
Atexxo · Converted tablet
Atexxo Zone 2 iPad (A16)
- Zone 2/22
- ATEX
- IIC
- T4
The Atexxo Zone 2 iPad (A16) is a standard iPad (A16) converted by Atexxo for hazardous areas, rated for Zone 2/22 under ATEX. It is an Ex ec ic-rated design, and the tablet runs iPadOS 27.
- Certified for
- Zone 2/22
- Protection
- Increased safety and intrinsic safety (Ex ec ic)
- Screen
- 11-inch
- Temperature class
- T4 (≤ 135 °C)
- Operating system
- iPadOS 27
- Security updates
- At least until March 2030 (Apple's minimum)
- Weight
- 1050 g
- Price
- On request
Overview
Strengths and limitations
Strengths
- 5G on cellular versions
- Security updates guaranteed until at least March 2030 (Apple's minimum)
- A standard iPad (A16) inside, with the same apps and Apple device management
- Among the lightest Zone 2 tablets of its size we list, at 1050 g in use
Limitations
- Zone 2 only, so not for Zone 1 areas
- Ex marking not yet confirmed against a published certificate
- Dust group IIIB: combustible flyings and non-conductive dust only, not conductive dust
- ATEX only: no IECEx certificate
Best for
Certification
Where you can use it
Gas
- Zone 0not certified.Explosive gas present continuously or for long periods
- Zone 1not certified.Explosive gas likely in normal operation
- Zone 2certified.Explosive gas unlikely, and only briefly
Dust
- Zone 20not certified.Combustible dust present continuously or for long periods
- Zone 21not certified.Combustible dust likely in normal operation
- Zone 22certified.Combustible dust unlikely, and only briefly
The Ex marking, decoded
Gas atmospheresZone 2
II3GExecicIICT4Gc
IIEquipment group- Group II: equipment for surface industries (not mining).
3GATEX category- Category 3 for gas: suitable down to Zone 2.
ExExplosion protected- Certified to the IEC 60079 / EN 60079 series.
ecProtection type- Increased safety, level "ec": extra measures against sparks, arcs and hot surfaces in normal operation. Zone 2 only.
icProtection type- Intrinsic safety, level "ic": safe in normal operation. Zone 2 only.
IICGas group- Gas group IIC, e.g. hydrogen and acetylene. The most demanding group; also covers IIA and IIB.
T4Temperature class- Surface stays below 135 °C. T6 is the strictest class.
GcProtection level- Equipment protection level Gc (enhanced): suitable for Zone 2.
Dust atmospheresZone 22
II3DExtcIIIBT135°CDc
3DATEX category- Category 3 for dust: suitable down to Zone 22.
tcProtection type- Protection by enclosure for dust, level "tc": suitable for Zone 22.
IIIBDust group- Dust group IIIB: non-conductive dust. Also covers IIIA.
T135°CMax surface temperature- Surface stays below 135°C in dust.
DcProtection level- Equipment protection level Dc (enhanced): suitable for Zone 22.
IIEx as above.
Safe use
Rules for the hazardous area
- Battery swap
- Outside the hazardous area only
- Certified accessories
- Passive stylus 'available on request' for glove operation; shoulder strap for Zone 1/2 phones and tablets. Ex rating not stated.Unconfirmed, see note 2
Specifications
Full specifications
Device specifications are for the iPad (A16) inside. “What works through the housing” shows which of its features you can use in the housing.
Certification
- ATEX marking
- II 3G Ex ec ic IIC T4 Gc / II 3D Ex tc IIIB T135°C DcUnconfirmed, see note 1
- ATEX certificate
- Not published
- Protection level (EPL)
- Gc / DcUnconfirmed, see note 1
- Dust group
- IIIBUnconfirmed, see note 1
- Max surface temperature (dust)
- 135 °CUnconfirmed, see note 1
Device
- Type
- Converted tablet
- Tablet inside
- iPad (A16)
- Fitting
- Supplied as a complete unit
- Tablet can be removed
- No (converted unit; reuse not described)Unconfirmed, see note 3
- Part numbers
- EX-TABLET-11-128, -128-CEL, -256, -256-CEL, -512, -512-CEL; EX-TABLET-11-* (DEP/ABM conversion)
- Operating system
- iPadOS 27
- Edition
- iPadOS (consumer; no LTSC or enterprise edition)
