Atexxo Zone 2 Galaxy Tab S9 FE, front view

Atexxo · Converted tablet

Atexxo Zone 2 Galaxy Tab S9 FE

  • Zone 2/22
  • ATEX
  • IIC
  • T4

Check availability. Listed by Atexxo; one distributor shows it as out of stock.

The Atexxo Zone 2 Galaxy Tab S9 FE is a standard Samsung Galaxy Tab S9 FE converted by Atexxo for hazardous areas, rated for Zone 2/22 under ATEX. It is an Ex ec ic-rated design, and the tablet runs Android 13.

Certified for
Zone 2/22
Protection
Increased safety and intrinsic safety (Ex ec ic)
Screen
10.9-inch
Temperature class
T4 (≤ 135 °C)
Operating system
Android 13
Security updates
Until September 2028
Weight
1090 g
Price
On request
Request a price
See how it compares to alternatives

Overview

Strengths and limitations

Strengths

  • 5G on cellular versions
  • A standard Samsung Galaxy Tab S9 FE inside, with the same apps and standard device management

Limitations

  • Zone 2 only, so not for Zone 1 areas
  • Ex marking not yet confirmed against a published certificate
  • Dust group IIIB: combustible flyings and non-conductive dust only, not conductive dust
  • ATEX only: no IECEx certificate
  • Security updates end in September 2028

Certification

Where you can use it

Gas

  • Zone 0not certified.Explosive gas present continuously or for long periods
  • Zone 1not certified.Explosive gas likely in normal operation
  • Zone 2certified.Explosive gas unlikely, and only briefly

Dust

  • Zone 20not certified.Combustible dust present continuously or for long periods
  • Zone 21not certified.Combustible dust likely in normal operation
  • Zone 22certified.Combustible dust unlikely, and only briefly

The Ex marking, decoded

Gas atmospheresZone 2

II3GExecicIICT4Gc

II Equipment group
Group II: equipment for surface industries (not mining).
3G ATEX category
Category 3 for gas: suitable down to Zone 2.
Ex Explosion protected
Certified to the IEC 60079 / EN 60079 series.
ec Protection type
Increased safety, level "ec": extra measures against sparks, arcs and hot surfaces in normal operation. Zone 2 only.
ic Protection type
Intrinsic safety, level "ic": safe in normal operation. Zone 2 only.
IIC Gas group
Gas group IIC, e.g. hydrogen and acetylene. The most demanding group; also covers IIA and IIB.
T4 Temperature class
Surface stays below 135 °C. T6 is the strictest class.
Gc Protection level
Equipment protection level Gc (enhanced): suitable for Zone 2.

Dust atmospheresZone 22

II3DExtcIIIBT135°CDc

3D ATEX category
Category 3 for dust: suitable down to Zone 22.
tc Protection type
Protection by enclosure for dust, level "tc": suitable for Zone 22.
IIIB Dust group
Dust group IIIB: non-conductive dust. Also covers IIIA.
T135°C Max surface temperature
Surface stays below 135°C in dust.
Dc Protection level
Equipment protection level Dc (enhanced): suitable for Zone 22.

IIEx as above.

Safe use

Rules for the hazardous area

Certified accessories
Passive stylus (on request; Ex rating not stated). Four reinforced tether / anchor points on the unit; shoulder strap mentioned on the Active5 Pro flyer only. No Ex-rated keyboard, dock or charger listedUnconfirmed, see note 2

Specifications

Full specifications

Device specifications are for the Samsung Galaxy Tab S9 FE inside. “What works through the housing” shows which of its features you can use in the housing.

Certification

ATEX marking
II 3G Ex ec ic IIC T4 Gc / II 3D Ex tc IIIB T135°C DcUnconfirmed, see note 1
ATEX certificate
Not published
Other approvals
NEC C1D2 equivalence claimed (marketing only)Unconfirmed, see note 3
Protection level (EPL)
Gc / DcUnconfirmed, see note 1
Max surface temperature (dust)
135 °CUnconfirmed, see note 1

