Compare · Android or Windows for Zone 2

ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 vs Getac F110-EX G7

These two tablets do different jobs. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 is an 8-inch Android tablet, and the Getac F110-EX G7 is an 11.6-inch Windows 11 Pro tablet on a 13th-generation Intel Core processor. Both are intrinsically safe (Ex ic), certified for Zone 2/22 in gas group IIC, and neither allows USB in the hazardous area. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 is rated T5 against T4 and publishes ATEX and IECEx certificates, while our data has an IECEx certificate only for the Getac F110-EX G7. The Getac is certified to +60 °C and has a replaceable, hot-swappable battery. Here is how they compare, and which we would choose for which team.

Our verdict

Which should you choose?

Start with the software. If your crews run Windows applications or need a large screen for drawings and work packs in Zone 2, only the Getac F110-EX G7 fits, and it brings a replaceable battery and a ceiling of +60 °C. If they work on Android with a pen, scan with a certified accessory, need a published ATEX certificate or have gases that ignite between 100 °C and 135 °C, we would choose the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2. Neither is certified for Zone 1.

Choose the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 if…

  • Your hazardous-area study includes gases that ignite between 100 °C and 135 °C: it is rated T5 (100 °C) and T85 °C for dust, against T4 and T130 °C for the Getac F110-EX G7.
  • Your site or client needs a published ATEX certificate: ecom lists EPS 24 ATEX 1 257 X, while Getac states ATEX certification for the Getac F110-EX G7 but the certificate isn’t published.
  • You work under North American rules: the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 has an SGS listing for Class I and II Division 2 and Class III at T5, and our data has no North American listing for the Getac F110-EX G7.
  • Your crews use a headset in the zone: its 3.5 mm audio port may be used with matching intrinsically safe audio equipment such as the ecom HS-Ex 01 J, while the Getac F110-EX G7’s certificate bars every connection interface in the hazardous area.
  • Your site restricts cameras: a camera-free version of the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 is available, and our data does not confirm one for the Getac F110-EX G7.
ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 in full

Choose the Getac F110-EX G7 if…

  • Your crews run desktop Windows software in the zone: it runs Windows 11 Pro on an x86 Intel Core i5 or i7 with 16 GB of RAM (32 GB optional), where the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 is Android only.
  • You read drawings and work packs on site: its screen is 11.6 inches at 1,920 × 1,080 and 1,200 nits, against 8 inches at 600 nits.
  • Your crews work shifts longer than a battery: its batteries are user-replaceable with hot swap (Getac’s “LifeSupport”), changed outside the hazardous area, while the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2’s battery is not user-replaceable.
  • Your sites run hot: it is certified from −21 °C to +60 °C ambient, against −20 °C to +55 °C for the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2.
  • Your team scans labels and tags all shift: it offers a built-in 1D/2D imager and an HF RFID reader as options, where the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 scans with a wireless accessory or its camera.
Getac F110-EX G7 in full

Key differences

Where they differ

  • Temperature class

    ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2
    T5 (≤ 100 °C)
    Getac F110-EX G7
    T4 (≤ 135 °C)

    T5 keeps the surface at or below 100 °C and T4 at or below 135 °C. T4 is fine for most gases but not those that ignite below 135 °C, so check the ignition temperatures of your substances against the class before anything else.

  • ATEX certificate

    ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2
    EPS 24 ATEX 1 257 X
    Getac F110-EX G7
    Not published

    ecom publishes ATEX certificate EPS 24 ATEX 1 257 X for the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2. For the Getac F110-EX G7, Getac states ATEX certification but the certificate isn’t published, and our data holds an IECEx certificate only. If your site works under ATEX, ask Getac for the certificate before you buy.

  • Windows or Android

    ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2
    Not possible (Android; Samsung DeX gives a desktop-style Android UI)
    Getac F110-EX G7
    Built in (Windows 11 Pro, x86)

    The Getac F110-EX G7 runs Windows 11 Pro on an x86 processor, so desktop Windows software can run on it. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 is Android: Samsung DeX gives a desktop-style Android interface, not Windows software.

  • User-replaceable battery

    ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2
    No
    Getac F110-EX G7
    Yes

    The Getac F110-EX G7’s batteries are user-replaceable and hot-swappable, changed outside the hazardous area only. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2’s is not user-replaceable. ecom quotes up to 14 hours, and our data has no battery-life figure for Getac, so we do not compare runtime.

