Xciel · Certified Ex case

Xciel XCZ1 iPad mini 6

  • Zone 1
  • ATEX
  • IECEx
  • IIB
  • T6

The Xciel XCZ1 iPad mini 6 is a flameproof (Ex d) case for the iPad mini (6th generation), certified for Zone 1 under ATEX and IECEx. The tablet inside is a standard iPad mini (6th generation) running iPadOS 27, so it works with the same apps and device management.

Certified for
Zone 1
Protection
Flameproof enclosure (Ex db)
Screen
8.3-inch
Temperature class
T6 (≤ 85 °C)
Ambient temperature
−20 °C to +50 °C
Operating system
iPadOS 27
Security updates
Ended September 2026
Weight
1350 g
Price
On request
Request a price
See how it compares to alternatives

Overview

Strengths and limitations

Strengths

  • ATEX and IECEx certified, with published certificate numbers
  • T6 temperature class, the strictest rating
  • 5G on cellular versions
  • A standard iPad mini (6th generation) inside, with the same apps and Apple device management

Limitations

  • Gas group IIB: not rated for hydrogen or acetylene
  • No dust zone rating
  • Apple's minimum update period for this iPad has ended: for existing fleets only
  • Not certified for Zone 0

Certification

Where you can use it

Gas

  • Zone 0not certified.Explosive gas present continuously or for long periods
  • Zone 1certified.Explosive gas likely in normal operation
  • Zone 2certified.Explosive gas unlikely, and only briefly

Dust

No dust zones listed in our verified data. Check the certificate.

The Ex marking, decoded

ATEXUnconfirmed, see note 1Certificate ExVeritas 23ATEX1721X

Gas atmospheresZones 1 and 2

II2GExdbIIBT6Gb

II Equipment group
Group II: equipment for surface industries (not mining).
2G ATEX category
Category 2 for gas: suitable down to Zone 1.
Ex Explosion protected
Certified to the IEC 60079 / EN 60079 series.
db Protection type
Flameproof enclosure: the housing is built to contain an ignition inside it and stop the flame reaching the atmosphere outside.
IIB Gas group
Gas group IIB, e.g. ethylene. Also covers IIA.
T6 Temperature class
Surface stays below 85 °C. T6 is the strictest class.
Gb Protection level
Equipment protection level Gb (high): suitable for Zone 1 and 2.

Safe use

Rules for the hazardous area

Ambient temperature (Ta)
−20 °C to +50 °C
Charging
Outside the hazardous area only
Battery swap
Outside the hazardous area only
Ports and accessories in the zone
USB-C charging port cover and SIM card cover must be fitted in the Ex area (user may remove only their fasteners, outside the Ex area); no cable or wireless charging in a hazardous atmosphere
Certified accessories
Accessories are options only: magnet mounting system, locking system, capacitive stylus, ballistic nylon case, carrying handle, hard shell carry case, chest harness, shoulder strap. None is stated to be Ex-rated; the certificate covers the enclosure only.Unconfirmed, see note 2
Operating temperature
−20 °C to +50 °C

Conditions of use

Do not open the aluminium case. The iPad shall not be charged, by cable or wireless, when hazardous atmospheres are present; charge only with a suitably approved charger. Flameproof joints shall not be modified or repaired. Fasteners are thread-locked and must not be removed or replaced without the manufacturer's approval; the only fasteners the end user may remove are those of the USB charging port cover and the SIM card cover. Rubber bumpers must be fitted at all times and inspected before each use.

Specifications

Full specifications

Device specifications are for the iPad mini (6th generation) inside. “What works through the case” shows which of its features you can use in the case.

Certification

ATEX marking
II 2G Ex db IIB T6 GbUnconfirmed, see note 1
ATEX certificate
ExVeritas 23ATEX1721XUnconfirmed, see note 1
IECEx marking
Ex db IIB T6 GbUnconfirmed, see note 1
IECEx certificate
IECEx EXV 23.0054X
Protection level (EPL)
Gb

Device

Type
Certified Ex case
Tablet inside
iPad mini (6th generation)
Fitting
Fitted by the maker
Tablet can be removed
No (certificate: do not open the case; fitting by Xciel or authorised partner only)
Launched
2024
Part numbers
XCZ1MINI6 (case only); XCZ1 mini 6-64-x, 6-256-x and -4G variants
Operating system
iPadOS 27
Edition
iPadOS (consumer; no LTSC or enterprise edition)
OS at launch
iPadOS 15
OS upgrades
Still supported by iPadOS 27 (current)
Security updates
Ended September 2026
Processor
Apple A15 Bionic (6-core CPU, 5-core GPU)
Processor architecture
Arm
Memory (RAM)
4 GB
Storage
64 GB, 256 GB

