OtterBox · Certified Ex case
OtterBox Hardline iPad Air
- Discontinued
- Zone 2/22
- IECEx
- IIC
- T6
Discontinued. Its IECEx certificate was cancelled in March 2025 and OtterBox no longer promotes it; we found no end-of-sale notice.
The OtterBox Hardline iPad Air is a restricted-breathing (Ex nR) case for the iPad Air (5th generation, M1) 10.9-inch, certified for Zone 2/22 under IECEx. The tablet inside is a standard iPad Air (5th generation, M1) 10.9-inch running iPadOS 27, so it works with the same apps and device management. It has been discontinued.
- Certified for
- Zone 2/22
- Protection
- Restricted-breathing enclosure (Ex nR)
- Screen
- 10.9-inch
- Temperature class
- T6 (≤ 85 °C)
- Ambient temperature
- −20 °C to +45 °C
- Operating system
- iPadOS 27
- Security updates
- At least until March 2027 (Apple's minimum)
- Price
- On request
Overview
Strengths and limitations
Strengths
- 5G on cellular versions
- A standard iPad Air (5th generation, M1) 10.9-inch inside, with the same apps and Apple device management
Limitations
- No longer in the maker's current range
- Zone 2 only, so not for Zone 1 areas
- Ambient rating tops out at +45 °C
- In-use weight not published
Certification
Where you can use it
Gas
- Zone 0not certified.Explosive gas present continuously or for long periods
- Zone 1not certified.Explosive gas likely in normal operation
- Zone 2certified.Explosive gas unlikely, and only briefly
Dust
- Zone 20not certified.Combustible dust present continuously or for long periods
- Zone 21not certified.Combustible dust likely in normal operation
- Zone 22certified.Combustible dust unlikely, and only briefly
The Ex marking, decoded
Gas atmospheresZone 2
ExnRIICT6Gc
ExExplosion protected- Certified to the IEC 60079 / EN 60079 series.
nRProtection type- Restricted-breathing enclosure: the case is sealed so an explosive atmosphere can only seep in very slowly. Zone 2 only.
IICGas group- Gas group IIC, e.g. hydrogen and acetylene. The most demanding group; also covers IIA and IIB.
T6Temperature class- Surface stays below 85 °C. T6 is the strictest class.
GcProtection level- Equipment protection level Gc (enhanced): suitable for Zone 2.
Dust atmospheresZone 22
ExtcIIIC65°CDc
tcProtection type- Protection by enclosure for dust, level "tc": suitable for Zone 22.
IIICDust group- Dust group IIIC: conductive dust. The most demanding group; also covers IIIA and IIIB.
65°CMax surface temperature- Surface stays below 65°C in dust.
DcProtection level- Equipment protection level Dc (enhanced): suitable for Zone 22.
Ex as above.
Versions
Marking versions
The certification covers more than one version: Ex nR IIC T6 Gc (−20°C ≤ Tamb ≤ 45°C) | Ex tc IIIC 65°C Dc (model OBFTC-0135-A); Ex tc IIIC 58°C Dc (model OBFTC-0183-A)
Safe use
Rules for the hazardous area
- Ambient temperature (Ta)
- −20 °C to +45 °C
- Battery swap
- Outside the hazardous area only
- Certified accessories
- Hardline Charging Station (single or four-bay, Qi, office/warehouse use), hand strap, breakaway shoulder strap, Tech-Touch safety gloves (separate purchase). Ex rating of accessories not stated.Unconfirmed, see note 1
- Operating temperature
- −20 °C to +45 °C
Conditions of use
Do not open the equipment. No parts, including the gaskets and seals, are intended to be replaced. If service is required, contact the manufacturer.
Specifications
Full specifications
Device specifications are for the iPad Air (5th generation, M1) 10.9-inch inside. “What works through the case” shows which of its features you can use in the case.