In the field

Head to head, by kind of work

Gas coverage and certification

Edge: ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2

Both tablets are certified at protection level Gc/Dc for gas group IIC and dust group IIIC, and both are intrinsically safe (Ex ic). The temperature class separates them. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 is T5, with maximum surface temperatures of 100 °C for gas and 85 °C for dust. The Getac F110-EX G7 is T4 and 130 °C for dust, and its marking adds “op is” for inherently safe optical radiation. T4 is fine for most gases, but not those that ignite below 135 °C. The Getac’s ambient range is −21 °C to +60 °C, against −20 °C to +55 °C for ecom. Neither is for Zone 1.

The paperwork differs too. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 has ATEX and IECEx certificates with published numbers and an SGS North American listing, at T5, with an ambient limit of +50 °C and dust group IIIB under the NEC and CEC. The Getac F110-EX G7 has IECEx EPS 21.0079X, issue 2, which names the model “F110-Exc” without the generation, so the match to the G7 is ours and unconfirmed. Getac also states ATEX, but the certificate isn’t published, and our data has no North American listing for it.

Operating system and performance

Edge: Getac F110-EX G7

The Getac F110-EX G7 is a Windows tablet. It runs Windows 11 Pro, though the maker does not state the edition year, on a 13th-generation Intel Core i5 or i7 with 16 GB of DDR5 memory (32 GB optional) and a 256 GB NVMe SSD, with options up to 2,000 GB. Windows 11 is supported while it is kept on a current version, under Microsoft’s Modern Lifecycle, and our data gives no end date. For crews who need desktop software, that settles the choice.

The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 is an Android tablet with a Samsung Exynos 1380, 6 GB of RAM and 128 GB of storage, with a microSD slot up to 1 TB. It is Android Enterprise Recommended and runs Samsung Knox 3.10. ecom states security updates until 2032, a date our data flags as unconfirmed, and our data lists Android 16 from a single source. It has 5G Sub-6 and 4G LTE, with a Wi-Fi-only version also available. The Getac has Wi-Fi 6E, with optional 4G LTE or 5G Sub-6.

Screen, camera and weight

Even

The Getac F110-EX G7 has an 11.6-inch optically bonded screen at 1,920 × 1,080 and 1,200 nits, with a dual-mode touchscreen and a digitizer pen. It weighs 1,680 g. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 has an 8-inch, 1920 × 1200 screen at up to 600 nits, with glove touch, wet-hands operation and a pressure-sensitive S Pen included. Its 595 g comes from a single source and ecom’s own figures vary, so we make no weight comparison. Glove and wet touch are not in our data for the Getac, which means unverified, not absent.

On cameras, the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 has a 13 MP autofocus rear camera with 8x digital zoom and a 5 MP front camera, and lists 4K video at 30 fps. The Getac F110-EX G7 has an 8 MP autofocus rear camera and a 5 MP front webcam, with an optional Windows Hello camera. Our data has no video figure for Getac. ecom rates its tablet IP68 and the Getac is IP66. Our data has no IP code in the ecom Ex certificate, so IP68 is ecom’s own rating.

Battery, charging and scanning in the zone

Edge: Getac F110-EX G7

Neither tablet may be charged in the hazardous area. The Getac F110-EX G7 uses user-replaceable batteries, 2 × 2,680 mAh as standard with a 2 × 4,200 mAh option, and Getac’s LifeSupport technology allows hot swaps, in non-hazardous areas only. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2’s 5,050 mAh battery is not user-replaceable. ecom quotes up to 14 hours, and our data has no battery-life figure for Getac, so we cannot compare runtime. Our data does not state hot swap for ecom.

In the zone, the Getac’s certificate bars every connection interface: USB, Thunderbolt, DC-in, docking, LAN and serial. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 allows no wired connection in the Ex area either, but its 3.5 mm audio port may be used with matching intrinsically safe audio equipment such as the ecom HS-Ex 01 J. For scanning, the Getac offers a built-in 1D/2D imager and an HF RFID reader as factory options. The certificate covers the optional internal modules it names, so confirm that the options you order are among them. ecom’s Ident-Ex 02 wireless scanner is Ex-rated.

