
The Joy Factory · Certified Ex case
The Joy Factory aXtion Extreme iPad mini
- Zone 1/21
- ATEX
- IECEx
- IIC
- T6
The Joy Factory aXtion Extreme iPad mini is a flameproof (Ex d) case for the iPad mini (A17 Pro), certified for Zone 1/21 under IECEx. The Joy Factory also states ATEX certification, but the certificate isn't published. The tablet inside is a standard iPad mini (A17 Pro) running iPadOS 27, so it works with the same apps and device management.
- Certified for
- Zone 1/21
- Protection
- Flameproof enclosure (Ex db)
- Screen
- 8.3-inch
- Temperature class
- T6 (≤ 85 °C)
- Ambient temperature
- −20 °C to +40 °C (standard range: no Ta is marked on IECEx TPS 25.0016X, so IEC 60079-0 applies)Unconfirmed, see note 1
- Operating system
- iPadOS 27
- Security updates
- At least until October 2029 (Apple's minimum)
- Weight
- 1396 gUnconfirmed, see note 2
- Price
- On request
Overview
Strengths and limitations
Strengths
- T6 temperature class, the strictest rating
- 5G on cellular versions
- A standard iPad mini (A17 Pro) inside, with the same apps and Apple device management
Limitations
- Ambient rating tops out at +40 °C
- Not certified for Zone 0
Best for
Certification
Where you can use it
Gas
- Zone 0not certified.Explosive gas present continuously or for long periods
- Zone 1certified.Explosive gas likely in normal operation
- Zone 2certified.Explosive gas unlikely, and only briefly
Dust
- Zone 20not certified.Combustible dust present continuously or for long periods
- Zone 21certified.Combustible dust likely in normal operation
- Zone 22certified.Combustible dust unlikely, and only briefly
The Ex marking, decoded
Gas atmospheresZones 1 and 2
II2GExdbIICT6Gb
IIEquipment group- Group II: equipment for surface industries (not mining).
2GATEX category- Category 2 for gas: suitable down to Zone 1.
ExExplosion protected- Certified to the IEC 60079 / EN 60079 series.
dbProtection type- Flameproof enclosure: the housing is built to contain an ignition inside it and stop the flame reaching the atmosphere outside.
IICGas group- Gas group IIC, e.g. hydrogen and acetylene. The most demanding group; also covers IIA and IIB.
T6Temperature class- Surface stays below 85 °C. T6 is the strictest class.
GbProtection level- Equipment protection level Gb (high): suitable for Zone 1 and 2.
Dust atmospheresZones 21 and 22
II2DExtbIIICT85°CDb
2DATEX category- Category 2 for dust: suitable down to Zone 21.
tbProtection type- Protection by enclosure for dust: the enclosure keeps dust out and its surface stays below the stated temperature.
IIICDust group- Dust group IIIC: conductive dust. The most demanding group; also covers IIIA and IIIB.
T85°CMax surface temperature- Surface stays below 85°C in dust.
DbProtection level- Equipment protection level Db (high): suitable for Zone 21 and 22.
IIEx as above.
Gas atmospheresZones 1 and 2
ExdbIICT6Gb
ExExplosion protected- Certified to the IEC 60079 / EN 60079 series.
dbProtection type- Flameproof enclosure: the housing is built to contain an ignition inside it and stop the flame reaching the atmosphere outside.
IICGas group- Gas group IIC, e.g. hydrogen and acetylene. The most demanding group; also covers IIA and IIB.
T6Temperature class- Surface stays below 85 °C. T6 is the strictest class.
GbProtection level- Equipment protection level Gb (high): suitable for Zone 1 and 2.
Dust atmospheresZones 21 and 22
ExtbIIICT85°CDb
tbProtection type- Protection by enclosure for dust: the enclosure keeps dust out and its surface stays below the stated temperature.
IIICDust group- Dust group IIIC: conductive dust. The most demanding group; also covers IIIA and IIIB.
T85°CMax surface temperature- Surface stays below 85°C in dust.
DbProtection level- Equipment protection level Db (high): suitable for Zone 21 and 22.
Ex as above.
