interface closed with cover when not in use in hazardous areas; ambient −20 °C to +55 °C; charging temperature 0 °C to +45 °C (IECEx EPS 25.0002X). Safety instructions: only zones 2/22. |
| Device | ||
| Type | Rugged tablet, Ex version | Dedicated Ex tablet |
| Launched | 2026Unconfirmed, see note 3 | 2025Unconfirmed, see note 4 |
| Part numbers | Not in our data | Model M940A01; battery BPIS940A.2A per DoC |
| Operating system | Android 15 | Android 14 |
| Edition | Android 15.0 | Android 14 |
| OS upgrades | At least three Android versions per generation (Getac, device dependent)Unconfirmed, see note 5 | Not in our data |
| Security updates | Until February 2029Unconfirmed, see note 6 | Until Q4 2032 |
| Processor | Qualcomm QCS6490 octa-core 1.9 GHz (max 2.7 GHz), Adreno 643, Hexagon NPU 13 TOPS | Qualcomm QCM6490 octa-core (long-term support chipset) |
| Processor architecture | Arm | Arm |
| Memory (RAM) | 12 GB | 8 GB |
| Storage | 256 GB, microSD | 128 GB, microSD supported |
| Field capabilities | ||
| Push-to-talk | Not in our data | Via accessory (IS-PTTB1A.1 PTT button on the 16-pin ISM interface; Ex-rated? yes) and PTT app |
| Emergency / SOS | Not in our data | Built in (freely programmable red key, e.g. SOS / lone worker) |
| Lone worker | Not in our data | Via app (red key assigned to a lone-worker application; third-party app) |
| Barcode scanning | Built in (optional 1D/2D imager) | Via app (50 MP camera-based; no dedicated scan engine listed) |
| NFC reading | Built in (optional NFC) | Built in (NFC) |
| 3D scanning / LiDAR | Not in our data | Not possible (no depth sensor listed) |
| Remote expert / video calls | Via app (16 MP rear, 8 MP front) | Via app (front and rear cameras, Wi-Fi 6 / 5G; third-party app) |
| Windows desktop software | Not possible (Android) | Not possible (Android) |
| Display and camera | ||
| Display | 8-inch TFT LCD wide viewing angle; Ex model has 0.6 mm thicker glass per ZX80W-EX press release | 10.1-inch Corning Gorilla Glass V3 (3rd generation), usable with gloves |
| Resolution | 1920 × 1200 (WUXGA) | 1200 × 1920 |
| Brightness | 1000 nits | Not in our data |
| Outdoor readability | Getac sunlight-readable | Not in our data |
| Touch | Dual-mode touch (multi-touch and digitizer) | Usable with gloves (maker); wet-touch not stated |
| Pen / stylus | Digitizer pen | Passive stylus available as accessory (IS-Stylus Set, 'stylus for operating touch screens'); not in the box |
| Rear camera | 16 MP autofocus | 50 MP autofocus |
| Front camera | 8 MP | 5 MP fixed focus |
| Connectivity | ||
| Network | Wi-Fi 6E; optional 4G LTE, 5G Sub-6, dual SIM with eSIM | 5G NR and 4G LTE |
| Wi-Fi | Wi-Fi 6E 802.11ax | Wi-Fi 6 (802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/e/k/r/ax/v) with hotspot |
| Bluetooth | Bluetooth 5.2 | Bluetooth 5.2 |
| NFC | Optional (13.56 MHz) | Yes |
| Satellite positioning | Optional dedicated GPS (GPS, GLONASS, Galileo, BeiDou; US, UK, EU, AU, NZ only) | GPS, A-GPS, Glonass, A-Glonass, Beidou, Galileo |
| SIM | Nano-SIM 4FF, eSIM optional | Nano-SIM + eSIM (dual SIM) |
| Physical and power | ||
| Weight | 780 g | 1059 g |
| Dimensions | 243.2 × 165.1 × 23.1 mm | 266.0 × 168.6 × 19.5 mm |
| Ingress protection | IP67 | IP68 |
| Ruggedness | MIL-STD-810H; 1.8 m (6 ft) drop | MIL-STD-810H |
| Battery | Internal typical 4060 (min 3950), 3.86 V; optional second battery 4990 typical | 8160 |
| Battery energy | Not in our data | 30.2Unconfirmed, see note 7 |
| Hot-swap battery | Internal battery plus optional swappable 4990 mAh battery; hot-swap not stated for the Ex datasheet | Not in our data |
| Replaceable battery | Yes | Yes |
| Ports and expansion | USB 3.2 Gen1 Type-C (DP, PD), microSD (or hybrid nano-SIM tray + microSD), audio combo; optional 1D/2D barcode imager, NFC; all barred from hazardous areas | USB-C; 12-pin docking interface; 16-pin ISM interface (audio/PTT accessories; the page text also calls it '13-pin'); nano-SIM + eSIM; microSD |
| Docking | Vehicle cradle (accessory) | IS-DS940.1 docking station (VESA 100; charging in Ex area); IS-MC930.1 six-bay multi charger; vehicle mount |
| Keyboard | Tablet only | No (slate) |
| Controls & Accessibility | ||
| Keys | Power + 3 programmable buttons | Freely programmable red key (e.g. lone worker / SOS); additional programmable side buttons |
| Push-to-talk key | No | No |
| Glove touch | Not in our data | Yes |
| Fleet and support | ||
| Manufacturer | Getac Technology Corporation, Taiwan | i.safe MOBILE GmbH, Germany |
Only values we could check are listed; “Not in our data” means we have not verified it, not that the tablet lacks it. A numbered marker means a value is unconfirmed, and the matching note at the foot of the page explains why. Prices are on request for both.
Keep researching
Impartial advice
Both tablets are certified for Zone 2/22 at IIC T4 and run Android, so the choice comes down to weight and screen size, the certificates your site needs and whether crews charge in the zone. Tell us about your sites and we will help you choose impartially.
FAQ
Neither is better across the board. The Getac ZX80-EX is the lighter 8-inch tablet, at 780 g, with an optional built-in imager and a 1,000-nit screen. The i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 is the 10.1-inch tablet with a published ATEX certificate, a North American Division 2 listing, in-zone charging and a stated support date to Q4 2032. Both are certified for Zone 2/22 only.
No. Both are intrinsically safe (Ex ic) and certified to protection level Gc, which covers Zone 2 only. Zone 1 needs a tablet certified to Gb or higher, such as the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1, the Zone 1 sibling of the i.safe MOBILE IS940.2.
Only the i.safe MOBILE IS940.2, within its certificate’s limits and a charging range of 0 °C to +45 °C, for example on its IS-DS940.1 dock. The Getac ZX80-EX must be charged outside the hazardous area, and its battery is changed outside too.
The Getac ZX80-EX, at 780 g against 1,059 g for the i.safe MOBILE IS940.2, a gap of 279 g.
The Getac ZX80-EX lists an optional built-in 1D/2D imager, so order the version that has it. The i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 lists no dedicated scan engine and scans through its 50 MP camera with an app.
The i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 holds ATEX certificate EPS 25 ATEX 1 002 X. Getac states ATEX certification for the Getac ZX80-EX, but the certificate is not published, so we cannot verify it. Both hold published IECEx certificates.
Prices depend on volume, configuration and region, so both are on request. Contact us for a price.
Facts last verified on against certificates, declarations of conformity and manufacturer data. The sources for each tablet are listed on its page: Getac ZX80-EX and i.safe MOBILE IS940.2. Always check the certificate for your exact model before use. Spotted an error? Tell us.