Xciel · Certified Ex case

Xciel XCZ1 iPad mini 5

  • Zone 1
  • ATEX
  • IECEx
  • IIC
  • T5

Check availability. Xciel still lists it and says it has iPad mini 5 stock. Apple no longer sells the iPad mini 5, so supply is limited.

The Xciel XCZ1 iPad mini 5 is a flameproof (Ex d) case for the iPad mini (5th generation), certified for Zone 1 under IECEx. Xciel also states ATEX certification, but the certificate isn't published. The tablet inside is a standard iPad mini (5th generation) running iPadOS 26, so it works with the same apps and device management.

Certified for
Zone 1
Protection
Flameproof enclosure (Ex db)
Screen
7.9-inch
Temperature class
T5 (≤ 100 °C)
Ambient temperature
−20 °C to +45 °C
Operating system
iPadOS 26
Security updates
Ended March 2024
Weight
1111 g
Price
On request
Request a price
See how it compares to alternatives

Overview

Strengths and limitations

Strengths

  • Camera-free version available for sites that restrict cameras
  • A standard iPad mini (5th generation) inside, with the same apps and Apple device management

Limitations

  • T5 temperature class: fine for most gases, but not those that ignite below 100 °C
  • No dust zone rating
  • Apple's minimum update period for this iPad has ended: for existing fleets only
  • Ambient rating tops out at +45 °C
  • Not certified for Zone 0

Certification

Where you can use it

Gas

  • Zone 0not certified.Explosive gas present continuously or for long periods
  • Zone 1certified.Explosive gas likely in normal operation
  • Zone 2certified.Explosive gas unlikely, and only briefly

Dust

No dust zones listed in our verified data. Check the certificate.

The Ex marking, decoded

ATEX

Gas atmospheresZones 1 and 2

II2GExdbIICT5Gb

II Equipment group
Group II: equipment for surface industries (not mining).
2G ATEX category
Category 2 for gas: suitable down to Zone 1.
Ex Explosion protected
Certified to the IEC 60079 / EN 60079 series.
db Protection type
Flameproof enclosure: the housing is built to contain an ignition inside it and stop the flame reaching the atmosphere outside.
IIC Gas group
Gas group IIC, e.g. hydrogen and acetylene. The most demanding group; also covers IIA and IIB.
T5 Temperature class
Surface stays below 100 °C. T6 is the strictest class.
Gb Protection level
Equipment protection level Gb (high): suitable for Zone 1 and 2.

Safe use

Rules for the hazardous area

Ambient temperature (Ta)
−20 °C to +45 °C
Charging
Outside the hazardous area only
Battery swap
Outside the hazardous area only
Ports and accessories in the zone
Lightning charging plug with set screw must be fully engaged and tightened; charge only outside the hazardous area
Certified accessories
Options listed (magnet mount, locking system, touch pen, ballistic nylon case, nylon X strap, hard shell case); Ex rating of accessories not statedUnconfirmed, see note 1
Operating temperature
−20 °C to +45 °C

Conditions of use

The iPad Mini shall not be removed from the aluminium case. The iPad shall not be charged when hazardous atmospheres are present. Resellers, end users and Xciel are not allowed to repair the flameproof joints. The cover bolts should not be removed; they may only be replaced with identical ones (A2 stainless M5x0.8x8 mm Torx head, or pan head if Torx is not available, tensile strength at least 500 MPa, torque 5.9 N.m). After recharging, inspect the plug threads and female threads, install the power plug with all threads fully engaged and tighten the set screw (M4 x 0.70 mm A2-70 cup point) with the tool provided, checking it sits in the groove of the plug head. Rubber bumpers must be fitted at all times and inspected before each use.

Specifications

Full specifications

Device specifications are for the iPad mini (5th generation) inside. “What works through the case” shows which of its features you can use in the case.

Certification

ATEX marking
II 2G Ex db IIC T5 Gb
ATEX certificate
Not published
IECEx marking
Ex db IIC T5 Gb
IECEx certificate
IECEx EXV 19.0026X
Protection level (EPL)
Gb

Device

Type
Certified Ex case
Tablet inside
iPad mini (5th generation)
Also fits
iPad mini 4
Fitting
Fitted by the makerUnconfirmed, see note 2
Tablet can be removed
No (certificate: the iPad shall not be removed from the aluminium case)
Launched
2019
Part numbers
XCZ1MINI5; XCZ1 mini 5-64-x, -256-x, -4G variants; XCZ1 Mini 5-WOC; XCZ1 mini 5 Kit
Operating system
iPadOS 26
Edition
iPadOS (consumer; no LTSC or enterprise edition)
OS at launch
iPadOS 12.2
OS upgrades
iPadOS 26 (dropped by iPadOS 27)
Security updates
Ended March 2024
Processor
Apple A12 Bionic
Processor architecture
Arm
Memory (RAM)
3 GBUnconfirmed, see note 3
Storage
64 GB, 256 GB