Device

Type
Converted tablet
Tablet inside
Samsung Galaxy Tab S9 FE
Fitting
Supplied as a complete unit
Part numbers
EX-TABLET-SAM-10.9-128; EX-TABLET-SAM-10.9-128-CEL; EX-TABLET-SAM-10.9-256; EX-TABLET-SAM-10.9-256-CEL; EX-TABLET-SAM-10.9-* (conversion service, tablet excluded). Identical SKU family to Atexxo's Tab S10 FE page. Rockall shows SKU MOB-EX-SAM-S26-257 for this product
Operating system
Android 13
Edition
Android with One UI
Security updates
Until September 2028
Processor
Samsung Exynos 1380 (octa-core, 2.4 GHz + 2 GHz)
Processor architecture
Arm
Memory (RAM)
6 GB
Storage
128 GB (UK); 256 GB option by region, microSD up to 1 TB

What works through the housing

Face ID / Touch ID
No: fingerprint scanner removedUnconfirmed, see note 5
Apple Pencil / stylus
Passive stylus on request for glove use. S Pen use not stated (base tablet supports S Pen)Unconfirmed, see note 5
Rear cameras
Yes: usable as an intrinsically safe photo/video camera per AtexxoUnconfirmed, see note 5
Touchscreen
Yes (glove use via passive stylus on request)Unconfirmed, see note 5
Charging
USB-C charger listed (100-240 V). Ex-area charging rules not statedUnconfirmed, see note 5
USB-C port
Not described (charger listed)Unconfirmed, see note 5
SIM card
Self SIM-card installation or eSIMUnconfirmed, see note 5
Removed or disabled
Fingerprint scannerUnconfirmed, see note 5
Mounting points
Four reinforced tether / anchor pointsUnconfirmed, see note 5

Field capabilities

Push-to-talk
Via app (Android PTT apps; Atexxo does not list PTT)Unconfirmed, see note 6
Barcode scanning
Via app (camera-based; no dedicated scan engine)Unconfirmed, see note 6
NFC reading
Not possible (base tablet has no NFC)
3D scanning / LiDAR
Not possible (base tablet has no depth sensor)
Remote expert / video calls
Via app (front and rear cameras retained; camera marketed as an intrinsically safe video camera)Unconfirmed, see note 6
Windows desktop software
Not possible (Android tablet)

Display and camera

Display
10.9-inch TFT LCD; glass type not stated
Resolution
2304 × 1440 (WUXGA+), up to 90 Hz
Brightness
600 nits
Outdoor readability
720 nits in High Brightness Mode outdoors
Pen / stylus
S Pen included (IP68)
Rear camera
8 MP, autofocus, no flash
Front camera
12 MP
Video
4K UHD at 30 fps

Connectivity

Network
5G (SM-X516B) or Wi-Fi only (SM-X510)Unconfirmed, see note 7
Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi 6 (802.11ax), 2.4 + 5 GHz
Bluetooth
Bluetooth 5.3
NFC
No
Satellite positioning
GPS, GLONASS, BeiDou, Galileo, QZSS
SIM
5G model: eSIM-based dual SIM; physical SIM not confirmed on Samsung UK page (Atexxo says 'Physical SIM + eSIM')Unconfirmed, see note 7

Physical and power

Weight
1090 g (including the tablet)
Dimensions
280 × 190 × 16 mm
Battery
8000 mAh
Battery energy
30.8 WhUnconfirmed, see note 8
Battery life
Internet up to 16 h; video up to 18 h
Hot-swap battery
No
Replaceable battery
No
Ports and expansion
USB-C (USB 2.0; also used for audio), microSD
Keyboard
Book Cover Keyboard (sold separately) with POGO connection and DeX

Controls & Accessibility

Biometrics
Fingerprint sensor

Fleet and support

Manufacturer
Atexxo B.V., Netherlands

Only specifications we could check are listed. A numbered marker next to a value means it is unconfirmed: it comes from a single or secondary source, or sources disagree. The matching note at the foot of the page explains each one. See the Atexxo B.V. website for the full data sheet.