- OS at launch
- iPadOS 18.4
- OS upgrades
- Still supported by iPadOS 27 (current)
- Security updates
- At least until March 2030 (Apple's minimum)
- Processor
- Apple A16 (5-core CPU)
- Processor architecture
- Arm
- Memory (RAM)
- 6 GB
- Storage
- 128 GB, 256 GB, 512 GB
What works through the housing
- Face ID / Touch ID
- Touch ID (top button) REMOVED / not usable
- Apple Pencil / stylus
- Passive stylus 'available on request' for glove operation; Apple Pencil not mentionedUnconfirmed, see note 4
- Side and volume buttons
- Buttons preserved ('nearly all features preserved')Unconfirmed, see note 4
- Front camera
- Works (all original features preserved except as listed)Unconfirmed, see note 4
- Touchscreen
- Works (original touchscreen preserved)Unconfirmed, see note 4
- Charging
- USB-C (standard charger; cable included on the mini 7)Unconfirmed, see note 4
- Speakers and microphones
- Preserved ('all features of the original product are preserved')Unconfirmed, see note 4
- USB-C port
- USB-C port usable (standard USB-C charger)Unconfirmed, see note 4
- SIM card
- eSIM only per flyerUnconfirmed, see note 4
- Removed or disabled
- Touch ID in the top buttonUnconfirmed, see note 4
- Mounting points
- 2 x reinforced tether/anchor points for carrying (A16 and 10.9" pages)Unconfirmed, see note 4
Field capabilities
- Push-to-talk
- Via app (third-party PTT apps over Wi-Fi/cellular; no PTT key; Ex-rated? n/a)Unconfirmed, see note 5
- Lone worker
- Via app (third-party lone-worker apps)Unconfirmed, see note 5
- Barcode scanning
- Via app (camera-based scanning; no scan engine)Unconfirmed, see note 5
- NFC reading
- Not possible (no NFC reader on any iPad)Unconfirmed, see note 5
- 3D scanning / LiDAR
- Not possible (no LiDAR on this iPad)
- Remote expert / video calls
- Via app (FaceTime, Teams or remote-assist apps; needs camera and audio access through the case)Unconfirmed, see note 5
- Windows desktop software
- Not possible (iPadOS only)
- Bluetooth gas detectors
- Via app (Bluetooth 5.3; vendor app; no maker-certified integration listed)Unconfirmed, see note 5
Display and camera
- Display
- 11-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, True Tone, fingerprint-resistant oleophobic coating (no antireflective coating or full lamination listed by Apple)
- Resolution
- 2360 × 1640 (264 ppi)
- Brightness
- 500 nits
- Pen / stylus
- Apple Pencil (USB-C), Apple Pencil (1st generation) with adapter
- Rear camera
- 12 MP Wide, f/1.8
- Front camera
- 12 MP Center Stage, landscape
- Video
- 4K video
Connectivity
- Network
- Wi-Fi only or Wi-Fi + Cellular (5G)
- Wi-Fi
- Wi-Fi 6 (802.11ax), 2x2 MIMO
- Bluetooth
- Bluetooth 5.3
- Satellite positioning
- GPS/GNSS on Wi-Fi + Cellular models; digital compass and Wi-Fi location on all
- SIM
- eSIM only (cellular models)
Physical and power
- Weight
- 1050 g (including the tablet)
- Dimensions
- 280 × 210 × 16 mm
- Battery
- 7698Unconfirmed, see note 6
- Battery energy
- 28.93
- Battery life
- Up to 10 hours web or video on Wi-Fi
- Hot-swap battery
- No
- Replaceable battery
- No
- Ports and expansion
- USB-C; Smart Connector
- Docking
- USB-C hubs and docks; Smart Connector or magnetic keyboard accessories where the iPad has them. Not usable through sealed Ex cases except the USB-C or Lightning charging port where the case exposes it.
- Keyboard
- Smart Connector (Magic Keyboard Folio)
Controls & Accessibility
- Keys
- Top button with Touch ID sensor, volume buttons; no programmable hardware key
- Push-to-talk key
- No
- Biometrics
- Touch ID (top button)
Fleet and support
- Manufacturer
- Atexxo B.V., Netherlands
Only specifications we could check are listed. A numbered marker next to a value means it is unconfirmed: it comes from a single or secondary source, or sources disagree. The matching note at the foot of the page explains each one. See the Atexxo B.V. website for the full data sheet.
