
Aegex · Dedicated Ex tablet
Aegex 10 IS
- Discontinued
- Zone 1/21
- IECEx
- IIC
- T4
Discontinued. Discontinued by Aegex; its IECEx certificate has been cancelled. See the Aegex 100M
The Aegex 10 IS is an intrinsically safe (Ex ib) 10.1-inch Windows tablet from Aegex, certified for Zone 1/21 under IECEx. Its operating system version isn't published. It has been discontinued; the Aegex 100M replaces it.
- Certified for
- Zone 1/21
- Protection
- Intrinsic safety (Ex ib)
- Screen
- 10.1-inch
- Temperature class
- T4 (≤ 135 °C)
- Ambient temperature
- −20 °C to +50 °C (+55 °C at T3)
- Operating system
- Not published
- Security updates
- Ended October 2025Unconfirmed, see note 1
- Price
- On request
Overview
Strengths and limitations
Strengths
- Certified for Zone 1/21
Limitations
- Discontinued; the Aegex 100M replaces it
- Security updates ended in October 2025
- In-use weight not published
- Not certified for Zone 0
Certification
Where you can use it
Gas
- Zone 0not certified.Explosive gas present continuously or for long periods
- Zone 1certified.Explosive gas likely in normal operation
- Zone 2certified.Explosive gas unlikely, and only briefly
Dust
- Zone 20not certified.Combustible dust present continuously or for long periods
- Zone 21certified.Combustible dust likely in normal operation
- Zone 22certified.Combustible dust unlikely, and only briefly
The Ex marking, decoded
Gas atmospheresZones 1 and 2
ExibIICT4Gb
ExExplosion protected- Certified to the IEC 60079 / EN 60079 series.
ibProtection type- Intrinsic safety, level "ib": stays safe with one fault. Suitable for Zone 1 and 2.
IICGas group- Gas group IIC, e.g. hydrogen and acetylene. The most demanding group; also covers IIA and IIB.
T4Temperature class- Surface stays below 135 °C. T6 is the strictest class.
GbProtection level- Equipment protection level Gb (high): suitable for Zone 1 and 2.
Dust atmospheresZones 21 and 22
ExibIIICT135°CDbIP6X
IIICDust group- Dust group IIIC: conductive dust. The most demanding group; also covers IIIA and IIIB.
T135°CMax surface temperature- Surface stays below 135°C in dust.
DbProtection level- Equipment protection level Db (high): suitable for Zone 21 and 22.
IP6XIngress protection- Dust-tight; no water rating stated.
Exib as above.
Versions
Marking versions
The certification covers more than one version: IECEx (issue 6, three options): Ex ib IIC T6 Gb or Ex ib IIC T4 Gb (Ta -10/-20 °C to +50 °C); Ex ib IIC T3 Gb (Ta -10/-20 °C to +55 °C) | IECEx (issue 6, three options): Ex ib IIIC T85°C Db IP6X or Ex ib IIIC T135°C Db IP6X (to +50 °C); Ex ib IIIC T200°C Db IP6X (to +55 °C)
Safe use
Rules for the hazardous area
- Ambient temperature (Ta)
- −20 °C to +50 °C (+55 °C at T3)
- Charging
- Outside the hazardous area only
- Operating temperature
- −20 °C to +50 °C
Conditions of use
IECEx X conditions: charging or replacing the battery pack in explosive atmospheres is forbidden; follow the manual and label; replacing the SIM card in explosive atmospheres is forbidden.
Specifications
Full specifications
Certification
- IECEx marking
- Ex ib IIC T4 Gb / Ex ib IIIC T135°C Db IP6X
- IECEx certificate
- IECEx BKI 15.0005X (issue 6, 2018-11-16
- North America
- UL 913 Class I, II, III Div 1Unconfirmed, see note 2
- Protection level (EPL)
- Gb / Db
- Dust group
- IIIC
- Max surface temperature (dust)
- 135 °C
Device
- Type
- Dedicated Ex tablet
- Launched
- 2016Unconfirmed, see note 3
- Part numbers
- AEG-SKU-A10i7-432 (ATEXshop SKU for the Core i7 variant)
- Operating system
- Not published
- Edition
- Windows 10 Pro or Windows 10 Enterprise LTSB (year not stated); Windows 8.1 also offeredUnconfirmed, see note 4
- Security updates
- Ended October 2025Unconfirmed, see note 1
- Processor
- Intel (i7 variant listed by ATEXshop)
- Memory (RAM)
- 8 GB
- Storage
- 256 GB (SD up to 2 TB)
Field capabilities
- Barcode scanning
- Via app (AegexScan)
- NFC reading
- Built in (NFC/RFID)
- Windows desktop software
- Built in (Windows 10)
Display and camera
- Display
- 10.1-inch
- Brightness
- 540 nits
- Rear camera
- 8 MP
- Front camera
- 2 MP
Connectivity
- Network
- Wi-Fi, Cat 12 LTE
- NFC
- Yes (NFC/RFID)
Physical and power
- Dimensions
- about 275 × 206 × 13.7 (28.2 at battery) mm
- Ingress protection
- IP65
Fleet and support
- Manufacturer
- Aegex Technologies LLC, USA
Only specifications we could check are listed. A numbered marker next to a value means it is unconfirmed: it comes from a single or secondary source, or sources disagree. The matching note at the foot of the page explains each one.
