Atexxo · Converted tablet
Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 5
- Discontinued
- Zone 1
- ATEX
- IECEx
- IIC
- T4
Discontinued. No longer in Atexxo's range. See the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 6
The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 5 is a standard iPad mini (5th generation) converted by Atexxo for hazardous areas, certified for Zone 1 under IECEx. Atexxo also states ATEX certification, but the certificate isn't published. It is a flameproof (Ex d) design, and the tablet runs iPadOS 26. It has been discontinued; the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 6 replaces it.
- Certified for
- Zone 1
- Protection
- Flameproof enclosure (Ex db)
- Screen
- 7.9-inch
- Temperature class
- T4 (≤ 135 °C)
- Ambient temperature
- −20 °C to +50 °C
- Operating system
- iPadOS 26
- Security updates
- Ended March 2024
- Weight
- 1150 gUnconfirmed, see note 1
- Price
- On request
Overview
Strengths and limitations
Strengths
- Camera-free version available for sites that restrict cameras
- A standard iPad mini (5th generation) inside, with the same apps and Apple device management
Limitations
- Discontinued; the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 6 replaces it
- T4 temperature class: fine for most gases, but not those that ignite below 135 °C
- No dust zone rating
- Apple's minimum update period for this iPad has ended: for existing fleets only
- Not certified for Zone 0
Certification
Where you can use it
Gas
- Zone 0not certified.Explosive gas present continuously or for long periods
- Zone 1certified.Explosive gas likely in normal operation
- Zone 2certified.Explosive gas unlikely, and only briefly
Dust
No dust zones listed in our verified data. Check the certificate.
The Ex marking, decoded
Gas atmospheresZones 1 and 2
ExdbIICT4Gb
ExExplosion protected- Certified to the IEC 60079 / EN 60079 series.
dbProtection type- Flameproof enclosure: the housing is built to contain an ignition inside it and stop the flame reaching the atmosphere outside.
IICGas group- Gas group IIC, e.g. hydrogen and acetylene. The most demanding group; also covers IIA and IIB.
T4Temperature class- Surface stays below 135 °C. T6 is the strictest class.
GbProtection level- Equipment protection level Gb (high): suitable for Zone 1 and 2.
Gas atmospheresZones 1 and 2
ExdbIICT4Gb
ExExplosion protected- Certified to the IEC 60079 / EN 60079 series.
dbProtection type- Flameproof enclosure: the housing is built to contain an ignition inside it and stop the flame reaching the atmosphere outside.
IICGas group- Gas group IIC, e.g. hydrogen and acetylene. The most demanding group; also covers IIA and IIB.
T4Temperature class- Surface stays below 135 °C. T6 is the strictest class.
GbProtection level- Equipment protection level Gb (high): suitable for Zone 1 and 2.
Versions
Holland Shielding TAB-EXd-IPAD-M5
Holland Shielding sold this conversion under its own order code. The certificate names Atexxo B.V.
- Certificates
- IECEx EPS 20.0048X
Safe use
Rules for the hazardous area
- Ambient temperature (Ta)
- −20 °C to +50 °C
- Charging
- Outside the hazardous area only
- Battery swap
- Outside the hazardous area only
- Ports and accessories in the zone
- Bottom plug removable by the user to charge in a safe area; M10x1 opening must be closed with a certified Ex d blind plug
- Operating temperature
- −20 °C to +50 °C
Conditions of use
Ta −20 to +50°C. Repair of flameproof joints not allowed. Minimum screw property class A4-70; only original parts. Glass window to be protected from impact energy above 2 J. Device shall not be opened in a hazardous location. Battery charging only allowed outside the hazardous location. The M10x1 opening shall always be closed with a certified Ex d blind plug.
Specifications
Full specifications
Device specifications are for the iPad mini (5th generation) inside. “What works through the housing” shows which of its features you can use in the housing.
