
Atexxo · Converted tablet
Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 6
- Zone 1/21
- ATEX
- IECEx
- IIC
- T4
- Class I Division 2
The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 6 is a standard iPad mini (6th generation) converted by Atexxo for hazardous areas, certified for Zone 1/21 under ATEX and IECEx. It is a flameproof (Ex d) design, and the tablet runs iPadOS 27.
- Certified for
- Zone 1/21
- Protection
- Flameproof enclosure (Ex db)
- Screen
- 8.3-inch
- Temperature class
- T4 (≤ 135 °C)
- Ambient temperature
- −20 °C to +50 °C
- Operating system
- iPadOS 27
- Security updates
- Ended September 2026
- Weight
- 990 g
- Price
- On request
Overview
Strengths and limitations
Strengths
- ATEX and IECEx certified, with published certificate numbers
- Also certified for Class I Division 2 in North America
- 5G on cellular versions
- Camera-free version available for sites that restrict cameras
- A standard iPad mini (6th generation) inside, with the same apps and Apple device management
Limitations
- T4 temperature class: fine for most gases, but not those that ignite below 135 °C
- Dust group IIIA: combustible flyings only, not dusts
- Apple's minimum update period for this iPad has ended: for existing fleets only
- Not certified for Zone 0
Certification
Where you can use it
Gas
- Zone 0not certified.Explosive gas present continuously or for long periods
- Zone 1certified.Explosive gas likely in normal operation
- Zone 2certified.Explosive gas unlikely, and only briefly
Dust
- Zone 20not certified.Combustible dust present continuously or for long periods
- Zone 21certified.Combustible dust likely in normal operation
- Zone 22certified.Combustible dust unlikely, and only briefly
The Ex marking, decoded
Gas atmospheresZones 1 and 2
II2GExdbIICT4Gb
IIEquipment group- Group II: equipment for surface industries (not mining).
2GATEX category- Category 2 for gas: suitable down to Zone 1.
ExExplosion protected- Certified to the IEC 60079 / EN 60079 series.
dbProtection type- Flameproof enclosure: the housing is built to contain an ignition inside it and stop the flame reaching the atmosphere outside.
IICGas group- Gas group IIC, e.g. hydrogen and acetylene. The most demanding group; also covers IIA and IIB.
T4Temperature class- Surface stays below 135 °C. T6 is the strictest class.
GbProtection level- Equipment protection level Gb (high): suitable for Zone 1 and 2.
Dust atmospheresZones 21 and 22
II2DExtbIIIAT135°CDb
2DATEX category- Category 2 for dust: suitable down to Zone 21.
tbProtection type- Protection by enclosure for dust: the enclosure keeps dust out and its surface stays below the stated temperature.
IIIADust group- Dust group IIIA: combustible flyings.
T135°CMax surface temperature- Surface stays below 135°C in dust.
DbProtection level- Equipment protection level Db (high): suitable for Zone 21 and 22.
IIEx as above.
Gas atmospheresZones 1 and 2
ExdbIICT4Gb
ExExplosion protected- Certified to the IEC 60079 / EN 60079 series.
dbProtection type- Flameproof enclosure: the housing is built to contain an ignition inside it and stop the flame reaching the atmosphere outside.
IICGas group- Gas group IIC, e.g. hydrogen and acetylene. The most demanding group; also covers IIA and IIB.
T4Temperature class- Surface stays below 135 °C. T6 is the strictest class.
GbProtection level- Equipment protection level Gb (high): suitable for Zone 1 and 2.
Dust atmospheresZones 21 and 22
ExtbIIIAT135°CDb
tbProtection type- Protection by enclosure for dust: the enclosure keeps dust out and its surface stays below the stated temperature.
IIIADust group- Dust group IIIA: combustible flyings.
T135°CMax surface temperature- Surface stays below 135°C in dust.
DbProtection level- Equipment protection level Db (high): suitable for Zone 21 and 22.
Ex as above.
