Getac
Getac F110-EX G7
- Zone 2/22
- IIC T4
- ATEX + IECEx
Compare · Windows or Android for Zone 2
These two Zone 2 tablets do different jobs. The Getac F110-EX G7 is an 11.6-inch Windows 11 Pro tablet with a 13th-generation Intel Core processor and a 1,200-nit screen, at 1,680 g. The i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 is a 10.1-inch Android 14 tablet at 1,059 g, with 5G, security updates until Q4 2032, and a Class I Division 2 listing for North America. Both are intrinsically safe (Ex ic), IIC T4, certified for Zone 2/22 only. i.safe also allows the i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 to be charged inside the hazardous area. Here is how they compare, and which team should choose which.
Getac
i.safe MOBILE
Our verdict
They suit different work, so the pick depends on the software. We would choose the Getac F110-EX G7 for teams that need Windows desktop software and a large, bright screen, and for hot sites up to +60 °C. We would choose the i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 for Android fleets, for sites that need a published ATEX certificate or a North American Class I Division 2 listing, for crews who must charge in the zone, and for anyone carrying the tablet all shift: it weighs 621 g less.
Key differences
The i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 has a published ATEX certificate, EPS 25 ATEX 1 002 X. Getac states ATEX certification for the Getac F110-EX G7, but the certificate is not published, so we cannot verify it. Both have published IECEx certificates.
The i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 is listed for NEC 500 Class I Division 2 Groups A, B, C and D at T4, plus Class II Division 2 and Class III. Our data lists no North American listing for the Getac F110-EX G7. For a US or Canadian site, that can decide the choice.
The Getac F110-EX G7 runs Windows 11 Pro on an x86 Intel Core processor, so desktop software runs on it. The i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 runs Android 14 on an Arm chip. Check which your software needs first.
i.safe allows the i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 to be charged inside the hazardous area, within the certificate’s limits, at 0 °C to +45 °C. The Getac F110-EX G7 must be charged outside it. For crews on long shifts, that changes how a fleet is run.
In the field
Edge: i.safe MOBILE IS940.2
Both tablets are intrinsically safe (Ex ic), IIC T4, with protection levels Gc and Dc, certified for Zone 2/22 only. The Getac F110-EX G7 adds the “op is” marking for inherently safe optical radiation, with a dust surface temperature of 130 °C, against 135 °C for the i.safe MOBILE IS940.2. Both have a published IECEx certificate: IECEx EPS 21.0079X for the Getac F110-EX G7 and IECEx EPS 25.0002X for the i.safe MOBILE IS940.2. The Getac certificate names the model “F110-Exc” without the generation, which we matched to the G7 by its batteries, dust group and ambient range, so confirm the model with Getac.
The difference is in what else is published. i.safe lists ATEX certificate EPS 25 ATEX 1 002 X and a North American listing for the i.safe MOBILE IS940.2, plus IA (South Africa) and KCs (Korea) approvals. Getac states ATEX for the Getac F110-EX G7, but the certificate is not published, and our data lists no North American listing. If your paperwork needs an ATEX certificate or a Class I Division 2 listing on file, the i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 is the easier one to document.
Even
The Getac F110-EX G7 runs Windows 11 Pro on a 13th-generation Intel Core i5 or i7 with 16 GB of DDR5 memory (32 GB optional) and a 256 GB SSD, with options up to 2 TB. Windows 11 is supported under Microsoft’s Modern Lifecycle while kept on a current version. For engineers with desktop applications, that is the point of the tablet. The i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 runs Android 14 on a Qualcomm QCM6490, a long-term support chipset, with 8 GB of memory and 128 GB of storage, microSD supported. Windows desktop software is not possible on it.
For Android fleets the i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 has the clearer support position: i.safe states security updates until Q4 2032. On connectivity, it lists 5G NR and 4G LTE, Wi-Fi 6 and Bluetooth 5.2 with a dual SIM (nano-SIM and eSIM). The Getac F110-EX G7 has Wi-Fi 6E and Bluetooth 5.3, with optional 4G LTE, 5G Sub-6 and a dual SIM with eSIM, so order the cellular version you need.
Edge: Getac F110-EX G7
The Getac F110-EX G7 has an 11.6-inch, optically bonded screen at 1920 × 1080 and 1,200 nits, which Getac calls sunlight-readable, with a digitizer pen. The i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 has a 10.1-inch Gorilla Glass V3 screen at 1200 × 1920, usable with gloves; our data has no brightness figure for it, so its brightness is unverified. Our data does not confirm glove touch for the Getac F110-EX G7. The i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 lists a passive stylus as an accessory, not in the box.