Safe use
Rules for the hazardous area
- Ambient temperature (Ta)
- −20 °C to +40 °C (standard range: no Ta is marked on IECEx TPS 25.0016X, so IEC 60079-0 applies)Unconfirmed, see note 1
- Charging
- Outside the hazardous area only
- Battery swap
- Outside the hazardous area only
- Ports and accessories in the zone
- Stainless I/O port with latch: user may dismantle it to charge in a non-hazardous area; must be fully engaged and latched before use in the Ex area
- Certified accessories
- Premium adjustable anti-static leather hand strap (included), shoulder strap ports, VESA 75 and 1/4-20 mounting. Ex rating of straps and mounts not stated separately; the certificate covers the enclosure.Unconfirmed, see note 4
Conditions of use
1) Do not open the enclosure (opening voids certification; contact Joy Factory if the iPad needs replacing). 2) I/O port fully engaged after charging and locking lever latched in use. 3) Protect glass window from impact energy above 2 J. 4) Do not charge in a potentially flammable environment. 5) Fasteners with yield stress 240 MPa or more. 6) Screws not to be removed; replace only with SUS 304 M4x6 / M4x8, torque 8 kgf-cm. 7) Rubber bumpers must be fitted at all times and inspected before each use. 8) Flameproof joints are not intended to be repaired. 9) Remove from service if the enclosure, screen or rear camera window is cracked or deformed or bumpers are missing.
Specifications
Full specifications
Device specifications are for the iPad mini (A17 Pro) inside. “What works through the case” shows which of its features you can use in the case.
Certification
- ATEX marking
- II 2G Ex db IIC T6 Gb / II 2D Ex tb IIIC T85°C DbUnconfirmed, see note 3
- ATEX certificate
- Not published
- IECEx marking
- Ex db IIC T6 Gb / Ex tb IIIC T85°C DbUnconfirmed, see note 3
- IECEx certificate
- IECEx TPS 25.0016X
- Other approvals
- TS (Taiwan) per an earlier research note; not re-verified. RoHS and REACH compliant (datasheet).Unconfirmed, see note 5
- Protection level (EPL)
- Gb / Db
- Dust group
- IIIC
- Max surface temperature (dust)
- 85 °C
Device
- Type
- Certified Ex case
- Tablet inside
- iPad mini (A17 Pro)
- Fitting
- Fitted by the makerUnconfirmed, see note 6
- Tablet can be removed
- No (certificate: do not open the enclosure; iPad replacement through Joy Factory only)
- Launched
- 2025Unconfirmed, see note 7
- Part numbers
- HTA3021
- Operating system
- iPadOS 27
- Edition
- iPadOS (consumer; no LTSC or enterprise edition)
- OS at launch
- iPadOS 18.1
- OS upgrades
- Still supported by iPadOS 27 (current)
- Security updates
- At least until October 2029 (Apple's minimum)
- Processor
- Apple A17 Pro (6-core CPU, 5-core GPU)
- Processor architecture
- Arm
- Memory (RAM)
- 8 GBUnconfirmed, see note 8
- Storage
- 128 GB, 256 GB, 512 GB
What works through the case
- Side and volume buttons
- Power and volume buttons integrated through the aluminium enclosure (certificate: buttons are aluminium)
- Rear cameras
- Rear-facing camera fully functional (glass opening)
- Touchscreen
- Pressure-resistant, multi-layered composite, anti-glare glass screen protector; touch use impliedUnconfirmed, see note 9
- Screen cover
- Pressure-resistant multi-layered composite anti-glare glass screen protector (certificate: front panel is glass)
- Charging
- Stainless steel I/O port with latch: dismantle in a non-hazardous area to charge; refit and latch before use in the Ex area
- USB-C port
- Via the stainless I/O port (user-dismantled outside the Ex area)
- SIM card
- No SIM tray (iPad mini 7 is eSIM only); no SIM cover mentionedUnconfirmed, see note 9
- Removed or disabled
- Nothing stated as removed or disabledUnconfirmed, see note 9
- Mounting points
- VESA 75; 1/4-inch universal mount (1/4-20 UNC); shoulder strap ports; anti-static leather hand strap
Field capabilities
- Push-to-talk
- Via app (third-party PTT apps over Wi-Fi/cellular; no PTT key; Ex-rated? n/a)Unconfirmed, see note 10
- Lone worker
- Via app (third-party lone-worker apps)Unconfirmed, see note 10
- Barcode scanning
- Via app (camera-based scanning; no scan engine) (rear camera 'fully functional')Unconfirmed, see note 10
- NFC reading
- Not possible (no NFC reader on any iPad)Unconfirmed, see note 10
- 3D scanning / LiDAR
- Not possible (no LiDAR on this iPad)
- Remote expert / video calls
- Via app (FaceTime, Teams or remote-assist apps; needs camera and audio access through the case)Unconfirmed, see note 10
- Windows desktop software
- Not possible (iPadOS only)
- Bluetooth gas detectors
