Xciel XCRiPad 11-inch, front view

Xciel · Certified Ex case

Xciel XCRiPad 11-inch

  • Zone 2
  • ATEX
  • IIC
  • T6

The Xciel XCRiPad 11-inch is an Ex ic-rated case for the iPad (A16), rated for Zone 2 under ATEX. The tablet inside is a standard iPad (A16) running iPadOS 27, so it works with the same apps and device management.

Certified for
Zone 2
Protection
Intrinsic safety (Ex ic)
Screen
11-inch
Temperature class
T6 (≤ 85 °C)
Ambient temperature
−20 °C to +50 °CUnconfirmed, see note 1
Operating system
iPadOS 27
Security updates
At least until March 2030 (Apple's minimum)
Price
On request
Request a price
See how it compares to alternatives

Overview

Strengths and limitations

Strengths

  • 5G on cellular versions
  • Security updates guaranteed until at least March 2030 (Apple's minimum)
  • A standard iPad (A16) inside, with the same apps and Apple device management
  • Among the lightest Zone 2 tablets of its size we list, at 656 g in use

Limitations

  • Zone 2 only, so not for Zone 1 areas
  • Ex marking not yet confirmed against a published certificate
  • No dust zone rating
  • ATEX only: no IECEx certificate

Certification

Where you can use it

Gas

  • Zone 0not certified.Explosive gas present continuously or for long periods
  • Zone 1not certified.Explosive gas likely in normal operation
  • Zone 2certified.Explosive gas unlikely, and only briefly

Dust

No dust zones listed in our verified data. Check the certificate.

The Ex marking, decoded

Gas atmospheresZone 2

II3GExicIICT6Gc

II Equipment group
Group II: equipment for surface industries (not mining).
3G ATEX category
Category 3 for gas: suitable down to Zone 2.
Ex Explosion protected
Certified to the IEC 60079 / EN 60079 series.
ic Protection type
Intrinsic safety, level "ic": safe in normal operation. Zone 2 only.
IIC Gas group
Gas group IIC, e.g. hydrogen and acetylene. The most demanding group; also covers IIA and IIB.
T6 Temperature class
Surface stays below 85 °C. T6 is the strictest class.
Gc Protection level
Equipment protection level Gc (enhanced): suitable for Zone 2.

Safe use

Rules for the hazardous area

Ambient temperature (Ta)
−20 °C to +50 °CUnconfirmed, see note 1
Battery swap
Outside the hazardous area only
Certified accessories
Nylon case, touch pen (stylus), touch winter gloves, chest harness, Xciel Care service. Ex rating of accessories not stated.Unconfirmed, see note 3
Operating temperature
−20 °C to +50 °CUnconfirmed, see note 4

Specifications

Full specifications

Device specifications are for the iPad (A16) inside. “What works through the case” shows which of its features you can use in the case.

Certification

ATEX marking
II 3G Ex ic IIC T6 GcUnconfirmed, see note 1
ATEX certificate
Not published
Protection level (EPL)
GcUnconfirmed, see note 1

Device

Type
Certified Ex case
Tablet inside
iPad (A16)
Also fits
iPad (10th generation) 10.9-inch, iPad (9th generation) 10.2-inch, iPad (8th generation) 10.2-inch, iPad (7th generation) 10.2-inch, iPad (6th generation) 9.7-inch
Fitting
Installed by the customer
Tablet can be removed
Yes (rubber enclosure; Xciel sells an ATEX Zone 2 version the customer installs)Unconfirmed, see note 5
Part numbers
XCRIPAD2025; XCRiPad 11; XCRiPad 11-128-LTE, -256-LTE, -512-LTE (case with iPad)
Operating system
iPadOS 27
Edition
iPadOS (consumer; no LTSC or enterprise edition)
OS at launch
iPadOS 18.4
OS upgrades
Still supported by iPadOS 27 (current)
Security updates
At least until March 2030 (Apple's minimum)
Processor
Apple A16 (5-core CPU)
Processor architecture
Arm
Memory (RAM)
6 GB
Storage
128 GB, 256 GB, 512 GB

