Atexxo Zone 2 iPad mini 6, front view

Atexxo · Converted tablet

Atexxo Zone 2 iPad mini 6

  • Zone 2/22
  • ATEX
  • IIC
  • T4

The Atexxo Zone 2 iPad mini 6 is a standard iPad mini (6th generation) converted by Atexxo for hazardous areas, rated for Zone 2/22 under ATEX. It is an Ex ec ic-rated design, and the tablet runs iPadOS 27.

Certified for
Zone 2/22
Protection
Increased safety and intrinsic safety (Ex ec ic)
Screen
8.3-inch
Temperature class
T4 (≤ 135 °C)
Operating system
iPadOS 27
Security updates
Ended September 2026
Weight
800 g
Price
On request
Request a price
See how it compares to alternatives

Overview

Strengths and limitations

Strengths

  • 5G on cellular versions
  • A standard iPad mini (6th generation) inside, with the same apps and Apple device management

Limitations

  • Zone 2 only, so not for Zone 1 areas
  • Ex marking not yet confirmed against a published certificate
  • Dust group IIIB: combustible flyings and non-conductive dust only, not conductive dust
  • ATEX only: no IECEx certificate
  • Apple's minimum update period for this iPad has ended: for existing fleets only

Certification

Where you can use it

Gas

  • Zone 0not certified.Explosive gas present continuously or for long periods
  • Zone 1not certified.Explosive gas likely in normal operation
  • Zone 2certified.Explosive gas unlikely, and only briefly

Dust

  • Zone 20not certified.Combustible dust present continuously or for long periods
  • Zone 21not certified.Combustible dust likely in normal operation
  • Zone 22certified.Combustible dust unlikely, and only briefly

The Ex marking, decoded

Gas atmospheresZone 2

II3GExecicIICT4Gc

II Equipment group
Group II: equipment for surface industries (not mining).
3G ATEX category
Category 3 for gas: suitable down to Zone 2.
Ex Explosion protected
Certified to the IEC 60079 / EN 60079 series.
ec Protection type
Increased safety, level "ec": extra measures against sparks, arcs and hot surfaces in normal operation. Zone 2 only.
ic Protection type
Intrinsic safety, level "ic": safe in normal operation. Zone 2 only.
IIC Gas group
Gas group IIC, e.g. hydrogen and acetylene. The most demanding group; also covers IIA and IIB.
T4 Temperature class
Surface stays below 135 °C. T6 is the strictest class.
Gc Protection level
Equipment protection level Gc (enhanced): suitable for Zone 2.

Dust atmospheresZone 22

II3DExtcIIIBT135°CDc

3D ATEX category
Category 3 for dust: suitable down to Zone 22.
tc Protection type
Protection by enclosure for dust, level "tc": suitable for Zone 22.
IIIB Dust group
Dust group IIIB: non-conductive dust. Also covers IIIA.
T135°C Max surface temperature
Surface stays below 135°C in dust.
Dc Protection level
Equipment protection level Dc (enhanced): suitable for Zone 22.

IIEx as above.

Safe use

Rules for the hazardous area

Battery swap
Outside the hazardous area only

Specifications

Full specifications

Device specifications are for the iPad mini (6th generation) inside. “What works through the housing” shows which of its features you can use in the housing.

Certification

ATEX marking
II 3G Ex ec ic IIC T4 Gc / II 3D Ex tc IIIB T135°C DcUnconfirmed, see note 1
ATEX certificate
Not published
Protection level (EPL)
Gc / DcUnconfirmed, see note 1
Max surface temperature (dust)
135 °CUnconfirmed, see note 1

Device

Type
Converted tablet
Tablet inside
iPad mini (6th generation)
Fitting
Supplied as a complete unit
Tablet can be removed
No (converted unit; reuse not described)Unconfirmed, see note 2
Part numbers
EX-TABLET-M6-64, -64-CEL, -256, -256-CEL; EX-TABLET-M6-* (conversion)
Operating system
iPadOS 27
Edition
iPadOS (consumer; no LTSC or enterprise edition)
OS at launch
iPadOS 15
OS upgrades
Still supported by iPadOS 27 (current)
Security updates
Ended September 2026
Processor
Apple A15 Bionic (6-core CPU, 5-core GPU)
Processor architecture
Arm
Memory (RAM)
4 GB
Storage
64 GB, 256 GB