For scanning, the Getac F110-EX G7 offers a factory 1D/2D imager and an HF RFID reader, while the i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 scans through its 50 MP camera with an app and lists no dedicated scan engine. The Getac F110-EX G7 is also certified to +60 °C ambient, against +55 °C, with −21 °C and −20 °C at the cold end. Hot sites, large screens and built-in scanning are where it earns its extra weight.
Edge: i.safe MOBILE IS940.2
The i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 weighs 1,059 g and the Getac F110-EX G7 1,680 g, a gap of 621 g. The i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 is IP68 against IP66, has a 50 MP autofocus rear camera against 8 MP, and both list a 5 MP front camera. Both list MIL-STD-810H: the Getac F110-EX G7 with a 1.2 m drop in use, the i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 without a drop height.
The i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 may be charged inside the hazardous area, within the certificate’s limits, at 0 °C to +45 °C, through its 12-pin dock interface with the IS-DS940.1 dock. Its battery is replaceable, but only outside the hazardous area, and the USB-C cover is opened only outside. The Getac F110-EX G7 charges and has its batteries swapped outside only, and no connection interface may be used in the zone. It does list hot-swap batteries, which the i.safe data does not. The i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 also has a red programmable key for SOS or lone working, and PTT through the Ex-rated IS-PTTB1A.1 button accessory. We do not compare runtime, since our data has no figure for either.
Specifications
Getac F110-EX G7 | i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 | |
|---|---|---|
| Ex rating | ||
| Certified for | Zone 2/22 | Zone 2/22 |
| Protection | Intrinsic safety (Ex ic) with inherently safe optical radiation (op is) | Intrinsic safety (Ex ic) |
| Gas group | IIC | IIC |
| Temperature class | T4 (≤ 135 °C) | T4 (≤ 135 °C) |
| Certification | ||
| ATEX marking | II 3G Ex ic op is IIC T4 Gc / II 3D Ex ic op is IIIC T130°C Dc | II 3G Ex ic IIC T4 Gc / II 3D Ex ic IIIC T135°C Dc |
| ATEX certificate | Not published | EPS 25 ATEX 1 002 X |
| IECEx marking | Ex ic op is IIC T4 Gc / Ex ic op is IIIC T130°C Dc | Ex ic IIC T4 Gc / Ex ic IIIC T135°C Dc |
| IECEx certificate | IECEx EPS 21.0079X (Issue 2, 2025-01-31, model "F110-Exc")Unconfirmed, see note 1 | IECEx EPS 25.0002X (issue 0, 2025-03-31 |
| Other approvals | MIL-STD-810H (third-party lab per datasheet) | IA South Africa, KCs |
| North America | Not in our data | NEC 500: Class I Div 2 Groups A, B, C, D T4; Class II Div 2 Groups F, G 155 °C; Class III |
| Protection level (EPL) | Gc / Dc | Gc / Dc |
| Dust group | IIIC | IIIC |
| Max surface temperature (dust) | 130 °C | 135 °C |
| Safe use | ||
| Ambient temperature (Ta) | −21 °C to +60 °C | −20 °C to +55 °C |
| Charging | Outside the hazardous area only | Yes |
| Battery swap | Outside the hazardous area only | Outside the hazardous area only |
| Ports and accessories in the zone | All connection interfaces (USB, Thunderbolt, DC-in, docking connector, LAN, serial) must never be used in hazardous areas (certificate condition). Optional internal modules named in the certificate are covered as part of the certified tablet. SIM and spare main storage (SSD canister) are replaceable in non-hazardous areas only. | USB-C and 16-pin ISM covers closed in Ex areas; the 12-pin dock interface may stay open and the IS-DS940.1 dock or approved accessories may be connected there. 16-pin ISM accessories only outside Ex areas unless listed as approved for Ex-area use (headset, PTT button). |
| Certified accessories | Named in the IECEx certificate as usable with the tablet: shoulder strap, hand strap, 4-point shoulder harness, capacitive hard-tip stylus and tether, digitizer pen and tether. Anti-static screen protection film (Getac accessory made for hazardous use). Hard handle (factory option, datasheet) is NOT named in the certificate accessory list. Keyboard: none offered for F110-EX. NOT for hazardous areas (Getac accessory brochure): AC adapters, multi-bay and external chargers, spare batteries (replace in non-hazardous areas only). DS100 USB-C docking station (datasheet option) is not an Ex-listed accessory.Unconfirmed, see note 2 | As IS-940.1: IS-HS2A.1, IS-PTTB1A.1, IS-HDHS1x.1 headsets, IS-DS940.1 dock, multi charger, leather cases, vehicle mount. |