Specifications

Full specifications side by side

ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 vs Getac F110-EX G7: full specifications
ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2Getac F110-EX G7
Ex rating
Certified forZone 2/22Zone 2/22
ProtectionIntrinsic safety (Ex ic)Intrinsic safety (Ex ic) with inherently safe optical radiation (op is)
Gas groupIICIIC
Temperature classT5 (≤ 100 °C)T4 (≤ 135 °C)
Certification
ATEX markingII 3G Ex ic IIC T5 Gc / II 3D Ex ic IIIC T85°C DcII 3G Ex ic op is IIC T4 Gc / II 3D Ex ic op is IIIC T130°C Dc
ATEX certificateEPS 24 ATEX 1 257 XNot published
IECEx markingEx ic IIC T5 Gc / Ex ic IIIC T85°C DcEx ic op is IIC T4 Gc / Ex ic op is IIIC T130°C Dc
IECEx certificateIECEx EPS 24.0090X (Issue 0, 2025-02-06)IECEx EPS 21.0079X (Issue 2, 2025-01-31, model "F110-Exc")Unconfirmed, see note 1
Other approvalsKC Korea 25-KA4BO-0563X and 25-KA4BO-0564X (ecom files CERT-8026/8027); Inmetro Brazil TÜV 25.0337 X (CERT-7867); IA/MASC South Africa MASC S/25-8053XMIL-STD-810H (third-party lab per datasheet)
North AmericaSGS certificate SGSNA/25/SUW/00031X (ecom file CERT-B178A, effective 2025-05-24; covers DZ2 and D2): Class I and II, Division 2, Class III, Division 1 & 2, Groups A-D, F and G, T5; Zone 2 Group IIC T5; Zone 22 Group IIIB T100°C; −20 °C ≤ Ta ≤ 50 °C. Under NEC/CEC the limits are Ta +50 °C and dust group IIIB, not +55 °C / IIIC as under ATEX/IECEx. Charging under the SGS certificate only at −5 °C to +45 °C (ATEX/IECEx: −5 °C to +55 °C).Not in our data
Protection level (EPL)Gc / DcGc / Dc
Dust groupIIICIIIC
Max surface temperature (dust)85 °C130 °C
Safe use
Ambient temperature (Ta)−20 °C to +55 °C−21 °C to +60 °C
ChargingOutside the hazardous area onlyOutside the hazardous area only
Battery swapOutside the hazardous area onlyOutside the hazardous area only
Ports and accessories in the zoneNo wired connections in the Ex area (USB-C, POGO keyboard port). The 3.5 mm audio port may be used with intrinsically safe audio equipment matching its entity parameters (e.g. ecom HS-Ex 01 J).All connection interfaces (USB, Thunderbolt, DC-in, docking connector, LAN, serial) must never be used in hazardous areas (certificate condition). Optional internal modules named in the certificate are covered as part of the certified tablet. SIM and spare main storage (SSD canister) are replaceable in non-hazardous areas only.
Certified accessoriesNamed in the certificate: S Pen ST T05 X2, leather case LC T05 X2, chest harness CH T05 X2, hand strap HA T05 X2R, belt clip BC T01, carrying strap CS T05, stylus tether ST 01. The HS-Ex 01 J in-ear headset has its own IECEx certificate (EPS 25.0070X, Current) for the audio port. Lite Cradle, DC T01 X2 desktop charger, passive holder, screen protector and microSD card are not named in the certificate; chargers and cradles are for use outside the hazardous area only.Named in the IECEx certificate as usable with the tablet: shoulder strap, hand strap, 4-point shoulder harness, capacitive hard-tip stylus and tether, digitizer pen and tether. Anti-static screen protection film (Getac accessory made for hazardous use). Hard handle (factory option, datasheet) is NOT named in the certificate accessory list. Keyboard: none offered for F110-EX. NOT for hazardous areas (Getac accessory brochure): AC adapters, multi-bay and external chargers, spare batteries (replace in non-hazardous areas only). DS100 USB-C docking station (datasheet option) is not an Ex-listed accessory.Unconfirmed, see note 2
Operating temperature−20 °C to +55 °C−21 °C to +60 °C (standard F110: −29 to +63)
Conditions of useIECEx X conditions: use where the risk of mechanical hazards is low; not near processes generating high electrostatic charges; the Ex-protective case must be correctly fitted before entering hazardous areas; battery pack and SIM/SD replacement only in ordinary areas; wired connections via USB-C or POGO pins only in ordinary areas; charge only at −5 °C to +55 °C, only from non-shock-hazard supplies (SELV/PELV/ES1) with Um 16 V max, 3.2 A max; repairs by manufacturer or authorised centre. Audio port has intrinsic-safety entity parameters (Uo 3 V, Io 250 mA).Use only in a controlled environment with suitably reduced pollution. Protect from impacts with high impact energy, high electrostatic charge generating processes and excessive UV light. Connection interfaces never used in hazardous areas. Battery never changed, charged or removed in hazardous areas. Use only Li-ion battery BP3S1P2680B or BP3S2P2100S-02.
Device
TypeDedicated Ex tabletRugged tablet, Ex version
Launched2025Not in our data
Part numbersTAB-EX05-DZ2-* (datasheet t221646; WiFi and WWAN types)Not in our data
Operating systemAndroid 16Unconfirmed, see note 3Windows 11 Pro