- Via app (Bluetooth 5.3; vendor app; no maker-certified integration listed)Unconfirmed, see note 10
Display and camera
- Display
- 8.3-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, P3, True Tone, fully laminated, antireflective coating
- Resolution
- 2266 × 1488 (326 ppi)
- Brightness
- 500 nits
- Pen / stylus
- Apple Pencil Pro, Apple Pencil (USB-C); hover
- Rear camera
- 12 MP Wide, f/1.8, True Tone flash
- Front camera
- 12 MP Center Stage
- Video
- 4K video
Connectivity
- Network
- Wi-Fi only or Wi-Fi + Cellular (5G sub-6 GHz)
- Wi-Fi
- Wi-Fi 6E (802.11ax), 2x2 MIMO
- Bluetooth
- Bluetooth 5.3
- Satellite positioning
- GPS/GNSS on Wi-Fi + Cellular models; digital compass and Wi-Fi location on all
- SIM
- eSIM only (no SIM tray)
Physical and power
- Weight
- 1396 g (including the tablet)Unconfirmed, see note 2
- Dimensions
- 249 × 192 × 27 (certificate); datasheet 248 × 192 × 27 mm
- Ingress protection
- IP68
- Ruggedness
- MIL-STD-810H, 122 cm (4 ft) drop
- Battery
- 5034Unconfirmed, see note 11
- Battery energy
- 19.3
- Battery life
- Up to 10 hours web or video on Wi-Fi (9 hours cellular)
- Hot-swap battery
- No
- Replaceable battery
- No
- Ports and expansion
- USB-C (USB 3, 10 Gb/s); magnetic Apple Pencil connector
- Docking
- USB-C hubs and docks; Smart Connector or magnetic keyboard accessories where the iPad has them. Not usable through sealed Ex cases except the USB-C or Lightning charging port where the case exposes it.
Controls & Accessibility
- Keys
- Top button with Touch ID sensor, volume buttons; no programmable hardware key
- Push-to-talk key
- No
- Biometrics
- Touch ID (top button)
Fleet and support
- Manufacturer
- The Joy Factory Inc., USA
Only specifications we could check are listed. A numbered marker next to a value means it is unconfirmed: it comes from a single or secondary source, or sources disagree. The matching note at the foot of the page explains each one. See the The Joy Factory Inc. website for the full data sheet.
Compare
How it compares
Best in this comparison
The Joy FactoryThe Joy Factory aXtion Extreme iPad miniThis tablet | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Type | Certified Ex case | Certified Ex case | Certified Ex case | Converted tablet |
| Screen size | 8.3-inch | 8.3-inch | 11-inch | 8.3-inch |
| Availability | Current | Current | Current | Current |
| Gas zones | Zone 1, Zone 2 | Zone 1, Zone 2 | Zone 1, Zone 2 | Zone 1, Zone 2 |
| Dust zones | Zone 21, Zone 22 | — | Zone 21, Zone 22 | Zone 21, Zone 22 |
| Protection | Flameproof enclosure (Ex db) | Flameproof enclosure (Ex db) | Flameproof enclosure (Ex db) | Flameproof enclosure (Ex db) |
| Gas group | IIC | IIB | IIC | IIC |
| Temperature class | T6 (best in this comparison) | T6 (best in this comparison) | T6 (best in this comparison) | T4 |
| Certification | ATEX + IECEx | ATEX + IECEx | ATEX | ATEX + IECEx |
| North America | — | — | — | Class I Division 2 |
| Ambient temperature | −20 °C to +40 °C (standard range: no Ta is marked on IECEx TPS 25.0016X, so IEC 60079-0 applies) | −20 °C to +50 °C | −20 °C to +45 °C | −20 °C to +50 °C |
| Charging in the Ex area | Not allowed | Not allowed | — | Not allowed |
| Operating system | iPadOS 27 | iPadOS 27 | iPadOS 27 | iPadOS 27 |
| Security updates | At least until October 2029 (Apple's minimum) | Ended September 2026 | 7–8 years (based on previous iPad Pro support) (best in this comparison) | Ended September 2026 |
| Weight | 1396 g | 1350 g | 1350 g | 990 g (best in this comparison) |
| Display | 8.3-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, P3, True Tone, fully laminated, antireflective coating | 8.3-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, P3, True Tone, antireflective coating | 11-inch Ultra Retina XDR tandem OLED, ProMotion 10-120 Hz, P3, True Tone, antireflective coating; nano-texture glass option on 1 and 2 TB | 8.3-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, P3, True Tone, antireflective coating |
| 5G | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Pen / stylus | Apple Pencil Pro, Apple Pencil (USB-C); hover | Apple Pencil (2nd generation), Apple Pencil (USB-C); magnetic attach and charge (2nd gen) | Apple Pencil Pro, Apple Pencil (USB-C); magnetic attach and charge, hover | Apple Pencil (2nd generation), Apple Pencil (USB-C); magnetic attach and charge (2nd gen) |
| Replaceable battery | No | No | No | No |
| Hot-swap battery | No | No | No | No |
| Price | On request | On request | On request | On request |
FAQ
Common questions
Is the The Joy Factory aXtion Extreme iPad mini certified for Zone 1?
