Aegex · Dedicated Ex tablet

Aegex 100M

  • Discontinued
  • Zone 1/21
  • ATEX
  • IECEx
  • IIC
  • T4
  • Class I Division 1

Discontinued. Availability unclear: Aegex's website has gone offline and a distributor lists it as end of life, though another still shows stock. Eaton sells a tablet with identical specifications. See the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC

The Aegex 100M is an intrinsically safe (Ex ia) 10.1-inch Windows tablet from Aegex, certified for Zone 1/21 under ATEX and IECEx. It runs Windows 11 IoT Enterprise. It has been discontinued; the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC replaces it.

Certified for
Zone 1/21
Protection
Intrinsic safety (Ex ia)
Screen
10.1-inch
Temperature class
T4 (≤ 135 °C)
Ambient temperature
−20 °C to +55 °C
Operating system
Windows 11 IoT Enterprise
Security updates
Until October 2034Unconfirmed, see note 1
Weight
1430 g
Price
On request
View the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC
See how it compares to alternatives

Overview

Strengths and limitations

Strengths

  • Zone 0 rated when used in the supplied case
  • ATEX and IECEx certified, with published certificate numbers
  • Also certified for Class I Division 1 in North America

Limitations

  • Discontinued; the Eaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC replaces it
  • T4 temperature class: fine for most gases, but not those that ignite below 135 °C
  • Battery isn't user-replaceable

Certification

Where you can use it

Gas

  • Zone 0certified.Explosive gas present continuously or for long periods
  • Zone 1certified.Explosive gas likely in normal operation
  • Zone 2certified.Explosive gas unlikely, and only briefly

Dust

  • Zone 20certified.Combustible dust present continuously or for long periods
  • Zone 21certified.Combustible dust likely in normal operation
  • Zone 22certified.Combustible dust unlikely, and only briefly

The Ex marking, decoded

ATEXUnconfirmed, see note 2Certificate Nemko 25ATEX1007X

Gas atmospheresZones 0, 1 and 2

II1GExiaIICT4Ga

II Equipment group
Group II: equipment for surface industries (not mining).
1G ATEX category
Category 1 for gas: suitable down to Zone 0.
Ex Explosion protected
Certified to the IEC 60079 / EN 60079 series.
ia Protection type
Intrinsic safety, level "ia": stays safe with two faults. The highest level, required for Zone 0.
IIC Gas group
Gas group IIC, e.g. hydrogen and acetylene. The most demanding group; also covers IIA and IIB.
T4 Temperature class
Surface stays below 135 °C. T6 is the strictest class.
Ga Protection level
Equipment protection level Ga (very high): suitable for Zone 0, 1 and 2.

Dust atmospheresZones 20, 21 and 22

II1DExiaIIICT135°CDa

1D ATEX category
Category 1 for dust: suitable down to Zone 20.
IIIC Dust group
Dust group IIIC: conductive dust. The most demanding group; also covers IIIA and IIIB.
T135°C Max surface temperature
Surface stays below 135°C in dust.
Da Protection level
Equipment protection level Da (very high): suitable for Zone 20, 21 and 22.

IIExia as above.

Safe use

Rules for the hazardous area

Ambient temperature (Ta)
−20 °C to +55 °C
Charging
Outside the hazardous area only
Battery swap
Outside the hazardous area only
Ports and accessories in the zone
No accessories or extensions in hazardous areas; do not open the SIM/SD port, do not connect or disconnect anything (charging contact, dock) in hazardous areas.
Certified accessories
Zone 0 leather case APAC-100-01 (mandatory in Zone 0), battery AAEB-100-XX, charger AAAK-0XX-01, DS100M dock (safe area only), shoulder strap and stylus in the box. No Ex-rated peripherals are allowed in the Ex area.
Operating temperature
−20 °C to +55 °C

Conditions of use

IECEx NMK 25.0015X conditions: do not remove or replace the battery pack in hazardous areas; use only battery pack AAEB-100-XX and charge it only on the tablet; charge only with Aegex charger AAAK-0XX-01; do not open the SIM/SD port in a hazardous location; in Zone 0 the product must be used inside the Aegex leather case APAC-100-01 (aluminium enclosure, friction hazard); avoid friction on the enclosure; inspect for damage; service only by Aegex; do not charge, connect or disconnect in hazardous areas; no accessories or extensions in hazardous areas; Ta −20 °C to +55 °C.