Versions
Marking versions
The certification covers more than one version: II 2G Ex db IIC T4 Gb | II 2D Ex tb IIIA T135°C Db; II 3D Ex tc IIIB T135°C Dc
Safe use
Rules for the hazardous area
- Ambient temperature (Ta)
- −20 °C to +50 °C
- Charging
- Outside the hazardous area only
- Battery swap
- Outside the hazardous area only
- Ports and accessories in the zone
- SIM and charging covers must be closed and screwed in place; opened only outside the hazardous area; charging only +10 to +45°C
- Certified accessories
- Shoulder strap for Zone 1 and Zone 2 phones and tablets (Atexxo product). Ex rating not stated separately.Unconfirmed, see note 1
- Operating temperature
- −20 °C to +50 °C
Conditions of use
ATEX EPS 22 ATEX 1 162 X rev. 3 and IECEx EPS 22.0020X issue 3: Ta −20°C to +50°C. Repair of flameproof joints not allowed (EN/IEC 60079-1 values). Minimum property class of screws A4-70; only original parts from the manufacturer. Glass window to be protected from impact energy above 2 J. Device shall not be opened in a hazardous location; battery charging only outside the hazardous location. Added by CSA 80152658 and INMETRO DNV 25.0026 X (not in the ATEX/IECEx text): SIM card cover and bottom cover opened only outside the hazardous location and kept screwed in place; charging only at +10°C to +45°C (CSA); check the enclosure and corner bumpers for damage before use in a hazardous area (INMETRO).
Specifications
Full specifications
Device specifications are for the iPad mini (6th generation) inside. “What works through the housing” shows which of its features you can use in the housing.
Certification
- ATEX marking
- II 2G Ex db IIC T4 Gb / II 2D Ex tb IIIA T135°C Db
- ATEX certificate
- EPS 22 ATEX 1 162 X
- IECEx marking
- Ex db IIC T4 Gb / Ex tb IIIA T135°C Db
- IECEx certificate
- IECEx EPS 22.0020X
- Other approvals
- INMETRO (Brazil) DNV 25.0026 X/00, revision 01 (2025-04-17; certificate first issued 2025-03-07), valid until 2028-11-16
- North America
- CSA 80152658 (NA certificate CSA23CA80152658X; original 2023-06-07 for the mini 6, updated 2025-05-05 to add the mini 7): Canada Ex db IIC T4 Gb; US Class I, Zone 1, AEx db IIC T4 Gb; Ta −20 to +50°C, charging +10 to +45°C. The certificate also allows the marking 'Class I, Division 2, Groups A, B, C & D, T4'. Gas only; no Class II/III (dust) rating.
- Protection level (EPL)
- Gb / Db
- Dust group
- IIIA
- Max surface temperature (dust)
- 135 °C
Device
- Type
- Converted tablet
- Tablet inside
- iPad mini (6th generation)
- Also fits
- iPad mini (A17 Pro)
- Fitting
- Supplied as a complete unit
- Tablet can be removed
- No (permanently converted: flameproof enclosure around the iPad, not to be opened in a hazardous location; bottom cover opened outside the Ex area only for charging and SIM)Unconfirmed, see note 2
- Launched
- 2022
- Part numbers
- EXd-TABLET-M6-64, -64-CEL, -256, -256-CEL (incl. iPad mini 6); EXd-TABLET-M6-64-CEL-BC (blocked cameras); EXd-TABLET-M6-* (customer iPad conversion)
- Operating system
- iPadOS 27
- Edition
- iPadOS (consumer; no LTSC or enterprise edition)
- OS at launch
- iPadOS 15
- OS upgrades
- Still supported by iPadOS 27 (current)
- Security updates
- Ended September 2026
- Processor
- Apple A15 Bionic (6-core CPU, 5-core GPU)
- Processor architecture
- Arm
- Memory (RAM)
- 4 GB
- Storage
- 64 GB, 256 GB
What works through the housing
- Face ID / Touch ID
- Touch ID (top-button fingerprint scanner) REMOVED
- Side and volume buttons
- Aluminium push buttons held by stainless retaining washers (3 buttons)
- Rear cameras
- Rear camera works (glass opening); '-BC' variants have blocked cameras
- Front camera
- Works (all original features preserved except as listed)Unconfirmed, see note 3
- Touchscreen
- Works through toughened glass front window
- Screen cover
- Toughened specialty glass front window (flameproof joint)
- Charging
- USB-C through the bottom cover (removed by the user to charge in a safe area; charging only outside the Ex area, +10 to +45°C)
- Speakers and microphones
- Preserved ('all features of the original product are preserved')Unconfirmed, see note 3
- USB-C port
- Via the removable bottom cover, outside the Ex area only
- SIM card
- Nano-SIM via the side cover (screwed), opened outside the Ex area only; page says 'self SIM-card installation and change'
- Removed or disabled
- Fingerprint scanner (Touch ID) removed; blocked-camera '-BC' variant available
Field capabilities
- Push-to-talk
- Via app (third-party PTT apps over Wi-Fi/cellular; no PTT key; Ex-rated? n/a)Unconfirmed, see note 4
- Lone worker
- Via app (third-party lone-worker apps)Unconfirmed, see note 4
- Barcode scanning
- Via app (camera-based scanning; no scan engine); not possible on the blocked-camera '-BC' variantUnconfirmed, see note 4
- NFC reading