Compare
How it compares
Best in this comparison
AtexxoAtexxo Zone 2 iPad (A16)This tablet | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Type | Converted tablet | Certified Ex case | Certified Ex case | Certified Ex case |
| Screen size | 11-inch | 11-inch | 11-inch | 11-inch |
| Availability | Current | Current | Current | Current |
| Gas zones | Zone 2 | Zone 2 | Zone 2 | Zone 1, Zone 2 (best in this comparison) |
| Dust zones | Zone 22 | Zone 22 | — | Zone 21, Zone 22 |
| Protection | Increased safety and intrinsic safety (Ex ec ic) | Restricted-breathing enclosure (Ex nR) | Intrinsic safety (Ex ic) | Flameproof enclosure (Ex db) |
| Gas group | IIC | IIC | IIC | IIC |
| Temperature class | T4 | T6 (best in this comparison) | T6 (best in this comparison) | T6 (best in this comparison) |
| Certification | ATEX | ATEX + IECEx | ATEX | ATEX |
| North America | — | — | — | — |
| Ambient temperature | — | −20 °C to +50 °C | −20 °C to +50 °C | −20 °C to +45 °C |
| Charging in the Ex area | — | Not allowed | — | — |
| Operating system | iPadOS 27 | iPadOS 27 | iPadOS 27 | iPadOS 27 |
| Security updates | At least until March 2030 (Apple's minimum) | At least until March 2030 (Apple's minimum) | At least until March 2030 (Apple's minimum) | 7–8 years (based on previous iPad Pro support) (best in this comparison) |
| Weight | 1050 g | — | 656 g (best in this comparison) | 1350 g |
| Display | 11-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, True Tone, fingerprint-resistant oleophobic coating (no antireflective coating or full lamination listed by Apple) | 11-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, True Tone, fingerprint-resistant oleophobic coating (no antireflective coating or full lamination listed by Apple) | 11-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, True Tone, fingerprint-resistant oleophobic coating (no antireflective coating or full lamination listed by Apple) | 11-inch Ultra Retina XDR tandem OLED, ProMotion 10-120 Hz, P3, True Tone, antireflective coating; nano-texture glass option on 1 and 2 TB |
| 5G | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Pen / stylus | Apple Pencil (USB-C), Apple Pencil (1st generation) with adapter | Apple Pencil (USB-C), Apple Pencil (1st generation) with adapter | Apple Pencil (USB-C), Apple Pencil (1st generation) with adapter | Apple Pencil Pro, Apple Pencil (USB-C); magnetic attach and charge, hover |
| Replaceable battery | No | No | No | No |
| Hot-swap battery | No | No | No | No |
| Price | On request | On request | On request | On request |
FAQ
Common questions
Is the Atexxo Zone 2 iPad (A16) certified for Zone 1?
No. It is rated, according to Atexxo's published data, for Zone 2/22 only, so it can be used in Zone 2 but not in Zone 1.
Can the Atexxo Zone 2 iPad (A16) be used in Zone 0?
No. It is not certified for Zone 0. Zone 0 needs equipment with protection level Ga, such as Ex ia intrinsic safety.
What type of explosion protection does the Atexxo Zone 2 iPad (A16) use?
It combines increased safety (Ex ec) with intrinsic safety (Ex ic), both suited to Zone 2. Increased safety adds measures against sparks and hot surfaces; intrinsic safety limits the energy in the circuits.
What does T4 mean for the Atexxo Zone 2 iPad (A16)?
Its surface stays below 135 °C, so it is suitable for gases that only ignite above that temperature. Check the ignition temperature of the substances on your site.
Which tablet is inside the Atexxo Zone 2 iPad (A16)?
A standard iPad (A16). A standard tablet that a specialist has modified and certified for hazardous areas.
What operating system does the Atexxo Zone 2 iPad (A16) run?
iPadOS 27. Apple guarantees security updates until at least March 2030; earlier iPads have had longer support.
How much does the Atexxo Zone 2 iPad (A16) cost?
Prices for certified hazardous-area tablets depend on volume, configuration and region, so they are on request. Contact us for a price.
Notes on unconfirmed values
- Marking as stated by Atexxo. Atexxo doesn't publish the certificate or declaration of conformity, so we haven't been able to check it. Return to note 1
- Not checked against the certificate for this exact model. Return to note 2
- Not stated by the maker for this exact model. Return to note 3
- Inferred from related information; not stated by the maker for this exact model. Return to note 4
- Not confirmed by the maker for this exact model. Return to note 5
- Apple states battery capacity in watt-hours only; this figure is from the case maker's documents. Return to note 6
Sources and verification
Facts last verified on against:
- Bureau Veritas CPS Germany: EU-Type Examination Certificate EPS 22 ATEX 1 162 X, revision 3, 2025-04-01 (EXd-TABLET-M6 and M7), read from Atexxo PDF
- DNV Business Assurance Brasil: INMETRO Certificate of Conformity DNV 25.0026 X/00, rev. 01, 2025-03-07
- Xciel: XCRiPad 11 inch (A16) datasheet (PDF)
- Armadex: UniCase datasheets: iPad A16 and iPad Air (V2, 6-2026); iPad Pro M4 (v1, Jan 2026, certificate fields 'Revealed soon')
- Atexxo: Explosion Proof iPad (A16) / (10.9) / Mini 6 / Mini 7 / Pro (Ex Zone 2) product pages and flyers
- Apple: Identify your iPad model (model numbers, years)
- Apple: UK PSTI Statements of Compliance, one per model (regulatoryinfo.apple.com/ukpsti): first supply date and minimum 5-year defined support period
- Apple: iPadOS 27 compatibility list (apple.com/os/ipados)
- Atexxo: Explosion Proof iPad Mini 7 (Ex Zone 1) product page + flyer
- BGR / EveryMac / 9to5Mac: iPadOS 27 drops iPad mini 5, iPad 8, iPad Air 3, iPad Pro 11-inch 1st gen (release 2026-09-14)
Always check the certificate for your exact model before use. Spotted an error? Tell us.