What works through the case

Apple Pencil / stylus
Capacitive stylus compatible (Xciel 'MicroFibre Capacitive Stylus' option); Apple Pencil attach/charge not possible through the sealed case (not stated by Xciel)Unconfirmed, see note 4
Side and volume buttons
External power, volume and mute buttons
Touchscreen
Works through a sapphire glass window; stylus and gloves compatibleUnconfirmed, see note 4
Screen cover
Integral glass window (part of the flameproof enclosure)
Charging
Lightning cable through a screwed plug (set screw); charge outside the hazardous area only
USB-C port
No USB-C: iPad mini 4/5 use Lightning behind the sealed plug
SIM card
SIM card cover; user may remove its fasteners
Removed or disabled
Nothing removed in the standard case; -NIC option removes the camera modulesUnconfirmed, see note 4
Mounting points
Magnet Mounting System (XCZ1-MM), locking system, carrying handle, shoulder strap, chest harness (options)

Field capabilities

Push-to-talk
Via app (third-party PTT apps over Wi-Fi/cellular; no PTT key; Ex-rated? n/a)Unconfirmed, see note 5
Lone worker
Via app (third-party lone-worker apps)Unconfirmed, see note 5
Barcode scanning
Via app (camera-based scanning; no scan engine)Unconfirmed, see note 5
NFC reading
Not possible (no NFC reader on any iPad)Unconfirmed, see note 5
3D scanning / LiDAR
Not possible (no LiDAR on this iPad)
Remote expert / video calls
Via app (FaceTime, Teams or remote-assist apps; needs camera and audio access through the case)Unconfirmed, see note 5
Windows desktop software
Not possible (iPadOS only)
Bluetooth gas detectors
Via app (Bluetooth 5.0; vendor app; no maker-certified integration listed)Unconfirmed, see note 5

Display and camera

Display
7.9-inch Retina IPS LCD, P3, True Tone, antireflective coating
Resolution
2048 × 1536 (326 ppi)
Brightness
500 nits
Pen / stylus
Apple Pencil (1st generation)
Rear camera
8 MP
Front camera
7 MP FaceTime HD
Video
1080p video

Connectivity

Network
Wi-Fi only or Wi-Fi + Cellular (LTE)
Wi-Fi
802.11ac, dual band, MIMO
Bluetooth
Bluetooth 5.0
Satellite positioning
GPS/GNSS on Wi-Fi + Cellular models; digital compass and Wi-Fi location on all
SIM
Nano-SIM and eSIM (cellular models)

Physical and power

Weight
1111 g (including the tablet)
Dimensions
241 × 171 × 15 (datasheet); certificate: 171 × 240 × 17 mmUnconfirmed, see note 6
Ingress protection
IP54
Battery energy
19.1
Battery life
Up to 10 hours web or video on Wi-Fi
Hot-swap battery
No
Replaceable battery
No
Ports and expansion
Lightning
Docking
USB-C hubs and docks; Smart Connector or magnetic keyboard accessories where the iPad has them. Not usable through sealed Ex cases except the USB-C or Lightning charging port where the case exposes it.

Controls & Accessibility

Keys
Top (sleep/wake) button, volume buttons, Home button with Touch ID; no programmable hardware key
Push-to-talk key
No
Biometrics
Touch ID (home button)

Fleet and support

Manufacturer
Xciel Inc, USA

Only specifications we could check are listed. A numbered marker next to a value means it is unconfirmed: it comes from a single or secondary source, or sources disagree. The matching note at the foot of the page explains each one. See the Xciel Inc website for the full data sheet.