- Not possible (no NFC reader on any iPad)Unconfirmed, see note 4
- 3D scanning / LiDAR
- Not possible (no LiDAR on this iPad)
- Remote expert / video calls
- Via app (FaceTime, Teams or remote-assist apps; needs camera and audio access through the case)Unconfirmed, see note 4
- Windows desktop software
- Not possible (iPadOS only)
- Bluetooth gas detectors
- Via app (Bluetooth 5.0; vendor app; no maker-certified integration listed)Unconfirmed, see note 4
Display and camera
- Display
- 8.3-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, P3, True Tone, antireflective coating
- Resolution
- 2266 × 1488 (326 ppi)
- Brightness
- 500 nits
- Pen / stylus
- Apple Pencil (2nd generation), Apple Pencil (USB-C); magnetic attach and charge (2nd gen)
- Rear camera
- 12 MP Wide, f/1.8
- Front camera
- 12 MP Ultra Wide, Center Stage
- Video
- 4K video
Connectivity
- Network
- Wi-Fi only or Wi-Fi + Cellular (5G)
- Wi-Fi
- Wi-Fi 6 (802.11ax)
- Bluetooth
- Bluetooth 5.0
- Satellite positioning
- GPS/GNSS on Wi-Fi + Cellular models; digital compass and Wi-Fi location on all
- SIM
- eSIM and Nano-SIM (cellular models)
Physical and power
- Weight
- 990 g (including the tablet)
- Dimensions
- 240 × 170 × 22 mm
- Battery
- 5034Unconfirmed, see note 5
- Battery energy
- 19.3
- Battery life
- Up to 10 hours web or video on Wi-Fi
- Hot-swap battery
- No
- Replaceable battery
- No
- Ports and expansion
- USB-C; magnetic Apple Pencil connector
- Docking
- USB-C hubs and docks; Smart Connector or magnetic keyboard accessories where the iPad has them. Not usable through sealed Ex cases except the USB-C or Lightning charging port where the case exposes it.
Controls & Accessibility
- Keys
- Top button with Touch ID sensor, volume buttons; no programmable hardware key
- Push-to-talk key
- No
- Biometrics
- Touch ID (top button)
Fleet and support
- Manufacturer
- Atexxo B.V., Netherlands
Only specifications we could check are listed. A numbered marker next to a value means it is unconfirmed: it comes from a single or secondary source, or sources disagree. The matching note at the foot of the page explains each one. See the Atexxo B.V. website for the full data sheet.
Compare
How it compares
Best in this comparison
AtexxoAtexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 6This tablet | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Type | Converted tablet | Certified Ex case | Certified Ex case | Certified Ex case |
| Screen size | 8.3-inch | 8.3-inch | 8.3-inch | 11-inch |
| Availability | Current | Current | Current | Current |
| Gas zones | Zone 1, Zone 2 | Zone 1, Zone 2 | Zone 1, Zone 2 | Zone 1, Zone 2 |
| Dust zones | Zone 21, Zone 22 | Zone 21, Zone 22 | — | Zone 21, Zone 22 |
| Protection | Flameproof enclosure (Ex db) | Flameproof enclosure (Ex db) | Flameproof enclosure (Ex db) | Flameproof enclosure (Ex db) |
| Gas group | IIC | IIC | IIB | IIC |
| Temperature class | T4 | T6 (best in this comparison) | T6 (best in this comparison) | T6 (best in this comparison) |
| Certification | ATEX + IECEx | ATEX + IECEx | ATEX + IECEx | ATEX |
| North America | Class I Division 2 | — | — | — |
| Ambient temperature | −20 °C to +50 °C | −20 °C to +40 °C (standard range: no Ta is marked on IECEx TPS 25.0016X, so IEC 60079-0 applies) | −20 °C to +50 °C | −20 °C to +45 °C |
| Charging in the Ex area | Not allowed | Not allowed | Not allowed | — |
| Operating system | iPadOS 27 | iPadOS 27 | iPadOS 27 | iPadOS 27 |
| Security updates | Ended September 2026 | At least until October 2029 (Apple's minimum) | Ended September 2026 | 7–8 years (based on previous iPad Pro support) (best in this comparison) |
| Weight | 990 g (best in this comparison) | 1396 g | 1350 g | 1350 g |
| Display | 8.3-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, P3, True Tone, antireflective coating | 8.3-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, P3, True Tone, fully laminated, antireflective coating | 8.3-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, P3, True Tone, antireflective coating | 11-inch Ultra Retina XDR tandem OLED, ProMotion 10-120 Hz, P3, True Tone, antireflective coating; nano-texture glass option on 1 and 2 TB |
| 5G | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Pen / stylus | Apple Pencil (2nd generation), Apple Pencil (USB-C); magnetic attach and charge (2nd gen) | Apple Pencil Pro, Apple Pencil (USB-C); hover | Apple Pencil (2nd generation), Apple Pencil (USB-C); magnetic attach and charge (2nd gen) | Apple Pencil Pro, Apple Pencil (USB-C); magnetic attach and charge, hover |
| Replaceable battery | No | No | No | No |
| Hot-swap battery | No | No | No | No |
| Price | On request | On request | On request | On request |
FAQ
Common questions
Is the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 6 certified for Zone 1?