What works through the case

Apple Pencil / stylus
Capacitive stylus compatible (Xciel 'MicroFibre Capacitive Stylus' option); Apple Pencil attach/charge not possible through the sealed case (not stated by Xciel)Unconfirmed, see note 3
Side and volume buttons
External power, volume and mute buttons
Touchscreen
Works through the case glass window; stylus and gloves compatibleUnconfirmed, see note 3
Screen cover
Integral glass window (part of the flameproof enclosure)
Charging
USB-C through a screwed port cover; charge outside the hazardous area only; no wireless charging in a hazardous atmosphere
USB-C port
Via the charging port cover (user may remove only the cover fasteners, outside the hazardous area); data use not stated
SIM card
SIM card cover; user may remove its fasteners
Removed or disabled
Nothing stated as removed or disabledUnconfirmed, see note 3
Mounting points
Magnet Mounting System (XCZ1-MM), locking system, carrying handle, shoulder strap, chest harness (options)

Field capabilities

Push-to-talk
Via app (third-party PTT apps over Wi-Fi/cellular; no PTT key; Ex-rated? n/a)Unconfirmed, see note 4
Lone worker
Via app (third-party lone-worker apps)Unconfirmed, see note 4
Barcode scanning
Via app (camera-based scanning; no scan engine)Unconfirmed, see note 4
NFC reading
Not possible (no NFC reader on any iPad)Unconfirmed, see note 4
3D scanning / LiDAR
Not possible (no LiDAR on this iPad)
Remote expert / video calls
Via app (FaceTime, Teams or remote-assist apps; needs camera and audio access through the case)Unconfirmed, see note 4
Windows desktop software
Not possible (iPadOS only)
Bluetooth gas detectors
Via app (Bluetooth 5.0; vendor app; no maker-certified integration listed)Unconfirmed, see note 4

Display and camera

Display
8.3-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, P3, True Tone, antireflective coating
Resolution
2266 × 1488 (326 ppi)
Brightness
500 nits
Pen / stylus
Apple Pencil (2nd generation), Apple Pencil (USB-C); magnetic attach and charge (2nd gen)
Rear camera
12 MP Wide, f/1.8
Front camera
12 MP Ultra Wide, Center Stage
Video
4K video

Connectivity

Network
Wi-Fi only or Wi-Fi + Cellular (5G)
Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi 6 (802.11ax)
Bluetooth
Bluetooth 5.0
Satellite positioning
GPS/GNSS on Wi-Fi + Cellular models; digital compass and Wi-Fi location on all
SIM
eSIM and Nano-SIM (cellular models)

Physical and power

Weight
1350 g (including the tablet)
Dimensions
247.6 × 187.1 × 35.6 (general dimensions, certificate) mm
Ingress protection
IP54
Battery energy
19.3
Battery life
Up to 10 hours web or video on Wi-Fi
Hot-swap battery
No
Replaceable battery
No
Ports and expansion
USB-C; magnetic Apple Pencil connector
Docking
USB-C hubs and docks; Smart Connector or magnetic keyboard accessories where the iPad has them. Not usable through sealed Ex cases except the USB-C or Lightning charging port where the case exposes it.

Controls & Accessibility

Keys
Top button with Touch ID sensor, volume buttons; no programmable hardware key
Push-to-talk key
No
Biometrics
Touch ID (top button)

Fleet and support

Manufacturer
Xciel Inc, USA

Only specifications we could check are listed. A numbered marker next to a value means it is unconfirmed: it comes from a single or secondary source, or sources disagree. The matching note at the foot of the page explains each one. See the Xciel Inc website for the full data sheet.