What works through the case

Apple Pencil / stylus
Touch pen (stylus) offered; Apple Pencil attach/charge not possible through the rubber enclosure (inferred)Unconfirmed, see note 7
Side and volume buttons
External power, volume and mute buttons
Rear cameras
Camera cover with transparent lens protection (camera usable)Unconfirmed, see note 7
Touchscreen
Touch through the case; 'compatible with stylus and gloves'Unconfirmed, see note 7
Charging
USB-C through a water/dust-proof power plugUnconfirmed, see note 7
USB-C port
Through the sealed power plug (charging)Unconfirmed, see note 7
Removed or disabled
Nothing stated as removed or disabledUnconfirmed, see note 7
Mounting points
Shoulder strap and handling/clipping features (with nylon case); chest harness optionUnconfirmed, see note 7

Field capabilities

Push-to-talk
Via app (third-party PTT apps over Wi-Fi/cellular; no PTT key; Ex-rated? n/a)Unconfirmed, see note 8
Lone worker
Via app (third-party lone-worker apps)Unconfirmed, see note 8
Barcode scanning
Via app (camera-based scanning; no scan engine)Unconfirmed, see note 8
NFC reading
Not possible (no NFC reader on any iPad)Unconfirmed, see note 8
3D scanning / LiDAR
Not possible (no LiDAR on this iPad)
Remote expert / video calls
Via app (FaceTime, Teams or remote-assist apps; needs camera and audio access through the case)Unconfirmed, see note 8
Windows desktop software
Not possible (iPadOS only)
Bluetooth gas detectors
Via app (Bluetooth 5.3; vendor app; no maker-certified integration listed)Unconfirmed, see note 8

Display and camera

Display
11-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, True Tone, fingerprint-resistant oleophobic coating (no antireflective coating or full lamination listed by Apple)
Resolution
2360 × 1640 (264 ppi)
Brightness
500 nits
Pen / stylus
Apple Pencil (USB-C), Apple Pencil (1st generation) with adapter
Rear camera
12 MP Wide, f/1.8
Front camera
12 MP Center Stage, landscape
Video
4K video

Connectivity

Network
Wi-Fi only or Wi-Fi + Cellular (5G)
Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi 6 (802.11ax), 2x2 MIMO
Bluetooth
Bluetooth 5.3
Satellite positioning
GPS/GNSS on Wi-Fi + Cellular models; digital compass and Wi-Fi location on all
SIM
eSIM only (cellular models)

Physical and power

Weight
656 g (including the tablet)Unconfirmed, see note 2
Dimensions
263 × 193 × 14.3 mm
Ingress protection
IP54
Battery energy
28.93
Battery life
Up to 10 hours web or video on Wi-Fi
Hot-swap battery
No
Replaceable battery
No
Ports and expansion
USB-C; Smart Connector
Docking
USB-C hubs and docks; Smart Connector or magnetic keyboard accessories where the iPad has them. Not usable through sealed Ex cases except the USB-C or Lightning charging port where the case exposes it.
Keyboard
Smart Connector (Magic Keyboard Folio)

Controls & Accessibility

Keys
Top button with Touch ID sensor, volume buttons; no programmable hardware key
Push-to-talk key
No
Biometrics
Touch ID (top button)

Fleet and support

Manufacturer
Xciel Inc, USA

Only specifications we could check are listed. A numbered marker next to a value means it is unconfirmed: it comes from a single or secondary source, or sources disagree. The matching note at the foot of the page explains each one. See the Xciel Inc website for the full data sheet.

