
Getac · Dedicated Ex tablet
Getac EX80
- Discontinued
- Zone 1/21
- ATEX
- IECEx
- IIC
- T4
Discontinued. No longer in Getac's range; Getac names no Zone 0/1 successor.
The Getac EX80 is an intrinsically safe (Ex ia) 8-inch Windows tablet from Getac, certified for Zone 1/21 under IECEx. Getac also states ATEX certification, but the certificate isn't published. It runs Windows 10 Pro. It has been discontinued.
- Certified for
- Zone 1/21
- Protection
- Intrinsic safety (Ex ia) with inherently safe optical radiation (op is)
- Screen
- 8-inch
- Temperature class
- T4 (≤ 135 °C)
- Ambient temperature
- −20 °C to +50 °C
- Operating system
- Windows 10 Pro
- Security updates
- Ended October 2025Unconfirmed, see note 1
- Price
- On request
Overview
Strengths and limitations
Strengths
- Zone 0 rated when used in the supplied case
Limitations
- No longer in the maker's current range
- T4 temperature class: fine for most gases, but not those that ignite below 135 °C
- Security updates ended in October 2025
- Battery isn't user-replaceable
- In-use weight not published
Certification
Where you can use it
Gas
- Zone 0certified.Explosive gas present continuously or for long periods
- Zone 1certified.Explosive gas likely in normal operation
- Zone 2certified.Explosive gas unlikely, and only briefly
Dust
- Zone 20certified.Combustible dust present continuously or for long periods
- Zone 21certified.Combustible dust likely in normal operation
- Zone 22certified.Combustible dust unlikely, and only briefly
The Ex marking, decoded
Gas atmospheresZones 0, 1 and 2
Exiaop isIICT4Ga
ExExplosion protected- Certified to the IEC 60079 / EN 60079 series.
iaProtection type- Intrinsic safety, level "ia": stays safe with two faults. The highest level, required for Zone 0.
op isProtection type- Inherently safe optical radiation: light from the camera flash or torch is limited below the level that could ignite the atmosphere.
IICGas group- Gas group IIC, e.g. hydrogen and acetylene. The most demanding group; also covers IIA and IIB.
T4Temperature class- Surface stays below 135 °C. T6 is the strictest class.
GaProtection level- Equipment protection level Ga (very high): suitable for Zone 0, 1 and 2.
Dust atmospheresZones 20, 21 and 22
Exiaop isIIICT135°CDa
IIICDust group- Dust group IIIC: conductive dust. The most demanding group; also covers IIIA and IIIB.
T135°CMax surface temperature- Surface stays below 135°C in dust.
DaProtection level- Equipment protection level Da (very high): suitable for Zone 20, 21 and 22.
Exiaop is as above.
Gas atmospheresZones 0, 1 and 2
Exiaop isIICT4Ga
ExExplosion protected- Certified to the IEC 60079 / EN 60079 series.
iaProtection type- Intrinsic safety, level "ia": stays safe with two faults. The highest level, required for Zone 0.
op isProtection type- Inherently safe optical radiation: light from the camera flash or torch is limited below the level that could ignite the atmosphere.
IICGas group- Gas group IIC, e.g. hydrogen and acetylene. The most demanding group; also covers IIA and IIB.
T4Temperature class- Surface stays below 135 °C. T6 is the strictest class.
GaProtection level- Equipment protection level Ga (very high): suitable for Zone 0, 1 and 2.
Dust atmospheresZones 20, 21 and 22
Exiaop isIIICT135°CDa
IIICDust group- Dust group IIIC: conductive dust. The most demanding group; also covers IIIA and IIIB.
T135°CMax surface temperature- Surface stays below 135°C in dust.
DaProtection level- Equipment protection level Da (very high): suitable for Zone 20, 21 and 22.
Exiaop is as above.
Safe use
Rules for the hazardous area
- Ambient temperature (Ta)
- −20 °C to +50 °C
- Charging
- Outside the hazardous area only
- Battery swap
- Outside the hazardous area only
- Ports and accessories in the zone
- Charging cradle and data download in non-hazardous areas only; microSIM changes in non-hazardous areas only.