Specifications

Full specifications

Certification

ATEX marking
II 1G Ex ia IIC T4 Ga / II 1D Ex ia IIIC T135°C DaUnconfirmed, see note 2
ATEX certificate
Nemko 25ATEX1007X
IECEx marking
Ex ia IIC T4 Ga / Ex ia IIIC T135°C DaUnconfirmed, see note 2
IECEx certificate
IECEx NMK 25.0015X (issue 1, 2026-02-20
Other approvals
CSA Class I Zone 1/0 listing (per distributors); India certification announced by Aegex (news page seen only as a search result; certificate not read)Unconfirmed, see note 3
North America
UL 913 8th ed.: Class I, II, III Div 1 and Div 2 Groups C, D T4; Class I Zone 0 AEx ia IIB T4 Ga (gas group IIB in North America, not IIC); CSA C22.2 No. 60079-0/-11
Zone 0
Zone 0 rated only inside the case supplied by the maker.
Protection level (EPL)
Ga / Da
Dust group
IIIC
Max surface temperature (dust)
135 °C

Device

Type
Dedicated Ex tablet
Part numbers
A100MW1CB0A01 (Connection.com listing); Zone 0 case APAC-100-01; charger AAAK-0XX-01; dock DS100M
Operating system
Windows 11 IoT Enterprise
Edition
Windows 11 IoT Enterprise (channel/LTSC year not stated; Eaton: 'Windows 11 IoT')Unconfirmed, see note 5
Security updates
Until October 2034Unconfirmed, see note 1
Processor
Intel quad-core Atom (Apollo Lake) 1.6 GHz base, 1.8 GHz burst
Processor architecture
x86
Memory (RAM)
8 GB
Storage
256 GB, MicroSDXC up to 2 TB

Field capabilities

Barcode scanning
Via app (AegexScan; camera-based, no dedicated engine)
NFC reading
Built in (NFC)
3D scanning / LiDAR
Not possible (no depth sensor)
Remote expert / video calls
Via app (front and rear cameras; Windows app)
Windows desktop software
Built in (Windows 11 IoT Enterprise, x86)

Display and camera

Display
10.1-inch AHVA (IPS-type), 1000:1 contrast, 170 degree viewing angle
Resolution
2560 × 1600 (WQXGA)
Brightness
540 nits
Pen / stylus
Stylus supplied (type not stated)
Rear camera
8 MP autofocus with flash (Eaton: camera-free version available)
Front camera
Front camera 1920 x 1080 stills (megapixels not stated; 2 MP in Eaton manual)
Video
1080p at 30 fps

Connectivity

Network
Wi-Fi; optional LTE-A Cat 12 / UMTS
Wi-Fi
802.11 a/b/g/n/ac
Bluetooth
Bluetooth 5.2
NFC
Yes
Satellite positioning
GPS, GLONASS, Galileo
SIM
Nano-SIM (LTE version)

Physical and power

Weight
1430 g
Dimensions
278 × 207 × 13.8 (28.3 at battery) mm
Ingress protection
IP67
Battery
2 x 3450 (7.2 V)
Battery energy
49.68
Battery life
Typical 12 h (Eaton datasheet)
Replaceable battery
No
Ports and expansion
5-pin magnetic charging connector; docking connector (LAN, USB 2.0/3.0, USB-C, HDMI, SD, audio jack); microSDXC and nano-SIM under port cover; VESA 75 x 35 mm mount (Eaton)
Docking
Dock DS100M (Aegex) / GEC-ATP-DOST-01 (Eaton), safe area only; shoulder strap; VESA mount
Keyboard
No (slate)

Fleet and support

Preinstalled apps
AegexScan barcode-scanning application (optional, Aegex)
Manufacturer
Aegex Technologies LLC, USA

Only specifications we could check are listed. A numbered marker next to a value means it is unconfirmed: it comes from a single or secondary source, or sources disagree. The matching note at the foot of the page explains each one.