Compare

How it compares

Best in this comparison

Xciel XCRiPad 11-inch compared with its closest alternatives
XcielXciel XCRiPad 11-inchThis tablet
ArmadexArmadex Ex UniCase
AtexxoAtexxo Zone 2 iPad (A16)
XshielderXshielder iPad Pro 11-inch
TypeCertified Ex caseCertified Ex caseConverted tabletCertified Ex case
Screen size11-inch11-inch11-inch11-inch
AvailabilityCurrentCurrentCurrentCurrent
Gas zonesZone 2Zone 2Zone 2Zone 1, Zone 2 (best in this comparison)
Dust zones—Zone 22Zone 22Zone 21, Zone 22
ProtectionIntrinsic safety (Ex ic)Restricted-breathing enclosure (Ex nR)Increased safety and intrinsic safety (Ex ec ic)Flameproof enclosure (Ex db)
Gas groupIICIICIICIIC
Temperature classT6 (best in this comparison)T6 (best in this comparison)T4T6 (best in this comparison)
CertificationATEXATEX + IECExATEXATEX
North America————
Ambient temperature−20 °C to +50 °C−20 °C to +50 °C—−20 °C to +45 °C
Charging in the Ex area—Not allowed——
Operating systemiPadOS 27iPadOS 27iPadOS 27iPadOS 27
Security updatesAt least until March 2030 (Apple's minimum)At least until March 2030 (Apple's minimum)At least until March 2030 (Apple's minimum)7–8 years (based on previous iPad Pro support) (best in this comparison)
Weight656 g (best in this comparison)—1050 g1350 g
Display11-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, True Tone, fingerprint-resistant oleophobic coating (no antireflective coating or full lamination listed by Apple)11-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, True Tone, fingerprint-resistant oleophobic coating (no antireflective coating or full lamination listed by Apple)11-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, True Tone, fingerprint-resistant oleophobic coating (no antireflective coating or full lamination listed by Apple)11-inch Ultra Retina XDR tandem OLED, ProMotion 10-120 Hz, P3, True Tone, antireflective coating; nano-texture glass option on 1 and 2 TB
5GYesYesYesYes
Pen / stylusApple Pencil (USB-C), Apple Pencil (1st generation) with adapterApple Pencil (USB-C), Apple Pencil (1st generation) with adapterApple Pencil (USB-C), Apple Pencil (1st generation) with adapterApple Pencil Pro, Apple Pencil (USB-C); magnetic attach and charge, hover
Replaceable batteryNoNoNoNo
Hot-swap batteryNoNoNoNo
PriceOn requestOn requestOn requestOn request

FAQ

Common questions

Is the Xciel XCRiPad 11-inch certified for Zone 1?

No. It is rated, according to Xciel's published data, for Zone 2 only, so it can be used in Zone 2 but not in Zone 1.

Can the Xciel XCRiPad 11-inch be used in Zone 0?

No. It is not certified for Zone 0. Zone 0 needs equipment with protection level Ga, such as Ex ia intrinsic safety.

What type of explosion protection does the Xciel XCRiPad 11-inch use?

It is intrinsically safe: intrinsic safety (Ex ic). Intrinsic safety limits the electrical and thermal energy in the device below the level that could ignite the surrounding atmosphere.

What does T6 mean for the Xciel XCRiPad 11-inch?

Its surface stays below 85 °C, so it is suitable for gases that only ignite above that temperature. Check the ignition temperature of the substances on your site.

Which tablet is inside the Xciel XCRiPad 11-inch?

A standard iPad (A16). It is also certified for the iPad (10th generation) 10.9-inch, iPad (9th generation) 10.2-inch, iPad (8th generation) 10.2-inch, iPad (7th generation) 10.2-inch and iPad (6th generation) 9.7-inch. A certified enclosure that lets a standard consumer tablet be used in hazardous areas.

What operating system does the Xciel XCRiPad 11-inch run?

iPadOS 27. Apple guarantees security updates until at least March 2030; earlier iPads have had longer support.

How much does the Xciel XCRiPad 11-inch cost?

Prices for certified hazardous-area tablets depend on volume, configuration and region, so they are on request. Contact us for a price.

Notes on unconfirmed values

  1. Marking as stated by Xciel. Xciel doesn't publish the certificate or declaration of conformity, so we haven't been able to check it.
  2. From a single source; the maker's figures vary.
  3. Not checked against the certificate for this exact model.
  4. From a single source.
  5. Not stated by the maker for this exact model.
  6. Approximate: the maker doesn't publish a launch date. Based on the certificate date or the maker's announcement.
  7. Inferred from related information; not stated by the maker for this exact model.
  8. Not confirmed by the maker for this exact model.
  9. Apple states battery capacity in watt-hours only; this figure is from the case maker's documents.

Sources and verification

Facts last verified on against:

Always check the certificate for your exact model before use. Spotted an error? Tell us.