Compare

How it compares

Best in this comparison

Xciel XCZ1 iPad mini 6 compared with its closest alternatives
XcielXciel XCZ1 iPad mini 6This tablet
The Joy FactoryThe Joy Factory aXtion Extreme iPad mini
XshielderXshielder iPad Pro 11-inch
AtexxoAtexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 6
TypeCertified Ex caseCertified Ex caseCertified Ex caseConverted tablet
Screen size8.3-inch8.3-inch11-inch8.3-inch
AvailabilityCurrentCurrentCurrentCurrent
Gas zonesZone 1, Zone 2Zone 1, Zone 2Zone 1, Zone 2Zone 1, Zone 2
Dust zones—Zone 21, Zone 22Zone 21, Zone 22Zone 21, Zone 22
ProtectionFlameproof enclosure (Ex db)Flameproof enclosure (Ex db)Flameproof enclosure (Ex db)Flameproof enclosure (Ex db)
Gas groupIIBIICIICIIC
Temperature classT6 (best in this comparison)T6 (best in this comparison)T6 (best in this comparison)T4
CertificationATEX + IECExATEX + IECExATEXATEX + IECEx
North America———Class I Division 2
Ambient temperature−20 °C to +50 °C−20 °C to +40 °C (standard range: no Ta is marked on IECEx TPS 25.0016X, so IEC 60079-0 applies)−20 °C to +45 °C−20 °C to +50 °C
Charging in the Ex areaNot allowedNot allowed—Not allowed
Operating systemiPadOS 27iPadOS 27iPadOS 27iPadOS 27
Security updatesEnded September 2026At least until October 2029 (Apple's minimum)7–8 years (based on previous iPad Pro support) (best in this comparison)Ended September 2026
Weight1350 g1396 g1350 g990 g (best in this comparison)
Display8.3-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, P3, True Tone, antireflective coating8.3-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, P3, True Tone, fully laminated, antireflective coating11-inch Ultra Retina XDR tandem OLED, ProMotion 10-120 Hz, P3, True Tone, antireflective coating; nano-texture glass option on 1 and 2 TB8.3-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, P3, True Tone, antireflective coating
5GYesYesYesYes
Pen / stylusApple Pencil (2nd generation), Apple Pencil (USB-C); magnetic attach and charge (2nd gen)Apple Pencil Pro, Apple Pencil (USB-C); hoverApple Pencil Pro, Apple Pencil (USB-C); magnetic attach and charge, hoverApple Pencil (2nd generation), Apple Pencil (USB-C); magnetic attach and charge (2nd gen)
Replaceable batteryNoNoNoNo
Hot-swap batteryNoNoNoNo
PriceOn requestOn requestOn requestOn request

FAQ

Common questions

Is the Xciel XCZ1 iPad mini 6 certified for Zone 1?

Yes. The Xciel XCZ1 iPad mini 6 is certified for Zone 1 with the marking II 2G Ex db IIB T6 Gb. Equipment certified for Zone 1 can also be used in Zone 2.

Can the Xciel XCZ1 iPad mini 6 be used in Zone 0?

No. It is not certified for Zone 0. Zone 0 needs equipment with protection level Ga, such as Ex ia intrinsic safety.

What type of explosion protection does the Xciel XCZ1 iPad mini 6 use?

It uses a flameproof enclosure (Ex db), a form of explosion-proof protection. The housing is built to contain an ignition inside it and stop the flame reaching the surrounding atmosphere.

What does T6 mean for the Xciel XCZ1 iPad mini 6?

Its surface stays below 85 °C, so it is suitable for gases that only ignite above that temperature. Check the ignition temperature of the substances on your site.

Can you charge the Xciel XCZ1 iPad mini 6 in a hazardous area?

No. The certificate only allows charging outside the hazardous area.

Which tablet is inside the Xciel XCZ1 iPad mini 6?

A standard iPad mini (6th generation). A certified enclosure that lets a standard consumer tablet be used in hazardous areas.

Which ports and accessories can be used with the Xciel XCZ1 iPad mini 6 in the hazardous area?

USB-C charging port cover and SIM card cover must be fitted in the Ex area (user may remove only their fasteners, outside the Ex area); no cable or wireless charging in a hazardous atmosphere

What operating system does the Xciel XCZ1 iPad mini 6 run?

iPadOS 27. Apple guarantees security updates until at least September 2026; earlier iPads have had longer support.

How much does the Xciel XCZ1 iPad mini 6 cost?

Prices for certified hazardous-area tablets depend on volume, configuration and region, so they are on request. Contact us for a price.

Notes on unconfirmed values

  1. The IECEx marking is from the certificate. The ATEX version is from a distributor; the ATEX certificate isn't published.
  2. Not checked against the certificate for this exact model.
  3. Inferred from related information; not stated by the maker for this exact model.
  4. Not confirmed by the maker for this exact model.
  5. Apple states battery capacity in watt-hours only; this figure is from the case maker's documents.

Sources and verification

Facts last verified on against:

Always check the certificate for your exact model before use. Spotted an error? Tell us.