| Operating temperature | −21 °C to +60 °C (standard F110: −29 to +63) | −20 °C to +55 °C |
| Conditions of use | Use only in a controlled environment with suitably reduced pollution. Protect from impacts with high impact energy, high electrostatic charge generating processes and excessive UV light. Connection interfaces never used in hazardous areas. Battery never changed, charged or removed in hazardous areas. Use only Li-ion battery BP3S1P2680B or BP3S2P2100S-02. | Battery may be replaced outside explosion hazardous areas only; protect against excessive UV light and high electrostatic charge; USB-C interface under IP cover opened only outside hazardous areas; 16-pin ISM interface closed with cover when not in use in hazardous areas; ambient −20 °C to +55 °C; charging temperature 0 °C to +45 °C (IECEx EPS 25.0002X). Safety instructions: only zones 2/22. |
| Device | ||
| Type | Rugged tablet, Ex version | Dedicated Ex tablet |
| Launched | Not in our data | 2025Unconfirmed, see note 3 |
| Part numbers | Not in our data | Model M940A01; battery BPIS940A.2A per DoC |
| Operating system | Windows 11 Pro | Android 14 |
| Edition | Windows 11 ProUnconfirmed, see note 4 | Android 14 |
| Security updates | Supported while kept on a current Windows 11 version | Until Q4 2032 |
| Processor | Intel Core i5-1335U / i5-1345U vPro / i7-1355U / i7-1365U vPro (13th gen) | Qualcomm QCM6490 octa-core (long-term support chipset) |
| Processor architecture | x86 | Arm |
| Memory (RAM) | 16 (option 32), DDR5 | 8 GB |
| Storage | 256 GB PCIe NVMe SSD (options 512 GB, 1000 GB, 2000 GB) | 128 GB, microSD supported |
| Field capabilities | ||
| Push-to-talk | Not in our data | Via accessory (IS-PTTB1A.1 PTT button on the 16-pin ISM interface; Ex-rated? yes) and PTT app |
| Emergency / SOS | Not in our data | Built in (freely programmable red key, e.g. SOS / lone worker) |
| Lone worker | Not in our data | Via app (red key assigned to a lone-worker application; third-party app) |
| Barcode scanning | Built in (optional integrated 1D/2D imager, factory option) | Via app (50 MP camera-based; no dedicated scan engine listed) |
| RFID | Built in (optional HF RFID reader, 13.56 MHz) | Not in our data |
| NFC reading | Built in (via optional HF RFID reader: ISO 14443, Mifare, FeliCa) | Built in (NFC) |
| 3D scanning / LiDAR | Not in our data | Not possible (no depth sensor listed) |
| Remote expert / video calls | Via app (5 MP front and 8 MP rear camera; Windows) | Via app (front and rear cameras, Wi-Fi 6 / 5G; third-party app) |
| Windows desktop software | Built in (Windows 11 Pro, x86) | Not possible (Android) |
| Display and camera | ||
| Display | 11.6-inch TFT LCD, wide viewing angle, LumiBond optically bonded | 10.1-inch Corning Gorilla Glass V3 (3rd generation), usable with gloves |
| Resolution | 1920 × 1080 (FHD) | 1200 × 1920 |
| Brightness | 1200 nits | Not in our data |
| Outdoor readability | Getac sunlight-readable display, 1,200 nits | Not in our data |
| Touch | Dual-mode touchscreen (multi-touch and digitizer); glove/wet mode not stated in datasheet | Usable with gloves (maker); wet-touch not stated |
| Pen / stylus | Yes, digitizer pen with tether (dual-mode touch) | Passive stylus available as accessory (IS-Stylus Set, 'stylus for operating touch screens'); not in the box |
| Rear camera | 8 MP autofocus | 50 MP autofocus |
| Front camera | 5 MP webcam, or optional 5 MP Windows Hello camera | 5 MP fixed focus |
| Connectivity | ||
| Network | Wi-Fi; optional 4G LTE, 5G Sub-6 | 5G NR and 4G LTE |
| Wi-Fi | Intel Wi-Fi 6E AX211 | Wi-Fi 6 (802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/e/k/r/ax/v) with hotspot |
| Bluetooth | Bluetooth 5.3 | Bluetooth 5.2 |
| NFC | Optional HF RFID reader (13.56 MHz, ISO 15693, 14443 A/B, Mifare, FeliCa) | Yes |
| Satellite positioning | Optional dedicated GPS with L1/L5, or via 4G/5G module | GPS, A-GPS, Glonass, A-Glonass, Beidou, Galileo |
| SIM | Micro-SIM (3FF), optional dual SIM with eSIM | Nano-SIM + eSIM (dual SIM) |
| Physical and power | ||
