
Getac · Rugged tablet, Ex version
Getac ZX70-EX
- Discontinued
- Zone 2/22
- ATEX
- IECEx
- IIC
- T5
Discontinued. No longer in Getac's range, which now lists the ZX80-EX; no end-of-sale notice. See the Getac ZX80-EX
The Getac ZX70-EX is the hazardous-area version of a Getac rugged 7-inch tablet, certified for Zone 2/22 under IECEx. Getac also states ATEX certification, but the certificate isn't published. It is an intrinsically safe (Ex ic) design running Android 10. It has been discontinued; the Getac ZX80-EX replaces it.
- Certified for
- Zone 2/22
- Protection
- Intrinsic safety (Ex ic) with inherently safe optical radiation (op is)
- Screen
- 7-inch
- Temperature class
- T5 (≤ 100 °C)
- Ambient temperature
- −21 °C to +60 °C
- Operating system
- Android 10
- Security updates
- Ended June 2025Unconfirmed, see note 1
- Weight
- 774 g
- Price
- On request
Overview
Strengths and limitations
Strengths
- Optional built-in barcode imager
- Among the lightest Zone 2 tablets of its size we list, at 774 g in use
- Certified for ambient temperatures up to +60 °C
Limitations
- Discontinued; the Getac ZX80-EX replaces it
- Zone 2 only, so not for Zone 1 areas
- T5 temperature class: fine for most gases, but not those that ignite below 100 °C
- Dust group IIIB: combustible flyings and non-conductive dust only, not conductive dust
- Security updates ended in June 2025
Certification
Where you can use it
Gas
- Zone 0not certified.Explosive gas present continuously or for long periods
- Zone 1not certified.Explosive gas likely in normal operation
- Zone 2certified.Explosive gas unlikely, and only briefly
Dust
- Zone 20not certified.Combustible dust present continuously or for long periods
- Zone 21not certified.Combustible dust likely in normal operation
- Zone 22certified.Combustible dust unlikely, and only briefly
The Ex marking, decoded
Gas atmospheresZone 2
II3GExicop isIICT5Gc
IIEquipment group- Group II: equipment for surface industries (not mining).
3GATEX category- Category 3 for gas: suitable down to Zone 2.
ExExplosion protected- Certified to the IEC 60079 / EN 60079 series.
icProtection type- Intrinsic safety, level "ic": safe in normal operation. Zone 2 only.
op isProtection type- Inherently safe optical radiation: light from the camera flash or torch is limited below the level that could ignite the atmosphere.
IICGas group- Gas group IIC, e.g. hydrogen and acetylene. The most demanding group; also covers IIA and IIB.
T5Temperature class- Surface stays below 100 °C. T6 is the strictest class.
GcProtection level- Equipment protection level Gc (enhanced): suitable for Zone 2.
Dust atmospheresZone 22
II3DExicop isIIIBT100°CDc
3DATEX category- Category 3 for dust: suitable down to Zone 22.
IIIBDust group- Dust group IIIB: non-conductive dust. Also covers IIIA.
T100°CMax surface temperature- Surface stays below 100°C in dust.
DcProtection level- Equipment protection level Dc (enhanced): suitable for Zone 22.
IIExicop is as above.
Gas atmospheresZone 2
Exicop isIICT5Gc
ExExplosion protected- Certified to the IEC 60079 / EN 60079 series.
icProtection type- Intrinsic safety, level "ic": safe in normal operation. Zone 2 only.
op isProtection type- Inherently safe optical radiation: light from the camera flash or torch is limited below the level that could ignite the atmosphere.
IICGas group- Gas group IIC, e.g. hydrogen and acetylene. The most demanding group; also covers IIA and IIB.
T5Temperature class- Surface stays below 100 °C. T6 is the strictest class.
GcProtection level- Equipment protection level Gc (enhanced): suitable for Zone 2.
Dust atmospheresZone 22
Exicop isIIIBT100°CDc
IIIBDust group- Dust group IIIB: non-conductive dust. Also covers IIIA.
T100°CMax surface temperature- Surface stays below 100°C in dust.
DcProtection level- Equipment protection level Dc (enhanced): suitable for Zone 22.
Exicop is as above.