- Certified accessories
- Not itemised in the certificate. Getac news lists a rotatable hand strap with kickstand and stylus holder, hard-tip stylus, charging dock, shoulder straps and office dock; their Ex status is not stated.Unconfirmed, see note 3
- Operating temperature
- −21 °C to +50 °C (news: -5.8 to 122 °F)
Conditions of use
Charge only in the non-hazardous area, with the adapter or cradle supplied by the manufacturer, within the ambient range of both charger and tablet. Data download via the cradle only to an unpowered device (flash drive). MicroSIM may be inserted or removed only in the non-hazardous area. No user-serviceable parts; battery pack is integral and not user-replaceable. Use only where there is a low risk of mechanical impact.
Specifications
Full specifications
Certification
- ATEX marking
- Ex ia op is IIC T4 Ga / Ex ia op is IIIC T135°C DaUnconfirmed, see note 2
- ATEX certificate
- Not published
- IECEx marking
- Ex ia op is IIC T4 Ga / Ex ia op is IIIC T135°C DaUnconfirmed, see note 2
- IECEx certificate
- IECEx SIR 16.0005X (Issue 4, 2021-09-09, EX80 Tablet)
- Other approvals
- UL 913 C1/C2 Div 1; MIL-STD-810G; IP67
- North America
- UL 913 Class I and II Division 1 (Getac news)Unconfirmed, see note 4
- Zone 0
- Zone 0 rated only inside the case supplied by the maker.
- Protection level (EPL)
- Ga / Da
- Dust group
- IIIC
- Max surface temperature (dust)
- 135 °C
Device
- Type
- Dedicated Ex tablet
- Launched
- 2017Unconfirmed, see note 5
- Operating system
- Windows 10 Pro
- Edition
- Windows 10 Pro
- OS upgrades
- Windows 10 22H2 is the last Windows 10 version
- Security updates
- Ended October 2025Unconfirmed, see note 1
Field capabilities
- RFID
- Built in (contactless HF RFID smart card reader)
- Remote expert / video calls
- Via app (8 MP rear, Full HD webcam)
- Windows desktop software
- Built in (Windows 10 Pro, now out of support)
Display and camera
- Display
- 8-inch IPS, LumiBond 2.0
- Resolution
- 1280 × 800 (WXGA)
- Brightness
- 600 nits
- Touch
- Rain, glove and stylus touch modes
- Pen / stylus
- Hard-tip stylus
- Rear camera
- 8 MP with LED flash
- Front camera
- Full HD webcam
Connectivity
- Network
- Wi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n; optional 4G LTE
- Wi-Fi
- 802.11 a/b/g/n dual band
- Bluetooth
- Bluetooth 4.0
- NFC
- HF RFID (contactless smartcard reader)
- Satellite positioning
- Dedicated GPS
Physical and power
- Ingress protection
- IP67
- Ruggedness
- MIL-STD-810G; 1.8 m (6 ft) drop
- Battery life
- More than 8 hours
- Replaceable battery
- No
- Docking
- Charging dock (supplied) and office dock
Controls & Accessibility
- Glove touch
- Yes
- Biometrics
- Contactless smart card (HF RFID); TPM 2.0, BitLocker
Fleet and support
- Manufacturer
- Getac Technology Corporation, Taiwan
Only specifications we could check are listed. A numbered marker next to a value means it is unconfirmed: it comes from a single or secondary source, or sources disagree. The matching note at the foot of the page explains each one. See the Getac Technology Corporation website for the full data sheet.