Compare

How it compares

Best in this comparison

Aegex 100M compared with its closest alternatives
AegexAegex 100MThis tablet
EatonEaton MTL GECMA IS Tablet PC
i.safe MOBILEi.safe MOBILE IS945.1
ecom (Pepperl+Fuchs)ecom Tab-Ex 05 DZ1
TypeDedicated Ex tabletDedicated Ex tabletDedicated Ex tabletDedicated Ex tablet
Screen size10.1-inch10.1-inch10.1-inch8-inch
AvailabilityDiscontinuedCurrentCurrentCurrent
Gas zonesZone 0, Zone 1, Zone 2 (best in this comparison)Zone 0, Zone 1, Zone 2 (best in this comparison)Zone 1, Zone 2Zone 1, Zone 2
Dust zonesZone 20, Zone 21, Zone 22Zone 20, Zone 21, Zone 22Zone 21, Zone 22Zone 21, Zone 22
ProtectionIntrinsic safety (Ex ia)Intrinsic safety (Ex ia)Intrinsic safety (Ex ib)Flameproof enclosure (Ex db) with an intrinsically safe circuit (Ex ia)
Gas groupIICIICIICIIC
Temperature classT4T4T4T6 (best in this comparison)
CertificationATEX + IECExATEX + IECExATEX + IECExATEX + IECEx
North AmericaClass I Division 1Class I Division 1Class I Division 1Class I Division 1
Ambient temperature−20 °C to +55 °C−20 °C to +55 °C−20 °C to +55 °C−20 °C to +55 °C
Charging in the Ex areaNot allowedNot allowedAllowed (see conditions)Not allowed
Operating systemWindows 11 IoT EnterpriseWindows 11 IoT EnterpriseWindows 11 IoT Enterprise LTSC for Arm64Android 16
Security updatesUntil October 2034 (best in this comparison)Until October 2034 (best in this comparison)Until October 2034 (best in this comparison)Until Q1 2032
Weight1430 g1430 g1059 g (best in this comparison)1122 g
Display10.1-inch AHVA (IPS-type), 1000:1 contrast, 170 degree viewing angle10.1-inch AHVA (IPS-type), 1000:1 contrast, 170 degree viewing angle10.1-inch Corning Gorilla Glass V3, usable with gloves8-inch TFT, capacitive multitouch, 60 Hz / adaptive up to 120 Hz; Corning Gorilla Glass 3 (DZ1/DZ2), Gorilla Glass 5 (D2)
5GNoNoYesYes
Pen / stylusStylus supplied (type not stated)Stylus supplied (type not stated)—Samsung S Pen included (pressure sensitive), with Tab-Ex S Pen holder
Replaceable batteryNoNoYesNo
Hot-swap battery————
PriceOn requestOn requestOn requestOn request

FAQ

Common questions

Is the Aegex 100M certified for Zone 1?

Yes. The Aegex 100M is certified for Zone 1/21 with the marking II 1G Ex ia IIC T4 Ga. Equipment certified for Zone 1 can also be used in Zone 2.

Can the Aegex 100M be used in Zone 0?

Only inside the case the maker supplies. It carries protection level Ga, which Zone 0 requires, under that condition.

What type of explosion protection does the Aegex 100M use?

It is intrinsically safe: intrinsic safety (Ex ia). Intrinsic safety limits the electrical and thermal energy in the device below the level that could ignite the surrounding atmosphere.

What does T4 mean for the Aegex 100M?

Its surface stays below 135 °C, so it is suitable for gases that only ignite above that temperature. Check the ignition temperature of the substances on your site.

Can you charge the Aegex 100M in a hazardous area?

No. The certificate only allows charging outside the hazardous area.

Which ports and accessories can be used with the Aegex 100M in the hazardous area?

No accessories or extensions in hazardous areas; do not open the SIM/SD port, do not connect or disconnect anything (charging contact, dock) in hazardous areas.

What operating system does the Aegex 100M run?

Windows 11 IoT Enterprise. Security updates are expected until at least October 2034.

Is the Aegex 100M still available?

No. Availability unclear: Aegex's website has gone offline and a distributor lists it as end of life, though another still shows stock. Eaton sells a tablet with identical specifications.

How much does the Aegex 100M cost?

Prices for certified hazardous-area tablets depend on volume, configuration and region, so they are on request. Contact us for a price.

Notes on unconfirmed values

  1. Microsoft's end date for Windows 11 IoT Enterprise LTSC 2024. The maker doesn't state the edition year.
  2. The IECEx marking is from the certificate. The ATEX version is from a distributor and Eaton's identical certificate; the ATEX certificate isn't published.
  3. Stated by the maker; we haven't seen the certificate.
  4. Approximate: the maker doesn't publish a launch date. Based on the certificate date or the maker's announcement.
  5. The maker doesn't state the edition year.

Sources and verification

Facts last verified on against:

Always check the certificate for your exact model before use. Spotted an error? Tell us.