Compare

How it compares

Best in this comparison

Xciel XCZ1 iPad mini 5 compared with its closest alternatives
XcielXciel XCZ1 iPad mini 5This tablet
The Joy FactoryThe Joy Factory aXtion Extreme iPad mini
XshielderXshielder iPad Pro 11-inch
AtexxoAtexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 6
TypeCertified Ex caseCertified Ex caseCertified Ex caseConverted tablet
Screen size7.9-inch8.3-inch11-inch8.3-inch
AvailabilityCurrentCurrentCurrentCurrent
Gas zonesZone 1, Zone 2Zone 1, Zone 2Zone 1, Zone 2Zone 1, Zone 2
Dust zones—Zone 21, Zone 22Zone 21, Zone 22Zone 21, Zone 22
ProtectionFlameproof enclosure (Ex db)Flameproof enclosure (Ex db)Flameproof enclosure (Ex db)Flameproof enclosure (Ex db)
Gas groupIICIICIICIIC
Temperature classT5T6 (best in this comparison)T6 (best in this comparison)T4
CertificationATEX + IECExATEX + IECExATEXATEX + IECEx
North America———Class I Division 2
Ambient temperature−20 °C to +45 °C−20 °C to +40 °C (standard range: no Ta is marked on IECEx TPS 25.0016X, so IEC 60079-0 applies)−20 °C to +45 °C−20 °C to +50 °C
Charging in the Ex areaNot allowedNot allowed—Not allowed
Operating systemiPadOS 26iPadOS 27iPadOS 27iPadOS 27
Security updatesEnded March 2024At least until October 2029 (Apple's minimum)7–8 years (based on previous iPad Pro support) (best in this comparison)Ended September 2026
Weight1111 g1396 g1350 g990 g (best in this comparison)
Display7.9-inch Retina IPS LCD, P3, True Tone, antireflective coating8.3-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, P3, True Tone, fully laminated, antireflective coating11-inch Ultra Retina XDR tandem OLED, ProMotion 10-120 Hz, P3, True Tone, antireflective coating; nano-texture glass option on 1 and 2 TB8.3-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, P3, True Tone, antireflective coating
5GNoYesYesYes
Pen / stylusApple Pencil (1st generation)Apple Pencil Pro, Apple Pencil (USB-C); hoverApple Pencil Pro, Apple Pencil (USB-C); magnetic attach and charge, hoverApple Pencil (2nd generation), Apple Pencil (USB-C); magnetic attach and charge (2nd gen)
Replaceable batteryNoNoNoNo
Hot-swap batteryNoNoNoNo
PriceOn requestOn requestOn requestOn request

FAQ

Common questions

Is the Xciel XCZ1 iPad mini 5 certified for Zone 1?

Yes. The Xciel XCZ1 iPad mini 5 is certified for Zone 1 with the marking II 2G Ex db IIC T5 Gb. Equipment certified for Zone 1 can also be used in Zone 2.

Can the Xciel XCZ1 iPad mini 5 be used in Zone 0?

No. It is not certified for Zone 0. Zone 0 needs equipment with protection level Ga, such as Ex ia intrinsic safety.

What type of explosion protection does the Xciel XCZ1 iPad mini 5 use?

It uses a flameproof enclosure (Ex db), a form of explosion-proof protection. The housing is built to contain an ignition inside it and stop the flame reaching the surrounding atmosphere.

What does T5 mean for the Xciel XCZ1 iPad mini 5?

Its surface stays below 100 °C, so it is suitable for gases that only ignite above that temperature. Check the ignition temperature of the substances on your site.

Can you charge the Xciel XCZ1 iPad mini 5 in a hazardous area?

No. The certificate only allows charging outside the hazardous area.

Which tablet is inside the Xciel XCZ1 iPad mini 5?

A standard iPad mini (5th generation). It is also certified for the iPad mini 4. A certified enclosure that lets a standard consumer tablet be used in hazardous areas.

Which ports and accessories can be used with the Xciel XCZ1 iPad mini 5 in the hazardous area?

Lightning charging plug with set screw must be fully engaged and tightened; charge only outside the hazardous area

What operating system does the Xciel XCZ1 iPad mini 5 run?

iPadOS 26. Apple guarantees security updates until at least March 2024; earlier iPads have had longer support.

Is the Xciel XCZ1 iPad mini 5 still available?

Xciel still lists it and says it has iPad mini 5 stock. Apple no longer sells the iPad mini 5, so supply is limited.

How much does the Xciel XCZ1 iPad mini 5 cost?

Prices for certified hazardous-area tablets depend on volume, configuration and region, so they are on request. Contact us for a price.

Notes on unconfirmed values

  1. Not checked against the certificate for this exact model.
  2. Not stated by the maker for this exact model.
  3. Apple doesn't publish RAM; from independent teardowns.
  4. Inferred from related information; not stated by the maker for this exact model.
  5. Not confirmed by the maker for this exact model.
  6. From a single source.
  7. Apple states battery capacity in watt-hours only; this figure is from the case maker's documents.

Sources and verification

Facts last verified on against:

Always check the certificate for your exact model before use. Spotted an error? Tell us.