Compare
How it compares
Best in this comparison
AegexAegex 10 ISThis tablet | AegexAegex 100M | |||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Type | Dedicated Ex tablet | Dedicated Ex tablet | Dedicated Ex tablet | Dedicated Ex tablet |
| Screen size | 10.1-inch | 10.1-inch | 10.1-inch | 10.1-inch |
| Availability | Discontinued | Discontinued | Current | Current |
| Gas zones | Zone 1, Zone 2 | Zone 0, Zone 1, Zone 2 (best in this comparison) | Zone 0, Zone 1, Zone 2 (best in this comparison) | Zone 1, Zone 2 |
| Dust zones | Zone 21, Zone 22 | Zone 20, Zone 21, Zone 22 | Zone 20, Zone 21, Zone 22 | Zone 21, Zone 22 |
| Protection | Intrinsic safety (Ex ib) | Intrinsic safety (Ex ia) | Intrinsic safety (Ex ia) | Intrinsic safety (Ex ib) |
| Gas group | IIC | IIC | IIC | IIC |
| Temperature class | T4 | T4 | T4 | T4 |
| Certification | IECEx | ATEX + IECEx | ATEX + IECEx | ATEX + IECEx |
| North America | — | Class I Division 1 | Class I Division 1 | Class I Division 1 |
| Ambient temperature | −20 °C to +50 °C (+55 °C at T3) | −20 °C to +55 °C | −20 °C to +55 °C | −20 °C to +55 °C |
| Charging in the Ex area | Not allowed | Not allowed | Not allowed | Allowed (see conditions) |
| Operating system | Not published | Windows 11 IoT Enterprise | Windows 11 IoT Enterprise | Windows 11 IoT Enterprise LTSC for Arm64 |
| Security updates | Ended October 2025 | Until October 2034 (best in this comparison) | Until October 2034 (best in this comparison) | Until October 2034 (best in this comparison) |
| Weight | — | 1430 g | 1430 g | 1059 g (best in this comparison) |
| Display | 10.1-inch | 10.1-inch AHVA (IPS-type), 1000:1 contrast, 170 degree viewing angle | 10.1-inch AHVA (IPS-type), 1000:1 contrast, 170 degree viewing angle | 10.1-inch Corning Gorilla Glass V3, usable with gloves |
| 5G | No | No | No | Yes |
| Pen / stylus | — | Stylus supplied (type not stated) | Stylus supplied (type not stated) | — |
| Replaceable battery | — | No | No | Yes |
| Hot-swap battery | — | — | — | — |
| Price | On request | On request | On request | On request |
FAQ
Common questions
Is the Aegex 10 IS certified for Zone 1?
Yes. The Aegex 10 IS is certified for Zone 1/21 with the marking Ex ib IIC T4 Gb. Equipment certified for Zone 1 can also be used in Zone 2.
Can the Aegex 10 IS be used in Zone 0?
No. It is not certified for Zone 0. Zone 0 needs equipment with protection level Ga, such as Ex ia intrinsic safety.
What type of explosion protection does the Aegex 10 IS use?
It is intrinsically safe: intrinsic safety (Ex ib). Intrinsic safety limits the electrical and thermal energy in the device below the level that could ignite the surrounding atmosphere.
What does T4 mean for the Aegex 10 IS?
Its surface stays below 135 °C, so it is suitable for gases that only ignite above that temperature. Check the ignition temperature of the substances on your site.
Can you charge the Aegex 10 IS in a hazardous area?
No. The certificate only allows charging outside the hazardous area.
What operating system does the Aegex 10 IS run?
Not published. Security updates ended in October 2025.
Is the Aegex 10 IS still available?
No. Discontinued by Aegex; its IECEx certificate has been cancelled.
How much does the Aegex 10 IS cost?
Prices for certified hazardous-area tablets depend on volume, configuration and region, so they are on request. Contact us for a price.
Notes on unconfirmed values
- Microsoft ended Windows 10 Pro support on 14 October 2025. The maker doesn't state the edition; an LTSC edition would run longer. Return to note 1
- From the maker's published information; we haven't seen the North American certificate. Return to note 2
- Approximate: the maker doesn't publish a launch date. Based on the certificate date or the maker's announcement. Return to note 3
- The maker doesn't state the edition year. Return to note 4
Sources and verification
Facts last verified on against:
- IECEx online certificate database: IECEx BKI 15.0005X issue 6 (2018-11-16), Aegex 10, CANCELLED 2022-12-22
- Microsoft: Lifecycle: Windows 10 Home and Pro (22H2 end listed 10/15/2025)
- ATEXshop (distributor): Aegex 10 product page: End of Life; Aegex end-of-sale notice 1Q 2022
Always check the certificate for your exact model before use. Spotted an error? Tell us.