Safe use
Rules for the hazardous area
- Ambient temperature (Ta)
- −21 °C to +60 °C
- Charging
- Outside the hazardous area only
- Battery swap
- Outside the hazardous area only
- Ports and accessories in the zone
- Certificate does not list a connection-interface ban. Rubber I/O cover is a certified accessory and must be fitted; DC-in, USB host and micro-USB client ports are not for use in hazardous areas (assumed, not in the certificate text).Unconfirmed, see note 2
- Certified accessories
- Named in the certificate: hand strap (ATEX hand strap TF1-STRAP is mandatory), shoulder strap, rotating hand strap, wrist strap, capacitive stylus and tether, anti-static film (mandatory), rubber I/O cover. AC adapter not for hazardous areas.
- Operating temperature
- −21 °C to +60 °C
Conditions of use
Ambient −21 to +60 °C; controlled environment with reduced pollution; protect from UV and impacts with high impact energy; not next to strong charge-generating processes; the ATEX hand strap TF1-STRAP and the anti-static display film must be installed for any use in hazardous locations; follow the manufacturer safety instructions.
Specifications
Full specifications
Certification
- ATEX marking
- II 3G Ex ic op is IIC T5 Gc / II 3D Ex ic op is IIIB T100°C Dc
- ATEX certificate
- Not published
- IECEx marking
- Ex ic op is IIC T5 Gc / Ex ic op is IIIB T100°C Dc
- IECEx certificate
- IECEx EPS 16.0073X (Issue 5, 2021-10-12, ZX70-Ex)
- Protection level (EPL)
- Gc / Dc
- Dust group
- IIIB
- Max surface temperature (dust)
- 100 °C
Device
- Type
- Rugged tablet, Ex version
- Launched
- 2017Unconfirmed, see note 3
- Operating system
- Android 10
- Edition
- Android 10.0
- Security updates
- Ended June 2025Unconfirmed, see note 1
- Processor
- Qualcomm Snapdragon 660 octa-core 1.95 GHz, Adreno 512
- Processor architecture
- Arm
- Memory (RAM)
- 4 GB
- Storage
- 64 GB, microSD
Field capabilities
- Barcode scanning
- Built in (optional 1D/2D imager)
- RFID
- Built in (optional HF RFID/NFC reader)
- NFC reading
- Built in (optional combo reader)
- Remote expert / video calls
- Via app
- Windows desktop software
- Not possible (Android)
Display and camera
- Display
- 7-inch
- Resolution
- 1280 × 720 (HD)
- Touch
- Capacitive multi-touch; glove-enabled per standard model
- Pen / stylus
- Capacitive stylus (no digitizer)
- Rear camera
- 12 MP autofocus
- Front camera
- 8 MP
Connectivity
- Network
- Wi-Fi 5; optional 4G LTE
- Wi-Fi
- 802.11ac
- Bluetooth
- Bluetooth 5.0
- Satellite positioning
- Dedicated GPS
Physical and power
- Weight
- 774 g
- Dimensions
- 218 × 142 × 27 mm
- Ingress protection
- IP67
- Ruggedness
- MIL-STD-810H; 1.8 m (6 ft) drop
- Battery
- 8480 typical (8220 min), 3.8 V
- Ports and expansion
- DC-in, USB 2.0 host, micro-USB client, microSD; optional barcode imager, HF RFID/NFC
Controls & Accessibility
- Keys
- Power + 3 programmable
- Push-to-talk key
- No
- Glove touch
- Yes
Fleet and support
- Manufacturer
- Getac Technology Corporation, Taiwan
Only specifications we could check are listed. A numbered marker next to a value means it is unconfirmed: it comes from a single or secondary source, or sources disagree. The matching note at the foot of the page explains each one. See the Getac Technology Corporation website for the full data sheet.