Yes. The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 6 is certified for Zone 1/21 with the marking II 2G Ex db IIC T4 Gb. Equipment certified for Zone 1 can also be used in Zone 2.
Can the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 6 be used in Zone 0?
No. It is not certified for Zone 0. Zone 0 needs equipment with protection level Ga, such as Ex ia intrinsic safety.
What type of explosion protection does the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 6 use?
It uses a flameproof enclosure (Ex db), a form of explosion-proof protection. The housing is built to contain an ignition inside it and stop the flame reaching the surrounding atmosphere.
What does T4 mean for the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 6?
Its surface stays below 135 °C, so it is suitable for gases that only ignite above that temperature. Check the ignition temperature of the substances on your site.
Can you charge the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 6 in a hazardous area?
No. The certificate only allows charging outside the hazardous area.
Which tablet is inside the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 6?
A standard iPad mini (6th generation). It is also certified for the iPad mini (A17 Pro). A standard tablet that a specialist has modified and certified for hazardous areas.
Which ports and accessories can be used with the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 6 in the hazardous area?
SIM and charging covers must be closed and screwed in place; opened only outside the hazardous area; charging only +10 to +45°C
What operating system does the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 6 run?
iPadOS 27. Apple guarantees security updates until at least September 2026; earlier iPads have had longer support.
How much does the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 6 cost?
Prices for certified hazardous-area tablets depend on volume, configuration and region, so they are on request. Contact us for a price.
Notes on unconfirmed values
- Not checked against the certificate for this exact model. Return to note 1
- Not stated by the maker for this exact model. Return to note 2
- Inferred from related information; not stated by the maker for this exact model. Return to note 3
- Not confirmed by the maker for this exact model. Return to note 4
- Apple states battery capacity in watt-hours only; this figure is from the case maker's documents. Return to note 5
Sources and verification
Facts last verified on against:
- Bureau Veritas CPS Germany: EU-Type Examination Certificate EPS 22 ATEX 1 162 X, revision 3, 2025-04-01 (EXd-TABLET-M6 and M7), read from Atexxo PDF
- IECEx Certificate Database (Bureau Veritas CPS): IECEx EPS 22.0020X issue 3, 2025-04-01, Current
- DNV Business Assurance Brasil: INMETRO Certificate of Conformity DNV 25.0026 X/00, rev. 01, 2025-03-07
- CSA Group: Certificate of Compliance 80152658 (project 80243362), 2025-05-05
- Xciel: XCZ1 iPad Mini 6 datasheet (PDF)
- Atexxo: Explosion Proof iPad Mini 7 (Ex Zone 1) product page + flyer
- Atexxo: Explosion Proof iPad Mini 6 (Ex Zone 1) product page
- Apple: Identify your iPad model (model numbers, years)
- Apple: UK PSTI Statements of Compliance, one per model (regulatoryinfo.apple.com/ukpsti): first supply date and minimum 5-year defined support period
- Apple: iPadOS 27 compatibility list (apple.com/os/ipados)
- Atexxo: Explosion Proof iPad (A16) / (10.9) / Mini 6 / Mini 7 / Pro (Ex Zone 2) product pages and flyers
- BGR / EveryMac / 9to5Mac: iPadOS 27 drops iPad mini 5, iPad 8, iPad Air 3, iPad Pro 11-inch 1st gen (release 2026-09-14)
Always check the certificate for your exact model before use. Spotted an error? Tell us.