What works through the housing

Face ID / Touch ID
Fingerprint scanner button REMOVED / not usable
Side and volume buttons
Buttons preserved ('nearly all features preserved')Unconfirmed, see note 3
Front camera
Works (all original features preserved except as listed)Unconfirmed, see note 3
Touchscreen
Works (original touchscreen preserved)Unconfirmed, see note 3
Charging
USB-C (standard charger; cable included on the mini 7)Unconfirmed, see note 3
Speakers and microphones
Preserved ('all features of the original product are preserved')Unconfirmed, see note 3
USB-C port
USB-C port usable (standard USB-C charger)Unconfirmed, see note 3
Removed or disabled
Fingerprint scanner (top button)Unconfirmed, see note 3

Field capabilities

Push-to-talk
Via app (third-party PTT apps over Wi-Fi/cellular; no PTT key; Ex-rated? n/a)Unconfirmed, see note 4
Lone worker
Via app (third-party lone-worker apps)Unconfirmed, see note 4
Barcode scanning
Via app (camera-based scanning; no scan engine)Unconfirmed, see note 4
NFC reading
Not possible (no NFC reader on any iPad)Unconfirmed, see note 4
3D scanning / LiDAR
Not possible (no LiDAR on this iPad)
Remote expert / video calls
Via app (FaceTime, Teams or remote-assist apps; needs camera and audio access through the case)Unconfirmed, see note 4
Windows desktop software
Not possible (iPadOS only)
Bluetooth gas detectors
Via app (Bluetooth 5.0; vendor app; no maker-certified integration listed)Unconfirmed, see note 4

Display and camera

Display
8.3-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, P3, True Tone, antireflective coating
Resolution
2266 × 1488 (326 ppi)
Brightness
500 nits
Pen / stylus
Apple Pencil (2nd generation), Apple Pencil (USB-C); magnetic attach and charge (2nd gen)
Rear camera
12 MP Wide, f/1.8
Front camera
12 MP Ultra Wide, Center Stage
Video
4K video

Connectivity

Network
Wi-Fi only or Wi-Fi + Cellular (5G)
Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi 6 (802.11ax)
Bluetooth
Bluetooth 5.0
Satellite positioning
GPS/GNSS on Wi-Fi + Cellular models; digital compass and Wi-Fi location on all
SIM
eSIM and Nano-SIM (cellular models)

Physical and power

Weight
800 g (including the tablet)
Dimensions
225 × 160 × 18 mm
Battery energy
19.3
Battery life
Up to 10 hours web or video on Wi-Fi
Hot-swap battery
No
Replaceable battery
No
Ports and expansion
USB-C; magnetic Apple Pencil connector
Docking
USB-C hubs and docks; Smart Connector or magnetic keyboard accessories where the iPad has them. Not usable through sealed Ex cases except the USB-C or Lightning charging port where the case exposes it.

Controls & Accessibility

Keys
Top button with Touch ID sensor, volume buttons; no programmable hardware key
Push-to-talk key
No
Biometrics
Touch ID (top button)

Fleet and support

Manufacturer
Atexxo B.V., Netherlands

Only specifications we could check are listed. A numbered marker next to a value means it is unconfirmed: it comes from a single or secondary source, or sources disagree. The matching note at the foot of the page explains each one. See the Atexxo B.V. website for the full data sheet.