Certification
- IECEx marking
- Ex nR IIC T6 Gc / Ex tc IIIC 65°C Dc
- IECEx certificate
- IECEx UL 23.0003X
- Other approvals
- IP68; MIL-STD-810H 4-ft drop; ESD-safe, UV F1, flame HB (press release)Unconfirmed, see note 2
- North America
- UL: Class I Div 2 Groups A-D; Class II Div 2 Groups F, G; Class III (press release; UL certification not re-checked)Unconfirmed, see note 3
- Protection level (EPL)
- Gc / Dc
- Dust group
- IIIC
- Max surface temperature (dust)
- 65°C / 58°C by model
Device
- Type
- Certified Ex case
- Tablet inside
- iPad Air (5th generation, M1) 10.9-inch
- Also fits
- iPad Air (4th generation) 10.9-inch
- Fitting
- Supplied as a complete unit
- Tablet can be removed
- No (certificate: do not open the equipment; no parts intended to be replaced)
- Launched
- 2023
- Part numbers
- OBFTC-0135-A and OBFTC-0183-A (IECEx certificate models; which iPad each fits is not stated in sources read)Unconfirmed, see note 4
- Operating system
- iPadOS 27
- Edition
- iPadOS (consumer; no LTSC or enterprise edition)
- OS at launch
- iPadOS 15.4
- OS upgrades
- Still supported by iPadOS 27 (current)
- Security updates
- At least until March 2027 (Apple's minimum)
- Processor
- Apple M1 (8-core CPU)
- Processor architecture
- Arm
- Memory (RAM)
- 8 GB
- Storage
- 64 GB, 256 GB
What works through the case
- Touchscreen
- Screen with a microdot pattern (IECEx issue 5)Unconfirmed, see note 5
- Charging
- Qi wireless charging station (single or four-bay, 15 W) sold with the system; no port statedUnconfirmed, see note 5
- SIM card
- Wi-Fi + Cellular option added in IECEx issue 1; SIM access not describedUnconfirmed, see note 5
- Mounting points
- Hand strap and breakaway shoulder strap (accessories)Unconfirmed, see note 5
Field capabilities
- Push-to-talk
- Via app (third-party PTT apps over Wi-Fi/cellular; no PTT key; Ex-rated? n/a)Unconfirmed, see note 6
- Lone worker
- Via app (third-party lone-worker apps)Unconfirmed, see note 6
- Barcode scanning
- Via app (camera-based scanning; no scan engine)Unconfirmed, see note 6
- NFC reading
- Not possible (no NFC reader on any iPad)Unconfirmed, see note 6
- 3D scanning / LiDAR
- Not possible (no LiDAR on this iPad)
- Remote expert / video calls
- Via app (FaceTime, Teams or remote-assist apps; needs camera and audio access through the case)Unconfirmed, see note 6
- Windows desktop software
- Not possible (iPadOS only)
- Bluetooth gas detectors
- Via app (Bluetooth 5.0; vendor app; no maker-certified integration listed)Unconfirmed, see note 6
Display and camera
- Display
- 10.9-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, P3, True Tone, antireflective coating
- Resolution
- 2360 × 1640 (264 ppi)
- Brightness
- 500 nits
- Pen / stylus
- Apple Pencil (2nd generation), Apple Pencil (USB-C); magnetic attach and charge (2nd gen)
- Rear camera
- 12 MP Wide, f/1.8
- Front camera
- 12 MP Ultra Wide, Center Stage
- Video
- 4K video
Connectivity
- Network
- Wi-Fi only or Wi-Fi + Cellular (5G)
- Wi-Fi
- Wi-Fi 6 (802.11ax)
- Bluetooth
- Bluetooth 5.0
- Satellite positioning
- GPS/GNSS on Wi-Fi + Cellular models; digital compass and Wi-Fi location on all
- SIM
- eSIM and Nano-SIM (cellular models)
Physical and power
- Ingress protection
- IP68Unconfirmed, see note 7
- Ruggedness
- MIL-STD-810H drop testing to four feetUnconfirmed, see note 8
- Battery energy
- 28.6
- Battery life
- Up to 10 hours web or video on Wi-Fi
- Hot-swap battery
- No
- Replaceable battery
- No
- Ports and expansion
- USB-C; Smart Connector; magnetic Apple Pencil connector
- Docking
- USB-C hubs and docks; Smart Connector or magnetic keyboard accessories where the iPad has them. Not usable through sealed Ex cases except the USB-C or Lightning charging port where the case exposes it.
- Keyboard
- Smart Connector
Controls & Accessibility
- Keys
- Top button with Touch ID sensor, volume buttons; no programmable hardware key
- Push-to-talk key
- No
- Biometrics
- Touch ID (top button)
Fleet and support
- Manufacturer
- Otter Products, LLC, USA
Only specifications we could check are listed. A numbered marker next to a value means it is unconfirmed: it comes from a single or secondary source, or sources disagree. The matching note at the foot of the page explains each one. See the Otter Products, LLC website for the full data sheet.