| Weight | 1680 g | 1059 g |
| Dimensions | 314 × 224 × 25.3 mm | 266.0 × 168.6 × 19.5 mm |
| Ingress protection | IP66 | IP68 |
| Ruggedness | MIL-STD-810H; 1.2 m (4 ft) drop in use | MIL-STD-810H |
| Battery | 2 x 2680 typical (2 x 2640 min), 11.4 V; optional 2 x 4200 typical (4080 min), 11.1 V | 8160 |
| Battery energy | Not in our data | 30.2Unconfirmed, see note 5 |
| Hot-swap battery | Yes, "LifeSupport battery swappable technology" (non-hazardous areas only) | Not in our data |
| Replaceable battery | Yes | Yes |
| Ports and expansion | Thunderbolt 4 Type-C x1, USB 3.2 Gen2 Type-A x1, DC-in, audio combo; top slot: 1D/2D barcode or serial + LAN; right slot: HF RFID or fingerprint reader; smart card reader (back); micro-SIM; all ports barred from hazardous areas | USB-C; 12-pin docking interface; 16-pin ISM interface (audio/PTT accessories; the page text also calls it '13-pin'); nano-SIM + eSIM; microSD |
| Docking | Getac DS100 USB-C docking station (non-hazardous areas) | IS-DS940.1 docking station (VESA 100; charging in Ex area); IS-MC930.1 six-bay multi charger; vehicle mount |
| Keyboard | Tablet only in Ex configuration | No (slate) |
| Controls & Accessibility | ||
| Keys | Power + 4 programmable buttons | Freely programmable red key (e.g. lone worker / SOS); additional programmable side buttons |
| Push-to-talk key | No | No |
| Glove touch | Not in our data | Yes |
| Biometrics | Optional fingerprint reader, optional Windows Hello face camera | Not in our data |
| Fleet and support | ||
| Preinstalled apps | Getac Utility, Camera, Geolocation, Barcode Manager, KeyWedge Barcode Reader Utility (trial) | Not in our data |
| Manufacturer | Getac Technology Corporation, Taiwan | i.safe MOBILE GmbH, Germany |
Only values we could check are listed; “Not in our data” means we have not verified it, not that the tablet lacks it. A numbered marker means a value is unconfirmed, and the matching note at the foot of the page explains why. Prices are on request for both.
Keep researching
Impartial advice
Both tablets are certified for Zone 2/22 at IIC T4, so the choice comes down to Windows or Android, the certificates your site needs and whether crews charge in the zone. Tell us about your sites and we will help you choose impartially.
FAQ
Neither is better across the board: one is Windows, the other Android. The Getac F110-EX G7 suits Windows software, a bright 11.6-inch screen and hot sites up to +60 °C. The i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 suits Android fleets, sites that need a published ATEX certificate or a North American Division 2 listing, in-zone charging and lighter carrying, at 1,059 g against 1,680 g.
No. Both are intrinsically safe (Ex ic) and certified to protection level Gc, which covers Zone 2 only. Zone 1 needs a tablet certified to Gb or higher, such as the i.safe MOBILE IS940.1, the Zone 1 sibling of the i.safe MOBILE IS940.2.
Only the i.safe MOBILE IS940.2, within its certificate’s limits and a charging range of 0 °C to +45 °C, for example on its IS-DS940.1 dock. The Getac F110-EX G7 must be charged outside the hazardous area, and its batteries are swapped outside too.
The i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 is listed for NEC 500 Class I Division 2 Groups A to D at T4, with Class II Division 2 and Class III. Our data lists no North American listing for the Getac F110-EX G7, which is not the same as saying it has none, so ask Getac.
The Getac F110-EX G7 runs Windows 11 Pro on x86. The i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 runs Android 14 on an Arm chip, and our data lists Windows desktop software as not possible on it.
The i.safe MOBILE IS940.2 holds ATEX certificate EPS 25 ATEX 1 002 X. Getac states ATEX certification for the Getac F110-EX G7, but the certificate is not published, so we cannot verify it. Both hold published IECEx certificates.
Prices depend on volume, configuration and region, so both are on request. Contact us for a price.
Facts last verified on against certificates, declarations of conformity and manufacturer data. The sources for each tablet are listed on its page: Getac F110-EX G7 and i.safe MOBILE IS940.2. Always check the certificate for your exact model before use. Spotted an error? Tell us.