Compare

How it compares

Best in this comparison

Atexxo Zone 2 iPad mini 6 compared with its closest alternatives
AtexxoAtexxo Zone 2 iPad mini 6This tablet
XcielXciel XCRiPad mini 7
ArmadexArmadex Ex UniCase
The Joy FactoryThe Joy Factory aXtion Extreme iPad mini
TypeConverted tabletCertified Ex caseCertified Ex caseCertified Ex case
Screen size8.3-inch8.3-inch11-inch8.3-inch
AvailabilityCurrentCurrentCurrentCurrent
Gas zonesZone 2Zone 2Zone 2Zone 1, Zone 2 (best in this comparison)
Dust zonesZone 22—Zone 22Zone 21, Zone 22
ProtectionIncreased safety and intrinsic safety (Ex ec ic)Intrinsic safety (Ex ic)Restricted-breathing enclosure (Ex nR)Flameproof enclosure (Ex db)
Gas groupIICIICIICIIC
Temperature classT4T4T6 (best in this comparison)T6 (best in this comparison)
CertificationATEXATEXATEX + IECExATEX + IECEx
North America————
Ambient temperature—−20 °C to +50 °C−20 °C to +50 °C−20 °C to +40 °C (standard range: no Ta is marked on IECEx TPS 25.0016X, so IEC 60079-0 applies)
Charging in the Ex area——Not allowedNot allowed
Operating systemiPadOS 27iPadOS 27iPadOS 27iPadOS 27
Security updatesEnded September 2026At least until October 2029 (Apple's minimum)At least until March 2030 (Apple's minimum) (best in this comparison)At least until October 2029 (Apple's minimum)
Weight800 g406 g (best in this comparison)—1396 g
Display8.3-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, P3, True Tone, antireflective coating8.3-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, P3, True Tone, fully laminated, antireflective coating11-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, True Tone, fingerprint-resistant oleophobic coating (no antireflective coating or full lamination listed by Apple)8.3-inch Liquid Retina IPS LCD, P3, True Tone, fully laminated, antireflective coating
5GYesYesYesYes
Pen / stylusApple Pencil (2nd generation), Apple Pencil (USB-C); magnetic attach and charge (2nd gen)Apple Pencil Pro, Apple Pencil (USB-C); hoverApple Pencil (USB-C), Apple Pencil (1st generation) with adapterApple Pencil Pro, Apple Pencil (USB-C); hover
Replaceable batteryNoNoNoNo
Hot-swap batteryNoNoNoNo
PriceOn requestOn requestOn requestOn request

FAQ

Common questions

Is the Atexxo Zone 2 iPad mini 6 certified for Zone 1?

No. It is rated, according to Atexxo's published data, for Zone 2/22 only, so it can be used in Zone 2 but not in Zone 1.

Can the Atexxo Zone 2 iPad mini 6 be used in Zone 0?

No. It is not certified for Zone 0. Zone 0 needs equipment with protection level Ga, such as Ex ia intrinsic safety.

What type of explosion protection does the Atexxo Zone 2 iPad mini 6 use?

It combines increased safety (Ex ec) with intrinsic safety (Ex ic), both suited to Zone 2. Increased safety adds measures against sparks and hot surfaces; intrinsic safety limits the energy in the circuits.

What does T4 mean for the Atexxo Zone 2 iPad mini 6?

Its surface stays below 135 °C, so it is suitable for gases that only ignite above that temperature. Check the ignition temperature of the substances on your site.

Which tablet is inside the Atexxo Zone 2 iPad mini 6?

A standard iPad mini (6th generation). A standard tablet that a specialist has modified and certified for hazardous areas.

What operating system does the Atexxo Zone 2 iPad mini 6 run?

iPadOS 27. Apple guarantees security updates until at least September 2026; earlier iPads have had longer support.

How much does the Atexxo Zone 2 iPad mini 6 cost?

Prices for certified hazardous-area tablets depend on volume, configuration and region, so they are on request. Contact us for a price.

Notes on unconfirmed values

  1. Marking as stated by Atexxo. Atexxo doesn't publish the certificate or declaration of conformity, so we haven't been able to check it.
  2. Not stated by the maker for this exact model.
  3. Inferred from related information; not stated by the maker for this exact model.
  4. Not confirmed by the maker for this exact model.
  5. Apple states battery capacity in watt-hours only; this figure is from the case maker's documents.

Sources and verification

Facts last verified on against:

Always check the certificate for your exact model before use. Spotted an error? Tell us.