Compare
How it compares
Best in this comparison
OtterBoxOtterBox Hardline iPad AirThis tablet | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Type | Certified Ex case | Certified Ex case | Certified Ex case | Converted tablet |
| Screen size | 10.9-inch | 11-inch | 11-inch | 10.9-inch |
| Availability | Discontinued | Current | Current | Current |
| Gas zones | Zone 2 | Zone 2 | Zone 2 | Zone 2 |
| Dust zones | Zone 22 | Zone 22 | — | Zone 22 |
| Protection | Restricted-breathing enclosure (Ex nR) | Restricted-breathing enclosure (Ex nR) | Intrinsic safety (Ex ic) | Increased safety and intrinsic safety (Ex ec ic) |
| Gas group | IIC | IIC | IIC | IIC |
| Temperature class | T6 (best in this comparison) | T6 (best in this comparison) | T6 (best in this comparison) | T4 |
| Certification | IECEx | ATEX + IECEx | ATEX | ATEX |
| North America | — | — | — | — |
| Ambient temperature | −20 °C to +45 °C | −20 °C to +50 °C | −20 °C to +50 °C | — |
| Charging in the Ex area | — | Not allowed | — | — |
| Operating system | iPadOS 27 | iPadOS 27 | iPadOS 27 | iPadOS 27 |
| Security updates | At least until March 2027 (Apple's minimum) | At least until March 2030 (Apple's minimum) (best in this comparison) | At least until March 2030 (Apple's minimum) (best in this comparison) | At least until October 2027 (Apple's minimum) |
| Weight | — | — | 656 g (best in this comparison) | 1050 g |
| Display | 10.9-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, P3, True Tone, antireflective coating | 11-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, True Tone, fingerprint-resistant oleophobic coating (no antireflective coating or full lamination listed by Apple) | 11-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, True Tone, fingerprint-resistant oleophobic coating (no antireflective coating or full lamination listed by Apple) | 10.9-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, True Tone, fingerprint-resistant oleophobic coating (no antireflective coating or full lamination listed by Apple) |
| 5G | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Pen / stylus | Apple Pencil (2nd generation), Apple Pencil (USB-C); magnetic attach and charge (2nd gen) | Apple Pencil (USB-C), Apple Pencil (1st generation) with adapter | Apple Pencil (USB-C), Apple Pencil (1st generation) with adapter | Apple Pencil (USB-C), Apple Pencil (1st generation) with adapter |
| Replaceable battery | No | No | No | No |
| Hot-swap battery | No | No | No | No |
| Price | On request | On request | On request | On request |
FAQ
Common questions
Is the OtterBox Hardline iPad Air certified for Zone 1?
No. It is certified for Zone 2/22 only, so it can be used in Zone 2 but not in Zone 1.
Can the OtterBox Hardline iPad Air be used in Zone 0?
No. It is not certified for Zone 0. Zone 0 needs equipment with protection level Ga, such as Ex ia intrinsic safety.
What does T6 mean for the OtterBox Hardline iPad Air?
Its surface stays below 85 °C, so it is suitable for gases that only ignite above that temperature. Check the ignition temperature of the substances on your site.
Which tablet is inside the OtterBox Hardline iPad Air?
A standard iPad Air (5th generation, M1) 10.9-inch. It is also certified for the iPad Air (4th generation) 10.9-inch. A certified enclosure that lets a standard consumer tablet be used in hazardous areas.
What operating system does the OtterBox Hardline iPad Air run?
iPadOS 27. Apple guarantees security updates until at least March 2027; earlier iPads have had longer support.
Is the OtterBox Hardline iPad Air still available?
No. Its IECEx certificate was cancelled in March 2025 and OtterBox no longer promotes it; we found no end-of-sale notice.
How much does the OtterBox Hardline iPad Air cost?
Prices for certified hazardous-area tablets depend on volume, configuration and region, so they are on request. Contact us for a price.
Notes on unconfirmed values
- Not checked against the certificate for this exact model. Return to note 1
- Stated by the maker; we haven't seen the certificate. Return to note 2
- From the maker's published information; we haven't seen the North American certificate. Return to note 3
- Order codes from a certificate or distributor; confirm them with the maker when ordering. Return to note 4
- Inferred from related information; not stated by the maker for this exact model. Return to note 5
- Not confirmed by the maker for this exact model. Return to note 6
- From a single source; not stated in the Ex certificate. Return to note 7
- From a single source. Return to note 8
Sources and verification
Facts last verified on against:
- IECEx Certificate Database (UL Solutions): IECEx UL 23.0003X issue 6, 2024-11-21, Cancelled 2025-03-27
- Xciel: XCRiPad mini 6 and Air (5th gen) datasheets (PDF, 2022-2023)
- OtterBusiness: Commercial Product Catalog 9.13.24: Hardline for iPhone 14, iPad Air 4th and 5th gen
- OtterBusiness: otterboxbusiness.com/hardline page (empty body; published 2024-03-04, modified 2024-04-15)
- Apple: Identify your iPad model (model numbers, years)
- Apple: UK PSTI Statements of Compliance, one per model (regulatoryinfo.apple.com/ukpsti): first supply date and minimum 5-year defined support period
- Apple: iPadOS 27 compatibility list (apple.com/os/ipados)
- OtterBox: Press release: OtterBox Launches Hardline Series, 2023-06-06
- BGR / EveryMac / 9to5Mac: iPadOS 27 drops iPad mini 5, iPad 8, iPad Air 3, iPad Pro 11-inch 1st gen (release 2026-09-14)
Always check the certificate for your exact model before use. Spotted an error? Tell us.