Compare
How it compares
Best in this comparison
GetacGetac ZX70-EXThis tablet | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Type | Rugged tablet, Ex version | Rugged tablet, Ex version | Rugged tablet, Ex version | Dedicated Ex tablet |
| Screen size | 7-inch | 8-inch | 10.1-inch | 7-inch |
| Availability | Discontinued | Current | Current | Current |
| Gas zones | Zone 2 | Zone 2 | Zone 2 | Zone 2 |
| Dust zones | Zone 22 | Zone 22 | Zone 22 | Zone 22 |
| Protection | Intrinsic safety (Ex ic) with inherently safe optical radiation (op is) | Intrinsic safety (Ex ic) with inherently safe optical radiation (op is) | Intrinsic safety (Ex ic) with inherently safe optical radiation (op is) | Increased safety and intrinsic safety (Ex ec ic) |
| Gas group | IIC | IIC | IIC | IIC |
| Temperature class | T5 (best in this comparison) | T4 | T4 | T5 (best in this comparison) |
| Certification | ATEX + IECEx | ATEX + IECEx | ATEX + IECEx | ATEX + IECEx |
| North America | — | — | Class I Division 2 | — |
| Ambient temperature | −21 °C to +60 °C | −21 °C to +55 °C | −20 °C to +55 °C | −10 °C to +50 °C |
| Charging in the Ex area | Not allowed | Not allowed | Not allowed | Not allowed |
| Operating system | Android 10 | Android 15 | Android 14 | Android (version not published) |
| Security updates | Ended June 2025 | Until February 2029 | Until December 2031 (best in this comparison) | — |
| Weight | 774 g (best in this comparison) | 780 g | 1074 g | 800 g |
| Display | 7-inch | 8-inch TFT LCD wide viewing angle; Ex model has 0.6 mm thicker glass per ZX80W-EX press release | 10.1-inch Optically bonded, multi-mode capacitive touch, Corning Gorilla Glass | 7-inch Colour TFT IPS, anti-glare, high-impact polycarbonate touchscreen |
| 5G | No | Yes | Yes | No |
| Pen / stylus | Capacitive stylus (no digitizer) | Digitizer pen | Stylus supported | Signature capture on the touchscreen |
| Replaceable battery | — | Yes | Yes | — |
| Hot-swap battery | — | Internal battery plus optional swappable 4990 mAh battery; hot-swap not stated for the Ex datasheet | Yes (internal supercapacitor keeps power during battery swaps) | — |
| Price | On request | On request | On request | On request |
FAQ
Common questions
Is the Getac ZX70-EX certified for Zone 1?
No. It is certified for Zone 2/22 only, so it can be used in Zone 2 but not in Zone 1.
Can the Getac ZX70-EX be used in Zone 0?
No. It is not certified for Zone 0. Zone 0 needs equipment with protection level Ga, such as Ex ia intrinsic safety.
What type of explosion protection does the Getac ZX70-EX use?
It is intrinsically safe: intrinsic safety (Ex ic) with inherently safe optical radiation (op is). Intrinsic safety limits the electrical and thermal energy in the device below the level that could ignite the surrounding atmosphere.
What does T5 mean for the Getac ZX70-EX?
Its surface stays below 100 °C, so it is suitable for gases that only ignite above that temperature. Check the ignition temperature of the substances on your site.
Can you charge the Getac ZX70-EX in a hazardous area?
No. The certificate only allows charging outside the hazardous area.
Which ports and accessories can be used with the Getac ZX70-EX in the hazardous area?
Certificate does not list a connection-interface ban. Rubber I/O cover is a certified accessory and must be fitted; DC-in, USB host and micro-USB client ports are not for use in hazardous areas (assumed, not in the certificate text).
What operating system does the Getac ZX70-EX run?
Android 10. Security updates ended in June 2025.
Is the Getac ZX70-EX still available?
No. No longer in Getac's range, which now lists the ZX80-EX; no end-of-sale notice.
How much does the Getac ZX70-EX cost?
Prices for certified hazardous-area tablets depend on volume, configuration and region, so they are on request. Contact us for a price.
Notes on unconfirmed values
- Getac's date for the standard model; Getac lists no separate date for the EX version. Return to note 1
- Not stated in the certificate; based on the rubber I/O cover it lists as an accessory. Return to note 2
- Approximate: the maker doesn't publish a launch date. Based on the certificate date or the maker's announcement. Return to note 3
Sources and verification
Facts last verified on against:
- IECEx / Bureau Veritas CPS Germany (EPS): IECEx EPS 16.0073X issue 5 (ZX70-Ex), 2021-10-12, Current
- Getac: ZX80-EX (G1) product specification, generated 2026-08-06
- Getac: ZX70-EX (G2) product specification, generated 2024-07-04
- Getac: Getac Device Update Center: security update end dates and policy (5 years from first availability, 90-day cadence)
Always check the certificate for your exact model before use. Spotted an error? Tell us.