Compare

How it compares

Best in this comparison

Atexxo Zone 2 Galaxy Tab S9 FE compared with its closest alternatives
AtexxoAtexxo Zone 2 Galaxy Tab S9 FEThis tablet
BARTECBARTEC ET60/65EX2 Android
GetacGetac ZX10-EX G2
i.safe MOBILEi.safe MOBILE IS940.2
TypeConverted tabletRugged tablet, Ex versionRugged tablet, Ex versionDedicated Ex tablet
Screen size10.9-inch10.1-inch10.1-inch10.1-inch
AvailabilityCurrentCurrentCurrentCurrent
Gas zonesZone 2Zone 2Zone 2Zone 2
Dust zonesZone 22Zone 22Zone 22Zone 22
ProtectionIncreased safety and intrinsic safety (Ex ec ic)Intrinsic safety (Ex ic) with inherently safe optical radiation (op is)Intrinsic safety (Ex ic) with inherently safe optical radiation (op is)Intrinsic safety (Ex ic)
Gas groupIICIICIICIIC
Temperature classT4T4T4T4
CertificationATEXATEX + IECExATEX + IECExATEX + IECEx
North America—Class I Division 2—Class I Division 2
Ambient temperature—−20 °C to +55 °C−21 °C to +55 °C−20 °C to +55 °C
Charging in the Ex area—Not allowedNot allowedAllowed (see conditions)
Operating systemAndroid 13Android 14Android 15Android 14
Security updatesUntil September 2028Until December 2031Until December 2029Until Q4 2032 (best in this comparison)
Weight1090 g1074 g1050 g (best in this comparison)1059 g
Display10.9-inch TFT LCD; glass type not stated10.1-inch Optically bonded, multi-mode capacitive touch, Corning Gorilla Glass10.1-inch TFT LCD, LumiBond bonded10.1-inch Corning Gorilla Glass V3 (3rd generation), usable with gloves
5GYesYesYesYes
Pen / stylusS Pen included (IP68)Stylus supportedDigitizer pen (datasheet); capacitive stylus named in certificatePassive stylus available as accessory (IS-Stylus Set, 'stylus for operating touch screens'); not in the box
Replaceable batteryNoYesYesYes
Hot-swap batteryNoYes (internal supercapacitor keeps power during battery swaps)——
PriceOn requestOn requestOn requestOn request

FAQ

Common questions

Is the Atexxo Zone 2 Galaxy Tab S9 FE certified for Zone 1?

No. It is rated, according to Atexxo's published data, for Zone 2/22 only, so it can be used in Zone 2 but not in Zone 1.

Can the Atexxo Zone 2 Galaxy Tab S9 FE be used in Zone 0?

No. It is not certified for Zone 0. Zone 0 needs equipment with protection level Ga, such as Ex ia intrinsic safety.

What type of explosion protection does the Atexxo Zone 2 Galaxy Tab S9 FE use?

It combines increased safety (Ex ec) with intrinsic safety (Ex ic), both suited to Zone 2. Increased safety adds measures against sparks and hot surfaces; intrinsic safety limits the energy in the circuits.

What does T4 mean for the Atexxo Zone 2 Galaxy Tab S9 FE?

Its surface stays below 135 °C, so it is suitable for gases that only ignite above that temperature. Check the ignition temperature of the substances on your site.

Which tablet is inside the Atexxo Zone 2 Galaxy Tab S9 FE?

A standard Samsung Galaxy Tab S9 FE. A standard tablet that a specialist has modified and certified for hazardous areas.

What operating system does the Atexxo Zone 2 Galaxy Tab S9 FE run?

Android 13. Security updates until September 2028.

Is the Atexxo Zone 2 Galaxy Tab S9 FE still available?

Listed by Atexxo; one distributor shows it as out of stock.

How much does the Atexxo Zone 2 Galaxy Tab S9 FE cost?

Prices for certified hazardous-area tablets depend on volume, configuration and region, so they are on request. Contact us for a price.

Notes on unconfirmed values

  1. Marking as stated by Atexxo. Atexxo doesn't publish the certificate or declaration of conformity, so we haven't been able to check it.
  2. Not checked against the certificate for this exact model.
  3. Stated by Atexxo; not in the certificate conditions.
  4. Approximate: the maker doesn't publish a launch date. Based on the certificate date or the maker's announcement.
  5. Inferred from related information; not stated by the maker for this exact model.
  6. Not confirmed by the maker for this exact model.
  7. From a single or secondary source; the maker doesn't state it for this model.
  8. Calculated from the maker's battery capacity and voltage; the maker doesn't state watt-hours.

Sources and verification

Facts last verified on against:

Always check the certificate for your exact model before use. Spotted an error? Tell us.