EditionAndroid (Samsung One UI); Android Enterprise Recommended, Samsung Knox 3.10Windows 11 ProUnconfirmed, see note 4
OS at launchAndroid 14Not in our data
OS upgradesAndroid 22 (ecom claim)Unconfirmed, see note 3Not in our data
Security updatesUntil Q1 2032Unconfirmed, see note 5Supported while kept on a current Windows 11 version
ProcessorSamsung Exynos 1380 (S5E8835) octa-core, 4 x 2.4 GHz + 4 x 2.0 GHz, 5 nmIntel Core i5-1335U / i5-1345U vPro / i7-1355U / i7-1365U vPro (13th gen)
Processor architectureArmx86
Memory (RAM)6 GB16 (option 32), DDR5
Storage128 GB, microSD up to 1 TB256 GB PCIe NVMe SSD (options 512 GB, 1000 GB, 2000 GB)
Field capabilities
Push-to-talkVia app (programmable function key assignable to PTT, per ecom)Not in our data
Emergency / SOSBuilt in (freely programmable function key, e.g. emergency call or alarm)Not in our data
Lone workerVia app (key assigned to alarm/emergency; third-party or ecom lone-worker solution)Not in our data
Barcode scanningVia accessory (ecom Ident-Ex 02 wireless 1D/2D scanner; Ex-rated? yes) or camera-based via appBuilt in (optional integrated 1D/2D imager, factory option)
RFIDNot in our dataBuilt in (optional HF RFID reader, 13.56 MHz)
NFC readingBuilt in (NFC)Built in (via optional HF RFID reader: ISO 14443, Mifare, FeliCa)
3D scanning / LiDARNot possible (no depth sensor listed)Not in our data
Remote expert / video callsVia app (front and rear cameras, Google ARCore ready; ecom promotes remote-support use)Via app (5 MP front and 8 MP rear camera; Windows)
Windows desktop softwareNot possible (Android; Samsung DeX gives a desktop-style Android UI)Built in (Windows 11 Pro, x86)
Display and camera
Display8-inch TFT, capacitive multitouch, 60 Hz / adaptive up to 120 Hz; Corning Gorilla Glass 3 (DZ1/DZ2), Gorilla Glass 5 (D2)11.6-inch TFT LCD, wide viewing angle, LumiBond optically bonded
Resolution1920 × 1200 (WUXGA), 283 ppi, 16:101920 × 1080 (FHD)
Brightness600 nits1200 nits
Outdoor readabilityMaker claims optimum readability in direct sunlight (600 nits max)Getac sunlight-readable display, 1,200 nits
TouchYes: glove touch and wet-hands operation (maker)Dual-mode touchscreen (multi-touch and digitizer); glove/wet mode not stated in datasheet
Pen / stylusSamsung S Pen included (pressure sensitive), with Tab-Ex S Pen holderYes, digitizer pen with tether (dual-mode touch)
Rear camera13 MP autofocus, 8x digital zoom (camera-free version available)8 MP autofocus
Front camera5 MP5 MP webcam, or optional 5 MP Windows Hello camera
VideoUHD 4K (3840 x 2160) at 30 fpsNot in our data
Connectivity
Network5G Sub-6 and 4G LTE; Wi-Fi-only version also availableWi-Fi; optional 4G LTE, 5G Sub-6
Wi-FiWi-Fi 6 (802.11 a/b/g, Wi-Fi 4/5/6 2.4 + 5 GHz)Intel Wi-Fi 6E AX211
BluetoothBluetooth 5.3Bluetooth 5.3
NFCYesOptional HF RFID reader (13.56 MHz, ISO 15693, 14443 A/B, Mifare, FeliCa)
Satellite positioningGPS, Glonass, Beidou, GalileoOptional dedicated GPS with L1/L5, or via 4G/5G module
SIMNano-SIM and eSIM (optional)Micro-SIM (3FF), optional dual SIM with eSIM
Physical and power
Weight595 gUnconfirmed, see note 61680 g
Dimensions131.8 × 228.4 × 14.5 (W × H × D) mmUnconfirmed, see note 7314 × 224 × 25.3 mm
Ingress protectionIP68 (EN/IEC 60529)IP66
RuggednessMIL-STD-810HMIL-STD-810H; 1.2 m (4 ft) drop in use
Battery5050 (typical)2 x 2680 typical (2 x 2640 min), 11.4 V; optional 2 x 4200 typical (4080 min), 11.1 V
Battery energy18.87 (typical)Not in our data
Battery lifeUp to 14 hNot in our data
Hot-swap batteryNot in our dataYes, "LifeSupport battery swappable technology" (non-hazardous areas only)
Replaceable batteryNoYes
Ports and expansionUSB 2.0 Type-C; 3.5 mm audio jack and POGO pins on DZ2; microSD; nano-SIM / eSIMThunderbolt 4 Type-C x1, USB 3.2 Gen2 Type-A x1, DC-in, audio combo; top slot: 1D/2D barcode or serial + LAN; right slot: HF RFID or fingerprint reader; smart card reader (back); micro-SIM; all ports barred from hazardous areas
DockingDZ2: Lite Cradle, DC T01 X2 desktop charger, passive holder with tilt/swivel (ordinary areas)Getac DS100 USB-C docking station (non-hazardous areas)
KeyboardNo keyboard; wireless DeX with Bluetooth keyboard/mouse; POGO keyboard-dock port on DZ2 (ordinary areas only)Tablet only in Ex configuration
Controls & Accessibility
KeysFunction key (programmable: PTT, emergency call, alarm) and Active buttonPower + 4 programmable buttons
Push-to-talk keyYesNo
Glove touchYesNot in our data
BiometricsFace recognition; fingerprint only on the D2 modelOptional fingerprint reader, optional Windows Hello face camera
Fleet and support
Preinstalled appsNot in our dataGetac Utility, Camera, Geolocation, Barcode Manager, KeyWedge Barcode Reader Utility (trial)
Manufacturerecom instruments (Pepperl+Fuchs), GermanyGetac Technology Corporation, Taiwan