Certification
- ATEX marking
- Ex db IIC T4 Gb
- ATEX certificate
- Not published
- IECEx marking
- Ex db IIC T4 Gb
- IECEx certificate
- IECEx EPS 20.0048X
- Protection level (EPL)
- Gb
Device
- Type
- Converted tablet
- Tablet inside
- iPad mini (5th generation)
- Fitting
- Supplied as a complete unit
- Tablet can be removed
- No (permanently converted: flameproof enclosure around the iPad, not to be opened in a hazardous location; bottom cover opened outside the Ex area only for charging and SIM)Unconfirmed, see note 2
- Launched
- 2020
- Part numbers
- EXd-TABLET-M5; Holland Shielding code TAB-EXd-IPAD-M5-64/-64-CEL/-256/-256-CEL/-64-CEL-BC
- Operating system
- iPadOS 26
- Edition
- iPadOS (consumer; no LTSC or enterprise edition)
- OS at launch
- iPadOS 12.2
- OS upgrades
- iPadOS 26 (dropped by iPadOS 27)
- Security updates
- Ended March 2024
- Processor
- Apple A12 Bionic
- Processor architecture
- Arm
- Memory (RAM)
- 3 GBUnconfirmed, see note 3
- Storage
- 64 GB, 256 GB
What works through the housing
- Face ID / Touch ID
- Home button can be pressed (aluminium push/home button in the housing); Touch ID fingerprint reading through it is not statedUnconfirmed, see note 4
- Side and volume buttons
- Aluminium push buttons held by stainless retaining washers (3 buttons)
- Rear cameras
- Rear camera works; '-CEL-BC' blocked-camera variant availableUnconfirmed, see note 4
- Front camera
- Works (all original features preserved except as listed)Unconfirmed, see note 4
- Touchscreen
- Works through toughened glass front window
- Screen cover
- Toughened specialty glass front window (flameproof joint)
- Charging
- Lightning through the user-removable bottom plug (charge in a safe area only)
- Speakers and microphones
- Preserved ('all features of the original product are preserved')Unconfirmed, see note 4
- USB-C port
- Lightning port behind the bottom plug (Ex d blind plug when closed)
Field capabilities
- Push-to-talk
- Via app (third-party PTT apps over Wi-Fi/cellular; no PTT key; Ex-rated? n/a)Unconfirmed, see note 5
- Lone worker
- Via app (third-party lone-worker apps)Unconfirmed, see note 5
- Barcode scanning
- Via app (camera-based scanning; no scan engine); not possible on the blocked-camera '-BC' variantUnconfirmed, see note 5
- NFC reading
- Not possible (no NFC reader on any iPad)Unconfirmed, see note 5
- 3D scanning / LiDAR
- Not possible (no LiDAR on this iPad)
- Remote expert / video calls
- Via app (FaceTime, Teams or remote-assist apps; needs camera and audio access through the case)Unconfirmed, see note 5
- Windows desktop software
- Not possible (iPadOS only)
- Bluetooth gas detectors
- Via app (Bluetooth 5.0; vendor app; no maker-certified integration listed)Unconfirmed, see note 5
Display and camera
- Display
- 7.9-inch Retina IPS LCD, P3, True Tone, antireflective coating
- Resolution
- 2048 × 1536 (326 ppi)
- Brightness
- 500 nits
- Pen / stylus
- Apple Pencil (1st generation)
- Rear camera
- 8 MP
- Front camera
- 7 MP FaceTime HD
- Video
- 1080p video
Connectivity
- Network
- Wi-Fi only or Wi-Fi + Cellular (LTE)
- Wi-Fi
- 802.11ac, dual band, MIMO
- Bluetooth
- Bluetooth 5.0
- Satellite positioning
- GPS/GNSS on Wi-Fi + Cellular models; digital compass and Wi-Fi location on all
- SIM
- Nano-SIM and eSIM (cellular models)
Physical and power
- Weight
- 1150 g (including the tablet)Unconfirmed, see note 1
- Dimensions
- 250 × 185 × 33 mmUnconfirmed, see note 6
- Battery
- 5124Unconfirmed, see note 7
- Battery energy
- 19.1
- Battery life
- Up to 10 hours web or video on Wi-Fi
- Hot-swap battery
- No
- Replaceable battery
- No
- Ports and expansion
- Lightning
- Docking
- USB-C hubs and docks; Smart Connector or magnetic keyboard accessories where the iPad has them. Not usable through sealed Ex cases except the USB-C or Lightning charging port where the case exposes it.
Controls & Accessibility
- Keys
- Top (sleep/wake) button, volume buttons, Home button with Touch ID; no programmable hardware key
- Push-to-talk key
- No
- Biometrics
- Touch ID (home button)
Fleet and support
- Manufacturer
- Atexxo B.V., Netherlands
Only specifications we could check are listed. A numbered marker next to a value means it is unconfirmed: it comes from a single or secondary source, or sources disagree. The matching note at the foot of the page explains each one. See the Atexxo B.V. website for the full data sheet.
Compare
How it compares
Best in this comparison
AtexxoAtexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 5This tablet | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Type | Converted tablet | Converted tablet | Certified Ex case | Certified Ex case |
| Screen size | 7.9-inch | 8.3-inch | 7.9-inch | 8.3-inch |
| Availability | Discontinued | Current | Current | Current |
| Gas zones | Zone 1, Zone 2 | Zone 1, Zone 2 | Zone 1, Zone 2 | Zone 1, Zone 2 |
| Dust zones | — | Zone 21, Zone 22 | — | Zone 21, Zone 22 |
| Protection | Flameproof enclosure (Ex db) | Flameproof enclosure (Ex db) | Flameproof enclosure (Ex db) | Flameproof enclosure (Ex db) |
| Gas group | IIC | IIC | IIC | IIC |
| Temperature class | T4 | T4 | T5 | T6 (best in this comparison) |
| Certification | ATEX + IECEx | ATEX + IECEx | ATEX + IECEx | ATEX + IECEx |
| North America | — | Class I Division 2 | — | — |
| Ambient temperature | −20 °C to +50 °C | −20 °C to +50 °C | −20 °C to +45 °C | −20 °C to +40 °C (standard range: no Ta is marked on IECEx TPS 25.0016X, so IEC 60079-0 applies) |
| Charging in the Ex area | Not allowed | Not allowed | Not allowed | Not allowed |
| Operating system | iPadOS 26 | iPadOS 27 | iPadOS 26 | iPadOS 27 |
| Security updates | Ended March 2024 | Ended September 2026 | Ended March 2024 | At least until October 2029 (Apple's minimum) (best in this comparison) |
| Weight | 1150 g | 990 g (best in this comparison) | 1111 g | 1396 g |
| Display | 7.9-inch Retina IPS LCD, P3, True Tone, antireflective coating | 8.3-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, P3, True Tone, antireflective coating | 7.9-inch Retina IPS LCD, P3, True Tone, antireflective coating | 8.3-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, P3, True Tone, fully laminated, antireflective coating |
| 5G | No | Yes | No | Yes |
| Pen / stylus | Apple Pencil (1st generation) | Apple Pencil (2nd generation), Apple Pencil (USB-C); magnetic attach and charge (2nd gen) | Apple Pencil (1st generation) | Apple Pencil Pro, Apple Pencil (USB-C); hover |
| Replaceable battery | No | No | No | No |
| Hot-swap battery | No | No | No | No |
| Price | On request | On request | On request | On request |
FAQ
Common questions
Is the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 5 certified for Zone 1?