Compare
How it compares
Best in this comparison
GetacGetac EX80This tablet | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Type | Dedicated Ex tablet | Dedicated Ex tablet | Dedicated Ex tablet | Dedicated Ex tablet |
| Screen size | 8-inch | 10.1-inch | 10.1-inch | 8-inch |
| Availability | Discontinued | Current | Current | Current |
| Gas zones | Zone 0, Zone 1, Zone 2 (best in this comparison) | Zone 0, Zone 1, Zone 2 (best in this comparison) | Zone 1, Zone 2 | Zone 1, Zone 2 |
| Dust zones | Zone 20, Zone 21, Zone 22 | Zone 20, Zone 21, Zone 22 | Zone 21, Zone 22 | Zone 21, Zone 22 |
| Protection | Intrinsic safety (Ex ia) with inherently safe optical radiation (op is) | Intrinsic safety (Ex ia) | Intrinsic safety (Ex ib) | Flameproof enclosure (Ex db) with an intrinsically safe circuit (Ex ia) |
| Gas group | IIC | IIC | IIC | IIC |
| Temperature class | T4 | T4 | T4 | T6 (best in this comparison) |
| Certification | ATEX + IECEx | ATEX + IECEx | ATEX + IECEx | ATEX + IECEx |
| North America | — | Class I Division 1 | Class I Division 1 | Class I Division 1 |
| Ambient temperature | −20 °C to +50 °C | −20 °C to +55 °C | −20 °C to +55 °C | −20 °C to +55 °C |
| Charging in the Ex area | Not allowed | Not allowed | Allowed (see conditions) | Not allowed |
| Operating system | Windows 10 Pro | Windows 11 IoT Enterprise | Windows 11 IoT Enterprise LTSC for Arm64 | Android 16 |
| Security updates | Ended October 2025 | Until October 2034 (best in this comparison) | Until October 2034 (best in this comparison) | Until Q1 2032 |
| Weight | — | 1430 g | 1059 g (best in this comparison) | 1122 g |
| Display | 8-inch IPS, LumiBond 2.0 | 10.1-inch AHVA (IPS-type), 1000:1 contrast, 170 degree viewing angle | 10.1-inch Corning Gorilla Glass V3, usable with gloves | 8-inch TFT, capacitive multitouch, 60 Hz / adaptive up to 120 Hz; Corning Gorilla Glass 3 (DZ1/DZ2), Gorilla Glass 5 (D2) |
| 5G | No | No | Yes | Yes |
| Pen / stylus | Hard-tip stylus | Stylus supplied (type not stated) | — | Samsung S Pen included (pressure sensitive), with Tab-Ex S Pen holder |
| Replaceable battery | No | No | Yes | No |
| Hot-swap battery | — | — | — | — |
| Price | On request | On request | On request | On request |
FAQ
Common questions
Is the Getac EX80 certified for Zone 1?
Yes. The Getac EX80 is certified for Zone 1/21 with the marking Ex ia op is IIC T4 Ga. Equipment certified for Zone 1 can also be used in Zone 2.
Can the Getac EX80 be used in Zone 0?
Only inside the case the maker supplies. It carries protection level Ga, which Zone 0 requires, under that condition.
What type of explosion protection does the Getac EX80 use?
It is intrinsically safe: intrinsic safety (Ex ia) with inherently safe optical radiation (op is). Intrinsic safety limits the electrical and thermal energy in the device below the level that could ignite the surrounding atmosphere.
What does T4 mean for the Getac EX80?
Its surface stays below 135 °C, so it is suitable for gases that only ignite above that temperature. Check the ignition temperature of the substances on your site.
Can you charge the Getac EX80 in a hazardous area?
No. The certificate only allows charging outside the hazardous area.
Which ports and accessories can be used with the Getac EX80 in the hazardous area?
Charging cradle and data download in non-hazardous areas only; microSIM changes in non-hazardous areas only.
What operating system does the Getac EX80 run?
Windows 10 Pro. Security updates ended in October 2025.
Is the Getac EX80 still available?
No. No longer in Getac's range; Getac names no Zone 0/1 successor.
How much does the Getac EX80 cost?
Prices for certified hazardous-area tablets depend on volume, configuration and region, so they are on request. Contact us for a price.
Notes on unconfirmed values
- Getac's date for the standard model; Getac lists no separate date for the EX version. Return to note 1
- The IECEx marking is from the certificate. The ATEX version is from Getac's own information; the ATEX certificate isn't published. Return to note 2
- Not checked against the certificate for this exact model. Return to note 3
- From the maker's published information; we haven't seen the North American certificate. Return to note 4
- Approximate: the maker doesn't publish a launch date. Based on the certificate date or the maker's announcement. Return to note 5
Sources and verification
Facts last verified on against:
- IECEx / SIRA (CSA Group UK): IECEx SIR 16.0005X issue 4 (EX80 Tablet), 2021-09-09, Current
- Microsoft: Lifecycle: Windows 10 Home and Pro (22H2 end listed 10/15/2025)
- Getac: ATEX & IECEx certifications page (no certificate numbers; points to spec sheets)
- Getac: EX80 launch news page (Zone 0, ATEX, IECEx, UL913)
Always check the certificate for your exact model before use. Spotted an error? Tell us.