Only values we could check are listed; “Not in our data” means we have not verified it, not that the tablet lacks it. A numbered marker means a value is unconfirmed, and the matching note at the foot of the page explains why. Prices are on request for both.

Impartial advice

Still deciding between the two?

Both tablets are certified for Zone 2/22 in gas group IIC, so the choice comes down to Windows or Android, your gases and the certificates your site requires. Tell us about your sites and we will help you choose impartially.

FAQ

Common questions

Is the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 better than the Getac F110-EX G7?

Neither is better across the board, because they do different jobs. The Getac F110-EX G7 is the choice for Windows software, an 11.6-inch screen and a replaceable battery. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 suits Android teams, sites with gases that need T5 and sites that need a published ATEX certificate. Both are certified for Zone 2/22.

Which tablet should I choose if my crews need Windows?

The Getac F110-EX G7. It runs Windows 11 Pro on an x86 Intel Core processor. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 is an Android tablet and cannot run desktop Windows software.

Is the Getac F110-EX G7 ATEX certified?

Getac states ATEX certification, but the certificate isn’t published. Our data holds IECEx EPS 21.0079X, which names the model “F110-Exc”, and the match to this generation is ours. The ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 has published ATEX and IECEx certificates.

Can either tablet be used in Zone 1?

No. Both are certified to protection level Gc, which covers Zone 2 only. The Zone 1 step up in ecom’s range is the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1.

Can you charge either tablet in the hazardous area?

No. Both must be charged outside it, and batteries are changed outside it too. The Getac F110-EX G7’s batteries are user-replaceable and hot-swappable, and the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2’s battery is not user-replaceable.

Are both tablets approved for North America?

Our data lists a North American certificate for the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 only: an SGS listing for Class I and II Division 2 and Class III at T5, with the ambient limited to +50 °C. It lists none for the Getac F110-EX G7, which means unverified, so ask Getac if you need one.

How much do the ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 and Getac F110-EX G7 cost?

Prices depend on volume, configuration and region, so both are on request. Contact us for a price.

Notes on unconfirmed values

  1. Getac F110-EX G7: Getac's certificate names the model with a 'c' suffix and doesn't name the generation. We matched it to this generation by its batteries, dust group and ambient range.
  2. Getac F110-EX G7: Not checked against the certificate for this exact model.
  3. ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2: From a single or secondary source; the maker doesn't state it for this model.
  4. Getac F110-EX G7: The maker doesn't state the edition year.
  5. ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2: ecom states security updates until 2032, which matches Samsung's Enterprise Edition commitment.
  6. ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2: From a single source; the maker's figures vary.
  7. ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2: From a single source.

Facts last verified on against certificates, declarations of conformity and manufacturer data. The sources for each tablet are listed on its page: ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ2 and Getac F110-EX G7. Always check the certificate for your exact model before use. Spotted an error? Tell us.