Yes. The Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 5 is certified for Zone 1 with the marking Ex db IIC T4 Gb. Equipment certified for Zone 1 can also be used in Zone 2.
Can the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 5 be used in Zone 0?
No. It is not certified for Zone 0. Zone 0 needs equipment with protection level Ga, such as Ex ia intrinsic safety.
What type of explosion protection does the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 5 use?
It uses a flameproof enclosure (Ex db), a form of explosion-proof protection. The housing is built to contain an ignition inside it and stop the flame reaching the surrounding atmosphere.
What does T4 mean for the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 5?
Its surface stays below 135 °C, so it is suitable for gases that only ignite above that temperature. Check the ignition temperature of the substances on your site.
Can you charge the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 5 in a hazardous area?
No. The certificate only allows charging outside the hazardous area.
Which tablet is inside the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 5?
A standard iPad mini (5th generation). A standard tablet that a specialist has modified and certified for hazardous areas.
Which ports and accessories can be used with the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 5 in the hazardous area?
Bottom plug removable by the user to charge in a safe area; M10x1 opening must be closed with a certified Ex d blind plug
What operating system does the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 5 run?
iPadOS 26. Apple guarantees security updates until at least March 2024; earlier iPads have had longer support.
Is the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 5 still available?
No. No longer in Atexxo's range.
How much does the Atexxo Zone 1 iPad mini 5 cost?
Prices for certified hazardous-area tablets depend on volume, configuration and region, so they are on request. Contact us for a price.
Notes on unconfirmed values
- From a single source; the maker's figures vary. Return to note 1
- Not stated by the maker for this exact model. Return to note 2
- Apple doesn't publish RAM; from independent teardowns. Return to note 3
- Inferred from related information; not stated by the maker for this exact model. Return to note 4
- Not confirmed by the maker for this exact model. Return to note 5
- From a single source. Return to note 6
- Apple states battery capacity in watt-hours only; this figure is from the case maker's documents. Return to note 7
Sources and verification
Facts last verified on against:
- Bureau Veritas CPS Germany: EU-Type Examination Certificate EPS 22 ATEX 1 162 X, revision 3, 2025-04-01 (EXd-TABLET-M6 and M7), read from Atexxo PDF
- IECEx Certificate Database (Bureau Veritas CPS): IECEx EPS 22.0020X issue 3, 2025-04-01, Current
- IECEx Certificate Database (Bureau Veritas CPS): IECEx EPS 20.0048X issue 1, 2021-12-16, Current (EXd-TABLET-M5; issue 0 titled TAB-EXd-IPAD-M5)
- DNV Business Assurance Brasil: INMETRO Certificate of Conformity DNV 25.0026 X/00, rev. 01, 2025-03-07
- CSA Group: Certificate of Compliance 80152658 (project 80243362), 2025-05-05
- Atexxo: Explosion Proof iPad Mini 7 (Ex Zone 1) product page + flyer
- Atexxo: Explosion Proof iPad Mini 6 (Ex Zone 1) product page
- Apple: Identify your iPad model (model numbers, years)
- Apple: UK PSTI Statements of Compliance, one per model (regulatoryinfo.apple.com/ukpsti): first supply date and minimum 5-year defined support period
- Apple: iPadOS 27 compatibility list (apple.com/os/ipados)
- Atexxo: Explosion Proof iPad (A16) / (10.9) / Mini 6 / Mini 7 / Pro (Ex Zone 2) product pages and flyers
- Holland Shielding Systems: Impact resistant explosion proof ATEX IECEx tablet for Zone 1 (TAB-EXd-IPAD-M5)
- BGR / EveryMac / 9to5Mac: iPadOS 27 drops iPad mini 5, iPad 8, iPad Air 3, iPad Pro 11-inch 1st gen (release 2026-09-14)
Always check the certificate for your exact model before use. Spotted an error? Tell us.