Yes. The The Joy Factory aXtion Extreme iPad mini is certified for Zone 1/21 with the marking II 2G Ex db IIC T6 Gb. Equipment certified for Zone 1 can also be used in Zone 2.
Can the The Joy Factory aXtion Extreme iPad mini be used in Zone 0?
No. It is not certified for Zone 0. Zone 0 needs equipment with protection level Ga, such as Ex ia intrinsic safety.
What type of explosion protection does the The Joy Factory aXtion Extreme iPad mini use?
It uses a flameproof enclosure (Ex db), a form of explosion-proof protection. The housing is built to contain an ignition inside it and stop the flame reaching the surrounding atmosphere.
What does T6 mean for the The Joy Factory aXtion Extreme iPad mini?
Its surface stays below 85 °C, so it is suitable for gases that only ignite above that temperature. Check the ignition temperature of the substances on your site.
Can you charge the The Joy Factory aXtion Extreme iPad mini in a hazardous area?
No. The certificate only allows charging outside the hazardous area.
Which tablet is inside the The Joy Factory aXtion Extreme iPad mini?
A standard iPad mini (A17 Pro). A certified enclosure that lets a standard consumer tablet be used in hazardous areas.
Which ports and accessories can be used with the The Joy Factory aXtion Extreme iPad mini in the hazardous area?
Stainless I/O port with latch: user may dismantle it to charge in a non-hazardous area; must be fully engaged and latched before use in the Ex area
What operating system does the The Joy Factory aXtion Extreme iPad mini run?
iPadOS 27. Apple guarantees security updates until at least October 2029; earlier iPads have had longer support.
How much does the The Joy Factory aXtion Extreme iPad mini cost?
Prices for certified hazardous-area tablets depend on volume, configuration and region, so they are on request. Contact us for a price.
Notes on unconfirmed values
- The certificate marks no ambient range, so the standard default applies (−20 °C to +40 °C, IEC 60079-0). Return to note 1
- From a single source; the maker's figures vary. Return to note 2
- The IECEx marking is from the certificate. The ATEX version is from The Joy Factory's datasheet; the ATEX certificate isn't published. Return to note 3
- Not checked against the certificate for this exact model. Return to note 4
- Stated by the maker; we haven't seen the certificate. Return to note 5
- Not stated by the maker for this exact model. Return to note 6
- Approximate: the maker doesn't publish a launch date. Based on the certificate date or the maker's announcement. Return to note 7
- Apple doesn't publish RAM; from independent teardowns. Return to note 8
- Inferred from related information; not stated by the maker for this exact model. Return to note 9
- Not confirmed by the maker for this exact model. Return to note 10
- Apple states battery capacity in watt-hours only; this figure is from the case maker's documents. Return to note 11
Sources and verification
Facts last verified on against:
- IECEx Certificate Database (TUV SUD): IECEx TPS 25.0016X issue 0, 2025-04-14, Current
- Bureau Veritas CPS Germany: EU-Type Examination Certificate EPS 22 ATEX 1 162 X, revision 3, 2025-04-01 (EXd-TABLET-M6 and M7), read from Atexxo PDF
- IECEx Certificate Database (Bureau Veritas CPS): IECEx EPS 22.0020X issue 3, 2025-04-01, Current
- The Joy Factory: HTA3021 data sheet (PDF dated 2025-02-26 in its metadata; file name suffix 0226 = 26 Feb; hosted by Joy Factory under a /2026/06/ upload path)
- The Joy Factory: HTA3021 datasheet (Dec 2025, US)
- The Joy Factory: APAC launch press release, 2025-03-17
- Apple: Identify your iPad model (model numbers, years)
- Apple: UK PSTI Statements of Compliance, one per model (regulatoryinfo.apple.com/ukpsti): first supply date and minimum 5-year defined support period
- Apple: iPadOS 27 compatibility list (apple.com/os/ipados)
- BGR / EveryMac / 9to5Mac: iPadOS 27 drops iPad mini 5, iPad 8, iPad Air 3, iPad Pro 11-inch 1st gen (release 2026-09-14)
Always check the certificate for your exact model before use. Spotted an error? Tell us.

